21st September 2011, 03:55 AM
Ankur6990

Can I give CAT Exam being a candidate of pursuing 3rd year B.Tech?

i am doing b.tech 3rd year....i want 2 give cat 2011 just for experience.....my graduation will complete in 2013.....can i??

21st September 2011, 11:16 AM
lvnareshsunrise

Default Re: Can I give CAT Exam being a candidate of pursuing 3rd year B.Tech?

CAT (Common Admission Test) is being conducted by IIM to give admission for Management courses in top MBA colleges.

Here is the eligibility criteria for CAT Exam.

-In order to be eligible for CAT Exam, one should have completed Graduation with any of the stream, with a minimum of 50% of marks from a recognized university.

-Candidates who belong to SC/ST or Persons with Disability, for them, they need to secure a minimum of 45% of marks in their graduation with any of the strem from a recognized university.

-As per this criteria, you are not eligible to appear for CAT Exam as you are a candidate of pursuing 3rd year B.Tech.

But, I will suggest you to prepare well for the CAT Exam and make sure that you can crack CAT Exam soon after the completion of your B.Tech

If you want information regarding CAT Exam, you can visit the following website which is the official website for CAT.

Here it is,
http://www.catiim.in/
21st September 2011, 12:05 PM
black-demon

CAT (Common Admission Test)
this exam is conducred by IIM to give admission in top MBA colleges.
for appearing in this exam you must have pass your graduation with minimum 50%. 5% of relaxation for SC\ST candidates.

As per this criteria, you are not eligible to appear for CAT Exam as you are a candidate of pursuing 3rd year B.Tech.

But, I will suggest you to prepare well for the CAT Exam and make sure that you can crack CAT Exam soon after the completion of your B.Tech

If you want information regarding CAT Exam, you can visit the following website which is the official website for CAT.

Here it is,
21st September 2011, 12:12 PM
Raja Azher

Originally Posted by Ankur6990 View Post
i am doing b.tech 3rd year....i want 2 give cat 2011 just for experience.....my graduation will complete in 2013.....can i??
If you are in 3rd Year then You can appear in the cat exam, other wise you can appear if you are in 2nd year graduation.
21st September 2011, 12:41 PM
peterpan10

You can give the CAT examination but always remember that you can only appear for the examination but you will be never appear for interview.Here is the details about CAT examination for you.

1.You must be a graduate.
2.Your age should be 21 to30 years.
21st September 2011, 12:47 PM
peterpan10

You can give the CAT examination but always remember that you can only appear for the examination but you will be never appear for interview.Here is the details about CAT examination for you.

1.You must be a graduate.
2.Your age should be 21 to30 years.
21st September 2011, 01:49 PM
sidbond

CAT requires you to have a graduation degree from any recognized degree, or someone awaiting results.

As of now, you are not eligible to appear for the CAT, but next year you can.
21st September 2011, 02:16 PM
Snehamay ganguly

No, you are not eligible for CAT exam , as you have mentioned that you are in 3rd year of your B.tech course..

Eligibility for CAT exam:-

1.The candidate must have complete the graduation in any trade.
2.The candidate must have 50% aggregate through out the graduation..
3.The candidate can also appear in CAT exam during the final year of graduation.
4.There is no age limit to appear in CAT exam.

So, you can appear in CAT exam next year when you will be in final year of graduation.
21st September 2011, 03:34 PM

Hello Ankur,
As per the notification published by the Indian Institute of Management, candidates who are awaiting their final year results may apply along with the candidates who have already completed their bachelors degree program.
So, as you have mentioned that you are in the third year of your B.Tech program, you won't be eligible to take the test.

If you belong to general category, you will need to score a minimum of 50% marks and if you belong to Sc/St category, you will need to score a minimum of 45% marks in the qualifying examination.

For more information, click here.
21st September 2011, 06:04 PM
praveendia

indian institute of management conducting cat (common admission test)for post graduate courses in management field.candidate requires to passed the graduation with 50% mark.for general while for obc sc st 45%.as u r 3 rd year student ur not eligible but ur eligible next year so dont waste time and start from now along with ur engg.best of luck
21st September 2011, 09:01 PM
meeeanki

CAT is being conducted by IIM to give admission for Management courses MBA .

eligibility criteria for CAT Exam.

1. should have completed Graduation with any of the stream, with a minimum of 50% of marks from a recognized university.

2. for SC/ST or Persons with Disability, for them, they need to secure a minimum of 45% of marks in their graduation with any of the strem from a recognized university.

-As per this criteria, you are not eligible to appear.

21st September 2011, 09:03 PM
meeeanki

CAT is being conducted by IIM to give admission for Management courses MBA .

eligibility criteria for CAT Exam.

