12th July 2010, 05:22 PM

Default Re: CS or ECE? Which stream is better in engineering?

what is the best stream in b.tech? why?
13th July 2010, 12:10 AM
rohitkumarramesh

If you are interested for Engg. then I will suggest you ECE is best branch for you. Because is the core branch of CSE so it is obvious that you should have to go for ECE. since a student of ECE is eligible for both the electronic field as well as computer field so I will suggest you that you have to go for ECE.
13th July 2010, 12:29 AM
Shagun Makin

Originally Posted by gandharav View Post
i want to know that which stream should i take from cs or ece i got confused in it but i thought cs should be better please tell me soon
Dear friend both are good streams amd both have good scope in the coming future.
This all depends on your interest.If you are interested in studying about chips,circuits etc then look for EC.
But if you are interested in dealing with softwares and want to know about the progarmming then look for CS.

And also if you want to governement jobs then look forward to take Ec as it deals with the subjects that are asked in government services exams.
13th July 2010, 11:38 AM
amit1057

Both stream(CSE,ECE) are better in engineering but out of both
ECE is the better.
13th July 2010, 12:03 PM
pamitraj

Smile Re: CS or ECE? Which stream is better in engineering?

Hey look the point here is that if you go for CS only the top 5% of the students get high paid jobs and the rest are merely paid not as high but good enough. Whereas in ECE it is certainly propounding career and has very high opportunities in the near future.
So concluding that ECE would be better but if you want to be one of the 5% then you are free to do that.
Cheers!!
14th July 2010, 12:22 PM

what is the position of the ECE group now a days? and i want to know about ECE GROUP clearly
14th July 2010, 02:27 PM

history and details of ece
14th July 2010, 06:13 PM
VINODH PANCHAPAKESAN

I have interested in both material science and ECE, so which group I have to take? Please suggest me.
Hi friend,

Since you have interest in both the fields, you are free to take any field.ie most software/IT companies are recruiting ECE graduates also. So, it doesnt matter whatever field you chose. Its upto you how you shine in future on showing your interest on the field you chose. All the best!!!!
15th July 2010, 04:12 PM

please tell me career options for ece branch
16th July 2010, 12:55 AM
kshitijawadhiya

Originally Posted by gandharav View Post
i want to know that which stream should i take from cs or ece i got confused in it but i thought cs should be better please tell me soon
cs is a dumb branch
do not go for it ever as it is not giving a long time secure future
whearas ece branch secures you a good future
opt for cs only if you have interst in it
else it could harm you in future
16th July 2010, 11:38 AM

please give me history of ECE
16th July 2010, 06:04 PM

Which branch is more hard to study :ECE or CS
16th July 2010, 07:55 PM
Yashpal007

If your Language such as c,c++,java,vb,oracle is good
then cs is better in engineering

other ece is best for you.

best of luck whatever you will do
17th July 2010, 04:22 PM
sharad3010

both branches are good
it all depends on wat one wants to do in life

ece needs some labour
cse is easy
but seriously saying wat u study n hw u study makes it easy or tough
7th August 2010, 05:59 AM
Jitendra malviya

Location: 8-bhawani shri lakshya , chhatrasal nagar ,phase 1 ,Bhopal(M.P.),462023

dear friend ,

ECE is better than CS.. because now days there big demand and scope in ECE..

28th August 2010, 08:19 AM
Adarshxxx

in my opinion ECE is better than CSE.its because from ECE you can go for the core as well as software companies for jobs after the completion of your b.tech.but if you opt for CSE only one option is available that is software.but again it depends on your interest which you want to study.
All The Best!!
29th August 2010, 01:35 PM

Originally Posted by sanjusays View Post
both cs and ece are very good in their own ways....as far as job opportunities are concerned ece students have an advantage as many IT companies accept ece students but very few companies based on ece accept CS students....so ece students has opportunities either to go in IT industry or in his field related companies.....
But, learning cse for 4 years is very different from ece students who just do 6 months or one year of computer courses. Every company needs cse students. This is my opinion. I am also going to join in b.tech 1st year. Thinking to join cse
31st August 2010, 05:10 PM
cenaetion

both are good, there is nothing bad.. you just go for that one in which you have lots of interest..

ECE is a branch from where you can go for public sector jobs as well as in private sector jobs..

but in CS there is no such scope for public sector jobs..you have to go in software field..

now it is depend on you , in which field you want to go..

all the best..
2nd September 2010, 02:12 AM
Saikiran M

The Scope of Jobs is more in ECE..
As an ECE engineer you can apply to all CSE jobs too.
CSE jobs are ample in the market around the world in present scenario.

So decide yourself.

MASK
6th September 2010, 07:02 PM

i would liketo know whether there will be any scope for cs in future?and which stream would be better for girls cs or ec?please get me an answer soon
7th September 2010, 12:52 PM
chaitu667

Hai bro!

Its ECE a better choice to do in engineering than CSE because for CSE we have only one scope that is software but for ECE there are two scopes one is Software and the other one is Core.

