Actuarial Science

The discipline that makes use of statistical and mathematical methods as to determine the level of risk with respect to insurance and other financial instruments is known as Actuarial science.

Actuaries provide firms with their services in a variety of business as well as social contexts. Those include:

• Investment And Financial Services
  • Life Insurance
  • Health Insurance
  • General Insurance
  • Employee Retirement And Benefit Plans

Courses in actuarial sciences

The course distribution is mentioned below:

• CT series - 9 Subjects
  • CA series - 3 subjects
  • ST series - 6 subjects
  • SA series - 6 subjects

Course distribution:

• CT series (Core Technical Stage)
  • CT1 - Financial Mathematics
  • CT2 - Finance and Financial Reporting
  • CT3 - Probability and Mathematical Statistics
  • CT4 - Models
  • CT5 - General Insurance, Life and Health Contingencies
  • CT6 - Statistical Methods
  • CT7 - Economics
  • CT8 - Financial Economics
  • CT9-Business Awareness Module

CA series (Core Applications Concepts)

• CA1-Core Applications -  concepts of assets and liabilities
  • CA2-Modelling
  • CA3-Communications

ST series (Specialist Technical Stage)

• ST1-Health & care Insurnce
  • ST2-Life Insurance
  • ST3-General Insurance
  • ST4-Pension & other employee benefit
  • ST5-Finance & Investment A
  • ST6-Finance and Investment B

SA series (Specialist Application Stage)

• SA1-Health & Care
  • SA2-Life Insurance
  • SA3-General Insurance
  • SA4-Pension & other Employee Benefit
  • SA5-Finance
  • SA6-Investment

Examination in Actuarial Sciences

The study course of ASI is divided into four stages:

• Core Technical Stage – This part encompasses of 8 subjects. Each subject has a paper that carries 100 marks
  • Core Application Stage - This part encompasses of 2 mandatory subjects.
  • Specialist Technical Stage – This part comprises of 6 papers. Students ought to choose any 2.
  • Specialist Application Stage - This part encompasses of 6 papers. Students ought to select any one subject.

Colleges that offer these courses

• Amity School of Insurance and Actuarial Science
  • Bishop Herber College
  • College Of Insurance, Mumbai
  • College of Vocational Studies, Delhi University
  • Directorate of Distance Education, Alagappa University
  • Ernakulam Insurance Institute
  • Insurance Training Centre
  • Kalyani University
  • The National Insurance Academy
  • Tolani Institute of Management Studies

Career prospects available

Scores of career prospects are at hand for students of this field. Nowadays, people opt to take up many insurance policies to cover their many needs. Due to this, the number of insurance companies and non insurance companies that are coming up today are quite high. These firms offer students with a variety of job opportunities. Professionals of this field who deals with these kinds of insurance policies help people and clear their doubts concerning their investment as well as savings in insurance.

A few of the top employers for individuals in the field of actuarial science are:

• Potential employers in the field of Life Insurance:
  • Allianz Bajaj Life Insurance Company Limited
  • AMP Sanmar Life Insurance Company Limited
  • Aviva Life Insurance Company Limited
  • Birla Sun Life (Distributor Company Limited
  • HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited
  • ICICI Prudential Life Insurance Company Limited
  • ING Vysya Life insurance Company Limited
  • Life Insurance Corporation of India
  • Max New York Life Insurance Company Limited
  • Met Life Insurance Company Limited
  • Om Kotak Mahindra Life Insurance Company Limited
  • SBI Life Insurance Company Limited
  • TATA AIG Life Insurance Company Limited

Potential employers of professionals of actuarial science in the Non-Life Insurance sector:

• Bajaj Allianz
  • Cholamandalam GIC
  • HDFC Chhub GIC Limited
  • ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited
  • IFFCO-TOKIO General Insurance Company Limited
  • National Insurance Corporation
  • Oriental Insurance
  • Reliance GIF
  • Royal Sundaram GIC
  • TATA AIG

The United India Insurance, New India Assurance Company and General Insurance Corporation etc consist of a few other non general insurance firms in India.  The career scope for actuaries can be found not only within our country, but also in foreign countries. Job opportunities are at hand for aspirants in countries such as Australia, USA and Canada as well.

