11th May 2011, 12:04 PM
howards

Can I join genetic engineering without B.Tech?

I am a student passed 12th now and i wanted to do genetic engineering so can i know that genetic engineering without b tech as i have nat taken maths ????????

19th January 2012, 08:04 PM
jeevi12

Default Re: Can I join genetic engineering without B.Tech?

For genetic engineering Biology,Mathematics and Chemistry is compulsory in 12th.
Instead of B.Tech you can not do genetic engineering.
19th January 2012, 08:51 PM
pops07
Senior Member+++++

I think you are confused or does not have a clear idea.

Look B.tech is a graduate degree in engineering.

And genetic Engineering is a part of Engineering.

So Genetic engineering and B.tech are not two different things, but they are related and belong to a same field.

But the criteria for Genetic Engineering is slightly different from other B.tech courses.

Eligibility for genetic engineering:

The basic eligibility criteria for a graduate degree (BE / B.Tech) is 10+2 or equivalent examination, with Biology, Chemistry and Mathematics as well as genetics as part of the biology.

If you fulfill the criteria, you are eligible.

Duration:

4 years of engineering course...

But since you have not taken maths in 12th, you can not apply for Genetic Engineering.
19th January 2012, 11:37 PM
adithyaparavastu

hi,

A qualified genetic engineer, must have a graduate / postgraduate degree in genetics or related fields such as biotechnology, molecular biology, microbiology or biochemistry OR a doctorate (PhD) from a recognised university, based on 2-3 years of his own research under the guidance of a professor/lecturer.

The basic eligibility criteria for a graduate degree (BE / B.Tech) is 10+2 or equivalent examination, with Biology, Chemistry and Mathematics as well as genetics as part of the biology OR a bachelors degree in science or molecular biology.
9th March 2012, 07:20 PM
123dolly
Senior Member+++