Bengal Engineering College, Shibpur

In the pre-independence era it was known as the Bishop’s College. It started with only ten students and a few instructors on 24th November, 1856. Now it is proudly known as the Bengal Engineering College, A deemed university. The college started as a civil engineering college with a vision of providing engineering education in the country. The college is now more than 150 years old with a glorious history of brilliant students passing from it.

The college teaches many other engineering streams including Electrical, Computer Science, Electronics & Telecommunication, Metallurgy, Mechanical & many other streams. The college was upgraded to its present status of University in the year 2004.The College is among the top 10 engineering colleges in India as given by India Today in the year 2005.

The college is located at Howrah, West Bengal .The College has a beautiful green environment with ponds & playgrounds. The college has one of the oldest technical libraries in south Asia. The library stands upon an area of 20,000sq.ft. Presently it has the facilities of soft & hard copies of books, LAN, net connections for the convenience of the students. The library is also a member of Indian National Digital Library in Engineering Science &Technology. The university provides accommodation to the students who need it.

Seminars & workshops are a regular part of every student’s curriculum from the university. The university has an active Recruitment Cell. Most of the students have jobs in their hands from reputed companies before completing their graduation.

66 Responses to “Bengal Engineering College, Shibpur”

1. 66
    Rituraj pushpam:

Sir i got 1965 rank in wbjee(gen).which trade can i get in your college?

2. 65
    ABHEEK MAITY:

My WBJEE general rank (2013) is 2569. Is there any possibility of getting any stream at BESU?

3. 64
    Akshay Kumar Pandey:

How many seats are there for B.Tech in B.E.College . And upto which rank the student can take admission in this college.

4. 63
    ram poddar:

what is cut off marks in me in civil to get admission for the session 2012-13

5. 62
    shankar mahto:

civil engineering of joint form in shibpur college

6. 61
    krishna chattopadhyay:

1.what courses are available for M.Sc chemistry in Besu?
    2.cut off marks in B.Sc in chemistry to get admission for the session 2012-13

7. 60
    krishna chattopadhyay:

1.Can i study M.Sc inorganic or analytical chemistry in besu?
    2.what is the cut off marks in B.Sc requiered for getting admission in M.Sc courses in chemistry in 2012-13?

8. 59
    Shiva kumar:

Sir,i got rank in wb 2695 gen cat. Which branch will i get in shibpur?

9. 58
    amit giri:

sir, when the enters examination for m.sc math honours will be hapend? and from which date the form will be given?

10. 57
    Arun Mandi:

Sir, I am ST candidate. My GATE2012 AIRank is 10324. Can I get a chance for Mtech. in the department CE in your college ?

11. 56
    shrabana sar:

Sir i am a student of electronics and communication engineerinn(bhubaneswr,Odisha0g and if i will go for mtech in ur college what will be the procedure? pls kindly rply me about this and pls mention the form of mtech..

12. 55
    subha:

hi,i am subhajit,
    i probably will get 39-41.33 marks in gate 12
    i am frm mech engg
    with SC reservation ,where can i get chance for mtech,i am not able to get any idea as because this yr the candidates no is huge(about 3.5 lakh)than prevs yr(it was 82000)?

13. 54
    binod kumar:

i have completed my bsc(it), is it right for me to go for mba programme?

14. 53
    NIKHIL:

IS THERE SCOPE OF GETTING ADMISSION THROUGH LATERAL EXAMINATION IN BENGAL ENGINEERING COLLEGE,Shibpur IN THE BRANCH ELECTRONICS & TELECOMMUNICATION after completing diploma in the same branch

15. 52
    Raiti Chatterjee:

Sir,my WB JEM rank is 70814 in General..can i get admission in B.E at BESU ?plz inform me as early as possible.

16. 51
    arpita das:

i want to know from when online form for MSc in food processing will be given??
    what are the criteria??

17. 50
    Rupa Chakraborty:

Aerospace Engineering Course Eligibility, Prospect, Name of the Colleges where Aerospace Engineering Course is done.

18. 49

whats is the procedure and eligibility for applying for sports quota in besu,shibpur????

19. 48
    suchintya:

What is the minimum rank to get a seat in shibpur university for b.tech?

20. 47
    ananya roy:

sir,i need to know from when the application form of admission in MSc in applied physics will be given,both online and manually.
    also i want to know about the eligibility criteria and cut-off
    marks.plz inform me as early as possible.

21. 46
    Badal:

Sir,my WB JEM rank is 1853 in SC..can i get admission in B.tech ENG at BESU ?

22. 45
    Dipanjan Dutta:

Sir,My wbjee rank in general cat is 4293….i want to know which is the best government or private college in west bengal where i will get electronics comm or electronics electrcl or civil engg

23. 44
    Sanmoy Bhattacherjee:

Please let me know from when online form for M.Sc. Physics (2011) will be given?

24. 43
    subhash kumar:

sir,I want to know when will the online form for food processing be available or has it come? please immediately reply me and what are the criteria.

25. 42
    Ankita Dey:

Sir, I want to know from when online form for MSc in math will be given????

26. 41
    how many seats r there in BESU for WB-JEE qualified students:

27. 40
    Mayurika khan:

what are the criteria?

28. 39
    arkid bhandari:

i want to get admission in shibpur be college for architectutre,,i want to know will the admission procedure b conducted only through west bengal joint or through aieee also… i even want to know what rank do i need to get in aieee to get admission in shbpur be college.

29. 38
    s.mishra:

what is the no of seat available through jeelet in electrical ln jadawpur,shibpur…pleas

30. 37
    Aniruddha Mitra:

respected sir ,
    I want to read applied physics in this college, please inform me about all criteria and application form of 2011. sincerely
    Aniruddha Mitra

31. 36
    buri:

what are the criteria??

