19th September 2010, 11:33 PM
swati.physio

IAS Exam Details

I want to give ias exam, but hav very little knowlede which is negligible about ias exam preparation.
send me as much as detail abut ias examination preparation, syllabus, books-guidlines,examination dates, tips etc.. knowledge which is necessary and helpfull for me.

with regards
Swati Jain

20th September 2010, 02:11 PM
sanjusabu

Default Re: IAS Exam Details

IAS means Indian Administrative Services and is basically meant for those aspiring candidates who have strong dedication towards the country.

India holds a UPSC examination every year and on the basis of this examination a number of IAS officers are recruitment.

Eligibility Criteria :-

The minimum qualification required for appearing the competitive examination is Graduation. Many professionals like Engineers, Doctors, persons with Ph.d qualifications are competing for UPSC.

Application forms will come out in the month of January.

Paper pattern has changed in IAS 2011 exam.

Paper Pattern for IAS 2011 exam :-

Unlike present,now there are two objective type papers carrying equal marks, in which
1) General-Studies paper carries 150 marks
2) Optional paper carries 150 marks.

Instead of one compulsory paper of General Studies and one Optional paper, both the papers shall be compulsory.

For more latest update on IAS 2011 visit : http://www.iasexam2011.in/.
20th September 2010, 08:41 PM
inderpal285

Originally Posted by swati.physio View Post
I want to give ias exam, but hav very little knowlede which is negligible about ias exam preparation.
send me as much as detail abut ias examination preparation, syllabus, books-guidlines,examination dates, tips etc.. knowledge which is necessary and helpfull for me.

with regards
Swati Jain
You should buy guide-books on the IAS exams to practice and prepare. May services are also available that offer interactive online preparation service.
www.onestopias.com/ias-preparation.asp
20th September 2010, 09:31 PM
Mrs_Praveen_Gola

PRILIMINARY EXAM IS TO BE HELD IN MAY.
you should study for at least 1 year to give priliminary exam
exam form can be collected from post office .after filling the form all the syllabus . books , etc. are suggested in the UPSC site .
20th September 2010, 09:43 PM
nitchan

hi i am nitin
i want to tell u that if u want to gave exam of ias then u go to cannaught place at barakhamba road in kanchanjanga building.
there is a institute rau's institute
they are given ias coaching.
coaching new batch eill start in november
and registration last date is 30 septemcer
and IAS exam in may 2011
13th October 2010, 06:15 PM

what is mean by optional paper
13th October 2010, 08:14 PM
prashantmeghalia

with regards
Swati Jain
ias exam is conducted by upsc once in a year. for becoming eligible for the exam, you must have done graduation in any field with minimum 50% marks. for the exam you will have to select subjects of your choice in which you want to give the exam. there are general knowledge questions also in ias exam, so you must keep yourself upto date. the notification of the exam will come in the employment news. for the syllabus and reference book and previous years question papers you must check their official website
www.upsc.gov.in
13th October 2010, 09:14 PM
Bishwajit Giri

The Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has approved the Union Public Service Commission to the Civil Services Examination from 2011.

IAS (Indian Administrative Services) is basically for those who are firmly determined for dedication of themselves towards the own country.

Eligibility Criteria :-

The minimum qualification required for appearing the competitive examination is Graduation.

If you are so interested for IAS,after being Engineers, Doctors, or Ph.d you can sit IAS exam conducted by UPSC.

Application forms will come out in the month of January.

According to the new exam pattern of the IAS exam
1) General-Studies paper which carries 150 marks
2) Optional paper which carries 150 marks.

The General Studies paper and one Optional paper both the papers are the compulsory paper.

according to the list of optional paper are as:
1) Psychology
2) Commerce and Accountancy
3) History
4) Geography
5) Physics
6) Medical Science
7) Law
8) Mathematics
9) Mechanical Engineering
10) Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
11) Public Administration
12) Agriculture
13) Sociology
14) Botany
15) Chemistry
16) Geology
17) Electrical Engineering
18) Civil Engineering
19) Economics
20) Philosophy
21) Zoology
22) Political Science
23) Statistics

for some questions or subjects follow the link:http://www.iupsc.com/label/ias/
For more latest update on IAS 2011 visit :http://www.iasexam2011.in/.

Good luck.
13th October 2010, 11:42 PM
mseetharamster

visit http://www.iasexam2011.in/. and select the optional subjects depending your stream.
You should have sound knowledge about the current affairs.
General knowledge plays a major importance.For this keep reading a particular newspaper daily without missing any recent updates.

Hand writing also plays a major important role.So maintain good hand writing.

Knowledge of social,geography,history is required keep studying them.
14th October 2010, 03:35 AM
Rudraprasad

Smile Re: IAS Exam Details

with regards
Swati Jain

basic qualification for IAS is graduation.Application forms will come out in the month of January.

paper pattern for IAS 2011 has been change but it is not publically notified.
details you can get:

www.upsc.gov.in

14th October 2010, 01:52 PM
nillu

For all the details regarding IAS exam you can log on to commision website http://www.upsc.gov.in
For this exam you should be minimum 21 years of age during writng this exam
and be a garduate .tyhe notificationg for 2011 will be released soon in commning days
14th October 2010, 02:39 PM

from where and when i can get form for this....??
14th October 2010, 03:41 PM

definately, you can do IAS after graduation.

as minimum qualification graduation is require to attain in the IAS exam.

and minimum 60% marks in graduationis require to attain in the IAS exam.

age limit for IAS exam is 21-29 years.

all the best..............
14th October 2010, 06:17 PM
jayasheelan

Hi, go to net and search ..........
Read daily news papers and mazagines and make note points
allot time for each subject........follow strictly
i the month of november see employment news paper in that it will be pulished about ias exams
15th October 2010, 12:48 PM
helpmaster

For IAS exam which is conducted each year by UPSC you need to have completed your graduation and your age should be 21 years.
The notification for it will be declared in the month of december.
For all other details visithttp://www.upsc.gov.in
15th October 2010, 05:57 PM
helpmaster

The form for IAs exam are available throughout the country from the head post office of the district.
You can even aplly it online.
For girls, sc/sct and hanicapped there is no any fees and for all other it costs
15th October 2010, 06:39 PM
nillu

As far the details are concerned for the IAS exam you can see it on the website
www.upsc.gov.in
and other requirements are
• Should be graduate from recognized university
• Should be of 21 years of age
The form will be available from the head post offices of your district only after the notification from UPSC
15th October 2010, 09:00 PM
kool

Thumbs up Re: IAS Exam Details

the application form issue in Post office, you can visit the nearest zonal Post office & purchase it in very nominal cost.

In general the form of IAS is published in the month of November.
& three phase of this exam is conducted as:
1. Prelims is conducted in the month of May/June.
2. mains is conducted in the month of October/November.
3. & last Interview will be called March/April.

kindly see the website www.upsc.gov.in in the month of October,November.

15th October 2010, 11:04 PM
vik111

DEar,

visit http://www.iasexam2011.in/. and select the optional subjects depending your stream.
You should have sound knowledge about the current affairs.
General knowledge plays a major importance.For this keep reading a particular newspaper daily without missing any recent updates.

19th October 2010, 06:09 PM

Dear sir , How many hours per day required for IAS prepration , & when the application came out for IAS exams ?
21st October 2010, 06:06 AM
helpmaster

Dear sir , How many hours per day required for IAS prepration , & when the application came out for IAS exams ?
See ias exam is such a exam which does require hard work not maximum hour study.
as far as duration is concerned it will vary from person to person.
It will not remain same.
It should be focused more on quality study not on quantity
22nd October 2010, 06:55 AM
helpmaster

See you must really concentrate on the quality and not the quantity you study.Because it is the quality which matters.
So study only that much you can grasp and digest consisitantly
25th October 2010, 09:49 PM

hi,can you tell what type of preparation i need to qualify the new ias preliminary test or
CSAT examination.Don't you think this new exam pattern is like closed door for poor (financially) and hindi medium students as they are not capable of arranging fee for coaching because the new subjects which are entered in the preliminary are not present in any stream in combine format except management in any college or university
26th October 2010, 03:05 PM
Ashwath23

www.onestopias.com/subjects it provides information bout the syllabus
26th October 2010, 07:27 PM
kvrob139

There are two things that you need to crack IAS exam
1) Time management
You should divide your schedule to each and every subject require.
2) Proper selection of books and other materials
You should select subjects for prelims and mains in which you are quite comfortable. You should subscribe to Pratiyogita Darpan Magazine for current affairs.
If you are choosing history, Geography as your subjects then NCERT books are fine. You can get the full syllabus for each subject on the upsc website.
27th October 2010, 09:23 PM

thanks for information
28th October 2010, 08:17 PM
nillu

hi,can you tell what type of preparation i need to qualify the new ias preliminary test or
CSAT examination.Don't you think this new exam pattern is like closed door for poor (financially) and hindi medium students as they are not capable of arranging fee for coaching because the new subjects which are entered in the preliminary are not present in any stream in combine format except management in any college or university

you can say yes, but there is a saying that you cannot hide the talent.
So if you are really hard working talented sincere student you will definately succed.
Its not always that those doing coaching classes only qualify.
The CSAT though will give more opportunity to MBA aspirants but there is nothing that is very tough.
a normal studnet who has the required qualification can easily solve those questions without any problem
One thingkeep in mind that there is other stage which is Mains exam that has not change.
The mains sreening will be there.
CSAT will help to include maximum students but only talented will qualify
16th November 2010, 12:08 PM

how do prepare for ias exam
13th December 2010, 10:04 AM

with regards
Swati Jain
thaks for respond me.
i lisern recent ias 4th exam qualified some persons .in that who wads first ranker
14th December 2010, 08:52 PM
aditya436

hello swathi

your desire to become a IAS officer is really appreciable

and i will happy to provide you necessary details

and the main eligibility criterion for this exam is any one degree from an recognized indian university

and the age should be of 21 to 30 years

and all the further details whatever you want to get can be directly can be browsed in the following links