1. should have completed Graduation with any of the stream, with a minimum of 50% of marks from a recognized university.

2. for SC/ST or Persons with Disability, for them, they need to secure a minimum of 45% of marks in their graduation with any of the strem from a recognized university.

-As per this criteria, you are not eligible to appear.

28th September 2011, 05:20 PM
BITAN GHOSH

Common Admission Test(CAT) is an All-India based exam to select candidates who are able to take admission in the Indian Institute of Management(IIM)s.
To appear in the exam the minimum criteria needed is to have a Graduation Degree in any stream from a recognized university.
Also, candidates who are in the final year of their studies can also appear in the exam provided that at the time of Admission they have completed their Graduation.
Therefore first of all get yourself at least in the final year then you can apply.
ALL THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
30th September 2011, 02:09 AM
bodhigyan

Talking Re: Can I give CAT Exam being a candidate of pursuing 3rd year B.Tech?

CAT is a pathway for getting admission in good college for MBA.
Generally there are some eligibility is required for cat exam is as follows-
# a person who has completed his graduation with a minimum marks i.e- 50%
From a recognized university like-
UGC,
AICTE,
PCI etc.
# in case of SC/ST or PH (physically handicapped) person, required only 45% marks in their graduation.
So, according to this requirement , you are not eligible for this exam.

Best of luck>
4th January 2012, 02:55 PM

i have score less than 50% in 1st year of my btech and have scored above 60% in 2nd and 3rd year ,can i give cat exam?
26th January 2012, 06:04 PM
pops07

No dear,

You are not eligible for CAT in your 3rd year.

MBA are for those who are interested in Business and management and corporate world.

MBA is a 2 years post graduation course.

For MBA, anyone who has completed his or her graduation in any field from a recognized university is eligible for MBA. And final year students who are pursuing their graduation are also eligible.

So you can apply next year.

CAT is conducted by IIMs, the Class A B-schools in India. The total fee for institutes like IIM is around 15 lacs. So prepare well!.

MBA has many options which you can take as your specialization like...

MBA in Finance

MBA in Health (Pharmaceuticals)

MBA in Consultancy

MBA in Information Technology

MBA in Telecommunications

MBA in Media

MBA in Services

MBA in Human Resources

MBA in Banking

Thanks........
29th January 2012, 01:26 AM
vinay21feb

Can i do my graduation at a time while doing the C.A. is there any university which is tied up with C.A. Institute?Kindly let us know about it
31st January 2012, 04:36 PM
vinay21feb

There are many entrance exams except cat such as mat/xat but cat is neccessary in the case if you want to get admission in iims.cat is the most difficult exam of the 3 as its open to all.the fees is of rs 1500 when you fill the application form for cat if you want to take coaching the institutes charges of about rs 15000-20000.you can get the forms in the form centre or from the website
31st January 2012, 07:46 PM
abhisek.sonu

CAT (Common Admission Test) is being conducted by IIM to give admission for Management courses in top MBA colleges.

Here is the eligibility criteria for CAT Exam.

-In order to be eligible for CAT Exam, one should have completed Graduation with any of the stream, with a minimum of 50% of marks from a recognized university.

-Candidates who belong to SC/ST or Persons with Disability, for them, they need to secure a minimum of 45% of marks in their graduation with any of the strem from a recognized university.

-As per this criteria, you are not eligible to appear for CAT Exam as you are a candidate of pursuing 3rd year B.Tech.

Here it is,
31st January 2012, 08:35 PM
pops07

No Dear,

You are not eligible for CAT this year.

The eligibility for CAT are as follows............

1.The candidate must hold a Bachelor’s Degree, with at least 50% marks or equivalent CGPA

2.[45% in case of the candidates belonging to Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribe (ST) and Differently Abled (DA)

This means that you must complete your degree........
31st January 2012, 09:06 PM
mani_baban

No dear,

You are not eligible for CAT in your 3rd year.

MBA are for those who are interested in Business and management and corporate world.

MBA is a 2 years post graduation course.

For MBA, anyone who has completed his or her graduation in any field from a recognized university is eligible for MBA. And final year students who are pursuing their graduation are also eligible.

So you can apply next year.

CAT is conducted by IIMs, the Class A B-schools in India. The total fee for institutes like IIM is around 15 lacs. So prepare well!.

MBA has many options which you can take as your specialization like...

MBA in Finance

MBA in Health (Pharmaceuticals)

MBA in Consultancy

MBA in Information Technology

MBA in Telecommunications

MBA in Media

MBA in Services

MBA in Human Resources

MBA in Banking

Thanks........
4th March 2012, 01:46 AM

how to apply for cat entrace exam
11th May 2012, 11:02 AM

CAN I SIT FOR CAT FROM USA AFTER COMPLETING MS FROM THERE?