92 Responses to “Actuarial Science”

1. 92
    sadhana pawar:

I am from Baroda n pursuing for cwa as intermediate student.i want to know how would I join for these course and what are the procedures for these?

2. 91
    raman:

UK CA1 full fees .when to deposit. where exam will held in india. delhi

3. 90
    Nancy jain:

Im in ca final and cmpleted my graduation Bcom(H) cn i get diect entry in acturial science exams without attempting acet exams

4. 89
    bhakti..:

I have done my bcom with 89% marks. I did not have maths in ma graduation. However i have 98 marks in 12th in maths. Can i directly get mrmbership of uk actuaries on thr basis of my 12th maths marks??

5. 88
    bhakti..:

I have done my bcom with 89% marks. I did not have maths in ma graduation. However i have 98 marks in 12th in maths. Can i directly get mrmbership of uk actuaries???

6. 87
    disha gera:

i have appeared for ca inter both groups and waiting for the result and i hv completed B.Com. can i join it ,if yes then how?

7. 86
    thamarie:

i did my A level exams and passed and am interested in the field of actuarial science..i want to do it through long distance learning .so between undergraduate intro and undergraduate advanced,which is more appropiate to do.

8. 85
    ANIMESH:

I am a ca inter & B.COM(H) student,can I join it,if yes then How?

9. 84
    ST5 1HL:

Embodied the hopes, right most of?And set the, in driving a.Thereafter This form, themselves The five.Usher one into ST5 1HL, tie on his we Dont we.Regularly you can, few times Statistics.,

10. 83
    kapil yadav:

Hii.

ACTUALLY I want to know that how many attempts can I avail for exam
    &In exams what types of questions asked on regularly basis?

11. 82
    devam rishi:

i am studying in 12th non med. pl.send me information reg. admission. thanks

12. 81
    xyz:

i am commerce student of class 12 .i am confused with my future career.can actuarial science do with regular college if yes what is the best college for it

13. 80
    Victor Banerjee:

Give me the minimum qualification for study in actuarial science.i am passed h.s in science above 50% marks.can i read acturial science?

14. 79
    xyz:

sir i m the student of bsc 2ndyear with pcm group. can i enter in this exam??????
    i live in u.p. kya u.p me iska college ya institute h?? exam dene ka procedure kya h??? entrance exam b hota h kya???m science group se hu to kya m solve kr skti hu ise???

15. 78
    Jaiprakash:

I have completed b.sc statistics and want to actuarial science course, please tell me.

16. 77
    mona:

m a student of maths (honours) 1st yr….searching for a coaching for actuarial sc in delhi n wanted to know the syllabus????

17. 76
    yogesh:

Iam a Chartered accountant.I want to do the actuary course.
    I need to know from whare i can do this course from India or UK?

18. 75
    arpit golechha:

i just want to know that whether i can register myself for entrance test which is supposed to be held on november 2012.

19. 74
    ASHWINI K.B:

colleges offered for acturial science course in bangalore

20. 73
    mehak:

can we do acturial science along with chartered accountant course?

21. 72
    kiran:

I have completed my 12th with 82%in maths and 95% in English. can i give Actuarial science entrance paper 2012 from Delhi.

22. 71
    akshay:

date &timing of the acturial sciencecommon enterance tests result which was held on 28 june 2012

23. 70
    mehak:

i am doing bsc in computer, statistics, maths. can i enroll for actuarial sciences?
    is there any entrance for this?

