15th July 2010, 02:09 PM

Default Re: How to become an Astronaut with NASA?

sir i am doing bsc in physic how can i join nasa after doing bsc please tell me
21st July 2010, 09:23 PM

My niece Miss. Sharda Jairaj Rao has pass her S.S.C Exam March ' 2010 and got 84% as she is interested to become an Astronaut to qualify which institute I make her should join , at present I am from Maharashtra Mumbai i.e Vikhroli Email: [email protected]
24th July 2010, 10:35 PM

hello sir , my name is snigdha. i have just started computer science engineering at pantnagar college of tech.,pantnagar university. i really want to become an astronaut.is there any scope with b.tech. computer science engineering or should i change my stream??
kindly reply immediately.
30th July 2010, 03:16 PM

hir sir, i am Ratna, am doing engg in computer science engg, my ambition is to become an astronaut. after my b.tech what step may i have taken to become an astronaut.
plz
send to my email: [email protected]
2nd August 2010, 04:50 PM

WHICH TYPE OF BOOKS IS USEFUL TO INTERESTED PUPILS
2nd August 2010, 11:56 PM
shubham957

Smile Re: How to become an Astronaut with NASA?

Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
hello my name is tanu goel. i am indian and i am doing my engineering. i want to become an astronaut i am very keen interested in becoming an astronaut in nasa. so please tell me the whole procedure that how can i become an astronaut in nasa. its very important for me because its my dream and i have to fulfill it with my full hard work and dedication.
tanu goel
india
state- uttar pradesh
city- agra(city of taj mahal)
actually, for becoming an astronaut, you have to do btech with aeronautical engg or aerospace engg. and after that you can apply in the exams conducted by ISRO (indian space research organisation). if you qualify that exam then you can surely become an astronaut one day.
3rd August 2010, 12:51 AM
August

Thumbs up Re: How to become an Astronaut with NASA?

as now u are doing your engineering so concentrate on your studies then prepare well for the entrance test of NASA.

if u will be able to score good result then u will be able to work there.

for this i will suggest u to keep on checking employment news where u will get all the information regarding the exam.

3rd August 2010, 01:37 AM
Rickers

Hello Tanu,

For become an astronaut with NASA you have to have these qualities:
1. B.Tech from any IIT's.
2. having master degree with astro physics from IIST
3. Phd in astro physics
4. having work experience for atleast 4-5 years in BARC(Bhabha atomic research center) or ISRO(Indian space Research organization) as a junior scientist.

Then you will get chance in NASA. so you have to get many more degrees for becoming an astronaut in NASA.

So all the best.
3rd August 2010, 04:07 AM
ravi6

dear i attached a full pdf for you which help you to learn ,how to become an astronaut in NASA?

ravi6
File Type: pdf Astronaut_Selection_and_Training_2007.pdf(807.7 KB, 148 views)
3rd August 2010, 12:19 PM
rajanivedha

hi all .. those who want to pursue or join NASA ... its not that much easy but an achievable one... so join b.tech aeronautical and boom yourself up.
3rd August 2010, 12:28 PM
rajanivedha

HI PLEASE SEE THE nasa WEBSITE AND ALSO THE PREVIOUS POSTS SO THAT YOU CAN HAVE A CLEAR IDEA
3rd August 2010, 01:37 PM
aryan.kolkata

Thumbs up Re: How to become an Astronaut with NASA?

hello my name is tanu goel. i am indian and i am doing my engineering. i want to become an astronaut i am very keen interested in becoming an astronaut in nasa. so please tell me the whole procedure that how can i become an astronaut in nasa. its very important for me because its my dream and i have to fulfill it with my full hard work and dedication.
tanu goel
india
state- uttar pradesh
If you wanna know please visit NASA official site. You will get answer of you question
3rd August 2010, 03:20 PM
prashantmeghalia

tanu goel
india
state- uttar pradesh
i don,t know about your trade in btech but for becoming an astronaut, you have to take aeronautical or aerospace engineering in btech. After completing it you can try in ISRO. If you are having some other trade, then also you can apply in ISRO. But may be you will get some other job there instead astronaut. If you perform exceptionally well there, then you will be sent to nasa.
Good luck
3rd August 2010, 07:22 PM
Somesh Goenka

Well thats good to know that you want to be an astronaut, but then you have to be real tough and work real hard. An engineering degree is the minimum eligibility criteria.
For further details, kindly visit the following link, it their official website:

www.nasa.gov

You may also be interested to join ISRO, the Indian space research center.

