NIMHANS 2012 PG Medical

NIMHANS PG Medical Entrance Exam is carried out by the National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences (NIMHANS) for the admittance of eligible aspirants into the postgraduate level programs that are offered in this institution.

The institution offers students with a wide variety of programs in Psychiatrics Nursing and Psychiatrics. More details about this examination are given below.

Syllabus

NIMHANS PG Medical Entrance Exam has a single paper. This paper encompasses MCQ’s of the objective nature. Questions of the graduate level shall be posed in this paper. The time period of this examination is based on the many departments. Aspirants who have a clear knowledge about the pattern and syllabus of the MBBS course will be able to perform admirably in this exam.

Duration of Courses

• DM Degree in Neuroradiology: This course has duration of three years.
  • DM Degree in Neurology: This course is for a time period of 5 years.
  • MD/DNB in Internal (General) Medicine or Paediatrics: The program has a period of approximately three years.
  • DM Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and MD/DNB in Psychiatry: Course duration is three years.
  • M.Ch Degree in Neurosurgery: Course period is five years.
  • MS/DNB in General Surgery: Course duration is for three years.
  • Ph.D in Clinical Neurosciences (ICMR Programme): Course duration five years.

The qualification needed by an individual to appear for this examination is a graduate degree in medicine (MBBS). The certification ought to be from an institution that has recognition from the Medical Council of India (MCI). It is needed for these aspirants to have a score of above 60 percent marks in their finals.

Those who are accepted will be needed to appear for the examination as well as counseling at the venue mentioned. If they fail to make an appearance, their candidature shall get rejected. They won’t be considered again.

How to Apply for NIMHANS PG Medical Entrance Exam?

Admission form for the NIMHANS PG Medical Entrance exam can be got from the official website of NIMHANS – www.nimhans.kar.nic.in. The admission form is to be filled online and it is to be submitted online itself. The admission form can be printed and sent to the official address concerned. The form is to be filled in appropriate and this includes pasting recent photographs and providing the signature. A DD of the amount required is also to be attached with the form. The DD ought to be taken in the name of the Director, NIMHANS, Bangalore-560029.

Candidates of foreign origin ought to submit their admission forms by means of the diplomatic channel - ministry of external affairs. It is also needed for them to be present for the CET alongside all other applicants. Those aspirants who are sponsored must apply by the regular method. It is necessary for them to present the certificate of sponsorship in the format prescribed.

Cost of Application Form

The price of NIMHANS PG medical entrance exam is Rs 1000/- in the case of general candidates and Rs. 750/- for those of the reserved categories.

How to fill the Form?

When filling the NIMHANS admittance form, students need to be very cautious. This mainly due to the fact that any error found in the form will cause it rejection. Once they have posted the form, they won’t have any chance to rectify it. A few things all applicants need to note are:

• All pertinent columns of the form are to be filled appropriately.
  • Aspirants are to use only the correct pen or pencil mentioned in the brochure.
  • All necessary documents are to be attached with the admission form before it is to be sent. It will be very helpful for candidates if they recheck the envelope before they send it out.
  • Other details that are to be checked include recent photographs as well as signature at necessary places.
  • All applicants need to send the form prior to the closing date that is cited in the brochure.

Important Dates

• Availability of the admission form (offline): First week of March, 2012
  • Availability of admission form (online): First week of April, 2012
  • Final date for the reception of the form by courier or post: Mid week of April, 2012
  • Date of admission test: Last week of June, 2012
  • Commencement of the programs: First week of August, 2011/2012
  • Final date for the admittance of aspirants: Second week of August, 2011/2012

Exam Centers

The exam centre for the NIMGHANS PG Medical Entrance exam is:

• Sri Bhagawan Mahaveer Jain College, Bangalore

Contact Address of NIMHANS

Aspirants can contact NIMHANS at:

• Address: Director / Vice Chancellor, NIMHANS, Hosur Road, Bangalore – 560029, India
  • Telephone: 91-080-26995001/5002, 26564140, 26561811, 26565822
  • Fax: 91-080-26564830
  • Website URL: www.nimhans.kar.nic.in

