7th April 2017, 05:41 PM
Unregistered

Can I write KCET, if studied in Karnataka but belong to Andhra Pradesh?

I am a native of Andhra Pradesh state. I studied 7th standard to 12th standard (six years) in Karnataka state. Can I write KCET? Please clarify me.

7th April 2017, 08:11 PM
ajayrocks007
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Can I write KCET, if studied in Karnataka but belong to Andhra Pradesh?

Yes, you can apply for KCET as an outside state category candidate. You won't get any kind of reservation benefit and will be eligible for limited number of seats which are kept for outside state candidates.

Therefore, you can definitely apply for it and will get seat on the basis of rank. Preference will be given to state candidates for admission.
8th April 2017, 11:46 AM
MerajAmir
Senior Member+

Default Re: Can I write KCET, if studied in Karnataka but belong to Andhra Pradesh?

The Karnataka Examination Authority conducts KCET examination to offer admission in professional as well as undergraduate level courses. The candidates from another state are not eligible to write the KCET (Karnataka Common Entrance Test). As per the eligibility criteria the candidate should have studied in one or more government recognized institution in Kerala for a minimum of 7 academic years. You studied in Karnataka for 6 years and also not a citizen of Kerala, so you are not eligible to write the KCET examination.
8th April 2017, 06:02 PM
kalamrockz

I am sorry to say that you cannot apply for KCET examination being from another state as the eligibility criteria specifies that any candidate wishes to appear for the entrance examination should have studied and passed in one or more government or government recognized Institutions in the state of Karnataka for a minimum period of seven years. Therefore, if you fulfill the above mentioned criteria, you can surely apply and if not, than I am sorry you cannot appear for the examination.

Procedure to apply: