17th June 2012, 10:53 PM
santosh kavi

How can I go for IAS exam? What are the steps to be followed?

Kindly guide me how i can go for IAS exam?please give details of all steps to reach IAS.

18th June 2012, 07:02 AM

Default Re: How can I go for IAS exam? What are the steps to be followed?

The first step would be to complete graduation in any area of your interest. The next step is to appear for the prelims. For this you should start preparing along with graduation. For the mains select any two subjects that interest you from the list in UPSC site. Also along with preparing for these exams make sure you are physically fit.
18th June 2012, 11:48 AM

There is no specific exam as IAS exam, to become an IAS(Indian Administrative Service) officer you have to apply, appear and crack Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC once every year.

First of all regarding eligibility to apply for Civil Service Exam, you must be an Indian National.
You should have completed Graduation Degree in any stream from a recognised University.
You should be within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for SC/ST candidate up to 5 years and up to 3 years for OBC candidate.

The Selection is of three stages:-

CSAT- CIVIL SERVICE APTITUDE TEST-PRELIMINARY EXAM
CIVIL SERVICE MAIN EXAM
PERSONAL INTERVIEW

For this year the exam process has already been completed. You can apply for Civil Service next year both through off line end on line by paying requisite exam fees.

For further information you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in
18th June 2012, 12:07 PM
lvnareshsunrise

You did not mention you highest level of academic qualification. If you had mentioned that, we would have been better guided you.

In order to be placed in IAS, you should have to crack civil services exam being conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission).

The complete selection procedure to be placed in IAS is by
-Civil Services Aptitude Test
-Civil Services Main Exam
-Interview

Here is the required eligibility criteria to take this exam,

Academic qualification :
-A candidate should have completed Graduation with any of the stream from a recognized university.
-Candidates who have appeared for final year exams of Graduation and waiting for the result can also take this exam.

Age criteria :
-One should possess an age between 21-30 years to take this exam.
-Relaxation is there in upper age limit upto 3 years for the candidates of OBC category and upto 5 years for the candidates of SC/ST category.

First, have good preparation for CSAT Exam which consists of questions from
-General Awareness
-General English
-Aptitude

Along with this, choose the optional subjects for Main Exam in accordance with your stream in Graduation or the subjects which you are having interest and carry out your preparation for the same.

For updated information on this exam, I suggest you to visit
http://upsc.gov.in/
18th June 2012, 01:51 PM
sherleytwain

Originally Posted by santosh kavi View Post
Kindly guide me how i can go for IAS exam?please give details of all steps to reach IAS.

For this you will have to Give the civil service exam conducted by UPSC every year.
It consists of Preliminary exam, Main exam and Interview

The preliminary exam consist of general studies paper and optional subject paper as chosen by you. Both these paper will be objective type qualifying paper.

For the General studies paper you will have to study your NCERT books these cover a major portion of the paper. Also you have to keep yourself updates about the major news of last 2 years and current affairs. You should also study some social science, economics and general science questions.
the duration of each paper will be 2 hours and marks for each paper will be 200.

All the questions will be both in Hindi and english except those which are meant to test the english comprehensive skills of the candidate.

Main Exam- It consists of 7 papers which includes paper of - Indian language as chosen by you, essay, english, 2 optional subject 1 paper and 2 optional subject 2 papers.

Each paper will be of 300 marks except essay paper.
Before choosing the main subject you should also check its syllabus. And also you should not ignore the other papers. Also you should consider your interest and expertise in the subject.

Main exam is of a total of 2000 marks
1st optional is the most important part since you take this in Prelims as well as in Main exam

You should practice old papers for both the Preliminary exam and main exam. there are many publications which provide last 10 years solved papers for civil service exam which you can get at any good book depo.

Interview will be the last part which is of 300 marks.
18th June 2012, 03:28 PM
Vikas hrc

Hi..

Its good that you have planned for your future from right now and want to become an IAS..
For becoming an IAS,you will have to qualify the exam conducted by UPSC i.e,Union Public Service Commission of India.

The eligibility for appearing in this exam are:-

1.Your age should be at least 21 years.

2.You should be graduate from any discipline.

3.55% in your graduation.

The exam is conducted in three stages:-

1.Prelims.

2.Mains.

3.Interview.

Maximum number of attempts for appearing in this exam are:-

1.General category candidates-Maximum 4 attempts.

2.OBC category-Maximum 7 attempts.

3.SC/ST candidates-No limit.

So,you should follow these steps now:-

1.Do graduation from any stream from any recognised university.

2.Attain 21 years of age.

3.Keep track on Daily events news.

4.Prepare for the exam as per the syllabus.

You can visit the official website of UPSC.

Its www.upsc.gov.in.

Best of luck.

Thanks...