CS subjects are very easy when compared to ECE subjects and every time there is ups and downs in software field. So its good to take ECE.

Good luck!
10th September 2010, 09:02 PM
bapuram

I Think The Scope of Jobs is more in ECE..
As an ECE engineer you can apply to all CSE jobs too.
CSE jobs are ample in the market around the world in present scenario.so,prefer the ECE STREAM.

11th September 2010, 02:24 PM
KHAN20

Thumbs up Re: CS or ECE? Which stream is better in engineering?

as per my knowledge u must choose CS.dear friend,
as per my knoeledge m.tech have bright future in specially IT industry.for ur there r many software companies like
1.TCS
2.INFOSYS
3.IBM
4.MAHINDRA SATYM
5.L&T INFOTECH
6.CTS
7.CYNERGY
etc.
to know job related news u may register in the web site likes
www.freshersworld.com
www.nokri.com
www.monsterjob .com
etc.
or u may follow newspaper like employment news.
so take decission & make ur bright future.
11th September 2010, 03:53 PM
August

in engineering there is nothing good or bad stream.

every stream has got its own importance in its respective field.

CS is related to software and computer hardware.

ECE is related to electronics and communication.

both has a great demand in modern world.

but every fields market values fluctuates . like now software market is not so healthy.

so i will suggest you to go for ECE.

11th September 2010, 05:17 PM
avinash kr.

in todoy ECE branch is good . because in this branch there are many jobs. CSP branch jobs depends on the market . so for you ECE branch is good. thanking you.
12th September 2010, 04:00 PM

to choose subject in b.tech is very important. because whatever you will choose that you are going to build your career on that field. CS and ECE these two is very good choice. but you have to choose any one from these.

CS is computer science engineering. it mainly deals with computer, software and networking. now at the time of recession job opportunity is not so much good. but there is a lots of good opportunity for a very good computer engineer. also as now the trend of student is not towards the CS so you may get less competitor at the time when you will passed out.

ECE is electronics and communication engineering. it's mainly deals with electronics, communication and also in computer. presently the trend of student towards this stream totally. every year in india there are lots of student those are admitting in ECE. job opportunity is very good for this stream. but to get job on core company is very tough because of less number of core company available. many ECE student are going to do job in the computer field after completion of b.tech in ECE. there is a increasing tough competition here because of more number of student.

now decide yourself which one is better for you. but also follow the skill and knowledge. if you have a good knowledge on computer theb don't go for ECE. best of luck.
14th September 2010, 11:45 AM
NITIN2

According to me , to take CSE branch is risky because there is no stability in the IT

market.But ,the coming world is the world of ECE,there is huge demand of ECE engineer.

you can say that ECE is a core branch.

After doing BTech in ECE You can find job easily in both sector government as well as

private sector.

Goverment sector

1. you can join indian railway

2. you can join Metro railway

3. you can join DRDO

4. you can join Bank

5. you can join Defense services

Private sector

1. you can join various software companies like TCS ,INFOSYS,

2. you can join various core companies of electronics like Samsung, LG,
Whirpool, BPL, ONIDA etc.

So, i advice you that you should join ECE.

18th September 2010, 01:34 PM

In India which group ECE or CSE has more companies to provide jobs
27th October 2010, 10:01 AM
mseetharamster

Doing CSE or ECE will help to get a good job if you do it from a good college.

But many prefer ECE because they can go into software field and also into other electronics fields like research, into MNCs based on electronics etc.,
But doing ECE has a drawback you will study electronics, fix your mind so but you have to work as a software engineer and settle so, since there are no much industries for electronics.
30th October 2010, 08:29 PM
koli

yes you are right.
you should choose cse rather than ece.
there are a large no. of companies in India giving placements to cse students.
31st October 2010, 05:08 PM
nikhilmi

It is better if you go by your interests,because if you choose the stream in which you have interest then you will find it easy in clearing the exams and also you will gain good knowledge about it as you will get involved in it.

But speaking overall, ECE will a have an edge over CS as ECE graduates will have
more options.ECE graduates can apply in IT sectors as well as in industries like Power plants,Steel plants etc.Whereas CS graduates have the maximum opportunities in the IT sector.

But saying this doesn't mean that CS graduates will have to struggle,infact there are enormous opportunities in IT sectors this days and most expectedly it will continue to be so.Companies like Infosys,Wipro,TCS,IBM,CTS,Accenture etc....are top most companies in the IT sector.

So,i will advice you to think carefully and take your decision according to your interests.You will have bright future irrespective of the branch.

Good Luck.
1st November 2010, 02:59 PM
amit04051988

hello friend

CS is good because today IT sector is increasing very fast so you will have lot's opportunities.

