New Pattern of UGC NET Exam

UGC NET Exam is conducted for testing the eligibility of candidates for lecturership and JRF Scholarship. The pattern of University Grants Commission National Eligibility Test (UGC NET) has undergone a change in the recent times. Till last year, out of the three papers in the test, one was a theory paper and the rest were objective type. But from this year onwards all the papers will be of objective type. Another important change is that there won’t be any negative marking.

Pattern of UGC NET Exam

UGC NET Exam will be an objective type one. The test will include three papers. All the questions in the three papers will be of objective type. The test will be organized in two sessions. The first paper includes 60 questions out of which they need to attempt 50 questions. The second paper includes 50 questions and they need to attempt all the questions. The third paper includes 75 questions and all of them are compulsory. All the right answers will be given 2 marks each.

The students can feel free to attempt all the questions as there is no fear of losing marks for wrong answers. The first section and the second section carry a total of 100 marks each and the third section carries 150 marks. The time allotted for the first and second session is 75 minutes where as the third section has a time duration of 150 minutes. The first paper will be common for all candidates and the questions in this paper will be based on Teaching & Research Aptitude. For the second and the third paper, the exact syllabus varies with the specialization chosen by the students.

Cut off Marks of UGC NET Exam

The students should qualify in each of the papers separately. The general category students should score 40% marks in the first paper and second paper separately to qualify in the exam. For the third paper they should get 50% marks. For OBC students, 35% marks should be scored in the first paper and second paper to qualify. They should score 45% marks in the third paper. PH/VH/SC/ST students need to score 35 % marks in the first and second paper.

Candidates should score 40% marks in the third paper to qualify in this exam. However, the qualifying criterion for Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) and that for Lectureship will be decided by UGC prior to declaration of the result. The exam will be highly competitive as lakhs of candidates appear for this exam every year and the aspirants must be well prepared to get the cut off marks in every section to be successful in the exam.

37 Responses to “New Pattern of UGC NET Exam”

1. 37
    Deepinder kaur:

syllabus of net exam of new pattern of management paper 2013

2. 36
    hitesh:

syllabus of net exam on new pattern of commerce subject

3. 35
    Vandana:

How many attempts can a person make for ugc net exam

4. 34
    Varsha Srivastava:

what is JRf and is it complsari for laccharar?

5. 33
    Amit Saha:

how to get start preparaton for NET exam

6. 32
    preeti gupta:

This is my first net exam. I am submitted my phd thesis recently my age is 32 years . how much time i attempt this exam?

7. 31
    yaxita patel:

when comes ugc net in next round?? how many times ugc net exam taken in year??

8. 30
    Sakshi Singh:

What preparation should be done by commerce students for 1st, 2nd, 3rd papers of NET-UGC?

9. 29
    vel:

hai.,current i am studying in mca final year.,in 5th semestar i want to atten net exam in december possible or not

10. 28
    padmaja choudhury:

i want the study materials of paper 2 and 3 of linguistics. its very difficult to get the study materials, if possible plz help me to get the study materials.

11. 27
    nageswara rao:

am i elgible for english subject in ugc net as management student

12. 26
    Shailza:

Plz send me new syllabus of law for ugcnet june 2013

13. 25
    monika:

how many times we appear for net exam?

14. 24
    deepti kumari:

How i will prepare for net. Which type of question? plz suggest some books also. How many time we attend for JRF

15. 23
    leena p p:

i passed Msc computer science exam .i am 34 years old .what is the age limit for ugc exam and if iam eligible i want to appear in coming june 2014.From where do i get the syllabus .

16. 22
    Muthukumar.S:

How many years once ugc net syllabus change
    Syllabus for ugc net 2013 computer scien ce and applications
    I. Finished Msc IT. May I write the ugc net for comp sci applicatio.
    Differ between ugc net and jrf
    exam pattern for ugc net exam
    Syllabus for jrf fellowship exam and it basic details

17. 21
    Mrs.Ameeta Shirode:

I m ameeta shirode. I passed M.Sc Microbiology in 1998 from Pune University (throughout first class). I wish 2 appear UGC exam now.
    Please could u guide me 4 below -
    1. What subject/s do I select for UGC NET exam if I have done BSc and MSc in Microbiology?
    2. Where would I get the syllabus of the exam?
    3. If there are any ready books available in the market for UGC NET exam of Microbiology?
    4. Is there a coaching class available in Pune for the same?
    5. List of people from Pune who have cleared UGC NET after completing MSC microbiology.

Mrs Ameeta Shirode

18. 20
    Priyanka Saha:

paper iii of sanskrit 2013 june how is the pattern descriptive or objective?

19. 19
    imtiyaz ahmad bhat:

ugc n.e.t. Syllabus of education for new objective pattern

20. 18
    manna lal:

ugc rset exam .2012 cut of marks new pattern

21. 17
    Pankhudi:

Plz answer key of Hindi paper 1,2 & 3
    net exam june 2012

22. 16
    shikha:

iwants to know that my education from haryana and ibelongs from u.p. then from where im able to apply for new pattern net for teacing carrier my education b.sc. [medical] from kuruckchetra univercity

23. 15
    shyamshankar s. pandey:

Dear sir / Madam

I done my mba exam in HR and waiting for result can i give net exam in hr

24. 14
    annapoorna:

Hi I have written net exam on 24th December 2011. When are the results of the same?.I know it’s announced in ugc net online but usually when are the results out becz the next year application has been called for!..

25. 13
    pramod:

what is the maximum age of general categary?

26. 12
    zulhima:

As per new pattern paper 3rd of English Lit. will include quetions from world Literature please furnish with more information regarding the new syllbus of paper iii. English Lit.

27. 11
    PRIYANKA SHUKLA:

How many attemp will be carried out for one candidate?

28. 10
    Krishnkant Garg:

WHAT IS MEANT BY JRF?

29. 9
    Deep shikha:

I want to appear in NET June 2012 & i’ve choosen the subject Human Resource Management kindally provide me details about it’s syllabus & date to fill application Form.

30. 8
    kanu:

i want to know that the new pattern for ugc net 2012 with no negative marking is applicable for life sciences also?

31. 7
    tejaswi:

i want eligibility criteria for ugc net exam
    i m btech final year student so am i elegible for that exam please give rply becoz there is no time apply……please send to me my mail please

32. 6
    rita:

i have done m.p. ed . and i am physical education teacher please give some information about new pattern of net exam and some question .

33. 5
    Hira Singh Dhankhar:

Please send some sample papers general and organic chemistry
    and the new pattern of UGC new pattern of NET exam.

34. 4
    mohanraj:

i want to ias ips

35. 3
    vasanthi:

Am i eligible to attent UGCNET exam i completed my M.sc microbiology

36. 2
    vishwas:

net hindi paper third

37. 1
    MAMTA:

i have done BTech in CSE .& now i am doing MTech. AM i eligble for this paper.