3rd December 2011, 09:29 AM
utpalenduroy

Minimum percentage required to sit for IPS examination?

What should be the minimum percentage of marks to sit for the I.P.S examination and the candidate passed out from and board are eligible for the same,lastly I want to know what are the criteria do a candidate need to follow to sit for the exam?

3rd December 2011, 11:04 PM
avinashkiitian

Default Re: Minimum percentage required to sit for IPS examination?

Originally Posted by utpalenduroy View Post
What should be the minimum percentage of marks to sit for the I.P.S examination and the candidate passed out from and board are eligible for the same,lastly I want to know what are the criteria do a candidate need to follow to sit for the exam?
Information About IPS Examination

Indian Police Service (IPS) examination is also known as the civil services examination which is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) in every year. This examination is conducted once in every year. If you want to appear in the IPS examination then you need the following eligibility criteria.

Educational Qualification = To appear in the IPS examination you need a graduation degree in any stream from a recognize University. The final year graduation student are also eligible to appear in the IPS examination. So, if you have a graduation degree in any stream then you are eligible to apply for the IPS examination.

Age Limit = The age must be between 21 to 30 years at the time of appearing of this examination. The age relaxation is also applicable for the reservation category candidates.

As per your question to appear in this examination there are no limit of percentage of marks required in graduation only pass the graduation degree are enough for appear in this examination. For any more information about the IPS examination please visit the official website of UPSC. :- http://www.upsc.gov.in
4th December 2011, 05:19 PM

If you want to become I.P.S officer then you have to pass the graduation in any stream you want from the recognized university. There is no percentage demarcation in the exam.

I.S.S exam is conducted by U.P.S.C once in a year.
Eligibility criteria:-
>pass the graduation from recognized university with minimum 50% marks.
> Age limit:-
For open category:-21-30year
For OBC category :- 21-33year
For ST/SC category:-21-37 year
> Number of attempts:-
For open category:- 4
For ST/SC category:-7
> Must be citizen of India.

good luck!
4th December 2011, 10:13 PM

DEATILS ABOUT IPS EXAM

IPS exam is conducted by UPSC. There are some criteria you have to follow for appearing in IPS exam.

Those candidate have completed graduation in any discipline from recognized university are eligible for IPS exam.

But your age should be in between 21-30years for general candidate.
In IPS exam their is provide age relaxation for OBC candidate is 3years and for SC/ST candidate is 5 years.

The maximum attempts for Sc/ST candidate is Unlimited. For OBC candidate it is 7 years and for general candidate it will be 5 years.

Also you must be citizen of India.

PROCESS BECOME A IPS OFFICER:-

1. Fill up the Application form.
2.Preliminary exam is consist of two papers.
a) General studies -----150 marks
b)From Optional subject -------300 marks
3.If you have qualify in Preliminary exam then you have to go for IPS mains exam
4.After completion of your main exam you have to go for Interview.

EXAM DATE:-

Notification Date - 04/02/2012
Last date of application - 05/03/2012
Preliminary examination - 20/05/2012.
5th December 2011, 01:14 AM
nitz90

Smile Re: Minimum percentage required to sit for IPS examination?

Eligibility Criteria For Becoming An IPS Officer

In order to become an IPS Officer..you need to first clear the Civil Services Exam which is conducted once every year by the UPSC..

For appearing in the UPSC Civil Services Exam..you need to fulfill the following minimum criterion :-

1) You should be a graduate in any stream from a recognized University..

2) You should be within the age limit of 21-30 years for the general candidates,21-33 years for OBC and 21-35 years for SC/ST

The maximum number of attempts permitted for appearing in the exam for the general candidates is 4,for OBC its 7 and for SC/ST there is no limit..

The exam takes place in two stages :-

1) Prelims :- This exam is also known as CSAT which will test your general knowledge,aptitude skills and current affairs..this has 2 objective papers..

2) Mains :- This will test your knowledge of your graduation subjects and will consist of 9 papers..

If you clear both the rounds then you shall qualify for the final interview and the final selection..

The forms for the Civil Service Exam shall release on 4th February,2012 and the last date for form submission is 5th March,2012

The Prelims shall take place on 20th May,2012..

The Mains shall take place on 5th October,2012..

For any further details..just Click Here

all the best..

With Warm Regards
"Nitz"
9th December 2011, 02:54 PM

I M DOING B.TECH ELECTROINS AND COMMUNICATION.CAN U SIT IN THE IPS EXAM
28th January 2012, 08:19 AM

can a bba student apply for upsc exam
11th February 2012, 04:57 PM

I AM THE STUDENT OF CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTS AND I WANT TO APPEAR IN THE IPS EXAMINATION .PLZ REPLY THAT HOW CAN I PREPARE FOR IT.
11th February 2012, 08:48 PM
makancsv

Smile Re: Minimum percentage required to sit for IPS examination?

can a bba student apply for upsc exam
hey

yes, you can apply for IPS exam.

IPS exam is conducted by the UPSC (Union Public Service Commission)

The examination is divided in to three successive stages.

The Preliminary Examination and
The Main Examination.
Interview

Eligibility IPS exam:

Age should be 21 years (minimum) and 30 years (maximum). SC/ST/OBC and ex-servicemen are given exemption of 3 to 5 years in maximum age limit.

you should be graduate from any recognised university.

You should be an indian citizen.

You should have minimum 60% aggregate in any recognised university.

The final year degree students are also applying for the examination

Best of luck!!!!!
11th February 2012, 09:25 PM
priyo06

Here I have mentioned the requirement eligible criteria :-

1. Minimum Educational Qualification :

Degree of any recognized university. However candidates studying in final year examination may apply for Preliminary. When he applies for Main Examination, he shall be a Graduate. But the following Engineering discipline are eligible :-

* Civil Engineering,
* Mechanical Engineering,
* Bio Technology,
* Electrical Engineering,
* Physics
* Chemistry
* Statics
* Geology etc.