~aditya~
14th December 2010, 08:53 PM
aditya436

hello swathi

your desire to become a IAS officer is really appreciable

and i will happy to provide you necessary details

and the main eligibility criterion for this exam is any one degree from an recognized indian university

and the age should be of 21 to 30 years

and all the further details whatever you want to get can be directly can be browsed in the following links

www.onestopias.com

www.upscportal.com

~aditya~
12th January 2011, 03:41 PM

hi pooja saini here......... i want to know about the no. of questions in each paper of duration 2hrs. basically alloted time for each question as i'm preparing according to the new syllabus for ias2011 prelim.. and plz tell me abut negative marking.............moreover i'm finding difficulty in time management........ so kindly guide me in this regard.....
15th January 2011, 05:03 PM
Ajay kumar verma

if you become a IAS officer. you give a entrance exam after graduation. First give a Preliminary exam if you clear it you give the final exam with high ranks.
29th January 2011, 02:53 PM

i m appearing in B.E.Civil i want to give IAS Exam. Can i eligible to apply.
29th January 2011, 11:38 PM

i am mca student i just wanted to know that am i elgible for ias exam and if yes then from which subject i woul prepare for ias
30th January 2011, 05:13 PM
surendergora

For that yiu have to clear civil service exam conducted by upsc.
There two good website for this
www.onestopias.com
www.upscportal.gov.in
31st January 2011, 04:58 PM
abhimanyu2688

i am mca student i just wanted to know that am i elgible for ias exam and if yes then from which subject i woul prepare for ias
Hello Friend,
Yes you are eligible for IAS Exam conducted by UPSC every Year.
The eligibility for UPSC IAS Exam is:
A Graduation degree
Age Limit 21 to 30 years.

You can choose any subject of your choice from the available options.
All the details are available at www.upsc.gov.in
Good Luck.
31st January 2011, 04:59 PM
abhimanyu2688

Hello Friend,
The application form are available at GPO/Head Post offices at all cities by the payment of Rs 20.
Good Luck.
31st January 2011, 05:01 PM
abhimanyu2688

The application forms will be available at GPO/Head Post Offices by payment of Rs 20.
The forms for IAS Exam will be available from 19.02.2011 to 21.03.2011.
Good Luck.
31st January 2011, 05:03 PM
abhimanyu2688

i m appearing in B.E.Civil i want to give IAS Exam. Can i eligible to apply.
Hello Friend,
Yes you are eligible to give IAS Exam which is conducted by UPSC every year.
The Eligibility for UPSC IAS Exam is:
A graduation in any discipline or a final year graduation student.
Age Limit is 21 to 30 years.
All the details are available at www.upsc.gov.in
Good luck.
31st January 2011, 11:44 PM
Harshita21

with regards
Swati Jain
Age limit :
21-30 years for general
& upper 5year relief for SC/ST

Education Required :

Home » IAS Eligibility Criteria
IAS Eligibility Criteria
A D V E R T I S E M E N T
Eligibility Criteria For IAS

(i) Age limits :

21-30 years as on 1.7.2011. (Upper age limit relaxable for SCs/STs, OBCs and certain other categories as specified in Para 3(ii) of Notice).

(ii) Educational Qualifications :

Bachelor’s degree of a recognised university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physcs, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Enginerring or an equivalent qualification

No of Attempts :

Four are possible

For more details please follow link http://www.onestopias.com/eligibility-criteria.asp
8th February 2011, 12:18 PM

ias exam minimam marks
23rd February 2011, 08:32 PM

IT IS A VERY GOOD EXAM
27th February 2011, 07:45 PM
kapila Chaudhary

********UPSC IAS EXAM 2011********

· Apply online by using the website http://www.upsconline.nic.in
· Apply offline by purchasing the application form from designated post offices throughout the country.
Date of Notification: 19.02.2011
Last Date for Receipt of Applications: 21.03.2011
Date of Exam: 12.06.2011

Eligibility conditions:
Age limits: Not less than 21 years and not more than 30 years as on 1st August, 2011
The upper age limit is relaxable for SC/ST/OBC and certain other categories of candidates to the extent specified in the notice
Educational qualifications: Degree of a recognized university or an equivalent qualification
Physical standards: Candidates must be physically fit according to the regulations given in the appendix-III of rules for the civil services examination, 2011 published in the gazette of India extraordinary dated 19th February, 2011
Number of attempts: The maximum number of attempts permissible to different categories of aspirants, who are otherwise eligible, will be as follows
General category (04); P.H. candidates belonging to general category (07); OBC (07); SC/ST/ (no limit)

For complete details
http://www.upsc.gov.in
27th February 2011, 10:22 PM

IAS Exam Details -

The IAS 2011 Notification Was Announced And It Was Availiable In The Official Website.