32. 35
    SOHAN DEY:

I want to read applied Phyaics at Shibpur College. Pl sent me details eligibility

with sincerele

Sohan Dey

33. 34
    neeraj:

how i can get admissan in shivpur eng.colj

34. 33
    Sreyashi Kar:

i m not getting the online application form for mtech in cse

35. 32
    Sreyashi Kar:

what is the site that we will be getting our application form for mtech 2011 in computer science & engineering????plz give the website plz

36. 31
    Titli:

when will the application form be given for M.Tech in Electrical Engineering at website? And please mail the website too.
    thankyou

37. 30
    Debalina Chakraborty:

Are the M.Tech(2011) application forms available at shibpur for Civil Engineering (Transportation)?

38. 29
    shakti Verma:

when application forms for M Tech admission 2011 are available? Thank you.

39. 28
    alik saha:

i have gate score 329(sc) in code IN . i want to take m.tech admission in shibpur(BE college). can i take it. Please tell me some detail.

40. 27
    sutapa deb:

sir,i am pursuing 8th semester in civil engg. dept. , i appeared gate 2011 but dont get qalifed marks………… i want to take admission in BESU college for M.Tech………… pls inform me the actual admission process & admission test time for non-gate students.

41. 26
    somnath kolay:

sir,,,,,,,,,,,,,i am pursuing 8th semester in electronics& communication dept,,,,,,,,,i appeared gate 2011 but dont get qualified marks…………i want to m.teh from sibpur………..pls inform me the actual admission process

42. 25
    padmadwibedi:

My daughter is studying 3rd year B,Sc. food, nutrition and diet thereapy. is there any course for food technology in your university so that she can admit for this course.

43. 24
    dola roy:

I want to get admission in MTech (IT) 2011 in B.E College Shibpur. Please tell me some detail.

44. 23
    Abhisek Dutta:

Sir,I am a student of computer science department of CU (B.Sc).
    is there any M.C.A course in your university?say about the dates of application form…

45. 22
    subhendu karmakar:

sir, i want to know the eligibility criteria to get admission in post graduation course in mathematics.
    how much percentage in Bsc is required for entrance exam?

46. 21
    Suvajit Acharjee:

Sir, i am the student of silpo in Assam studying in 3rd year and i want to take admission through lateral entry . So, i reguest you to give details for getting admitted. thank you.

47. 20
    Krishnendu Ghosal:

Sir,i am student of diploma in electronics and telecommunication engg dipt.,3rd yr,would your university admits student through the jelet or other exam?

48. 19
    TAPAS PAUL:

i am student of diploma in electronics&telecommunication engineering 3rd yr student,would your university admits student through the jelet exam?

49. 18
    manoj kumar:

sir……i am student of diploma in civil engg. from bihar.i want to take admission in shibpur engg. college[civil] by lateral entrance examination. sir,plz give me suggetion quickly to take admission in engg.college.plz tell me some detail. 1.Approx date of notification of lateral entrance exam for civii engg. 2. syllabus of l.e examinatin.

50. 17
    sisir kumar bag:

I want to get admission in M.Sc math 2011 in B.E College Shibpur. Please tell me some detail.
    1. Approx date of notification of entrance exam for M.Sc math
    2. Eligibility or % in B.Sc for entrance exam.
    3. Syllabus of entrance exam.

51. 16
    Sanjib:

what is the opening and closing rank of jee 2010 in Bengal Engineering College, Shibpur? Please please please send the answer quicklly

52. 15
    tanaya bhowmick:

what is the eligibility criteria and admission procedures for the postgraduation course in mathematics and mca in shibpur be college

53. 14
    subarna:

what is the procedure to admission in shibpur btech college for westbengal’s student in 2011?jem or aieee?pls give me ans

54. 13
    santu pal:

i want to know about the M.sc entrance exam in mathematics.

55. 12
    santu pal:

i want to know about the M.sc entrance exam in mathematics in shivpur and jadavpur.

56. 11
    Sucheta Sharma:

I am a student of c.u.
    I need some information about the exam for M Sc. in applied physics in Bengal engineering college ,shibpur.And i also want to know about the exam pattern ,eligibility criteria and date of this exam in 2011.

57. 10
    Mallika Dutta:

I am keen to know how candidates were selected during the period 1968 - 1972? Was the WBJEE coducted during that period or was the selection done on the basis of HS exam? Though it is known that candidates domiciled in West Bengal were to be entertained , how could candidates from neibouring states of Bihar,Orissa etc join the college ?

58. 9
    avijeet rawat:

my rank in wbjee is 19200 . can i seek admission in besu,shibpur under sports quota?

59. 8
    Md.Tamizuddin:

I’m a student of c.u. I want to know about the application form of msc in applied physics 2010

60. 7
    Souvick Barick:

Is there any sports quota for admission in engineering?

61. 6
    MANORAM PAUL:

admission in msc physics

62. 5
    Samden:

I have got 42170 rank general in wbjee bt in ST i have got 227…can i get any govt. College in kolkata? I want to do electrical engineering..

63. 4
    vivekananda pramanik:

I can not find the information about the addmision test in M.Sc(physics).Please help me to find this.

64. 3
    Gaurav Mamgain:

What is the admission criteria in BEC for B.Tech ? And what is the time for admission forms ?

65. 2
    Sudip Chowdhury:

What percentage will be claimed in Bengal Engineering College, Shibpur for BCA engineering ? I am now in class 11 science. Please tell me the answere as soon as possible .

66. 1
    Amit Kumar:

tell me colleges name where i can do diploma in hindi with ELECTRICAL branch.