Good Luck!
3rd August 2010, 08:43 PM
yashaswini t s

tanu goel
india
state- uttar pradesh
in NASA one can find intership,co-operative programs,summer jobs.......
you can e-mail atwww.nasa.gov
receive update at http://www.nasa.gov/FSS/index.html
twitter at http://twittercom.NASA
4th August 2010, 01:24 AM
naffees

hai,
you have to complete your engg with aerontic engg,and then m.tech with aero space
4th August 2010, 12:48 PM

tanu goel
india
state- uttar pradesh
hi tanu,
i know ur a very ambitious person
my sisters friend is aspiring for the same..he has applied for university in US[florida tech] and has joined BSC physics..heard you ve got to do astrophysics and thats the path to make it to NASA..you ve got to do your undergrad there..he spent quite a bit of money and loan though..this is all i know..all the best
9th August 2010, 05:23 PM
nitin.uchgave

tanu goel
india
state- uttar pradesh
sir ple help me about information nasa entrance exam in enng.
1st September 2010, 11:16 AM

for becoming an astronaut in nasa should i opt for aerospace or aeronautical engineering?????????
plz reply
10th September 2010, 05:46 PM

i m a btech student with cs branch .
i want to work for nasa ..
and i m an indian .
so plz tel me how could i get there??
9th October 2010, 12:52 PM
Rudraprasad

tanu goel
india
state- uttar pradesh

for an astronaut to need to go through various training and various skills tests.

As per recruitment rules in NASA,they are not taking directly from asian,australian and not american people.they are taking through some agencies.and for that you need to be a government specilised officer like either indian military person,or indian astronautical persons.and after some years experience then you can apply for the astonaut.

for further details you can visit:

http://nasajobs.nasa.gov/

and also you can mail to the authority directly and ask them.
20th November 2010, 08:46 PM

hello sir my name is prashant agrawal . i am living in rajkot, gujarat and studying in 11 std. i want to join space technology related field . what should i do after 12? what are requirements to be astronaut, cosmonaut or engineer ? what should i study and from where also suggest me can i do without appearing for entrance exams, as i am not good eligible now for preparing plz reply me at my email id [email protected]
19th December 2010, 02:41 PM
avinash5009

sir, i have seen all the posts. I am an electrical & electronics engineering student. I want to know that if there is a chance to enter nasa after doing my B.E and not after the master degree. I would be waiting for your answer. Thank you.
P.V.Avinash
10th January 2011, 12:28 AM

sir, i am an information technology student.i want to know if there is a chance to get into nasa or not????what further studies i hav to do.
sir please reply me on my email [email protected]
12th January 2011, 07:53 PM

Sir, I am P.V.Avinash. I am doing my B.Tech 3rd year. I want to enter NASA as an engineer regarding my course that is Electricals and Electronics, so kindly give me a reply regarding my post to my email id [email protected]
30th January 2011, 10:49 PM

how to became a astronaut after B.Sc.?
30th January 2011, 11:11 PM

how to became a nasa scientist?
31st January 2011, 02:18 PM
G-rocks

Hello Friend

To become an Astronaut with NASA yo need to complete your B.Tech in aerospace or aeronautical.For further information you may go to the official website of NASA.

Best of luck..
1st February 2011, 12:24 AM
priyanka_swengg

Astronuat is something whose preparation starts from scrap
  • read everthing you can get your hands on about astronauts,space and whatever field you want to work in.
  • For astronuat a college degree is necessity and of course the grades in too either it is engineering, biological or physical sciencd or mathematics.
  • If you do M.S it is well and good.

After college you need 3 years of related experience in your field.

after degree and some experience its time to apply for astronauts positions.NASA recieces an averge of 4015 application to fill around 20 slots for every 2 years.and they call around 118 applicants from total for ASB interview based on
experience
potentioal
motivation
ability to function as team
and communication skill.

If applicant intersted in pilot or commandor position then instead of mission specialist then you have to go for at least 1000 hours of flight time in commant of a jet aircraft.These type of training you have to face and need to do in future that why many Many applicants do not meet medical standards while others withdraw after learning all that the job entails. After all these incidents Astronaut Selection Board chooses final candidates and pass to NASA and their decision will be final.
Be prepare physically and Mentally as this not the 9-5 job which one expect but a 24 to 24 hr full dedication........
16th February 2011, 12:02 PM

how to become a Astronaut in NASA for Mechanical engineering
20th February 2011, 12:52 PM

my name is Yadav Pradeep Bharat.i want to know the difference between astronaut, astrophysicist and cosmologist and How to make career in space research after 12th science,related to black hole,galaxies,stars and universe(i.e bigbang)
AND
what i can do to join the nasa?
10th March 2011, 05:16 PM

my name is laya ann joseph i am 16 my dream to become an astronaut
10th March 2011, 09:17 PM

hai my name is suresh i am doing engineering what is the qualification of austronute please........
1st April 2011, 01:52 PM

hi my name is akshita agarwal and i want to be an astronaut.i am currently in class 12 and will be giving my competitive next year.what subject should i study and which institute
12th April 2011, 05:22 PM