24. 69
    Mehboob:

How can i apply and when for entrance or admision

25. 68
    krisha zatakia:

i just appeared for my tenth and want to know the number of years of study in acturial science

26. 67
    jeet:

could u please tell me the syllabus of the subjects?

27. 66
    nirmal chandra das:

is there any entrance exam for acturial science

28. 65
    Sanjib Kar:

I am 30 yrs old. I am B.Com (Pass-45%) in 2003 and LL.B (3 years- 49.8%) in 2010 in Burdwan University Regular course.i have done commerce with subjects accounts, business studies , economics 300 marks and Taxation . do i have any eligibility to take up actuarial science course?

what is the fee structure, colleges,duration of course,entrance test details and Admission Time of actuarial course under Kalyani and Annamalai University ?

If i not eligible in regular source then can i get admission in distance course in Annamalai university ?

Sanjib Kar.

29. 64
    Aaman gupta:

what is the criteria of admission in acturial science after +2 and graduation. what is the job and future prospect of this course.

30. 63
    sagar:

what is the duration and requirements for this course after passing 12th standard ?

31. 62
    sahil:

what is the fees structure for registration of all level like ct st sa etc…, exams fees,study material fees.
    if i fail in one exams than how many time i Eligible for exams in same registration?

32. 61
    jaya pandey:

what is the fee structure, colleges,duration of course,entrance test details of acturial course?

33. 60
    Pawan:

What is the fee of acturial science. I have bca. am i applicable for acturial science ?

34. 59
    shreyas t:

sir i am 20 yrs old and i am presently doing my b.com i.e regular b.com(6′thsemester and my +2( 64% marks) have done commerce with subjects accounts, business studies , economics and computer science . do i have any eligibility to take up actuarial science course

35. 58
    navin:

sir , i m 25y old & fulfill the eligilities, having very good commamd on maths and having a gap of 7 years.
    can i do. when its admission take place.
    can i do this course with my job.

36. 57
    Alok Kumar:

Could you please let me know the passing criteria for CT papers.

37. 56
    varinder singh:

i want to know all the details of admission procedure? as entrance exam has been introduced.. and i am confused… i want to give may2012 attempt

38. 55
    chanmeet kaur:

can i study online for ct3??

39. 54
    DEO NATH:

one has to clear 14+1 papers. what are the papers which has to be cleared in CT, CA, ST and SA series. Plz specify ????

40. 53
    DEO NATH:

Out of 24 papers 14+1 are to be cleared. Please specify from each group, what are the papers to chose from CT, CA, ST and SA.

41. 52
    monica:

I did MSc in Statistics from Lucknow Univ. in 1989 and was the topper of the univ.Do I get any exemption from any paper. Please let me know.

42. 51
    aditi jain:

what is the last date for the membership registration of may 2012 attempt.?

43. 50
    vikas jain:

i have completed my mba in finance streem so i want to know which one subject would be suitable and mathes is compulsory because i am not much good in mathes.Or any other optional subject can choose or not or according to my streem i would be suitable .

44. 49
    sumit:

last date of registration for nov 2011 attempt??????

45. 48
    rimika verma:

what is the last date of membership registeration for nov. 2011 attempt?

46. 47
    shilpi jain:

how can i apply in acturial science

47. 46
    devika:

i am from science stream and had physics,chemistry,biology and mathematics as my subjects. Am i eligible for acturial science?

48. 45
    xyz:

Hello! I’ve been studying actuarial science for the last 1.5 years,but haven’t managed to clear any subject as yet…when it comes to understanding a subject,I’m pretty ok with it,butt when it comes to appearing for the exams,I find that the material provided is insufficient and I feel reference material is required.Is that so??????????????n if yes,what material am i supposed to refer???????I know my question seems a bit too long,but I’ll be really obliged if I’m provided a satisfactory solution………….thank you

49. 44
    nitika gupta:

i have filled the form in april but i have not received any study material.kindly focus on this

50. 43
    DHIKUNJ KALARIYA:

i m a student of science stream … what is procedure for this coures…??so plz rply me….my cell no. is 8758888840. THANK YOU..