Reference Books for NIMHANS PG Medical Entrance Exam

A few top reference books are:

• Neuro Med
  • Neurology India
  • Synopsis of Psychiatry by Kaplan and Sadock

Coaching Centers for NIMHANS PG Medical Entrance Exam

These are a few coaching centres within India that offer coaching for this PG level medical entrance exam:

• Aakashdeep Academy
  • Allen Career Institute, Kota
  • Brilliant Tutorials
  • CAREERFORUM
  • CareerPoint, Kota
  • Delhi Academy of Medical Sciences (DAMS)
  • Dr. Bhatia Medical Coaching Institute, Delhi
  • Elite Academy
  • Login4Career
  • Mastermind Classes
  • MediTECH
  • Naik Academy, Mumbai
  • Narayana Institute for Medical/Engineering Coaching, Delhi
  • Oasis Educational Services
  • SDK Technologies
  • SuccessCDs
  • WinEntrance

Study Plan for NIMHANS PG Medical Entrance Exam

When preparing for this entrance exam, aspirants can start their preparation from the very beginning itself. If they are able to complete their preparation in time, they will be more confident at the time of the examination. When they begin their preparation, aspirants need to have a clear cut idea about the more specific details about the examination. This includes the syllabus, pattern, the date and timing of the entrance examination.

Questions papers of the previous years can be got by aspirants from any leading stationary store or from the internet. One can also purchase guide books by well known authors from these book stores. Besides this, many coaching centres within India too provide good help for students in the exam preparation. This way they will not only get good help from their instructors but also the confidence to work out any difficulties they might feel during their preparation.

How and Where To Get the Results?

The results for the NIMHANS Postgraduate medical entrance examination can be got from the official website of the NIMHANS hospital - www.nimhans.kar.nic. Notification regarding the admission test will also be announced in this website.

Score Validity

The score validity of the NIMHANS PG Medical Entrance Exam shall be applicable only for that specific academic year.

196 Responses to “NIMHANS 2012 PG Medical”

Pages: « 2 [1] Show All

1. 46
    shainy u.p:

i am a MSW Medical& psychiatry final year student i want to know what is the eligibility and procedures to join M.Phil course in NIMHANS also plz tel me whwn is the last day for apply

2. 45
    Sirin:

Sir/ Madam,
    I am interested in neurosurgery 5 yr course in NIMHANS. Could you please guide me regarding the syllabus examination pattern, if its inclusive of an interview, eligibility criteria,recommended books and how deviant is the syllabus from the aipgmee. Kindly reply asap.

3. 44
    Shilpa:

Sir/Madam,
    I am interested in M.D Psychiatry and i would like to know about the syllabus,question pattern,recommended books to be read and how much weightage s given to the individual subjects..Kindly mail me as soon as possible…
    Thank You…

4. 43
    chinthan s:

respected sir/madam,
    i finished my mbbs and now preparing for entrance exams,as i am interested in psychiatry,i want to know the eligibility criteria,syllabus,pattern,study materail and date of nimhans examination that are going to be conducted in 2011.also i rrequest you to let me know about the no of working hours,hostel facilities and stipend . can i get an information brochure mailed to my address? waiting for
    the response.

5. 42
    kiruhtika:

Respected sir/madam i hav applied for M.Sc., psychiatric nursing how i should prepare for the entrance exam?studying alone psychiatry is enough or the other nursing subjects too.please give me information about the percentage of questions alloted to the various subjects.where to get the previous years question?kindly help me since im running short of time.

6. 41
    punith:

i am doing ms general surgery now . i want to know how to prepare for mch neurosurgery entrance exam , what books i have to read, please provide the details to me

7. 40
    Nirmala Kurian:

I like to know the age limit & Stypend of Mphil in Neuroscience-5 year course (ICMR).

