25th June 2010, 02:57 PM

Does one have to pass in first division in BE/Btech to appear in GATE?

do we need first class in BE to appear in gate and to get a seat in IIT???

25th June 2010, 05:02 PM
vidh

no that's not so if you are of second division passer you may also apply to that.

no that's not so if you are second division passed out you may seek into the examination of gate
25th June 2010, 08:21 PM
sparkle

Default Re: Does one have to pass in first division in BE/Btech to appear in GATE?

The following categories of candidates are eligible to appear in GATE:

1. Bachelor's degree holders in Engineering/Technology/Architecture/Pharmacy and those who are in the final or pre-final year of such programmes.

2. Master's degree holders in any branch of Science/Mathematics/Statistics/Computer Applications or equivalent and those who are in the final or pre-final year of such programmes.

3. Candidates in the second or higher year of the Four-year Integrated Master's degree programme (Post-B.Sc.) in Engineering/Technology or in the third or higher year of Five-year Integrated Master's degree programme and Dual Degree programme in Engineering/ Technology.

4. Candidates with qualifications obtained through examination conducted by professional societies recognised by UPSC/AICTE as equivalent to B.E./B.Tech. Those who have completed Section A or equivalent of such professional courses are also eligible.

I think now your doubts are clear.

All the best!
25th June 2010, 09:11 PM
9A2M00

Default Re: Does one have to pass in first division in BE/Btech to appear in GATE?

you need only 60% pass out in you stream.
that's all.
nothing all needed in all.gate exam in feb. results in march.
25th June 2010, 10:05 PM
sandy B

hello friend,according to my knowlege to appear in gate there have no criteria,like first division in BE/Btech ...
26th June 2010, 01:18 PM

There is no creteria to get first division to appear in GATE exams. If you have a graduate degree in engineering, then you are eligible for appear in GATE exams.

There is no need to get first division marks, to appear in GATE exams. If you
will get seond or third division, then ofcourse you are eligible for this exams.

But, if you get first division marks, then it is best for your career. But to appear
in GATE exams, there is no creteria to get first division marks.
1st July 2010, 08:20 PM

What is the percentage of mark needed to get first class in BE/B.Tech?
What about the eligibility of securing first class with distinction and second class in BE/B.Tech?
I belong to anna university affiliated college regulation 2004...
Plz someone help me... If possible plz kindly reply to my mail : [email protected]
2nd July 2010, 09:28 PM
mathursaab

No its not necessary to pass BE/B.Tech with first division to appear in GATE exam.
3rd July 2010, 01:19 AM
gaurav goel

no its not compulsory to secure 1st division in btech to get through GATE,,,,,its just you need to cross the GATE cut off
3rd July 2010, 04:44 PM
pinnache

m.tech admission is done through gate,valid for 2 years.
exam syllabus is of b.tech.
see iit homesite for the prospectus.
you need a pass in engg.
6th July 2010, 09:53 PM

No it is not mandatory that you must have to score 1st division.

All students B.Teech/B.E of 3rd year or final tear can apply for the GATE exam .
The only thing required is you must have to pass all the subjects.

31st July 2010, 02:58 PM
Somesh Goenka

No there is no such criteria to appear in GATE. You just need to have a graduate degree from a recognized university.

Good Luck!!
15th August 2010, 11:05 PM
Sathishkannan

There is no percentage limit to appear for the GATE exam any one can attend the exam.
15th August 2010, 11:08 PM
Sathishkannan

Since there is no percentage limit but you should have any arrears then only you can attend the exam.
15th August 2010, 11:09 PM
Sathishkannan

For the gate exam you should prepare well and hard work is necessary then only you can get good mark in the exam.
15th August 2010, 11:13 PM
Sathishkannan

For gate exam preparation you should be known about every thing then only it will be easy for you.
15th August 2010, 11:15 PM
Sathishkannan

Some of the area you should concentrate more in the have exam preparation is day to day news.
15th August 2010, 11:17 PM
Sathishkannan

Moreover you should known about the basics of the your subject that you are going to take in the exam and also you should know about indian history.
2nd September 2010, 04:32 PM
avinash kr.

yes you can appear in gate and if you pass the entrance test you can admitt into iit, thanking you
3rd September 2010, 12:26 PM
meeria

There is no creteria to get first division to appear in GATE exams. If you have a graduate degree in engineering, then you are eligible for appear in GATE exams.
But, if you get first division marks, then it is best for your career.
have a good day.
3rd September 2010, 07:41 PM
tina toms

no there isnt such a restriction to appear for gate exam
3rd September 2010, 10:13 PM
swati123

You have asked two different questions and the answers too are different.

