29th June 2012, 10:16 PM
rrajvarun

Which course should I select to become a Pilot?

Hi my name is varun i am studying 10th what course should i select to become an pilot pls help me

30th June 2012, 08:34 AM
cenahlr

Default Re: Which course should I select to become a Pilot?

To become a pilot, you don't have to be in great shape or have superior hand-eye coordination. For private pilot privileges, you will have to, at some point, pass an FAA medical exam, but for most this is little problem if you don't have a known heart condition and your vision is reasonably good or can be corrected (with glasses or contacts) to be good (not necessarily perfect). If you have concerns, see a doctor first.
30th June 2012, 09:35 AM
imira
Senior Member+++++

You will be eligible to join after you complete your 12th standard. You must opt for Physics, Chemistry and Maths during the same. After this the first step to apply for the Student Pilot License with DGCA. The next step is complete 60 hours of flying and secure the Private Pilot License. The final step is to complete the required 250 hours of flying to acquire the Commercial Pilot Licence. If you are interested in joining the IAF then you can apply for the NDA exam after 12th standard. Another option is to complete engineering and then pursue your aspirations.
30th June 2012, 12:08 PM
sherleytwain
Senior Member+++++

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrajvarun View Post
Hi my name is varun i am studying 10th what course should i select to become an pilot pls help me
To become a commercial pilot you will have to get Student Pilot License (SPL) and Private Pilot License (PPL) or Commercial Pilot License (CPL).

Eligibility Criteria

Educational qualification - Even 10th pass candidates can obtain SPL. While for CPL the candidate must have passed 10+ 2 in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics with minimum of 50% marks

Age limit - For CPL the age of the candidate must between 18-30 years.