List of Courses in HIHT University, Dehradun


HIHT in the name of the university stands for Himalayan Institute Hospital Trust and the university was given this name since it is working under the aegis of this trust, which is acting as the sponsoring society of the HIHT University. The university began its journey when it was established as a small OPD hospital in the year 1989 and a 250-bedded hospital began its functioning in the year 1994.

Soon after this, the construction of a medical college began and the Medical Council of India with the approval granted from the Government of India started the medical college in the year 1995 with its name. In the year 2000, the college got recognition for MBBS programme and later in the year 2001, it began to offer PG courses in different specialties and final recognition for these courses were offered by the Medical Council of India in the year 2004.

Through a government notification dated 6th of June 2007, the Indian government granted deemed university status to the Himalayan Institute of Medical Sciences and subsequently the name of deemed university was changed from Swami Ram Viyaptha to the present name of university. The HIHT University was established under section 3 of the University Grants Commission Act 4956. The list of courses offered by the HIHT University under different categories is given below:

Graduate Medical Courses:

Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)

PG Medical Courses:

Doctor of Medicine (MD) in

o Anatomy

o Physiology

o Biochemistry

o Pathology

o Microbiology

o Pharmacology

o Community Medicine

o General Medicine

o Paediatrics

o Radio Diagnosis

o Anesthesiology

Master of Surgery (MS) in

o General Surgery

o Orthopaedics

o E.N.T

o Ophthalmology

o Obstetrics & Gynecology

Post Graduate Diploma Courses:

DGO (Diploma in Obstetrics and Gynecology)

DMRD (Diploma in Medical Radio Diagnosis)

DCH (Diploma in Child Health)

DA (Diploma in Anesthesiology)

D. Ortho. ( Diploma in Orthopaedics)

DCP (Diploma in Clinical Pathology)

Paramedical Courses:

Bachelor of Science in Operation Theatre Technlogy (BOT)

Bachelor of Audiology  Speech Language & Pathology

Bachelor of Science in Optometry

Bachelor Science in Optometry

Bachelor Science in Medical Laboratory Technology

Bachelor of Physiotherapy (BPT)

Bachelor Science in Radiography and Imaging  Technology (BRIT)

Bachelor Science in in Radiotherapy Technology (BRT)

Diploma and certificate courses:

Diploma in Cardiac Technology (DCT)

Diploma in Hearing Language and  Speech (DHLS)

Certificate Course in Plaster  Technology (CCPT)

Diploma in Neurological Laboratory  Technician (DNT)

HIHT University offers admissions to the students to the different PG courses based on the PGMEE score secured by the candidates. As far as UG admission is concerned, admission is done based on Pre Medical Entrance Examination score of the candidates. Thus, the university acts as one of the best universities for medical education in the nation.



Do you have any question? Please ask:

Questions will be answered on our Forum section

One Response to “List of Courses in HIHT University, Dehradun”

  1. 1

    msc anatomy admission,fees details