12th November 2010, 12:35 AM
Gaurav.jain88

I think ECE is better choice than CS due to the vast field of EC likes in Hardware, software, communication, networking.
On the other hand CS offer Software and hardware.
31st December 2010, 05:04 PM

Hi ,
I am pursuing b.tech in CSE . Afterwards , can I jump on to electronics when I go for m.tech ???
9th March 2011, 07:32 PM

Those u say that there is wide scope in ECE, can anybody tell how many ECE engineers end up in core jobs, i.e. jobs related to their field. Maximum of them enter into S/W. What is the use of studying ECE for 4 years and doing S/W jobs. I nstead study CS and u will have a better hold of the subject and in interview nobody will question "why s/w after studying ECE ?". There is a normal tendency among students to go for a branch that has flexibility but remember by doing that u will b jack of all trades and master of none. Hence my advise is if u r from a average college, then go for a CS or IT. Bcoz "IT" is a major manpower recruiting industry and don't rely on telecom jobs becoz big players of telecom industry go to high profile colleges where as in IT there is ample opportunity.
14th March 2011, 06:30 PM
melwynjensen

Those u say that there is wide scope in ECE, can anybody tell how many ECE engineers end up in core jobs, i.e. jobs related to their field. Maximum of them enter into S/W. What is the use of studying ECE for 4 years and doing S/W jobs. I nstead study CS and u will have a better hold of the subject and in interview nobody will question "why s/w after studying ECE ?". There is a normal tendency among students to go for a branch that has flexibility but remember by doing that u will b jack of all trades and master of none. Hence my advise is if u r from a average college, then go for a CS or IT. Bcoz "IT" is a major manpower recruiting industry and don't rely on telecom jobs becoz big players of telecom industry go to high profile colleges where as in IT there is ample opportunity.
hello friend...

I do accept with your opinion, but the real thing why software companies recruit even EC or Mechanical graduates is because the project which the top software companies like TCS, Wipro etc. handles wont be related only on computer science but also with Electronics, Mechanical streams etc. wherein you need some basic knowledge about the core subjects of different streams which is highly impossible for a CSE or IT graduates to cope up with hence they recruit students from other streams...
15th March 2011, 12:24 AM
melwynjensen

Hi ,
I am pursuing b.tech in CSE . Afterwards , can I jump on to electronics when I go for m.tech ???
hello friend...

As you are in CSE stream its better you go for M.Tech course in CSE but not in electronics.. if you are interested in electronics and feel that you do better then opt for that course because once you get into the field you need a lot of hard work.. so it depends upon your interest, think twice and select the course...

hope the info. helps...All the Best...
13th April 2011, 05:15 PM

Originally Posted by solution View Post
hello friend
i think ece is far better than cs.there have lots of scopes in jobs in higher studies. if you do btech ni cs then you can get jobs in only software sector.but if you in ec then you have chance in

1.govt sector.
2.electronics industry.
3.telecom industry.
4.software industry.

all the best.....
your answer is the best.
thanks dude
Bye.
14th April 2011, 09:55 AM
sureshcbe

It is better to join ECE. Because there is lot of competition in Software field. so it is better to join ECE field.
23rd April 2011, 02:52 PM
zeeshan87

hi, there are much much scope for the EC and CS as both are ever lasting it depends on your interest to choose best of luck.
29th April 2011, 12:27 AM

am doing my engineering(e.c.e) in future to get good job with enough salary to my family will this degree enough or have to do anything else than this?
15th May 2011, 10:47 PM
sivaraj448

thats a good question and needs a deep thinking. After the recession CSE has gone down market and so has IT but it may improve in the future.
on the other hand ECE is in great demand . And it gurantees promising future in both software and telecom companies for sure so better try for ECE..
22nd May 2011, 06:53 PM

whether nit durgapur is better option for a me 1st
student of kgec under wbut
23rd May 2011, 07:47 PM

SIR, MY CUT OFF IS ONLY 170.25. SO WHAT SHALL I CHOOSE IN BE WHETHER CSE OR ECE? I AM VERY CONFUSED. WHICH HAS A GOOD FURTURE. GIVE ME SOME IDEA. REPLY ME SOON...PLS
25th May 2011, 04:09 PM

hey is nit kkr better in terms of placements than vit vellore ?plzz suggest
31st May 2011, 11:56 PM
mailmeshekhar2011

I think Computer science is better choice for now a days.
IT field is going so fast now that there is good placement also and good scope in future for
OWn company too.
So go for cs this is good for your future.
Good luck

3rd June 2011, 06:17 AM
balarmkec

According to me CSE has better scope than ECE.
CSE is one of the easiest branch in engineering.
13th June 2011, 11:57 AM

Hai,I done my 2 computer science on this year.I want to join engineering.Which course is better for carrieer my future either ECE or CS or IT?
17th June 2011, 12:32 PM

do i get any jobs regarding to cse group in public sector ? r there many choices with me in cse to go through public sector ;plz answer me ;help :(
3rd July 2011, 05:30 AM

which trade has more no. of jobs and have easy placements
ECE OR MECH. ?
( AS WE ALL KNOW THAT THERE ARE LESS CANPUS PLACEMENTS OF MECH. STUDENTS THAN ECE OR CSE STUDENTS........)
PLZ SEND ME YOUR SUGG. AT [email protected]