1st December 2010, 10:21 PM

Default Re: How many years one should prepare for IAS?

is maths is neccesary for ias
2nd December 2010, 11:09 PM
surendergora

Smile Re: How many years one should prepare for IAS?

It all depends on individual .... preparation time for ias.
But i think one yr is enough for this. Make one of your option subject which u have studied in bcom.
And other u can choose keeping in mind your interest in that subject.
30th December 2010, 01:29 AM

HI
I'm interested in taking geology and geography for the Civil Service Examination, though I don't have graduation level background of either of them as I am a medical student. I'm doing so due to my interest in them. Will anyone of you let me know is there any good coaching institute in Delhi or any other place in India. Though I have heard of "the skylight academy" Delhi for providing coaching in geology optional but don't how good it is.
Deep
Jammu
21st January 2011, 03:30 PM
abhimanyu2688

Hello Friend,
As you are good student, so start preparations for the exams as early as you can because that will be best for you to know about the exams and its question patterna and this may get you edge over other candidates and you will score good marks. for mains you should choose those subjects in which you are good at and study and revise them regularl to get command over the subjects.
Good Luck.....
1st February 2011, 04:16 PM

hello , i am jasin i did my BA in Economics and Diploma in fire and safety Engg, 23yrs old now i am working in US Army base, Camp Arifjan kuwait as Fire Fighter but i like to became IAS becoz that is my dearm when i am in college but due to some family matter i came here for money. hello i get lot of free time here to study in my job hour so i just again i think about it.
but i can use only books bcoz no classes here for it....! Please give me some tips and ideas for my future.
28th February 2011, 10:44 PM

hii.. I'm in class10 2(non-med) with 88%in icse in class10... i want to prepare for the IAS right now...? how should i proceed from now onwards for a bright future..? please name me some good coaching centers in amritsar?
11th March 2011, 11:06 AM

Hi i ve completed my commerce graduation before 2 years now i started fof civil service examaniation. i ve confidence that i will crack within a year,,,,,My query is that is it necessary to go to a coaching class if we are in well minded
16th March 2011, 05:13 PM
shahul1423

according to your capability, understanding capacity,and speed of reading,it vary to person to person.it need atleast of one year preparation.
18th March 2011, 07:27 PM
aditya436

Thumbs up Re: How many years one should prepare for IAS?

It depends from person to person.

in his Iq capability.

and charachteristics like

hardworking.

time management

no more commitments

single target

and so on like this will achieve a good result in just 6 months of preparation.

there are some candidates who topped the exam in their first attempt.

and also candidates who clear their exam at their last attempt.

this is all because of their will power.

keep strong will power with good attitude.

~aditya~
24th March 2011, 12:01 PM
shahul1423

the time duration to prepare for the exam is purely dependa on you. ideally one should prepare atlest for 1 year. best of luck
1st May 2011, 01:30 AM

I'm a simple commerce graduate & belonging S.T. class. I'm live West Bengal. I want to I.A.S. officer. please tell me the procedure, which can support me to achieve my goal. NO.1> Top coaching institute in West Bengal. NO.2> Examination category NO.3> How many papers are there & how many papers face in exams by me? NO.4> Top class authors of related subjects.
2nd May 2011, 08:58 PM

HI HOW CAN I PURSUE WITH MY MEDICAL CAREER ALONG WITH IAS ??
10th May 2011, 04:49 PM
Gita Irudhayaraj

Smile Re: How many years one should prepare for IAS?

There is no time specification of years to prepare for upsc exams. You select good coaching centre and join and study. Then you can succeed. They will guide in what to prepare yourselves.

25th May 2011, 02:04 AM

i hav cleared my 12th cbse boards. my aim is to give my civil service entrance after i complete my engineering. so wen need i start my preparation?? and wat all need i study for clearing d prelims and then mains???
i have no idea. plzz....guide me.
khushi
29th May 2011, 08:44 PM

Question Re: How many years one should prepare for IAS?

Originally Posted by faiyaz View Post
That's the spirit.........!

Keep it burning dont let this spirit to even deem, it will make your way towards real success which is an important tool for cracking IAS.

~Faiyaz~
aare but how many years
12th June 2011, 04:26 AM

pls tell me the name of book which is best for g.s for u.p.s.c
12th June 2011, 02:00 PM

hello....i am a girl of 11th std and i've a big aim of becoming an IAS Officer....so plz tell me abt the books that will be essential for my preparation..... i've had my secondary education in ICSE syllabus.....
13th June 2011, 09:52 AM
shekharrai

Well, since you are hard working person just start your preparetion from now.

Appearing for Civil Service Exams is not ther thing that matters cracking it with flying colours is what is needed to get into TOP options that are IAS, IFS and IPS.

And for Civil service preparetion the best way is to go through a good Coaching Institute, there you will find hand on guidance of whole matter.

