2nd October 2010, 09:10 AM
Unregistered

Career Options after M.Sc. Biotechnology 5 year Integrated Course, other than PhD?

I'm pursuing M.Sc. Biotech (Integrated) from VIT University. It's a 5 year course (UG+PG) and I'm in 2nd year now. I want to know about the career options after I passout other than Ph.D.
I don't want to go for research so what are the other options available?

2nd October 2010, 01:26 PM
nuzhat fathima

Default Re: Career Options after M.Sc. Biotechnology 5 year Integrated Course, other than PhD?

HI,

5 year integrated M.sc. / M.Tech – This is by far amongst the more popular choices, though you will have to work hard to get a seat as the best programmes are still offered by the IIT’

MBA (Biotechnology) – This is a relatively new development in the MBA as well as biotech sphere. This is a great option for those interested or passionate about science but not necessarily looking forward to many hours of research but want a more managerial and interactive approach to their career. It usually requires candidates to have a bachelor’s degree in biology or related sciences.

• M/Sc. (Biotech) – This is a great option after you have done your graduation in Biology or a related discilpline. There are 2 major entrance exams for entry into this course – one is the All India Biotechnology Entrance Test conducted by JNU and ofcourse the JEE’s conducted by IIT’s.
• PHD (Biotech) – This is a necessity if you are looking for a career in research. A valid GATE score (for engineering graduates) or a high score in the UGC_JRF or a CSIR fellowship will definitely help you and also enable you to secure stable fellowships. Many institutes offer part time work to candidates who are unable to secure fellowships. There are also some institutes like IISc. that offer integrated 5 year PhD after a BSc.

Career options are many, with research topping the list. Some of the other fields open in biotechnology are: