16th June 2010, 12:12 AM
naveen1199

Minimum percentage required in btech to do MS in US?

what is the minimum btech percentage required for doing MS in a good US university? i have 60% in ECE and i have just completed my 3rd year

16th June 2010, 09:27 AM
jicks

Default Re: Minimum percentage required in btech to do MS in US?

If you are going on scholarship then you have to meet the eligibility requirements of the Institute

If you are sponsoring the course, then be ready to spend 30 to 50 lacs

There is no Fixed % requirement. It all depends on the Institute you are approaching.
16th June 2010, 11:02 AM

Yes, definately, at your given percentage, you will go for further study in US at this percentage. The minimum 50% is required in btech to do MS in US........
16th June 2010, 11:14 AM
Amritansu subh

You have choosen a write choice.For Masters in US you need 16 years of Education. You also need to take GRE and TOEFL. The Tuition can range from $35,000-$55,000 for 2 years.And the minimum percentage is 75% in final.You can achieve in your final year.Try your level best.Good luck
**Amritansu**
16th June 2010, 11:34 AM

Basically in US there is Grade system. Therefore if you have 60% in at the end of B.Tech then you have to convert it into GPA system on the scale of 4.0 and I think after that you will be in "C" Grade.

But the minimum requirement for getting into Best institute in US is "B" grade which means almost 80% in Indian Scale.

Besides these you must also require at least 1100 in GRE Entrance and 650 GRE Quant.

But there are also various institutes there which has there own system for admission which also except low score and Quant in GRE along with low percentile in B.Tech. Like wise we have Management Quota or there are various institutes in Bangalore, orissa, MP, that provides admission to low grade students also.

~Faiyaz~
16th June 2010, 11:36 AM
bbv1814

Thumbs up Re: Minimum percentage required in btech to do MS in US?

Originally Posted by naveen1199 View Post
what is the minimum btech percentage required for doing MS in a good US university? i have 60% in ECE and i have just completed my 3rd year
hiii...that percentage is okay but try to improve it over by 4 to 5 % by the end of BTech. If you are having good GRE score, and good percentage in BTech thats good and you are going to get stipends. So, be prepare for your exams and get good percentage and write GRE well. A score of 1200 in GRE and a percentage of about 65 % with some extra curricular activities will help much. k take care (tc).
16th June 2010, 11:37 AM
compaq123

at least 70 to 80 percentages above in us admission only then you can apply in us studying.
11th July 2010, 01:10 PM

i have 59.3 percemtage please give me suggestion regarding ielts
12th July 2010, 01:32 PM

hi i completed my btech 3rd year, i have 50%. i wanted to do mtech in us. i got go through management quota, i stood upon my feet untill now without depending on my parents,
please give me suggestions.
19th July 2010, 08:57 PM

hi i completed my be, i have 57%. i wanted to do ms in us. please give me suggestions.
23rd July 2010, 05:14 PM
parhitoshika

you need to give the following exams first:
gre
toefl
college for ms.

there are 3 letters which are to be sent to the college for admission.
there is only pass marks needed in graduatind degee,nothing else.
gre score should be in 90s.
30th July 2010, 11:54 PM

i have 76 percent aggregate and i am in 3rd year so i ask that what i do for GRE exam
31st July 2010, 03:14 AM
subhash5687

you shoul reuire 80 % marks to do MS form us university..........
31st July 2010, 09:54 AM

what is the validity of gre exam which we are going to write in 2011
31st July 2010, 03:22 PM
trupti_9227

If you are going on scholarship then you have to meet the eligibility requirements of the Institute

If you are sponsoring the course, then be ready to spend 30 to 50 lacs

There is no Fixed % requirement. It all depends on the Institute you are approaching.
31st July 2010, 04:20 PM
prashantmeghalia

Smile Re: Minimum percentage required in btech to do MS in US?