4th July 2012, 12:08 PM

CAN A B.A GRADUATE CRACK THE EXAM???????
4th July 2012, 12:09 PM

CAN A B.A GRADUATE CRACK THE IAS EXAM????
18th November 2012, 04:50 PM

Sir..how much % in graduation is eligible to entance.
15th December 2012, 08:08 PM

I am now in 9th std but I am really fond of this IAS , IPS , IFS to serve my country . For this i am also standing 1st in my whole school , Bangalore.
Please give me some few tips how to prepare , when and how to draw maximum marks.
3rd March 2013, 10:14 PM

hi sir I am intersected in doing ias can u pls tell me the procedure.......I know u people have typed clearly but still I need deep information. I cant understand....pls anyone tell me claearly at [email protected]
12th April 2013, 01:05 PM

i have 56% in my intermediate and 7o% in my b.tech. can i attend the exam for prelims?
4th May 2013, 12:45 PM

SIR,To be a collector how much rank is needed for every class from 9th standared?
12th May 2013, 12:34 AM

Sir i wanna know whay type of question come IAS Prilims test...???
16th August 2013, 04:07 PM

namaskar sir, i have completed my 12th class form cbse and i have to be an ias officer. i know the qualification of ias examination but dont know about the marks of graduation which is mandatory for ias exam.

keshav jha
4th December 2013, 10:32 PM

]sir,
Kindly guide me how i can go for IAS exam?please give details of all steps to reach IAS
18th February 2014, 12:30 PM

sir i am per-suing in bsc-it second year student at niit may I eligible for ias exam after having graduation
22nd February 2014, 08:33 PM

I want to complete the C.A and want to prepare for I.A.S can i
23rd February 2014, 08:23 AM
nareshsunrise

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service. It is one of the top civil service in India.

In order to be placed in any civil services like
IAS
IPS
IFS
IRS etc.,
one should have to crack the following selection procedure
Civil Services Aptitude Test
Civil Services Main Exam
Interview

CSAT Exam is going to be conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) every year.

Here is the required criteria that you should possess to apply for CSAT Exam.

Completion of Graduation with any of the stream from a recognized university.

Candidates who have appeared for final year exams of Graduation and waiting for the results can also apply for this Exam.

The required age will be

21-30 years for the candidates of General category
21-33 years for the candidates of OBC category
21-35 years for the candidates of SC or ST category.

You did not mention the highest level of academic qualification that you have.

If you possess the above mentioned criteria, then you can apply for CSAT Exam of this academic year.

In the May month, the notification will be released.

Wish you all the best.
23rd February 2014, 12:04 PM
NARAYANASAMY R.

Default hello

Originally Posted by santosh kavi View Post
Only after finish a degree you are eligible to write IAS exams. For doing IAS a lot of efforts is to be taken, you must be very strong in general knowledge , and you must also have a lot of aptitude skills also. reading newspaper is must. You must have a strong knowledge about the history.There are lot of books available in the market to do IAS.buy the best one which is useful to you? And start putting your efforts from now on.
29th May 2014, 05:30 PM

I am a Textile 1st year student from Odisha.I have so much confusion regarding IAS syllabus.kindly email about syllabus at [email protected]. Is it possible for finding IAS within 3-5 years ?
31st July 2014, 10:11 AM

im Veerakumar From Coimbatore How Can i prepare for 1st stage of Prelims exam. pls tell easy way of Structure.
11th September 2014, 08:54 PM

Namasthe Sir now i am 1st sem Bcom in karnataka but i am retten 2nd puc is out of state it ok sir plece tell me to thes no 9008213500
17th October 2014, 12:06 AM

I am in 3rd year engineering now (environmental engineering) what are the steps should I follow? Please guide me.
6th February 2015, 06:55 PM

SIR I WAS VERY FOND OF IAS TO SERVE MY COUNTRY WHAT ARE STEPS SHOULD I FOLLOW SIR ? PLEASE GUIDE ME SIR
30th May 2015, 08:29 AM

Sir am degree final year Telugu medium student what is the steps in civils exams
30th May 2015, 12:09 PM

Sir I am very interested in studying IAS, with this I want to serve my country. I have no clarity on this exam and time gap between prelims and mains and interview, and also one doubt if one student cleared in first attempt what time will take? So PLEASE KINDLY GUIDE me and others who have doubt on this
12th July 2015, 12:38 AM

I am study in class 11 in commerce stream , my aim is I.A.S and how can I go for I.A.S exam?? What are
the steps to be followed? plz tell me sir
21st July 2015, 11:54 AM

DEAR SIR,
I HAVE DONE M.B.B.S AND NOW I AM GOING TO BE A DOCTOR, SIR MY DREAM WAS TO BE A IPS OFFICER BUT ALSO DOCTOR AND I HAD SIR CAN I APPLY FOR UPSC EXAM PLEASE GIVE ME SUGGESTION.
2nd September 2015, 08:23 PM

RESPECTED SIR,
I AM AN ECONOMIC STUDENT STUDYING 11th STD NOW ,MY AMBITION IS TO BECOME AN IAS OFFICER . WHAT ARE THE BOOKS I MUST START TO READ NOW ?
29th November 2015, 08:06 PM

Sir how to prepare for ias exam without coaching nd what are the quality books for preparation time
6th July 2017, 07:45 PM

Sir I am BE CSE completed in passed 2017, what are procedure my ias exam? Please sir, I does not attended for exams such as IES,UPSC pls sir I attend which exam,