1st September 2013, 08:45 PM
Unregistered

How to be an IAS officer? I am a 12th science student

heyy...i am Vedant...presently i am in 12 science nd i want to be an IAS officer...i am planning to change stream after 12...shifting to commerce...i wanna start preparation for IAS from now only...which books should i begin with?
please do reply in my mail id[email protected]

21st September 2013, 12:30 PM
imira
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How to be an IAS officer? I am a 12th science student

I appreciate your decision to start preparations for IAS from 12th class onwards. You start exam preparations with the help of NCERT text books. Basic information on subjects like Geography, History, Science, Economics, etc can be obtained from these books. After gaining basic idea you can look for books from publishers like Upkar, S.Chand, etc. Also practice previous year questions as much as possible.
12th July 2015, 12:15 AM
Unregistered

I am very confused how much ncert book is useful for IAS preparation
30th October 2015, 12:54 AM
Unregistered

I wish to become n ias officer. I m a science student in 11 std...what i want to do after 12
30th October 2015, 02:01 PM
nagam.

If you are not interested in Science, you should not have taken it in 12th class itself. You completed 12th class in Science now and you want shift to Commerce. Again you have to start from the beginning in your Graduation because you do no have any commerce knowledge upto now.

It is allowed. You can shift to Commerce in Graduation. And after that you go for civil services exam to join IAS.

There will be optional subjects for IAS Exam. For optional subjects also, you take Commerce subjects like
Economics
Commerce

You should have an age between 21-32 years to apply for civil services exam.
30th October 2015, 04:22 PM
sanju0770

Dear Vedant,