26th June 2012, 09:50 PM

How to prepare for IAS exam? I am a BDS 3rd year student

I am a bds 3rd year student.i want to prepare ias exam...but i don't have any proper knowledge about...plz guide me about it....

23rd October 2012, 05:51 PM
sandeepsaini.saini522

Default Re: How to prepare for IAS exam? I am a BDS 3rd year student

IAS exam stands for indian administrative service exam which is conducted by upsc.
To join this exam,
>you must be graduate from a recognized university.
>age limit is 21 to 30 years.
>you must be indian citizen.
Preparation for IAS exam:-
>read exam pattern carefully
>follow best books
>read english newspaper daily
>manage your daily schdule according to study.
>you have to harder to harder work to crack this exam.
For more,
www.upsc.gov.in
23rd October 2012, 07:58 PM
Lokeshthetopper

Dear aspirant,
IAS is an exam which covers a huge no. of optional subjects.
The reason behind this is that Indian administration is willing to choose professionals and graduates from all the backgrounds.

Let me give a brief info:
Main Examination

There are nine papers.

Scheme of the examination:

Paper-I & II: Two Language papers (One in Indian Language and one in General English, each carries 300 Marks)

Paper-III: Essay (200 Marks)

Papers IV & V: General Studies (2 papers ,each carries 300 Marks)

Papers VI, VII, VIII & IX: Two optional subjects (each having 2 papers and 300 marks for each paper)

IAS Preparation

Start the preparation in advance and do not leave it for last minute. Make a study schedule based on IAS Syllabus for IAS 2011 and adhere to it. Review your previous lessons every day. Practice using IAS study material and IAS question papers. Analyze your performance and based on it plan further. Studying in group will help you get advantage of what others are studying and share your knowledge with others. Read newspapers like The Hindu, Times of India, Economic Times everyday. Some of the IAS books that you should refer are:

Our Constitution by Subhash Kashyap
India's struggle for independence by Bipan Chandra
Geography of India by D.R.Khullar
Indian Economy by Dutt and Sundaram
Human Geography by Majid Hussain
NCERT Textbooks
Yojana
Oxford Atlas India
India Year Book
Quantitative Aptitude by R S Aggarwal
High School English Grammar and Composition by Wren and Martin
Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary by Oxford University Press

The selection of best books will play a great role in deciding your rank.
If you have a good collection of books then your preparation will be better.
At the same time your hard work to finish the syllabus of optional subjects will play a great role in deciding your rank in the mains.

In order to have expert level knowledge of General studies the recommended books are:
General Studies Manual -McGraw Hill Publication
Arihant Publication
Upkar Publication
UPSC Portal books
Pratiyogita Darpan study material , Civil Services Chronicle, Competition wizard for articles on important issues.
Most common optional:
Public administration
1.Fadia and Fadia
2. Laxmikant from McGraw Hill Publication
3.UPSC Portal study material

Believe you can and you will on the half way.
Please do visit this website for your queries related to any entrance exam.
24th October 2012, 01:09 AM
SAM14U

HELLO DEAR
----------------------------
IAS
------------------------------

Its nice to see that you are aspiring to become an IAS officer.

IAS is commonly known as Indian Administrative Services.
To become an IAs officer you need to clear UPSC Civil Services Examination.

You can sit for the exam provided you follow the eligibility norms:

** You must have completed your graduation in any stream.

** Final year candidates may also apply.

** Your age should be between 21 to 30 years.

There is age relaxation given for reserved categories.
SC/ST- 5 yrs
OBC- 3 yrs
PH- 10 yrs

Number of attempts:

4 in case of general
7 in case of OBC &
unlimited in case of SC/ST till they attain the age of 35 years.

There are 3 stages of examination:
Preliminary
Mains
Interview

According to latest pattern Preliminary exam is known as CSAT.

You have 2 papers in this:
General awareness
Aptitude test

You have to prepared for this examination as per the pattern and syllabus, you can collect syllabus from the previous notifications from the official website.
http://upsc.gov.in

Exam date of 2013 is already announced in UPSC website.the exam date of UPSC Civil Service Exam 2013 is -

DATE OF NOTIFICATION :- 02.02.2013
LAST DATE FOR RECEIPT OF APPLICATIONS :- 04.03.2013 (MONDAY)
DATE OF COMMENCEMENT OF EXAM :- 19.05.2013 (SUNDAY)

Offline registration fees for civil service exam is 100/- and Online fees are 50/- .There is no registration fees for SC/ST/OBC and female candidate .
21st August 2013, 09:03 PM

respectedsir, am a final year BDS student.i would like to start my ias preparation now,but dont know how to start and from where to start.sir,pls guide me to do it in a better way. fazeela mohd
22nd August 2013, 12:07 AM
PK99310

hello friend

Start the preparation in advance and do not leave it for last minute. Make a study schedule based on IAS Syllabus for IAS 2011 and adhere to it. Review your previous lessons every day. Practice using IAS study material and IAS question papers. Analyze your performance and based on it plan further. Studying in group will help you get advantage of what others are studying and share your knowledge with others. Read newspapers like The Hindu, Times of India, Economic Times everyday. Some of the IAS books that you should refer are:

list of some books i am giving to you by which you will the able to crack the exam

Our Constitution by Subhash Kashyap
India's struggle for independence by Bipan Chandra
Geography of India by D.R.Khullar
Indian Economy by Dutt and Sundaram
Human Geography by Majid Hussain
NCERT Textbooks
Yojana
Oxford Atlas India
India Year Book
Quantitative Aptitude by R S Aggarwal
High School English Grammar and Composition by Wren and Martin
Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary by Oxford University Press

12th November 2013, 09:02 PM

is there any subject choice for bds students??
30th December 2013, 11:30 AM

can i start with upsc preparations,iam in 3rd bds ,wil it hinder with my studies if so how much time should i spend for preparation????
30th December 2013, 11:33 AM

can i start with upsc preparations,iam in 3rd bds ,wil it hinder with my studies if so how much time should i spend for preparation????