Well, being a Commerce student opting for "Commerce" or "Economics" as an optional for Mains is a best option.

15th June 2011, 01:03 PM

Im a working man aged 28 having master degree in socilology , i wish to be an ias and i havent prepare anything tiil now, will i be able to crack the ias if i work hard enough, plz tell me which is the best coaching institute in hyderabad.
15th June 2011, 11:44 PM
SUMITRA_M

is maths is neccesary for ias
in which stage you are asking for?
25th June 2011, 10:40 AM

hello sir..
i am mbbs 3rd yr student.
hw can i prepare for ias exam?
25th June 2011, 10:05 PM

which coaching classes r best for IAS Prelime 2012 in mumbai???
29th June 2011, 11:41 AM

i am 18 years old when onwards i have to start preparation for ias exam
30th June 2011, 08:27 PM
Snehamay ganguly

Your result in 12th shows that how much hardworking you are..
so, I think you will definitely crack the IAS exam at the first attempt...
See, this is not matters that how many years you are taking preparation for IAS, which matters that is how much preparation you have taken for IAS...
It will be better for you to join some coaching centers for IAS preparation..
they will prepare you for IAS...
you have to choose any two subject to take preparation for IAS..

All the best..
2nd July 2011, 09:17 AM

sir am from a small village, i dont no proper english will i be able to write my civil services examination
15th July 2011, 05:54 PM

since coaching is costly can i prepare on my own for the I.
A.S. BECAUSE i am poor i cant pay for the coaching classes fees
20th July 2011, 12:26 AM

what is subject for ias
31st July 2011, 09:43 AM

I am joyal from tamilnadu...i am a 3rd year electrical engineering student....which subject i will choose for the main(ias)?.......i hav scored 89.6% in 10 th and 86.9% in 12 th standard and 80% scored in electrical engineering......which one is best one for me IAS or IPS or IFS......
2nd August 2011, 01:12 AM

Hi,I am working in good IT company.But my aim is to be IAS.so i want to do preparation for it.But there is a time constraint for me that i have to make it out anyhow in only 2 year because after that my parent would not allow me to do it.I have done my post graduate in computer science.And i am just a good in my study not so brilliant.Even Monday to Friday i have to be in office for 9 hour.so in those days i cannot give much time in studying .and in sat and sun i joined a coaching class for it .So,seeing my current situation please tell me genuinely that if in this way only if i am giving my time in preparation then can i make it out in coming two year for sure or not.
21st August 2011, 02:07 AM

Respected teacher im curretly pursuing my final year B.A in psychology can i take up the exam
22nd August 2011, 10:51 PM

how to prepare ias exam after the bba
2nd September 2011, 08:16 PM
vishal jaybhaye

the hard and smart work is the key to success in these top exams.
as you have scored 90% in 12th its nice thing.

ias is the top exam of our country.

one should prepare very hard to get success in it.
concept clearance and the knowledge about the current affairs is the key thing to get good score.

also the personality development is needed for the last step that is interview .
specially body language is more important part in the interviews.

as you are in the final year of the graduation you may start preparation for ias exam.
you can attempt ias exam in the final of graduation too.

to know more information about the ias exam and paper pattern of the exam kindly visit the website www.upsc.gov.in

thanks and best luck
3rd September 2011, 06:56 PM
lovebirdskarun

For writing the civil service examination there are certain criteria
They are the age limit and no of attempts

Age limit
General 21-30 years
Obc 21-33 years
SC/ST 21-35 years

Number of attempts
General -3
OBC -5
SC/ST – no limit
12th September 2011, 11:16 PM

I AM B.E. SECOND YEAR STUDENT.. I WANT TO CRACK IAS, CAN I START MY PREPRATION FROM NOW?
4th October 2011, 04:28 PM

Hi i am student of class Bcom.-1 how should i prepare for ias prelims without coaching and what subjects i should take for mains.
7th October 2011, 12:40 AM

is vajiram the best institute for ias coaching?
9th October 2011, 06:02 PM

m doing my btech second year,n i wanna crack ias ........how should i get tuned for it from now....plz help me
16th October 2011, 10:50 PM

is the coaching for IES in elect engg sufficient for preperation of IAS electrical engg (mains)?
20th October 2011, 01:18 PM
ch.manoj

Cool Re: How many years one should prepare for IAS?

the hard and smart work is the key to success in these top exams.
as you have scored 90% in 12th its nice thing.

ias is the top exam of our country.

one should prepare very hard to get success in it.
concept clearance and the knowledge about the current affairs is the key thing to get good score.

also the personality development is needed for the last step that is interview .
specially body language is more important part in the interviews.

as you are in the final year of the graduation you may start preparation for ias exam.
you can attempt ias exam in the final of graduation too.

to know more information about the ias exam and paper pattern of the exam kindly visit the website www.upsc.com

27th October 2011, 08:55 PM

Hi,I have did my MBA finance 70% marks ,if iwant do IAS How many years one should prepare for IAS? my mail id is - [email protected] pl rep
28th October 2011, 05:40 PM
sheshadev senapati

hii dear

Appearing for Civil Service Exams is not ther thing that matters cracking it with flying colours is what is needed to get into TOP options that are IAS, IFS and IPS.