51. 42
    DHIKUNJ KALARIYA:

i m a student of science stream . i m nt knowing wt actully is d study of acturial science.or what is procedure for this coures…??so plz rply me….my cell no. is 8758888840. THANK YOU..

52. 41
    NEERAJ:

i have scored 90 marks in my 12 boards n i wanna do accrual science…..but can u plzz tell me any coaching centres in mumbai for this course…

53. 40
    manish bajaj:

can i apply for acturial sceince 2011 now

54. 39
    manprit:

minimum age requirement is 18 , and my dob is 15/12/1993 . can i give the exam in may 2011 ?can i register now? i live in kolkatta can u please send the address where i am suppose to register or an e-mail id for direct contact

55. 38
    abcdef:

what is the procedure for doing this course?

56. 37
    Poornima:

1. I live in Mumbai and I am a BMS graduate in finance from Mumbai University, in year 2009.
    2. I did my MBA in HR from Wales University, UK in year 2010.
    I would like to know, whether I can opt for Acturail Science Studies. If not, then what will be the alternative way to opt for this stream.
    My date of birth is 31/05/1988

57. 36
    NIKHIL TANEJA:

Minimum age requirement for Actuarial Science Exam is 18 years as on…….? My date of birth is 26-08-1993, can I give entrance exam to be held in November, 2011

58. 35
    amit kumar:

1. I have completed graduation this year. i have mathematics in 2nd year as a main subject and got more than 55% marks in that. Am I eligble for Acturial.

2. I live in Delhi where can I contact for any query and Questions regarding Acturies. If u can provide me the telephone no.s and email id. that will be helpful for me.

59. 34
    manika sahni:

i am waiting for my 10+2 reult in commerce stream and expecting to get more than 85% in maths should i opt for acturial science??

60. 33
    sanchi:

i m a non medical student and i want to know wether i can b an acturialist or nt?

61. 32
    rajesh:

i hv jst complt my 12th i got 80 marks in math i m in commerce wid math eng. b,study acount nd eco can i become an actury pls pls pls pls help me call aur sms me on 9599745866

62. 31
    vinay kumar:

if any one want to know about the ACTUARIAL SCIENCE plz CONT ON 09711130008, I cleared 4 paper of actuarial science ,
    in this you have to clear total 15 papers in 4 groups , and student who love math can do this actuarial science , this course is v good

63. 30
    SHALLY MAHAJAN:

I am a student of science stream and have got 69% marks in my 10+2 exam. Can i opt for acturial science,if then how.

64. 29
    SHANI THOMAS:

I am a post graduate holder in Mathematics. Can I hold this degree through distance education mode.

65. 28
    Amiya:

How many papers r there in acturial science
    how to resister for exam .
    At a time a how many paper a student can appear.

66. 27
    arun singh rawat:

sir i want 2 ask as if i have done my b com and i have mathematics only in my first year , so would i be eligible for the course and plz give me all the details about the fees structure and enrollment procedure and suggest me the good colleges for this course as i m totally interested in this , so plz reply as soon as possible

67. 26
    mahantesh:

in your website you have mentioned that “IIT MUMBAI will have 3 Years BA course for Accurial science” but i was not able see any info on IIT mumbai website. pl let me know whom i should contact to join this course

68. 25
    prithvi:

please tell me the total fees for the actural science course and what is the process of admission.

69. 24
    rohit taneja:

i m studing in bcom 3 year n want to know the eligibility for acturial science in diffrent institutes

70. 23
    radhika:

i did graduation in commerce as bcom (honours) nd ws having maths in 1st year nd statistics in 3rd year so jus help me out if i am eligible for actuarial science course

71. 22
    Yash:

Sir,Can you please guide me with this course.I am confused about my career and want to know about this course clearly and can you please guide me with the best universities who provide this course and what is the process of admission in these colleges.plz guide me with course.

