11th January 2014, 05:44 PM
Unregistered

How can I appear for IAS? What should I prefer after 12th? What should I do between BSc and B.Tech?

I am a science student nd want to appear for IAS so what should i prefer after 12.???
What should i do bsc or b.tech??

12th January 2014, 08:44 PM
nareshsunrise
Senior Member++

Default Re: How can I appear for IAS? What should I prefer after 12th? What should I do between BSc and B.Tech?

Many of the candidates will think that only those candidates who are from Arts or commerce stream are eligible to join as IAS officers.

But that is wrong. All the candidates irrespective of their domain, they are eligible to become IAS officers. But only thing is that they should complete their Graduation in order to be a part of selection procedure.

As you have completed 12th class in Science stream, my suggestion for you would be to opt for Graduation in B.Sc with life science stream.

Better to opt for B.Sc with the following subjects
Botany
Zoology
Chemistry as major subjects.

The reason why I am suggesting this group is ,

-the duration of B.Sc course is just 3 years where as to complete B.Tech it will take 4 years.

-in B.Tech you may or may not have life science subjects but in B.Sc definitely these subjects will be available.

-These subjects will be there in the list of optional subjects for civil services exam.

Out of these subjects, give much priority to one subject and gain in depth subject knowledge.

The same subject you can choose in the list of optional subjects and then you can easily crack it.

Wish you all the best.
27th February 2017, 11:18 AM
Unregistered

Default Re: How can I appear for IAS? What should I prefer after 12th? What should I do between BSc and B.Tech?

What course should be chosen by a computer science student after 12th to become an IAS officer
2nd September 2017, 11:38 AM
Unregistered