28th May 2011, 07:11 PM
ramniwas_123

Is Geography a good scoring optional subject in UPSC mains?

Hi I am a computer science student want to opt Geography as subject for the mains. can I do good scoring in this subject even I don't have much background of it.

27th July 2011, 07:08 PM
maddusajj
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Is Geography a good scoring optional subject in UPSC mains?

hi...its very good that you are preparing for the indian administrative services exam ,becuase it offers you to work in the top job in the countries ,so it is also probably the toughest exam in the country so some serious preperation and smart work is required for this examination.
generally during choosing the subjects it happens with every one that atleast one subject they choose such that they dont have an real back ground in it so its not some thing new .as far as geography is concerned its considered by amny as the safest option for the ias examination ,so you can surely take it.you have to dediccate real good time to it also .you can think of taking an coaching to guide because you dont have background in the subject the coaching can really help you .jains ias academy in delhi is one of the best coaching centres for the geography subject you can try it
28th July 2011, 06:57 PM
Tribhuwankumar1990

yes it is a good scoring subject if you study it regularly as it is a vast subject and need time and good reference material.

as you are a computer science student you should only opt for the subject if you are truly interested in it and you know that you can do well in it.
28th July 2011, 06:58 PM
Tribhuwankumar1990

Wink Re: Is Geography a good scoring optional subject in UPSC mains?

yes it is a good scoring subject if you study it regularly as it is a vast subject and need time and good reference material.

as you are a computer science student you should only opt for the subject if you are truly interested in it and you know that you can do well in it.