8. 39
    snehanshu bora:

hello sir i m doing M.A final with psychology..i wana know about ENTRANCE EXAMINATION ?? N HOW I CAN SUBMIT MY FORM ? TELL ME CITIES NAME WHERE THIS INSTITUTE R SITUATED FOR UR KIND INFORMATION AT THAT TIM I LIVE IN ALIGARH WHAT THE LAST DATE TO SUBMIT MY FORM ?? N WHAT THE PROCESS OF NIMHANS CAN U SUGGEST ME HOW NIMHANS PROBFITABLE FOR ME ???

9. 38
    deeptika:

in whose name demand draft has to be made for getting application form by post

10. 37
    nisha:

whether i can do MBBS after finishing bsc nursing?what is the requirement for doing MBBS AFTER BSC NURSING?

11. 36
    dr. ankit:

Hi sir, i want to know details in about nimhans institute…. In feb 2010 exam four only psychiatry? no neuro surgery or neuropsychi? n in july xam this seats wil be available… sir, whts free structure n stippend wil be paid?

12. 35
    divya:

Respected Sir/Madam,
    kindly give information about NIMHANS-2010 Entrance exam

13. 34
    manjula:

Respected sir/mam,
    I have finished D.P.M in a Govt medical college,tamilnadu. whether i have to write the same entrance exam as a M.B.B.S candidate orelse will i get a different question paper?

14. 33
    manya:

respctd mam/sir i wnt to know abt pattern of exams,syllabus & weightage of each subject acc to no. of ques askd in exams& also examalert thankss . .

15. 32
    amala:

dear webmaster,
    i just want to know when is the notification of NIIMHANS MD/DPM pschiatry exam of febraury session is going to be released. is there still time to be relesed of notification and application recipt. thanking you.

16. 31
    dr raghavendra:

how can i download application form for 2010 MD postgraduate exam? plz assist.

17. 30
    ashish:

plz provide me information about mphil(OB) entrance.

18. 29
    Vishal Agrawal:

Please send me the information regarding the PG exams to be held in 2010.

19. 28
    raghuveer:

wr can i download the application form for 2010 pg entrance

20. 27
    Poornima:

respected sir/madam, i have completed my MBBS and i wish to write entrance exam 2010.. how can i get the application form??.. also please mention the DD amount and the address to get the application form through post … thank u sir…

21. 26
    dr harsha:

how to download online application for 2010 nimhans entrance

22. 25
    ROHAN KUMAR:

how to download P G MEDICAL EXAM ENTRANCE FORM FOR 2010 EXAM

23. 24
    Arun:

I am completing my House Surgency at a medical college in Kerala.I wish to write the entrance test for the year 2010….How do i get the application form from the above mentioned site??? Which section should i select to download the form?Also I like to know about the Syllabus for the same , sir.
    I would be grateful if i would get a response in my email.
    Thanking you,
    Yours faithfully
    Arun Babu

24. 23
    Arun:

I am completing my House Surgency in a medical college at Kerala.May i know about the syllabus of the NIMHANS PG Entrance examination of 2009-2010.
    Also the tentative date of issue of Applications for the same.

25. 22
    anjali:

respected sir?madam
    i wish to write e entrance test for the year 2010 .. how do i get the application form fromt he site mentioned above?? which section do i have to go to .to download the form?wud be grateful if u reaponded to my email

26. 21
    himal shah:

reapected sir,m finishing my internship in coming march(march 2010).. can i apply for 5 yr programme in m.ch neuro or Dm neuro in nimhans ?.. what are the other colleges i can opt for ? regarding nimhans when should i file my application?

27. 20
    dr saket:

respected sir\mam,pls let me know about exam details,types of question ask,how to get prospectus.

28. 19
    poonam:

respected sir/mam,
    please let me know abt entrance syllabus,pattern of questions,no and type of seats, stypend n other details. how can i get prospectus?

29. 18
    prem:

hello sir/ madam
    i m finishing my internship in coming march.. can i apply for 5 yr programme in m.ch neuro or Dm neuro in nimhans ?.. what are the other colleges i can opt for ? regarding nimhans when should i file my application?

