Career prospects after B.Sc in Botany

Aspirants having B.Sc degree in Botany can find lot of career opportunities in public sector. They can join Botanical Survey of India (BSI), National Institute of Oceanography (NIO), Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE) etc. as Project Assistant, Technical Assistant, Field Assistant or Scientific Assistant. Relatively there are less opportunities available for them in private sector when compared to public sector. It is possible for them to work in private firms like Nursery Farms, Environmental Consultancies etc. as Environmental Consultant, Nursery Manger or Greenhouse Manager.

Opportunities available in private sector

B.Sc degree holders in Botany can pursue their career as Environmental Consultants in various Environmental Consultancies like ABC Environ Solutions Private Limited. Remuneration package of Environmental Consultants will be in the range of Rs. 1, 00, 000/- to Rs. 7, 00, 000/- per annum. They can also join private nursery farms as Nursery Manager or Greenhouse Manager and earn up to Rs. 4, 00, 000/- per annum. They can render their service as Farming Consultant by joining any private consultancies or starting their own consultancies. Farming Consultants can earn up to Rs. 5, 00, 000/- per annum. Other jobs available for these B.Sc graduates in private sector are

• Park Ranger
  • Herbarium Keeper
  • Curator
  • Botanist
  • Plant Biochemist

Remuneration generally offered for these kinds of jobs available in private sector will be in the range of Rs. 1, 00, 000/- to Rs. 4, 00, 000/- per annum.

Opportunities available in public sector

B.Sc graduates in Botany can join Botanical Survey of India (BSI) as Botanical Assistant and earn a salary package between Rs. 9, 300/- and Rs. 34, 800/- per month. They can also join this institution as Preservation Assistant with salary package ranging from Rs. 5200/- to Rs. 20, 200/- per month.  It is also possible for them to join Agharkar Research Institute as Junior Scientific Assistant. Monthly emoluments generally offered for this Scientific Assistant post is between Rs. 4, 500/- to Rs. 7, 000/-.

Another job opportunity available for them is to become Project Assistant in National Institute of Oceanography (NIO). After getting into this post in NIO, one can earn up to Rs. 8, 000/- per month. Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI) offers the job of Lab Assistant to these graduates with a starting salary package of around Rs. 10, 000/- per month. They can get into the post of Forest Range Officer in Forest Department by qualifying the relevant exam held by State Public Service Commission. Salary package for this post will be in the range of Rs. 15,000/- to Rs. 40, 000/- per month.

These graduates can also work as Field Assistant in Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE) and earn up to Rs. 12, 000/- per month. Kerala Agricultural University recruits them for the post of Project Assistant with monthly emoluments of Rs. 8, 000/-. They can pursue their career as Technical Assistant in Kerala Forest Research Institute and earn up to Rs. 6, 000/- per month.

9 Responses to “Career prospects after B.Sc in Botany”

1. 9
    Rupsa:

Sir, I am doing B.Sc in Botany and I have scored 60% marks in my last 2 exams my final part 3 exam is on March! can you please suggest me an career option in Botany after doing graduation?

2. 8
    jobson:

sir i am jobson doing bsc botany 1st year wt can i do after completing this course?

3. 7
    Chayan Das:

Sir, I am doing B.Sc.(h) on botany under Vidyasagar University. now I am in final year.After finished this study I can’t join in school.I want to study many others way base on this subject.
    please sir kindly inform me the different higher studies and scopes on botany after B.Sc. on botany.

4. 6
    gayatri:

hi i am gayatri.. sir abhi maine bsc. botany mai di hai muze pata nahi chal raha mai aage kya karu..or mai msc.karke techar nahi banna chahti…..to or kya option hai plz tell me.

5. 5
    hema:

can i get into the medicine field after finishing B.Sc Botany

6. 4
    Anupama Hess:

Sir, what are the courses after B.sc in botany for the carrier making.

7. 3
    raj kumar mehra:

i want to go in botenikal research centur and make early growing and big tree. in present i am reading bsc micro.with botey from nersighpur distic

8. 2
    shaadkhan:

Im doing bsc in botany sir it
    is possible to do mba after bsc in botany and if it is possible than which mba programe is good for the future.thanks……….

9. 1
    Sayan Karmakar:

What is the best time to start a competitive preparation for M.Sc. entrance examination during B.Sc. course so as to avoid a year loss after the latter course?