Scope after B.Sc Nautical Science

A career in the merchant navy can be interesting as well as challenging at the same time. In addition to long voyages to beautiful places, individuals will get the opportunity to get good salaries and promotional opportunities. More on the scope at hand for aspirants who have finished their Graduate degree in nautical science is given below.

Scope for Higher Studies after B.Sc Nautical Science

Those who are interested to pursue their higher education in this field can go for the advanced level course in nautical science, namely the M.Sc in Nautical science course.

Other Certification Courses in Nautical Science

The certification courses that is available in Nautical Sciences are

• Diploma in Nautical Science
  • Advanced Diploma in Nautical Sciences
  • Deck Department Diploma in Nautical Science

Phase I:

This course has an approval from the Director General of Shipping, Government of India. To obtain this certification one will have to go through a training period of 12 months. Here, aspirants shall get practical training in addition to familiarity with a variety of aspects that encompass Carpentry, Machine Shop, Electrical shop and Plumbing etc. Those who are interested in seafaring will require an additional STCW course. Upon the successful accomplishment of this program, aspirants will be awarded the Diploma in Nautical Science by the prestigious Indian Maritime University (IMU).

Phase II:

Upon the achievement of the pre-sea training, aspirants shall require to go through the sea phase training that has a period of 18 months. Alongside this, it will also be needed for one to take a correspondence course with the IMU. At the completion of this second phase, aspirants shall be given the Advance Diploma in Nautical Science.

Phase III:

After getting the Advance Diploma in Nautical Science, candidates are needed to go through a mandatory 4 months post-sea training with any institution in India. With the successful accomplishment of the training as well as the written examination, candidates will be given the Certificate of Competency. This shall be awarded to the candidate by the Director General of Shipping.

Career Opportunities after B.Sc Nautical Science

The job opportunities that are available for aspirants who have finished their education in the field of nautical science are many. It is possible for individuals to get employed as:

• Captain
  • Deck Officer
  • Marine Engineer
  • Oceanographer
  • Radio Officer
  • Scuba Diver

Subsequent to the completion of the B.Sc. (Nautical Science) degree, it is possible for one to get a variety of on shore jobs. Subsequent to the obtaining of the certificate of competency - Master (FG), a person can find suitable job openings with firms of the public or private sectors. They can get jobs as:

• Ship Manager or Marine Superintendent
  • Nautical Surveyors
  • Teacher with any Maritime Training Institute
  • Pilot with Port Trust

With more experience as well as qualification, one will get promoted to higher designations during the course of the time.

33 Responses to “Scope after B.Sc Nautical Science”

1. 33
    Alex:

i have completed my Bsc naut sc course, waiting to receive 2nd mates COC. can you suggest what are the job opportunities ashore with my 18 months seatime.

2. 32
    R.dhulakshan:

any oppurtunity for b.tech ‘IT’ in shipping courses

3. 31
    sangeeth:

sir i completed high school with 78% of marks in pcm and 85% of marks in english .sir i wish to join bsc nautical science .is it is best?

4. 30
    nusrat nasim siddiqui:

After completing a course in B.Sc.Nautical (i.e. Graduation in Nautical science0 what sort of jab one gets on ship and salary or stiepen one get at start/initial position.

5. 29
    cadet amol Satpute:

sir i bv completeed my 18 months sailing & 4 months mate course also bt 2 mate is nt clear nw i m jb less plz teach me way cm i do.

6. 28
    cadet amol Satpute:

sir i bv completeed my 18 months sailing & 4 months mate course also bt 2 mate is nt clear nw i m jb less plz teach me way cm i do.

7. 27
    vikash kumar:

what is status of bsc nautical science at imu chennai main campus?and how much placement?

8. 26
    Shubhanshoo Agarwal:

Is there campus placement of t.s. chanakya in 2012
    Please give me the list of all those who have got campus placement in 2012

9. 25
    al shilal hussain:

i completed +2 …. what should i do next to becone the marine engineer or a captain???

10. 24
    hassen:

sir/ madam, I have B.Ed in Mathematics minor physics,I want to be a ship captain & it is my dream, so, do I have any opportunities?

11. 23
    Vignesh:

I completed B.Sc Nautical Science in 2012.I want to get any marine related jobs.what are the possibilities to get good job. can you suggest any jobs for me

12. 22
    muthurajan:

I am completed the b.sc, physics. my aim is ship captain. so how to ship captain?

13. 21
    lalit rajan:

i wana know wether a bsc nautical science degree holder is eligeble for territary army or not.,?

14. 20
    karthikeyan:

iam completed 12th with 52% pcm, can i join bsc nautical science as per anna univerdity counselling and i will also have first graduate and military certificate,can i get admisson

15. 19
    rukesh babu:

what is the procedjure to joining merchant navy without money?

16. 18
    rukesh babu:

what is the procedjure to joining without money?

17. 17
    rukesh babu:

sir, now i am studying bsc nautical science.what are the job opportunities for it in merchant navy? and what is the procedjure to joining without money?

18. 16
    aziz:

what will be the starting salary if i hold a degree in bsc nautical science OR btech

19. 15
    riyz:

sir, iam a +2 student with 75% in pcm.so my next plan is to join any maritime colleges for b.sc nautical science so you please advise me, the most top colleges?its job oppertunity?

20. 14
    RAYEES KAUSAR:

I WANT TO DEDICATE MY CAREER TO PHYSICS &MONEY. I DID NOT HAVE ANY TECH DEGREE. NOW I AM IN B.SC (PHYSICS HONS.). SO I WANT TO KNOW THE WAY WHICH WILL LEAD TO ME MY DREAMS.

21. 13
    jaison thomas:

I compleated my bsc nautical science what all are job oppertunities I have?

22. 12
    jimmy sha:

generally what is the salary after doing b. sc. nautical science?

23. 11
    vivek:

i want to become a captain

24. 10
    Salman subki:

I want become a ship driver what i will do ?

25. 9
    Salman subki:

I want become a ship driver

26. 8
    girish:

what would b the starting salary after completing B.S.C nautical science and what r the opportunities for off shore,kindly reply.

27. 7
    karan:

is any scope for btech holder in marine?

28. 6
    sudharsun:

I going to complete my Bsc Nautical science by jun 2012.What all job oppurtunity I have other than merchant navy ?

29. 5
    Sameer:

I m sailing as 3rd off in merchant navy and i have bsc. Nautical science degree. Now i want to do MBA in shipping thru corresondence pls advise which specialization in mba i shall choose to enhance my chances of getting job ashore as i want to quit sailing on ships ?

30. 4
    suja roy:

what are the other on shore jobs one can get afet doing bsc nautical science?

31. 3
    Rajasekhar:

I am a bsc nautical science holder , what are the procedures which i need to do get a job as a caption tool pusher in oil rigs. Whether they are different from that of merchant navy.

32. 2
    Mohammad abbas:

Sir i cmpltd my B.E in electronics nd instrumentation engg.. I just want to ask da date of conducting IMU exam nd fess details..

33. 1
    sundaram:

what are the courses required to be done after completion of Bsc nautical science to get in to ship on board as a deck cadet?

whom to approach to get into good ship as adeck cadet?