Higher Studies Options after B.Com

There is a wide variety of options for higher studies for students who have completed graduation in the commerce stream. The students can do their post graduation in any of the disciplines such as Economics, International Studies, Law or arts. It is also possible for students to choose Statistics, Insurance or Education as their specializations.  

Qualification Criteria for Higher Studies after B.Com

As to join for higher studies programs, students need to successfully complete B.Com graduation with good marks. Some university requires students to have more than 50% of marks in their degree for admission to the Masters Program. There will be relaxation provided for reservation category in the percentage requirement up to 10 %. To pursue MBA and other Post graduate programs in the commerce stream, a pass in B.com is sufficient. For selecting eligible candidates for the Post graduate program, most of the universities carry out an entrance test.

Higher studies options after B.Com

• CRISIL Certified Analyst Program (CCAP)
  • Diploma in Banking & Financial Services(HDBFS)
  • Executive MBA
  • Executive Program in Applied Finance - IIM Calcutta
  • International Post Graduate Diploma in Risk Management
  • LLB
  • M.Com
  • CA
  • Master in Financial Management (MFM)
  • Master in Management Studies (M.M.S.)
  • Master in Retail Management
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
  • Master of Marketing Management (M.M.M.)
  • Master’s Degree in Human Resources Development Management (MHRDM)
  • Master’s Degree in Marketing
  • Master’s in Business Studies (M.B.S.)
  • Masters in Financial Management (MFM)
  • Masters of Business Administration (Information Technology)- MBA-IT
  • Masters Program in International Business (MPIB)
  • MCA
  • Post Graduate Diploma In Management

Subjects covered under Higher Studies courses after B.Com

The syllabus included in higher studies like M.Com will include economics, management, finance, tax planning, computers, accounting etc. Moreover, a Management study at Post graduate level includes similar subjects. In addition to this Production and operations, Human resource management, Business and Company Laws, Domestic and International Business Environment etc. will be covered in the management courses. Usually B.Com students opt for Finance as a specialisation area in MBA or similar management post graduation course.

Career Opportunities after Higher studies for B.Com Graduates

One can always go for MBA or MCA. Many specializations are made available for candidates who opt for MBA. Candidates who have finished their post graduation in Business management have a chance to get job in various organizations and institutions according to their specialization. The specialization can be from different fields like HR, finance, marketing etc. Candidates with Post graduation after B.com is absorbed in to private and public companies alike as finance officer or controller, risk and insurance manager etc. There are varieties of jobs available in financial institutions like banks, credit unions, mutual fund companies.

Those candidates who like to pursue research can go for the PhD programs. It is also possible for candidates to choose a career in legal profession. In addition to this, many entrance exams are carried out by both the state and central government like UPSE, PSC, RRB etc for the recruitment of candidates into the various vacant posts available. Candidates can appear for these exams. Besides this, many firms in private sector also offer employment for graduates from B.Com.

29 Responses to “Higher Studies Options after B.Com”

1. 29
    sneha:

I finishd my bcom…with passng marks nw iam confusd with what nxt sme suggest me of CA,company secretary course,MBA,I am worried nw about my future plz suggest me..iam waitng for ur responce

2. 28
    PRIYANKA SAHARA:

I have completed my b.com with 85% and want to study further,so i want to know what or w hich degree or course should i take admission for so as to get a job in HR field

3. 27
    Manish kumar mishra:

Hiiiiii Sir, I hv gvn my b com (pass) final exam n waiting for result
    n i m very upset i m unable to decide what to do after graduation i m totally confused what to do so plz suggest me what ll be better for my career, I m waiting for ur responce…

4. 26
    tayyaba:

i have passed my bcom 60%, I want to continue the studies from MA,what subject do u think i can easily studied?

5. 25
    Lijo Jose:

Sir, I have passed Bcom 48% can I eligible for any higher studies.
    & what kind of higher studies. kindly help me.

6. 24
    Kavita:

give master course details after bcom (general).

7. 23
    Govind shaw:

I passed Bcom at 54% so i m very confused for post gradute couse. what is the best option for me to go with.

8. 22
    Bishwa:

i am pass B.com in 38% mark what can i do to get a job after this?

9. 21
    akhila:

what is cource after completing b.com and 66% in 2013, which cource is suitable cource

10. 20
    jagruti:

is it possible of doing computer engg. after b.com???

11. 19
    ravi singh:

i want to do post graduation from iim kolkata
    what is the process i do for pg???

12. 18
    DEEKSHA DHIMAN:

WHAT IS BST AND EASY COURSE AFTER B.COM PRIVATE & TWO YEAR DIPLOMA IN MODERN OFFICE MANAGMENT & SERETARIAL PRACTICE?

13. 17
    aloylz:

I’m doing a b.com(general)course,can i will do m.com,after completing my degree,and what is the percentage that i needed to get.

14. 16
    sunil soni:

i m confused that is mcom is a good opportunity to pursue further studies. there are people who complains that mcom has no value. is there are goo job opportunites after mcom

15. 15
    Vikas:

Any college in Gujarat,maharashtra or Rajasthan..hv their own entrance test…coz I want to study MBA..bt my B.com Graduation Percents is 47%…plz suggest me.

16. 14
    anuradha:

i have done my bcs(corporate secretaryship) course in the year 2002 and scored 64% .now i want to continue my higher studies through correspondence.suggest me a suitable course whether it is professional or not.after my studies i want to work from home.thank u.

17. 13
    lipy:

(CCAP) is going to be tough for me?i am a mediocar hard working student with good academic record throughout,
    as percentile segment is quite low to others in calcutta university i scored 55%
    shal i opt for ccap

18. 12
    nishanth:

is there any scope for c.s … does it fetch gud salray as well as is it comfort for girls,,,, any oder suitable course aftr bcom … Except cA … What abt mcom also is it good carrer option

19. 11
    shruti:

wat to do aftr 12 excpt CA , CS & MBa?????

20. 10
    abinaya:

Higher studies related to commerce group?which is best C.A,I.C.W.A,A.C.S?

21. 9
    salahudheen:

what do after b.com,which job get after b com,maximum salary?

22. 8
    matthu:

higher studies option after b.com which fetch me good job with a starting salary of 50000

23. 7
    kedar:

give detail information of post graduation courses after bcom

24. 6
    JITHIIN:

MOST PAIDED PG COURSE?

25. 5
    bhava:

hai i finished my final year bcom (cs ) now iam waiting for the result.i really confused what to do in future except mcom ,mba, cs, but it is very important to go to college i dont want to sit at home please help me

26. 4
    megha:

hi, i hv given exms fr bcom2yr n nw realy cnfused fr wt to do in future except mcom,MBA,CA CS. N MST IMPRTNTLY WANT TO GO TO CLG ,DNT WANT TO SIT AT HOMElike dng CA or CS??????????? PLEASE HELP

27. 3
    SUSHANTH:

IN MBA WHICH SPECIALISATION HAS MORE SCOPE WHEATHER FINANCE OR H.R..?..AND ENTRANCE EXAM ARE COMPULSORY OR OPTIONAL?

28. 2
    SOUMYA PATHY:

NOW IN DAYS WHAT IS DE DEMAND OF C.S COURSE& HOW MUCH SALARY PAID 2A COMPANY SECRETARY…………& IS DERE ANY GOOD COURSE RATHER THAN C.S? PLZ RPLY 2 MY MAIL I.D .

29. 1
    santosh:

can a student do bca after completing b.com?