Talking of GATE, you do not really need First Class marks at the Graduation
Level to appear in this exam. (Please visit the GATE Forum and check the FAQ
page http://www.gateforum.com/FAQ_GATE.php to clear all your doubts about GATE and for previous years question papers).

The eligibility for getting admission in the PG programs of IITs differs from
institute to institute, while some like IIT Kanpur settle for 55% marks at the
graduation level, some like IIT Delhi require a minimum of 60% marks in
BE/BTech.
4th September 2010, 12:59 PM
shivanigarg_4u

the GATE exam does not follow this type of criteria . for clering gate one has do hard work thats all.
4th September 2010, 06:40 PM
sanjusabu

NO DEAR ! YOU HAVE NO NEED TO WORRY BECAUSE THERE ARE NO SUCH ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA TO APPEAR FOR GATE. FOR GATE CRITERIA VISIT:
http://www.onestopgate.com/gate-over...ligibility.asp
5th September 2010, 06:50 PM
NITIN2

i want to inform you that there is need to pass B.E. exam with first division division to

appear in the GATE exam and to get admission in the IITs. To appear in the Gate exam

there is no eligibility criteria. One thing is that you must pass your B.E.

8th September 2010, 10:28 PM
bapuram

i think the GATE exam does not follow this type of criteria . for clearing gate one has do hard work thats all.

9th September 2010, 09:35 AM

there is no such criterion in GATE. you may appear in GATE with a bad marks also. but good marks gives advantage at the time of admission in the college.
9th September 2010, 04:09 PM
mini rani

Getting a first division i.e. 60% marks in BTech is not an essential criteria for appearing in GATE.

The eligibility for GATE just requires a degree in engineering from a recognised university. There is no cut off marks as such for appearing in GATE exam.

However, a first division in BTech will surely help you in future.
18th March 2011, 09:05 PM

any one please help me .. i got second class..i.e 55% in my b.tech /eee ..i want to persue my m.tech at iit or nit ..is it possible if i get good rank in gate.. what are the institutions which offer seat to second class degree ..
31st October 2011, 11:26 PM
vinay21feb

List of coaching centers for IES and GATE entrances in Pune or Maharashtra-
ACE Engineering Academy
Ahlan Xerox Internate, Stationery
Allahabad Agri Institute Eng & Technology
Alpha Educational center
Alpha Educational Society Coaching For all Engineering Exams
Alpine Instt of Mgmt & Tech.
Amulet Tutorials
Ankan's Academic Associate
Aonelearning
Architecture Aptitude.com
IES Academy
31st October 2011, 11:48 PM
vinay21feb

The meaning of IES is "".And the meaning of GATE is "".

List for top coaching centers for IES and GATE -

-- Brilliant Tutorials - Chennai
-- IES Academy - Delhi
-- Lead Institute of Academics - Tirupati
-- Vani Institute of Engineering & Technology - Pune
-- ELITE Academy - Mumbai
-- ACE Engineering Academy - Hyderabad
-- THE ENGINEERING ACADEMY(TEA) - Hyderabad
-- Vidyalankar - Mumbai

So,Best of Luck apply for these collage.
31st October 2011, 11:56 PM
vinay21feb

Elite Academy (Mumbai)
Vidyalankar (Mumbai)
VIDYASAGAR CLASSES (Borivali)
VIDYASAGAR CLASSES Dadar(H.O)
VIDYASAGAR CLASSES (Vashi)
VIDYASAGAR CLASSES(Thane)

GATEForum(Nagpur) Nagpur 83, Ashirwad,Abhyankar Nagar,Nagpur 440010
VIDYASAGAR CLASSES (Nagpur) Nagpur Nagpur 349/2 Kasturaba Bhavan, Bajaj Nagar, Nagpur 440010

Vani Institute Of Engineering Technology
VIDYASAGAR CLASSES (Pune)

31st October 2011, 11:58 PM
vinay21feb

ITE Academy ,Mumbai , India
ELITE - IES 2010
Brilliant Tutorials
IES Course
IES Academy
Correspondence Course for IES
Regular Classroom Program For IES
Weekend Classroom
Program For IES
IES Made Esay
IES Course
Vani Institute of Engineering & Technology Pune , India
1st November 2011, 12:00 AM
vinay21feb

ITE Academy ,Mumbai , India
ELITE - IES 2010
Brilliant Tutorials
IES Course
IES Academy
Correspondence Course for IES
Regular Classroom Program For IES
Weekend Classroom
Program For IES
IES Made Esay
IES Course
Vani Institute of Engineering & Technology Pune , India
10th July 2012, 04:44 PM

is there any percentage limit for distinction r one doest have history of arrears is said to be distinction in anna university?