under the Ministry of Social Justice and
Empowerment, Govt. of India. It is located in a
beautiful rural area at Olatpur at a distance of 30
Kms. from Cuttack and Bhubaneswar.
10th March 2012, 12:09 PM
prashanthi.thota
Member+

Default Re: Information about NIRTAR? I am a class 12th student

The National Institute of Rehabilitation Training and Research (NIRTAR) is an autonomous body under the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Govt. of India.
1.It is located in a beautiful rural area at Olatpur at a distance of 30 Kms. from Cuttack and Bhubaneswar.

2.It conducts three Bachelor Degree courses in Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Prosthetics and Orthotics, two Postgraduate courses in Occupational Therapy and Physiotherapy affiliated to Utkal University, Bhubaneswar.

3.It also has an accreditation for DNB in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation of National Board of Examination (NBE), New Delhi.

4.It also conducts short orientation courses, Continuing Medical Education courses for rehabilitation professionals, awareness programmers for the functionaries of Govt. and Non-Govt., Persons with disabilities and their relatives etc. It has a hospital, wards with 100 beds, operation theatres, x-ray and pathological investigations, physio-occupational therapy services, clinical psychology and vocational counseling, speech and audiology, fabrication of rehabilitation of aids and appliances.

5.It provides total medical rehabilitation for the persons with loco motor disabilities. It has a subcentre at Dhenkanal, established ten District Disability Rehabilitation Centers (DDRCs) in Bihar, Chattisgarh, MadhyaPradesh, Orissa and Composite Rehabilitation Center (CRC) at Guwahati and served as a facilitator in establishing Regional Spinal Injury Center at Cuttack.