What does it takes to get a commercial pilot license?

The commercial pilot license (CPL) is the qualification that allows its holder to play the role of a pilot. Many types of Commercial Pilot Certificates are issued to eligible candidates for major aircraft categories. This includes airships, helicopters and Airplanes. CPL certifications are also given to pilot aircrafts such as balloons and gyro-planes. Here we are going to discuss the importance of the CPL and methods how to get it.

What is the qualification needed?

The basic criteria needed by a person to get the CPL certification are a pass in class 12 with more than 50 percentage marks. They ought to have learned mathematics and physics during their period of study. It is also mandatory that they should be more than 17 years of age.

The primary step in pilot training is to get the Student Pilot License (SPL). Once this is accomplished, students can start their training for the Private Pilot License (PPL). This part of training involves 60 hours of training. This comprises of:

• 20 hours of dual flying
  • 20 hours of solo flying
  • 5 hours cross country flying

Aspirants also need to appear for a written test. Subsequent to the completion of the PPL, it is needed for applicants to get trained for another 190 hours as to get the Commercial Pilot’s License (CPL). This means a total of 250 hours of training in flying.

The period of training will generally be 5 years.

Pilot Aptitude Test:

The illustrious Indira Gandhi Rashtriya Uran Akademi (IGRAU) is the leading flying institute in our country. This Academy offers candidates the opportunity to determine their aptitude for flying. This is determined by means of the Pilot aptitude Test. The assessment of the candidates is done soon after the test.

More particulars of the written test and other information are given below. The test shall comprise of topics such as:

• Air Regulation
  • Air Navigation
  • Aviation Meteorology
  • Aircraft & Engines (General and Specific)
  • Radio Telephone (Oral & Practical) - This test is carried out by the Wireless and Planning Co-ordination Wing, New Delhi.

It is also needed by all candidates to clear the medical test that is carried out subsequent to the written exam.

Fee structure of the CPL course

The Commercial Pilot License shall only be issued for those candidates who have fulfilled all eligibility criteria. The total cost for getting the commercial pilot license will be as much as Rs. 9, 00,000/- (nine lakh) whilst the cost for getting the commercial helicopter pilot license will be around Rs. 13, 00,000/- (thirteen lakh).

23 Responses to “What does it takes to get a commercial pilot license?”

1. 23
    neha:

will we get our license first of theory done first……as in theory takes time over practicals.also is entrance exam included in the course time or before course tine ,i.e.,12th ……

2. 22
    Nikhil:

Sir, Now i am in class +1. I wanted to become an aviation pilot.Please guide me how i can become pilot after passing +2.

3. 21
    Ranil Chacko:

Any possibilities to get CPL without mathematics and physics?

4. 20
    ankita:

sir now i am pass out 12 class and i got 62% i am intresed in indian air force plz tell mi detail what do now in less money .which exam iwill prepar now and relatedbooks with corces pls guide me sir

5. 19
    deepak lalwani:

sir i wanted to become a pilot ;and i also want to eran somethink possdible from scholarship ; but i think it would not provef me that much of money to become a pilot ; so i need u consaling in this regard

6. 18
    Shrikanth:

Does CPL gives guaranty abt the job

7. 17
    Anil sood:

Does CP L course from igrau guaranteed job placement

8. 16
    satyam pandey:

Does CPL course gives guarantied job placement…?

9. 15
    satyam pandey:

does CPL course gives 100% job placement …?

10. 14
    NEEl:

can we get loans from bank for CPL and what is the starting salary for a commercial pilot?

11. 13
    Vikas:

Without having 9,00,000,can one get CPL?

12. 12
    mesh:

rt nw my age 26 yrs. can i becom pilot get me cpl licence

13. 11
    JAYANTH:

How All Should To Become An Commercial Pilot After 10 .. Now im 10th and which group should i select to become an pilot and whether i should take any extra coaching like fiitjee are iit ??

14. 10
    vasumathi:

sir, there is one error. to get the Commercial Pilot License you have spend atleast 18 to 20 lacs in government flying club. it will be more for helicopter licence. my daughter has done her CPL. this is for your information.

15. 9
    ilesh chandrakar:

hello sir pls would tell me that i can get addmison in cpl in free set

16. 8
    Amit gajraj:

Helo sir g want to do cpl i passed class 12 and i dont know what should do now for 2pl can u tell? Plz.

17. 7
    mohammed zaafari:

i am wearing spectacles from past 4 years due to short sight(3.75R and 2.75L).though it can make over the requirements only by wearing spectacles(i.e with my best corrected vision).and i dont have any other problem other than this. whether i am eligible for aviation field(to fly)?

18. 6
    saranuja:

i am a srilankan and i hold oci citizen passport of india can i join your institution

19. 5
    Rohit negi:

i want to become an big pilot .how?

20. 4
    kamil:

what are the procedure to join in madras flying club,necessary to write entrance exam??

how much lakhs need to finish or to get cpp(commercial pilot licence)
    after finishing how to get job in air lines (plz explain what are the procedure) thank you

21. 3
    sankul:

heigt , minimum qualification , after graduate student b can fill the form , which cost given the pilot training , 100% given this job ,

22. 2
    mahima johnson:

i m 17 years old so can i do any courses related to pilot

23. 1
    Prasad:

I would like to know much more about the CPL.WHAT IS THE BASIC QUALIFICATION REQUIRED.iN KERALA-STATE IS THERE ANY INSTITUTE FOR THE COACHING .