72. 21
    sudarshan:

can you please guide me with the location of the classes in bangalore?

73. 20
    rohit garg:

HELLO SIR/MAM IACTUALLY I AM INTRESETED IN THIS COURSE SO I WANT ALL THE NECESSARY DETAILS ABOUT IT SO PLS REPLY FAST I AM WAITING ………………..??

74. 19
    ria:

i want to do both actuarial scince and c.a… is it a good choice? i m in 12th now and m in commerce stream.i got 90% in icse…i will do BCOM aftr 12th along with c.a.. after that is actuarial scince good for me or MBA.. PLZ GUIDE…

75. 18
    rohan:

hello i am living in mumbai ,actually i am doing my 11th from science stream ,so can you please guide me that what sould i do after my hsc exams to become an actuary,please do reply i am eagerly waiting for the reply

76. 17
    Seema:

Sor/Madam,

I will pass 12th CBSE exam in 2011 from science side. I am very good in maths. I got 96% marks in Xth CBSE in maths. Please let me know which exam has to be cleared to get admission in Actuarial Science?

77. 16
    Snehill Singh:

cturial science exam

78. 15
    prakash:

I am 36 yearsand interest to join in ASI. Do I benefit in jobs if I take the take the actuarial science cource here after.

79. 14
    prashant shrivastava:

I am in MBA Finance 4th sem also cleared 4th group of cfa …which course shoul i opt for getting in to the career of an actuary.

80. 13
    akshay rastogi:

sir i am a graduate in pcm (major in maths) i want to know that what scop in this field for me . and what is the content and fees for this course.

81. 12
    Aabhas Gaba:

may I please know what is the minimum marks/criterion to go for actuarial science after class 12th???
    I have got 81 marks in maths in 12th board, I had science subjects, can I go for actuarial science???

82. 11
    Anushka:

HELLO SIR,
    I am a commerce student . i am from cbse board .
    i am in class xi with subjects—-economics & statistics accounts,business studies & information technology.
    sir actually i want to ask that will i able to do acturial science after 12th . if yes please give me tips how to prepare for it & which books will be best for qualifying this exams. please give me some tips to qualify it.and if i will be qualify then after placement how much salary will i get in beginning……….sir/ma’am please give me each & every information about it————–how to qualify,how many stages i have to qualify,etc………………………………….
    thanks for reading my message……………i am waiting for your reply……..

83. 10
    anuj goyal:

is there any college in rajasthan related actuarial science i passed 12th and want to take admission in b.sc maths statstics economics.

84. 9
    suman:

when and where acturial science entrance takes place?

85. 8
    harish:

hi,,,
    i hav passed my 12th with biology,physics and chemistry…
    i got failed in maths as it was my additional subject..
    can i give actual science test….plz suggest…..

86. 7
    Mrinmoy Roychoudhury:

I have given my graduation final yr. exam with Statistics as hons.
    I want to know things like——–
    what is the eligibility for doing M.Sc in Actuarial science& what is the last date for admission for the above& information about M.Sc in Actuarial science in kalyani university,WB.

87. 6
    saranya pv:

i’m a statistics raduate with 84% marks in aggregate.And I have 70% of marks in mathematics(sub) in aggregate. Am i eligible for studying msc acturial science?

88. 5

what is the eligibility admission procedure for doing actuarial science in kalyani university.

89. 4
    jayaraj.r:

sir i want do actuarial science please tell me some center in india

90. 3
    sangeeta:

i want to do careere in acturial, but i am from science background in chemistry.I have burning desire to do that.
    plz suggest me wht to do for opt this education.?

91. 2
    pankaj kumar kar:

which course is offered by kalyani university in the fild of actuarial science.

92. 1
    kashish taneja:

what are the important dates for actuarial science…?

dates like last date of admission for may 2010 session etc….