Combined Defense Services Exam Eligibility Criteria

The Combined Defense Services Examination or the CDS is conducted twice a year. It is conducted by the Union Public Services Commission. The exam is conducted for recruitment into the

• Naval academy
  • Officers training academy
  • Indian military academy
  • Air force academy

This examination is conducted in the months of February and August. After this exam, the candidates who are successful are interviewed by Service Selection Board or the SSB. Only unmarried candidates are required to give this examination and they are admitted into their academies after the SSB interview.

Eligibility criteria for CDS exam

For Air Force academy: The candidate must be having a degree from a recognized university with Mathematics and Physics as subjects at 10+2 Level. Or even bachelors in engineering degree would be acceptable.

For Naval Academy: Bachelor of engineering degree or a B.Sc in Mathematics and Physics.

For Indian Military academy/Officers training academy: degree from a recognized university.

Age requirement for Combined Defense Services examination

The age requirement for all four wings is between 19-29 years.

Pattern of examinations

The examination consists of General knowledge, Mathematics and English. Each section has 100 marks, with the total being 300 marks.

Who can apply for CDS exam?

Only those people can apply for the CDS exam who are;

• Citizen of India
  • A subject of Bhutan
  • A subject of Nepal
  • A Tibetan refugee who came before 1962 to India , with the hope of permanently settling in India
  • A person of Indian origin from Sri Lanka, Burma, Pakistan or east African countries with the aim to settle permanently in India.

Physical standards required for the CDS exam

Some of the requirements are:

• Candidate must be in good Physical and Mental health.
  • No body defects
  • The candidate should not be overweight or underweight.
  • The minimum acceptable height is 157.5 cms. The approximate weight is around 50 kgs.
  • A well developed chest is desirable
  • No joints or bones diseases should be present.
  • No history of fits or mental breakdowns.
  • For admission to Navy and Air force, candidates should be without glasses only. Those who are having glasses will be rejected.
  • The hearing should be normal for candidates who wish to get selected.
  • No diseases of the heart should be present.

A large number of candidates are routinely rejected on Medical grounds. So, the candidates should follow the required Medical fitness standard. The Board of Service medical officers will undertake a Medical examination of the successful candidates. Only candidates who are declared fit by the board will be accepted into the separate wings.

27 Responses to “Combined Defense Services Exam Eligibility Criteria”

1. 27
    Abhinav saxena:

i am a student of b.e computer science n i hope there is a scope for c.s.e in cds… i am willing to ask you about the eligibility criteria and course for preparation of the exam.. ??
    i knw my questions are of no worth.. but i will be highly obliged if they are answered.. with a hope to serve my nation… abhinav saxena..

2. 26
    Sunil Kumar:

I am currently studing in B.A. 1st with economics. My DOB is 14-4-1995. Is I eligible for CDSE.

3. 25
    shraddha shinde:

sir i have completed my 12th n m studying in sybsc i wanted to join navy or aiforce m having confidence to crack the exam but for physical test m overweight my height is 5.6 n my weight is 80kg so for physical how much weight i should have

4. 24
    shubham gupta:

i am a +2 medical studenmt, can i apply for cds examinationm?

5. 23
    parveen:

I am student of Btech and having NCC ‘C’ certificate with’B’ grade and want to join IMA.how i can apply for it and in which year I can apply i.e 3rd or 4th year.

6. 22
    manjunath:

how and where we can get medical checkup

7. 21
    Adisna00:

Get Prepared… I Am Coming!!!

8. 20
    raghav:

sir meri height bohot choti hai aur me cds me jana chata hu to me apni height kaise badau.

9. 19
    abhishek:

sir mujhe injury hone pr chakker aa jata tha bt now i m fit…so sir mere medically fit hone mai koi complication hai

10. 18
    Siddhi:

What is the minimum percentage required in b.tech for giving CDS paper?

11. 17
    Tarun gupta:

Hello sir/ma’am
    i want to know that Am i eligible for the xam of cds coz m doing b.sc(h) mathematics 3rd year from delhi university……i dnt hv physics..
    n hw mch will be (-ve) marking their in cds xam.
    thnk u.

12. 16
    Renu:

tell me detail for cds exam. I am a student of btech 3rd year

13. 15
    vivek:

One of my tooth(molar) of lower jaw was decayed and removed by the doctor and two other teeths are permanentaly filled I have 30 netural teeths including filled teeths. So I want to know M I elegible for and fit for the medical exemination of INDIAN ARMY(CDS) and PARA MILITARY FORCES.

14. 14
    kavita:

sir plz tell me whether the height required for girls is also 157.5 cms

15. 13
    Nishant singh:

Sir,my teeths are healthy and germfree,but one teeth is not in proper position then i am eligible for cds medical

16. 12
    semanti:

is height of 157.5 cm is also necessary for girls….who want to join for IMA after graduation ?

17. 11
    manish:

sir mane apne do teeth ukhadwa rakhe he kya is se mera medical me unfit kar sakte he kya

18. 10
    arpit:

i wear glasses but i want to give cds exam ….i compleated my b.tech this year…can i undergo laser treatment and is this allowed ?

19. 9
    touseef alaam:

sir … i want to know if i am eligible to write exam on 2012 as my date of birth is 17-12-1989

20. 8
    ROHIT CHAUDHARY:

SIR, I have a medical teeth problem.
    i have caps in three teeth. Is it kept in the medical criteria for CDS..?? Please tell me as soon as possible..

21. 7
    p.rajavardhan:

sir iam in final bbm,can i apply for CDS exam,please answer sir

22. 6

sir, i have a little fracture on right clavicle, can i eligible for attenting cds.

23. 5
    vivek:

hello sir i wana to know tat i m in prefial year i will complete my graduation on may2013 can i give cds -1 2012 as its course commencent is from feb-2013 so tat in tat case can i get extension for 3 moths from defence

24. 4
    gautam:

sir in this time i pass 12 with pcm group and now iam studing in ba 1 year can i apply for cds exam plz answer me.

25. 3
    saurabh singh:

sir i want to give cds examination but i have glasses can i eligible for this exam in indian millitary

26. 2
    pratik bhat:

sir, i am now in last year B.Sc. in industrial chemistry. now i dnt hav maths or physics subject but i was having both of these subject in 12th.. can i answer CDS?

27. 1
    viplove rana:

sir, i got my cds written clear n im waiting for my ssb bt i have got only 42% in my graduation in arts and two years gap between my 10 and 12th.so sir is there any of these things will affect my .kindly let me know soon sir.thankyou