Bachelor of Radiology & Imaging Technology: B.R.I.T Course Details

Bachelor of Radiology & Imaging Technology is a 3 year long degree level course. At present Radiography is one of the most popular modern medical technologies available. This technology is used to diagnose various diseases and disorder in a human body. There are many methods adopted to diagnose these problems.

Some of them includes:-

• X-ray
  • Fluoroscopy
  • Ultrasound
  • CT scan
  • MRI
  • Angiography
  • PET technologies

These methods are taught to the students in the Bachelor of Radiology & Imaging Technology course. Some colleges in India only offer Bachelor of Radiology and few offer only Bachelors in Imaging Technology.  But both these courses will enable the students to get a detailed image of the internal body parts and also help to teach their functioning which is impossible to see other wise. These reports will help the doctors to properly diagnose the disease and provide efficient treatment to cure the problem.

A Bachelor of Radiology & Imaging Technology will give the students an over all knowledge about the Radiography. There are basically two types i.e. Diagnostic and Therapeutic radiology. The Diagnostic radiography is more over concerned with radio imaging machines and there by infer results. The Therapeutic radiography engages in the treatment of various diseases like cancer, ulcer and tumor.

There are plenty of job opportunities for those who have studied this course. Interested candidates can also go for higher studies in the related field.

Advantages or Benefits of Bachelor of Radiology & Imaging Technology

After the completion the Bachelor of Radiology & Imaging Technology a student will be able to:

• Build up and pertain Professional morals and principles in the Radiation therapist.
  • The candidates will also develop demonstration abilities with proper and effective communication, Critical Thinking and trouble solving skills needed for professional Practice.
  • Students who have studied Radiography will also be capable of managing, assessing and also use scientific technological information which are applicable for proper patient care services.

Eligibility Criteria for B.R.I.T

As to join a Bachelor of Radiology & Imaging Technology course, a student need to have +2 level studies. A student must have studied science subjects with biology in their +2 as to be an eligible candidate. The students who have a certificate in Diploma in Medical Radiography or even its equivalent are also considered eligible for the Bachelor of Radiology & Imaging Technology course.

Top B.R.I.T Colleges in India

• Tripura Institute Of Paramedical Sciences (TIPS), Agartala
  • Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam-686560
  • Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences, Chandigarh
  • University College of Medical Science and GTB Hospital, Shahadra, Delhi-110095
  • Christian Medical College, Vellore
  • Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, Bangalore-560041

B.R.I.T course curriculum

First Semester

• Basics of  Anatomy & Physiology-I
  • Basics of  Anatomy & Physiology-II
  • Basic computer skills
  • Communication skills in English

Second Semester

• Radiographic Anatomy
  • Radiological Physics
  • Radiographic Photography
  • Principles of Hospital Practices & Care of Patients

Third Semester

• Physics of Radio-diagnostic Equipments
  • Radiographic Techniques Routine Procedures -I
  • Radiographic Techniques Routine Procedures-II
  • Radiographic Techniques Routine Procedure Practical

Fourth Semester

• Care of Patients in Diagnostic Radiology
  • Radiographic Techniques Special Procedures-I
  • Radiographic Techniques Special Procedures-II
  • Radiographic Techniques Special Procedures Practical

Fifth Semester

• Physics of Imaging Modalities - Ultra Sound & CT Scan  Physics of Imaging Modalities
  • MRI & Digital Imaging
  • CT Imaging, Patient Care & Role of Technologist
  • Quality Assurance & Radiation safety

Sixth Semester

• Ultra sound Imaging
  • Interventional & Digital Radiology
  • MRI Imaging, Care of Patients  &  Role of Technologist
  • Dissertation Project
  • B.R.I.T Project

The students who are doing the Bachelor of Radiology & Imaging Technology will have a project at the end of the sixth semester. The purpose of the project is to enable the students of Radiography understand more practical application of the subject in the related professional area. This project is also very important process in the preparation for future professional studies.

B.R.I.T Text Books

• Textbook of Radiation therapy by PHILIPS
  • The physics of Radiation therapy by F.M. Khan
  • Radiation therapy Physics by HENDEE
  • Fundamental Physics of Radiology by MEREDITH
  • Principles and practice of radiation oncology by PEREZ
  • Textbook of Radiotherapy, Radiation Physics, therapy and Oncology by C.K. Bomford, I.H. Kunkler, B.W. Hancock
  • Technical Basis of Radiation therap, Practical Clinical applications by S.H. Levitt, J.A. Purdy, C.A Perez, and S. Vijayakumar

What to do after B.R.I.T?