30. 17
    rakesh:

also pl help where can i get the syllabus for m.ch neurosurgery..?

31. 16
    rakesh:

when will the last date of receiving filled up aapplication forms……? pl mail to my addresss… is there any requirements needed for a house surgeon to write the exam.. pl tell

32. 15
    Fahim Ahmed:

Dear Sir/Madam

Could you please help me out with the syllabus that from where I can get the syllabus for M.phil. entrance exam.

33. 14
    smruti:

respected sir/madam,
    i M DOING INTERNSHIP and now preparing for entrance exams,as i am interested in psychiatry,i want to know the eligibility criteria,syllabus,pattern and date of nimhans examination that are going to be conducted in 2010.also i rrequest you to let me know about the no of working hours,hostel facilities and stipend . can i get an information brochure mailed to my address? waiting for
    the response..

34. 13
    Dr anu:

respected sir/madam,
    i finished my mbbs and now preparing for entrance exams,as i am interested in psychiatry,i want to know the eligibility criteria,syllabus,pattern,study materail and date of nimhans examination that are going to be conducted in 2010.also i rrequest you to let me know about the no of working hours,hostel facilities and stipend . can i get an information brochure mailed to my address? waiting for
    the response..

35. 12
    sivateja mukkamala:

respected sir/madam, could you please let me know about the details of MD psychiatry entrance exam 2010. thanking you

36. 11
    manvendra mukund jogdev:

Respected Sir/Madam i am a student of psychology , i have completed my P.G. from university of Pune,Maharashtra and want to apply for the course M.Phil. in Mental Health & Social Psychology , i wnted to know how can i get the model question papers of privious years so that i will get a general idea about the question pattern , please help me out ,
    Thanking you ,

37. 10
    sam:

when the institute gives application form for msc nursing

38. 9
    sravan:

a student who completes internee by may 6 th of 2010 ,is eligible for pg course in neurology?

39. 8
    sravan:

is mbbs student eligible for pg in neurology
    student completing mbbs in 2o10 april can appear to exam ?

40. 7
    saravanan:

when will the application for 2010 MD/DPM will be issued please do inform me .

41. 6
    indu:

DATE OF ISSUE OF APPLICATION FORM FOR MPHIL CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY

42. 5
    muzarath:

respected sir/madam,
    i finished my mbbs and now preparing for entrance exams,as i am interested in psychiatry,i want to know the eligibility criteria,syllabus,pattern and date of nimhans examination that are going to be conducted in 2010.also i rrequest you to let me know about the no of working hours,hostel facilities and stipend . can i get an information brochure mailed to my address? waiting for
    the response..

43. 4
    Bhuvaneswari S:

Respected sir/madam when is the admission for M.SC NURSING (PSYCHIATRIC)2009?.I have completed my B.SC NURSING in Aug,2008. Can i appiy now or when can i apply? I m presently workng in NARAYANA MEDICAL COLLEGE GENERAL HOSPITAL(1100 BEDDED),NELLORE.

44. 3
    Aniket:

i have done my masters in psychology. i want to apply for Ph.D. Degree in Mental Health & Social Psychology. please provide me information regarding the application form .examination fee and related details about the course like the stipend ,accomodation .i would also like to know if i can get information brochure mailed to my address given below .

aniket [email protected]

45. 2
    Dr.Farhat Mustafa:

i have done my MBBS from GMC srinagar.i want to apply for MD Psychaitry in NIMHANS.please provide me information regarding the application form .examination fee and related details about the course like the stipend ,accomodation .i would also like to know if i can get information brochure mailed to my address given below .i would also like to know about the syllabus for the entrance examination.

Dr.Farhat Mustafa
    sector 5 gulberg colony
    Hyderpora bye pass
    Srinagar ,Kashmir-190014

46. 1
    Smijo sebastian:

sir,iam a msw medical psychiatry final year student.i want to know what is the eligibility citeria and ptoceedures to join M.phil courses in NIMHANS.also please tell me when i have to apply?

Pages: « 2 [1] Show All