And for Civil service preparetion the best way is to go through a good Coaching Institute, there you will find hand on guidance of whole matter.

Well, being a Commerce student opting for "Commerce" or "Economics" as an optional for Mains is a best option.
31st October 2011, 11:34 AM
kartik41

Dear,you are hard working person just start your preparetion from now.

Best up luck,
31st October 2011, 11:19 PM
imcool.raone

3rd November 2011, 10:37 PM
manas.europhia

Location: Qr.No.- FR-99/8 ,SAILASHREE VIHAR , CHANDRASEKHAR PUR , BHUBANESWAR, ORISSA, PIN - 751021.

It is good to know that you want to appear for Civil Service Exam and be an IAS officer.
Well first of all, as rightly said by above wanting to appear is one thing and then getting a good result is another. You really have to work very very hard as i know many people who have been working very hard but yet have not succeeded in their goal. I think it is the right time for you start your preparations. Join an institute offering coaching for the same, as they can give you very good guidance which you cant get on your own. Go through the previous years papers if available to you so that you may get an idea of what kind of questions may come. If possible, if you know that any IAS officer, then stay in touch with him, he may provide you the guidelines of how he prepared for the same.

Well for main, you may select economics, as people with economics have a strong background and knowledge and get selected better.

Good Luck.!
3rd November 2011, 10:50 PM
manas.europhia

Location: Qr.No.- FR-99/8 ,SAILASHREE VIHAR , CHANDRASEKHAR PUR , BHUBANESWAR, ORISSA, PIN - 751021.

It is good to know that you want to appear for Civil Service Exam and be an IAS officer.
Well first of all, as rightly said by above wanting to appear is one thing and then getting a good result is another. You really have to work very very hard as i know many people who have been working very hard but yet have not succeeded in their goal. I think it is the right time for you start your preparations. Join an institute offering coaching for the same, as they can give you very good guidance which you cant get on your own. Go through the previous years papers if available to you so that you may get an idea of what kind of questions may come. If possible, if you know that any IAS officer, then stay in touch with him, he may provide you the guidelines of how he prepared for the same.

Well for main, you may select economics, as people with economics have a strong background and knowledge and get selected better.
4th November 2011, 05:02 PM
manas.europhia

There is no fixed duration for preparation of IAS. It depends on the candidate's potential to crack civil services exam. Some candidates clear the exam in one attempt with a few months prepration while others take a no. of attempts with years of prepration. So, it all depends on your knowledge, ability & hard work. Generally 1 year preparation is sufficient.

If you are serious about making your career in civil services then it is the right time to start studying.

For mains choose the subject over which you have good command.
4th November 2011, 09:30 PM
Fraction Down

IAS means Indian Administrative Services and is basically meant for those aspiring candidates who have strong dedication towards the country.

India holds a UPSC examination every year and on the basis of this examination a number of IAS officers are recruitment.

Eligibility Criteria :-

1.> For general category :-

21-30 years and can attempt 4 times.

2.>For SC/ST :-

21-35 years ,and there is no limitation .

3.> For the OBC:-

21-33 years and can attempt 7 times.

The minimum qualification required for appearing the competitive examination is Graduation. Many professionals like Engineers, Doctors, persons with Ph.d qualifications are competing for UPSC.

Application forms will come out in the month of January.

Paper pattern has changed in IAS 2011 exam.

Paper Pattern for IAS 2011 exam :-
Unlike present,now there are two objective type papers carrying equal marks, in which
1) General-Studies paper carries 150 marks
2) Optional paper carries 150 marks.
Instead of one compulsory paper of General Studies and one Optional paper, both the papers shall be compulsory.

For more latest update on IAS 2011 visit : http://www.iasexam2011.in/.

14th November 2011, 07:18 AM

I'm a b.tec computer science student (2nd yr) Which subjects i should prefer for my IAS exam?
23rd May 2012, 11:53 AM

HI All,

I am an engineering graduate,I am working for I.T sector from last 3 years,But becoming an IAS was always my dream from childhood now as i have just completed 26 years of my age that childhood ambition is attracting me lot.Now i am maintaining the equllibrium with my current job and little bit of preparation to IAS.So i just want to ask to you people is this the right age to start and also i have to choose 2 subject all together it will be new start for my carrer.
21st June 2012, 02:53 PM

I am an employee of a Private sector company,i don't have leave on Saturday also. i have done my PGDM in Marketing and want to crack UPSC Exam, so how should i start my journey.