Date of Notification - 19/02/2011

Last Date for Receipt of Applications - 21/03/2011

Date of Exam -12/06/2011.

So, If You Are Interested To Apply for IAS 2011 Exams, Then Please Visit This Given Website And Apply directly From There -

http://www.upsconline.nic.in

Eligiblity Creteria -

If You Are A Graduate In Any Decipline From A Recognised Colleges Or University, Then You Are Eligible to Apply for IAS 2011 Exams.

And Your Age Should Between 21 to 30 Years, Only Then You Are Eligible to Apply for This Exams And If You Want to get More detail, Then Please Visit the Official Website -

http://www.upsc.gov.in
27th February 2011, 10:41 PM
wagle

hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Main examination
The main written examination usually takes place in Oct-Nov, it comprises of 9 papers in all (a lot more strenuous than CAT!) Duration of each paper is 3 hrs. Language: one of the Indian languages, English, Essay GK and Current Affairs: 2 papers on general studies Optionals: papers from two subjects that fall in optional-1 and two papers from optional-2 (a choice of subjects is listed by the UPSC in the prospectus) Candidates who are successful in the main examinations are eligible for an interview which plays a crucial part in the selection.

The Interview
The interview calls are sent in March-April of the following year and they take place in the month of April-May. The Board of interviewers look for a well-adjusted personality with the social traits, integrity and qualities of leadership . PS. The number of candidates called for the interview is normally twice the number of vacancies.

Age limits: Not less than 21 years and not more than 30 years as on 1st August, 2011
The upper age limit is relaxable for SC/ST/OBC and certain other categories of candidates to the extent specified in the notice
Educational qualifications: Degree of a recognized university or an equivalent qualification
Physical standards: Candidates must be physically fit according to the regulations given in the appendix-III of rules for the civil services examination, 2011 published in the gazette of India extraordinary dated 19th February, 2011
Number of attempts: The maximum number of attempts permissible to different categories of aspirants, who are otherwise eligible, will be as follows
27th February 2011, 11:09 PM
pops07

ias exam minimam marks
There is no minimum marks for IAS...

The only educational criteria is a bachelor's degree in any stream under any recognized university....
final year students can also apply.

Age limit: 21 years to 30 years....

date of exam is 12th June of 2011.

last date to apply: 21st March, 2011...

apply here online: http://www.upsconline.nic.in
28th February 2011, 12:07 AM
vikas9862638964

details of ias exam

1- you should posses minimum a graduation degree in any diciplane
2- you should have the minimun 21 years age till your cureent ias entrance exam
3-also the form are released in the month of janubary

also the one important thing this year they change their exam pattern

so details for ias exam2011

1- one pre paper of g.s with 200 marks for 2 hours
2-second pre paper of reasioning and mental abality of 200 marks and 2 hours
3-two main papers of 1200 marks for your optional subjects
4-eassy of 200 marks
5-interview of 300 marks

for further details ypu should follow-http://www.iasexam2011.in/.
28th February 2011, 09:08 AM

for ias exam your first thing is that you have a graduate degree.

more details

1-graduation degree in any field
2-age must be 21 years to 30 years(gen) for sc andst there is a relexsestion of 5 years in age
for any further details follow-www.upsc.gov

for succses in ias it should be necessary that u have been read news paper(the hindu) daily makes notes from this for current affair also refer magzines like frontline.
and u take the optional subjects which you like most or you have studied in graduation. and from this year 2011 upsc change their pattern and insert a paper on mental ability so you have to be work hard for it.

also form releas in the month of jan-feb
you can fillup form also online the last date for submission online form is 7th feb 2011.
28th February 2011, 09:42 AM
venkataprakash.v

IAS Exam Details

Important dates :

Date of Notification : 19.2.11

Last date for receipt of application : 21.3.11

Date of Examination : 12.6.11

The Notification was already released.See the Employment news 19 -25 feb

Age limits :

The candidate must have attained 21 yrs and must not attained the age of 30

yrs on 1st Aug,2011.

Education qualification :

The candidate must possess a graduate degree from any recognized

university.Those in the final year of a degree course can also eligible.

The application forms are available in various designated post offices across

throughout the country.

Visit the website : www.upsc.gov.in