After Bachelor of Radiology & Imaging Technology one will be eligible to work as a Radiographer in various hospitals, clinics and so on. A Radiographer is a qualified physician who is capable of interpreting the images generated through x-ray, magnetic resonance imaging and other modern technologies. Ultrasound and nuclear medicine are also another means used in Radiology.

Job and Career options for B.R.I.T

Radiography is one of those courses highly regarded as the most employable professions even before completing the degree program. Most of the graduates will find employment equally in the government and private companies.

Students can also opt for higher education and even go for research in the same field. Career growth is also possible in this field if the candidate have required professional skills, additional education qualification and knowledge in the field.

Personal Skill required for B.R.I.T

Radiography is fundamentally a service oriented field. There are certain qualities required for a professional working in this field. This includes:-

• Ability to Infuse Confidence In Patients
  • Accurate Judgment
  • Adapt To the Changes
  • Calm Temperament
  • Communication Skills
  • Good Powers of Observation
  • Patience
  • Purposeful Approach towards The Patients
  • Self-Confidence
  • Spirit for Teamwork
  • Strength of Mind
  • Strong Scientific and Technical Bent of Mind
  • Strong Willpower
  • The Ability to Learn New Skills
  • Tolerance
  • Understanding the Requirement Of People Of All Ages

These are the basic requirement of people who aspire to construct a fruitful career in the field.

Remuneration after B.R.I.T

Radiographers who are getting jobs in the government hospitals can easily earn a salary any where from Rs 8,000-12,000 per month. The candidates who are joining in Private hospitals and clinics are offered even better pay packages depending up on the popularity of the hospital. Radiologists also have a huge demand in most of the countries abroad. Most of these jobs offer very lucrative salary and also have many fringe benefits.

19 Responses to “Bachelor of Radiology & Imaging Technology: B.R.I.T Course Details”

1. 19
    danish:

Can we do usg after b.r.i.t?

2. 18
    M.Hidayathulla:

I am interested to join in Bachelor of Radilogy and Imaging Technogist, (Distance education)
    Ihave done 10 + Dip in radiology Tech 2 years course. what will be the cost of 3 years package (course fee plus exam fee your location and details pls send as soon as posible.

Thanking and awaiting for your replay
    M.Hidayath

3. 17
    brit:

my best is brit pharmes cource redingh

4. 16
    sahil azad:

sir kiya brit karne ke baad ultra sound kar sakte hai

5. 15
    Nikhil kumar:

i want to all information of B.R.I.T

6. 14
    Dr. Nwankwo simon:

I am intereted in Bachelor in Radiology &imaging Technology in your school. How many years will it take a mature student to finish this program?

7. 13
    Kaushik Das:

I want do bachelor of radiology and imaging technology through distance mode from Guwahati of Assam. kindly send me the details.

8. 12
    kamalkant:

sir i want to do bachelore of radiology and imaging technology course from distance mode please send me college list of this course

9. 11
    Ahmed:

Respected, Sir/Madam

please suggest me to prefer which book for the entrance exam for B.Sc (Radiology & Imaging Technology)
    I’m having only few days of time because my exam is on 16 of May.

10. 10
    yasir yaziji:

hi i have dipploma degree allready in radiology i wona cotinue my study to get bachelor degree soo i love to now how many years i shoud study in your filed ? becuase i am already x-ray technicain. and my goverment gaves me financial guarantee as mission degree for ENGLISH LANGUAGE + BACHELOR DEGREE TO BE RADIOGRAPHER . this my email please answer me very soon my name is yasir.

thanks thats all

11. 9
    azad rao:

when will i get the application form for BRIT for G T B hospital safdarganj delhi and any govt. college

12. 8
    Argula supriya:

I want to know about information technology course details

13. 7
    Argula supriya:

I want to know clear information about imaging technology course

14. 6
    NEETU KUMARI:

pls send BRIT course fee details & address delhi centre .
    full details of BRIT COURSE .
    I have passed 12th (PCM)

15. 5
    sampath:

I want to know about the teaching staff requirement for starting the Bachelor of Radiodiagnosis & Imaging Technology course

16. 4
    rosie:

hi… i was wondering if you could tell me about the colleges in chandigarh offering brit.. nd whether i could do it i have done my 12th in the yr 2007 wid chemistry physics and biology…

17. 3
    vijay kumar:

i have passed 10+2.my subject is math/physics/and chemitory.i am studying of diploma in radiology, trade ultrasound tech in the patliputra medical collage s hospital dhanbad.can i study of BIRT ?

18. 2
    tarun arya:

mene +2 sci.(med.)se ki hai.b.r.i.t. karne k bad kaha job milti hai or kitni income hoti hai.

19. 1
    irshad:

plz send BRIT course fee detail & address of gorakhpur centre