HI
I AM ANKITA I JUST GIVE AN EXAM OF SSC I AM VERY INTERESTED IN ASTRONOMY SO WHAT SHOULD I DO FOR IT AFTER SSC?
1st May 2011, 08:54 PM

I JUST WANTED TO ASK IF THERE IS ANY EXAMSTO BE GIVEN IN NINTH [OF NASA].
THANK YOU
5th May 2011, 03:55 PM

hi,sir i hav given 12th ssc board & aieee exam.i m aspiring to b an astronaut in isro in future.is there any chances to get admission in iist now because i hav given aieee?is there any scope to be astronaut after b.tec in aieee?what are physical & educational requirements?can i become astronaut after aeronautical eng?which r the entrance test & scholarship test that i can giv now to get admission in reputed colleges or institutes?plz help me i m in so much trouble & confusion!!
9th May 2011, 03:08 PM

I completed my MCA, doin job in IBM as a S/W testing engg..want to do phd from IIT or IISc, so please guide me procedure/entrance exam to get admitted in IIT/IISc..
28th May 2011, 10:04 PM

Hello sir,I am Mitsal,i would like get some information from u,I am study now engg in electrical branch,i like to join NASA for my bright future.So, please tell how to give entrance exam for join to NASA.
28th May 2011, 10:27 PM

Hello sir,I m Mitsal,i study engg in electrical branch,i would like to know that how to give the entrance exam for join NASA??.So,give me the rply for it.
2nd June 2011, 06:07 PM

Originally Posted by maddusajj View Post
first you get an graduation in aerospace from some reputed college in India and then go to america for higher studies in aerospace engineering there you can get chance to join NASA
.all the best
hello my name is vishal.i am studying in mechanical engg and i wanna to join the NASA so how can apply for this?
5th June 2011, 11:12 PM
A.Sidique

I completed my Btech in Mechanical Engineering and now going to pursue Mtech in Aerospace Engineering from IIT kanpur. I wish to join NASA as an aerospace scientist/engineer. What all steps should I take for achieving it? Is there any entry exams?
22nd June 2011, 12:16 PM

how some students are doing projects and were selected to visit nasa ,and how they are getting those projects
3rd July 2011, 11:07 AM

now i m in 10 and want to become an astronaut..so plz tell me the way for it just after 10th class....
14th July 2011, 09:18 PM

which branch is necessary in engineering to become an astronaut in NASA?
18th July 2011, 09:58 AM

sir I am studying ECE at iiit,basar. how could I get in NASA
6th August 2011, 11:26 AM

Will citizenship of usa is necessary for become astronauts in nasa?
21st August 2011, 02:11 PM

tanu goel
india
state- uttar pradesh
hi tanu this manish sharma.........m doing my 3rd year in mechanical engineering.....and i too want to become an astronaut........and by the results of my search.......i can tell that u can do masters in astrophysics...for 2 years and 1 year research work......m also planning to do the same.....so u need to prep for gre toffel or gate.......gate is for universities in india...and gre and toffel is for abroad universities......hope u'll be satisfied with this advice........tell mee if u like it.........
5th September 2011, 01:32 PM
goutam1222

Pilot astronaut:

1. Bachelor's degree from an accredited institution in engineering, biological science, physical science, or mathematics
2. At least 1,000 hours pilot-in-command time in jet aircraft. Flight test experience is highly desirable.

Physical fitness:
1. Distant visual acuity: 20/100 or better uncorrected, correctable to 20/20 each eye.
2. Blood pressure: 140/90 measured in a sitting position.
3. Height between 62 and 75 inches.
5th September 2011, 05:56 PM
Tulasinagababu

The first U.S. astronauts were selected in 1959, before human spaceflight operations began. NASA asked the military services to provide a list of personnel who met specific qualifications. After stringent screening, NASA announced its selection of seven men, all pilots, as the first American astronauts. NASA has selected 20 more groups of astronauts since the “Original Seven.” The backgrounds of NASA’s latest group of Astronaut Candidates include schoolteachers, doctors, scientist, and engineers.

NASA selects astronauts from a diverse pool of applicants with a wide variety of backgrounds. From the thousands of applications received, only a few are chosen for the intensive Astronaut Candidate training program. Including the “Original Seven”, only 330 astronauts have been selected to date.

The astronauts of the 21 st century will help lead NASA through the next steps of its Vision for Space Exploration as we explore the Moon, Mars, and beyond.

CONTACT INFORMATION
NASA Johnson Space Center
Mail Code AHX
2101 NASA Parkway
Houston, TX 77058-3696
281-483-5907