List of Courses in Periyar University, Salem

Periyar University was established by the Tamil Nadu Government on the 17th of September 1997. The university is imparting higher education at three levels namely under graduation, post graduation and research level through its education and research departments, institute of distance education and affiliated colleges. More than 65 affiliated colleges are working under the jurisdiction of this university and it is offering education through 18 departments of education functioning under its jurisdiction. The university is offering Doctorate of Philosophy and Master of Philosophy courses both in full-time and in part-time manner. From the academic year 2008-09, the university introduced Choice Based Credit System for different courses offered by it. The category-wise list of courses offered by the university is given below:

Courses offered through university departments:

PG courses:

Master of Arts in

o Tamil

o English

o Economics

o Journalism and Mass Communication

o Sociology

Master of Commerce

Master of Commerce with Computer Applications

Master of Science in

o Applied Geology

o Mathematics

o Physics

o Chemistry

o Biochemistry

o Food Science and Nutrition

o Psychology

o Biotechnology

o Microbiology

Master of Business Administration

Master of Computer Application

Master of Education

Executive MBA

Five-year integrated courses:

Master of Science in

o Earth Sciences

o Visual Communication

Certificate Courses:

Communication Excellence

NGO Management for Social Development

Television Journalism

Counseling Psychology

Courses offered through Affiliated Colleges:

Under Graduate Courses:

Bachelor of Arts in

o English

o English (Computer Applications)

o Economics

o History

o Political Science

o Tamil

Bachelor of Literature in Tamil

Bachelor of Computer Applications

Bachelor of Science in

o Applied Geology

o Bachelor of Science in

o Biochemistry

o Bioinformatics

o Biotechnology

o Botany

o Chemistry

o Computer Science

o Electronics & Communication

o Geography

o Home Science

o Hotel Management & Catering Science

o Information Science

o Mathematics

o Mathematics (Computer Applications)

o Microbiology

o Nutrition & Dietetics

o Physics

o Statistics

o Textile & Fashion Designing

o Visual Communication

o Zoology

o Digital Print Media

o Costume Design and Fashion

Bachelor of Business Administration

Bachelor of Business Administration (Computer Applications)

Bachelor of Commerce

B.Com. (Electronic Banking)

B.Com (Co-operation)

B.Com. (Corporate Secretary ship)

B.Com.(Computer Application)

Post Graduate Courses:

Master of Arts in

o Economics

o English

o English (CA)

o History

o Public Administration

o Tamil

Master of Social Work

Master of Science in

o Analytical Chemistry

o Applied Geology

o Applied Microbiology

o Biochemistry

o Bioinformatics

o Biomedical Instrumentation

o Biotechnology

o Biotechnology - 5 Years Integrated

o Botany

o Chemistry

o Computer Communication

o Computer Science

o E-commerce & Web Design

o Electronics and Communication

o Food Processing

o Industrial Microbiology

o Information Science

o Information Science and Management

o Mathematics

o Mathematics (CA)

o Physics

o Software Science - 5 Years

o Software Application - 2 Years

o Statistics

o Zoology

o Organic Chemistry

o Nutrition and Dietetics

o Textile and Fashion Designing

Master of Business Administration

M.B.A. (International Business)

Master of Commerce

M.Com. Cooperation

M.Com. Computer Application

M.Com. Corporate Secretary ship

Master of Computer Applications

M. Phil & Ph. D:

Tamil

English

Chemistry

Geology

History

Statistics

Botany

Mathematics

Commerce

Economics

English

Computer Science

Physics

Zoology

Biotechnology

Microbiology

Business Administration

Biochemistry

Botany & Sericulture

Courses offered through Constituent Colleges:

Periyar University has two constituent colleges under its jurisdiction in addition to affiliated colleges and the list of courses offered through these constituent college is given below:

Periyar University Arts and Science College, Mettur Dam, Salem Dist - 636 401:

Bachelor of Arts in

o Tamil

o English (Computer Application)

o Economics

Bachelor of Computer Applications

Bachelor of Science in

o Computer Science

o Mathematics

o Applied Geology

Bachelor of Commerce

B.Com. (Computer Application)

B.Com. (Electronic Banking)

Periyar University Arts and Science College, Pennagaram Dharmapuri Dist - 636 806:

Bachelor of Arts in Tamil

Bachelor of Commerce

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Courses offered through institute of distance education:

Three-Years Under-Graduate Courses:

Bachelor of Arts in

o Tamil

o English

o Hindi

o Sanskrit

o History

o Political Science

o Co-operation

o Education

o Economics

o Public Administration

o Journalism & Mass communication

o Bachelor of Commerce

o Bachelor of Computer Applications

o Bachelor of Business Administration in

o Banking

o Sales and Marketing

o Hardware

o Networking

o Tele-Communication

Bachelor of Literature in Tamil

Bachelor of Science in

o Physics

o Chemistry

o Zoology

o Botany

o Mathematics

o Computer Science

o Geology

o Bio-Technology

o Microbiology

o Home Science

o Environmental Science

o Information Technology

o Tele-Communication

o Hotel Management & Tourism

o Yoga

Two-Years Under-Graduate Courses:

Bachelor of Computer Application (Lateral Entry)

One-Year Under-Graduate Courses:

Bachelor of Library & Information Sciences

Two-Year Post-Graduate Courses:

Master of Arts in

o Tamil

o English

o History

o Human Rights

o Journalism & Mass Communcation

o Public Administration

o Human Resource Management

o Sociology

o Education

Master of Social Work

Master of Science in

o Physics

o Chemistry

o Mathematics

o Zoology

o Botany

o Microbiology

o Bio-Technology

o Environmental Science

o Electronics

o Tele-Communication

o Yoga

One-Year Post-Graduate Course:

Master of Library & Information Sciences

Professional Post-Graduate Courses (Lateral Entry):

Master of Computer Applications

Master of Science in Information Technology

Professional PG Courses:

Master of Business Administration (Two-year Course)

Master of Science in Information Technology (Two-year Course)

Master of Computer Applications (Three-year Course)

Diploma Courses:

One-year Diploma Courses:

Journalism & Mass Communication

Hospital Management

Computer Aided Design

Computer Aided Manufacturing

Business Management

Early Child Care Education

Two-Year Diploma Courses:

Medical Laboratory Technology

Radio Imaging Technology

Arts & Crafts

Refraction Optometry Technology

Yoga

Post Graduate Diploma Courses:

Post Graduate Diploma in

o Computer Applications

o Computer Aided Design

o Computer Aided Manufacturing

o Hotel Management & Tourism

o Journalism & Mass Communication

o Business Management

o Tele-Communication Management

o Internation Business Guidance and Counseling

o Bio-Technology

o Bio-Informatics

Certificate courses:

Six-Months Certificate Courses:

Auto CAD & CATIA

Auto CAD & UNI Graphics

One-Year Certificate Courses:

Laboratory Technology

Radio Imaging Technology

Dental Laboratory Technology

Periyar Institute of Distance Education shortly called as PRIDE is one of the best institutions for distance education in Tamil Nadu and it is imbibing knowledge to the students who are not in a position to take up regular courses because of their economic condition. This distance education center of Periyar University has 7 centres abroad and 550 centers within India.

24 Responses to “List of Courses in Periyar University, Salem”

1. 24
    vijaya:

kindly send me model question paper for M.com ,

2. 23
    sharmila S:

i want to do phd in mba&commerce in your university, please guide me with fees details, date of admission, required qualification,etc.

3. 22
    suguna:

please give a result for this code :BFOD

4. 21
    Gayatri:

where do i get solved MSc physics first year papers

5. 20
    shivasagar.R:

I WANT B.COM certificate my hall teket number B8UCM13510033
    PLEASE atend my complaint

6. 19
    narayan maharana:

i want to do mphil. In chemistry in ur university.plaese guide me with details fee,date of admission etc.

7. 18
    agnes antony:

is there part time PhD course for mathematics in periyar unt? what is the period of course?

8. 17
    Mahesh:

sir, just wanted to know is there Phd in Journalism and mass communication available? and what are all the courses u have related to journalism. please inform me. thank u sir

9. 16
    Rahul g. R:

sir i want direct Bcom or Bsc degree . Is it ugc approved ? Is it valid for government jobs ? I need a latest degree certificate .pls help me

10. 15
    Douglas Keter:

Iam in kenya and would want to study through distance lerning can I be furnished will all the necessary information on how to go about it.
    Is it possible to do a Science course through disatance learning? Like for example Analytical Chemistry because I have a Diploma in Anlytical Chemistry.
    What are the charges for completing a Bechelors degree course?
    Are your certificates recognised world wide and especially here in Kenya?

Yours faithfully
    Douglas Kipchumba Keter
    P.O Box 90452-80100
    Mombasa,KENYA

11. 14
    nirmla:

what fees of msc chmistery by distance coues i am B.pharma can i do msc chimistery .

12. 13
    mloksatish:

periyar university
    this an ugc approvied or not can u give me proif . iwant to study the Ba history at 3yers degree in one year completing.
    that certificate has valiud to governent jobs in Andhra pradesh state please give me the reply mail as soon as possible sir

13. 12
    udaya kumar:

dear sir ,
    i eagerllllly to study about the applied geology . so, when you will deceided the last date?

14. 11
    Nicholas K. Ruttoh:

i would wish to join Masters In Public Administration at your prestigious instituion by Distance Learning. I am a kenyan citize aged 30 a graduate of Bsc. with Education major in Mathematics and Computer Science and currentlty doing a masters Degeree in Education Management at Egerton University , kenya. Iam a principal of a College in Eldoret town and very much interested in your college. Please, kindly advice me on how i will enroll, the fee structure and all the neccesary detail because am ready to enroll as soon as possible.

15. 10
    monisha:

In periyar university distance education for this 2011 academic year admission do we have the course m.phil microbiology

16. 9
    gokulraj:

i have complete my b.sc., computer science
    i’m ready to read master degree which courses are available in periyar university

17. 8
    yasodha:

respected sir/madam
    i am doing first year M.SC.,Biotechnology through distance education in periyar university. I need last two year question papers with answers

18. 7
    vijayakumar.a:

dear
    i am first year open ma sociology student from periyar university, so please i need the previous year model question papers

19. 6
    mohanapriya:

pls send the syllabus and fees for M.Sc microbiology through distance education

20. 5
    viajayakumar.a:

dear
    i am doing first year ma sociology in periyar open university so i need the previous year question paper with answers

21. 4
    nagaraj.n.d:

I am Nagaraj , complited my M.com(cs) pg in karnatak University dharwad.i want to attended NET/SET exemination so is i elegible or not please guide me.

22. 3
    SANTOSH SINGH:

Dear All ,

I am doing the MBA corropondence course from PERIYAR - PRIDE university session - APR- 2010-APR - 2011. I want to know specalization subject. Can I do the OPERATIONS specialization course or not ?

23. 2
    Venugopal.D:

My friend applied Msc Chemistry in your university(periyar university).

Please i need list of Subjects in MSc-Chemistry and syllabus of the subject.

I checked in periyar university website, but it is not available there.

I have mentioned my email id above, please send the information.

Thanking you,
    Venugopal.D

24. 1
    swarna:

i finished my msc (maths).iam working in engg. college as lecture. i want to do phd in maths. what is the procedure to get admission in your university as part time.i like to study in this university only. pls help me.