The American College, Madurai

The American College is an autonomous body of institute affiliated to Madurai Kamaraj University. The history of this prestigious college dates back to 1881 when it was founded and started functioning as an autonomous institute from 1931. Earlier it was an American Mission which further converted into College. The vision of this college is to give all its students a liberal Christian higher education both in academics and in moral values. The college holds a reputation of having completed over 125 years in producing successful and value based graduates to the society. This college is indeed the oldest building in the city and stands as a pride of Christian Missionary.

Courses:

The American College offers education in the streams of Language and Literature, Physical Sciences, Humanities and social Sciences, Biological Sciences, Management Skills, Fine Arts and Life skills.

B.A./M.A./M.Phil. In English Literature

B.A./M.A./M.Phil. In Tamil Literature

Hindi, French and Japanese are offered here as First year Language option.

B.A./M.A./M.Phil. In Economics

B.Com./B.Com (CA)/M.Com./ M.Phil. In Commerce

B.A. in Religion Philosophy and Sociology (BRPS)

Master of Social Work (MSW)

B.Sc. /M.Sc. In Mathematics

B.Sc. /M.Sc./M.Phil. In Physics

B.Sc. in Applied Science

B.Sc. in Computer Science

B.Sc. in Computer Applications

M.Sc. in Computer Applications

B.Sc. /M.Sc/M.Phil in Chemistry

B.Sc. /M.Sc. in Botany

B.Sc. /M.Sc. in Zoology

B.Sc. in Bio-chemistry

B.Sc. in Immunology and Microbiology

B.B.A/M.B.A. courses

Library:

The library of this college was opened officially in 1915. The college holds a huge library located in ground and first floors holding vast collection of books. The ground floor contains a huge collection of over 60,000 volumes of book, a reference section, a reading room and a technical section with computer reading. The first floor contains all periodicals and magazines of back volumes as well as current ones.

Chapel:

This college holds a serene Chapel where morning worships have become integral part of the students. This Chapel stands here for more than 75 years and has been the worship place for students from all religion.

SCILET:

Study Centre for Indian Literature in English and Translation holds more than 10,000 volumes of books of great Indian writers and was established in 1985.

Hostel:

The college contains a big hostel for boys and girls with all necessary amenities.

The American College,

Tallakulam,

Madurai – 625 002.

Phone: 0452 – 2530 070, 2530 967

E-mail: [email protected]

24 Responses to “The American College, Madurai”

1. 24
    kaja maideen:

i want to join m.sc.chemistry pls help

2. 23
    Mettilda.k:

My sister complete BA English with 63%. shall she apply now.

3. 22
    KARTHIKESWARI:

I need to know application from last date

4. 21
    Dinesh babu:

i need to know what is the status of MA ENGLISH Application number 5848

5. 20
    merlin jose:

i need to know the selected members for bca course

6. 19
    deepika:

i need to know the required marks for join BCA

7. 18
    Vaigai:

Give Details about BSc Physics 1st Year admission 2013-2014

8. 17
    divya:

i want to join bcom c.a in your collage but i get low mark in 12 now what can i do

9. 16
    seema:

how to join b.a english on american college

10. 15
    M.Dhanalakshmi:

I am joining BCA ,so what are the procedure

11. 14
    g.vignesh:

shall i join in american college

12. 13
    p.karthik:

hi, i am joining m.sc chemistry, so what are the procedure

13. 12
    v.nagavathi:

how to apply B.Sc mathes in american collage.

14. 11
    C.renuga:

Hai,i’am joining m.sc physics, so what are the procedure

15. 10
    C.renuga:

I,want to join the m.sc physics,what are the procedure of application.

16. 9
    Pradaban:

hi..
    Guys & Sirs, i would like to join m.sc (physics) so can you tell me the procedure.

Thnaks & Regards
    Pradaban.R
    +91 9952940664

17. 8
    kuhananth:

i want to apply BSc in Zoology

I want to know procedure

18. 7
    yugapriya:

I want to apply M.Com. what are the procedures to apply?

19. 6
    Malathi:

i want B.com correspondence. i will joint for M.B.A so irequest for application form, then exam date

20. 5
    pavithra:

i want to apply m.sc chemistry. what are the procedures to apply?and what are the syllabus for entrance exam?

21. 4
    Selvin:

I want to apply mca.but i couldn’t write the tancet exam.shall i apply?

22. 3
    Radha.R:

would u issue application in Mphill chemistry ?

23. 2
    M.vivekkumar:

when will you issue the application form for new admissons in this educational year 2011?

24. 1
    jegan kumar:

when will you issue of the application form for PG entrance , chemistry?