there is no fixed percentage of marks to get admission in MS in US but if your percentage is above 50 then it becomes easy to get admission. also if you are going on scholarship basis then it is very good but if not then you will have to spend a lot of money to get admission.
2nd August 2010, 05:01 PM

my btech percentage is 56. I want to do M.S. will i get a good university? Is my percentage sufficient?
3rd August 2010, 10:50 AM
Mridul Dhawan

with the mentioned %age,u can go us for further study.....

all the best !!!!!!!!!
11th August 2010, 09:49 PM

i am in b.tech 3rd year ece. i want to do my m.s in usa. i have 65% for now. how much percent i should get in b.tech and how much score is requred in gre/toefl???
please tell me the required scores to get scholarship and please notify the minimum requirements seperately to do m.s ...
thanks in advance..
12th August 2010, 12:20 PM
amit1057

Dear Friend
Minimum percentage required in btech to do MS in US is 60% . and in grade system 6.67 is equivalnt to 60%.
selection process is GRE or TOEFL exam.

Best of luck.
19th August 2010, 07:46 PM

my percentage is 55% . can i go to u.s.a or u.k for dng m.s ?
21st August 2010, 08:56 AM

hello people, My aggregate in B.E is 57.07%. I wanna go for MS. also i had many backlogs durin my ENGG. ijust wanted to know if i was eligible to take up MS. Please do explain me
23rd August 2010, 05:36 PM
Adarshxxx

the minimum percentage required in b.tech to do MS in US is not fixed.it totally depends on the institute.if you have got any scholarship then its ok otherwise be ready to invest 30 to 50 lakhs.you can contact the institute also to get the minimum criteria.
All The Best!
23rd August 2010, 07:14 PM
Bishwajit Giri

actually in B.tech the requirement is 60%.
Each institute may or may not disclose the Minimum GRE Score required for admission. Same applies to Academic Percentage, GMAT Score. Universities have minimum TOEFL Score required for admission. If you don’t have the minimum TOEFL Score, you may get conditional admission.

If your Academic Percentage is less that 60% almost everyone believe that they cannot into good school,they also can admit.
26th August 2010, 02:06 PM

there have not any Minimum percentage marks criteria in btech to do MS in US.

if you have 60% marks in your btech then you can do MS in US easily.

but to get chance to do MS from US university, you have to qualify GRE test.

all the best.................
26th August 2010, 11:11 PM
princearyan

there is the different eligibility criteria.

you must have at least 65% marks as a minimum qualification in the b.tech.

then you have to give the exams of the GRE,

after qualifying the exam, you can go for the higher study with scholarship.
27th August 2010, 12:54 AM
rushi adhia

To get admission in a good institute you have to score minimum of 78%-80%.
But there are some institutions also in which you can get admission having less percentage its upto their method of giving admissions.
-All the best
27th August 2010, 08:41 AM

there is the following eligibility:-

qualifiaction:- graduation with atleast 60% marks.

you should qualified the NET EXAMS.

and then you can take admission.
27th August 2010, 08:41 PM
subhash5687

as you should know you want take degree of your ms from us then how there criterria could be they require min 70%
you should be well prepared for it
best of luck dear.
31st August 2010, 12:18 PM
princearyan

dear friends,

if you want to do the M.S from the U.S,

then for that you have to give the NET EXAMS,

and after qualifying the exam you can take admission in the U.S.
1st September 2010, 02:45 AM

What is the case if the student have less than 50%?because my mvsr college(affiliated to OsmaniaUniv) which i studied is the worst bullshit and they gave me 4% in sessionals in overall enggineering(B.E) and i scored 40% in theory.

My total score is 45%-50%.I paid 9lakhs for my management seat for this bullshit engg course.

do i have any chances in life to either to go for MS or get a job???????????????

pleaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaase someone answer me who have this kind of disaster experience in life.

Comments will be appreciated.I dont mind even you scold me because i suffered all my life with this dogshit college.
1st September 2010, 11:05 PM
tina toms

there is no fixed percentage..it varies according to the colleges..but you have to undergo TOFEL or IELTS exam which the college prefers..
4th September 2010, 05:57 PM

What is the case if the student have less than 50% on B.E?
6th September 2010, 12:41 PM

Please tell me the least percentege required to get scholarship in any universities. I have 68% in B.Tech plz tell me can I get 50% funding.
8th September 2010, 08:30 PM
bapuram

i think 55% is enough in btech to do MS in US, so keep the marks above of that, you can not face any problem.

13th September 2010, 02:27 PM

hi i have 54% with 25 written in my overall b.tech(05-10) i have toefl score 87 without gre have i get admission to study ms in usa plz reply me
17th September 2010, 08:07 PM

my 12th % is 58% but in my B.e i have 74.3%..
is 12th % is a problem for me to do ms in usa or uk...
please reply me..
17th September 2010, 11:55 PM
Mathur.

Minimum 50% percentage is required in btech to do MS in US.
15th October 2010, 12:51 AM
docshakti

if you want to do MS in US after b.tech then you should work hard and score top most marks(atleast80-85%) marks to get good university in US.if you perform good in your college then college may also send you on scholarships to study abroad in good university.my advise is to work hard and achieve your goal.
21st November 2010, 03:15 PM
shanasparveen

what is minimum marks in B.Tech.whether arrear in first year can apply MS and my percentage is 80
22nd November 2010, 03:41 AM
subho19

Wink Re: Minimum percentage required in btech to do MS in US?

The minimum critaria of appling for MS in US is ---
1. Total under graduate percentage should be 75% or more.
2. Have a good spoken power in english.
3. Clear your education visa interview for visa passport.
4. Crack the MS entrance exemination.
5. Showing the total course fees like 50 lacs...
22nd November 2010, 12:11 PM
deep_4

Post Re: Minimum percentage required in btech to do MS in US?

You are having one more year to go,
just concentrate and maintain you same percentage ,

because for eligibility for any GRE or TOEFL exam you should pass your equivalent exams with minimum of 50%.

its up to you now..
22nd November 2010, 02:24 PM
sandipk

hello ,

yes, you can go for more study in US at this percentage in btech.
other than this as indian you have to appear these two exams (go through these websites)
1.need to appear for GRE(www.gre.org)
2.need to appear for TOEFL (it is based upon english)(www.toefl.org )
then as per your score you ll be choosen

all the best....
5th December 2010, 02:16 PM
jits

Try to score little more in your fourth year so that you move ahead.

Try to score well in GRE and TOEFL exams,The more you score the better Institute you get yourselves placed.The test consists majority of English which tests your aptitude level,mental and general ability and checks your verbal knowledge.

So,its better that you start preparations for GRE or TOEFL from now itself if you have an aim of studying MS in US.

15th December 2010, 09:10 PM

my 12th score for pcm was just 61%... how much's d minimum requireed % in 12th for ms in us or uk?
17th December 2010, 10:07 PM

hi i completed my btech with an aggreate of 55% im i eligible 2 do ms in us
19th December 2010, 06:14 PM

hi am in my 3rd year of engg..my agg % till now is 60..i have an aim to do masters in US..
is 60% ok at the end of my fourth year??can i get admission based on this %??
23rd December 2010, 07:15 AM
jaspreet kaur warraich

sir i am persuing b.tech in 3rd year with 82 % marks and i want to go abroad for work permit and for doing m.tech. please sir tell me what i have to do for this task ??????????????
24th December 2010, 09:53 PM
n1a2z3a4r5

Yes, definately, at your given percentage, you will go for further study in US at this percentage. The minimum 50% is required in btech to do MS in US
27th December 2010, 03:53 PM
dreksha chaudhary

you have a very good thinking about doing MS from US university. But you know more then 75% marks are required in B. Tech then You must score at least 1100 marks in GRE Entrance and 650 marks GRE Quant. Then only you can go there for MS study.

Good luck.