So you are very much eligible for I.F.S. in U.P.S.C.

For this you have to prepare right now.Here I have also mentioned about the age limit and number of attempts of the examination.

2. Age Limit :

* Minimum Age :- 21 as on 1st August during which they will write Exam.

* Maximum Age: 30 for GEN, 33 for OBC and 35 for SC.

3. Number of attempts :

* General Candidates -> 4

* OBC -> 7

* SC/ST -> No Limit

11th April 2012, 05:12 PM

i am a general science(pass) student with below 50%
can i sit in wbcs.group 'c'
17th April 2012, 07:45 PM

i am pnkaj of class 9th . what are the subjects that i have to study to become an ips. and what is the minnimum limit of marks for it?
13th August 2012, 03:01 PM

can i ask this that how many percentage requirement in Intermediate and Graduation for Indian police service.
13th August 2012, 03:04 PM

how percentage required in Intermediate and Graduation for Indian Police Service.
13th August 2012, 04:39 PM
subhangnambardar

IPS exam is conducted by UPSC. There are some criteria you have to follow for appearing in IPS exam.

Those candidate have completed graduation in any discipline from recognized university are eligible for IPS exam.

But your age should be in between 21-30years for general candidate.
In IPS exam their is provide age relaxation for OBC candidate is 3years and for SC/ST candidate is 5 years.

The maximum attempts for Sc/ST candidate is Unlimited. For OBC candidate it is 7 years and for general candidate it will be 5 years.

Also you must be citizen of India.

PROCESS BECOME A IPS OFFICER:-

1. Fill up the Application form.
2.Preliminary exam is consist of two papers.
a) General studies -----150 marks
b)From Optional subject -------300 marks
3.If you have qualify in Preliminary exam then you have to go for IPS mains exam
4.After completion of your main exam you have to go for Interview.
16th January 2013, 11:44 PM

Can a SC degree student with 40% marks be eligible for IPS
6th May 2013, 10:08 PM

can i know what will be the syllabus if i complete graduate on english
7th May 2013, 08:01 PM
AA 12345

Hello friends ................................

IPS stands for INDIAN POLICE SERVICE

This exam is conducted by UPSC.

ELIGIBILITY FOR IPS ;

You must be an INDIAN

You must have a Graduation from a Recognized university.

You must secure atleast 50% in your Academics.

AGE LIMIT ;

Candidates age should between 21 to 30 years and age relaxation as under

For SC/ST candidates 5 years relaxation

For OBC candidates 3 years relaxation

For PHC candidates 10 years relaxation.

Attempts ::

GENERAL ---- 4 ATTEMPTS

OBC ---- 7 ATTEMPTS

SC/ST ----- NO LIMIT.

EXAM PATTERN ;;

Preliminary Exam

Mains Exam

Interview.

11th May 2013, 10:57 PM

I AM IN CLASS 10 I WANT TO DO ECO OWNERS WITH SCI. WHAT QUALIFICATIONS ARE REQUIRED FOR IPS THEN????
15th May 2013, 09:25 PM
bitulsudarshan

In order to become an IPS Officer, you should have to crack civil services examination.

This Exam is being conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) once in a year.

The complete selection procedure for this is by
-CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test)
-Civil Services Main Examination
-Interview

Here is the required eligibility criteria to appear for civil services exam.

Academic Qualification :
-You should have completed Graduation with any of the steam from a recognized university.
-Even the candidates who are pursuing final year of Graduation are also eligible to give this exam but they should be able to show the proof of passing in Graduation when they appear for Interview.

Age limit :
-A candidate of General category should be in the age group of 21-30 years to be eligible for this exam.
-Relaxation is there in upper age limit upto 3 years for the candidates of OBC category.
-For the candidates of SC/ST category, relaxation is there in upper age limit upto 5 years.
-Relaxation is there in upper age limit upto 10 years for the candidates with physical disabilities.

As you are a candidate pursuing final year of B.Com course, you are eligible to give this exam.

Have good preparation for this exam and crack it.

You need to get very high score in the written exam to be placed in IPS. Otherwise you might be placed in other civil services.

Keep this in mind and prepare accordingly.

Wish you all the best.
29th March 2014, 08:10 PM

I am kavita of class10th.What are the subject that I have to study to become an IPS.And what qualifications are required for IPS then????
26th April 2015, 02:06 PM
PATHGUIDE

To become an IPS officer you need to appear in UPSC exam.
UPSC Civil services exam is conducted in three stages:
1. Civil services Aptitude test
2. CSE mains
3. Interview

Minimum Eligibility to appear is CSE exam is:
Nationality :
Only Indian nationals are eligible to become IAS and IPS

Educational Qualifications:

A degree of any universities incorporated by an act of central or state legislature in India or other educational instituttions established by an act of Parliament or declared to be a deemed university under the UGC act , 1956 or an equivalent qualification.

As per your questions what subjects you should study are :
For CSAT, it comprises of two compulsory papers of 200 marks each and of two hrs duration.

The main written examination is onlyfor candidates who qualify CSAT prelims.
This consist of seven papers
Paper on Indian languages
English
General studies-I
Heritage and culture
History and geography of the world,
GS (Three papers each of 250 marks)
and
two optional subjects chosen by the candidate
and a personality test.

Here for you I am providing attachment that contains
Syllabus for CSAT prelims
Last 5year question papers.

For more assistance kindly contact me through this column.
26th April 2015, 04:01 PM
sohangoriya

For apply IPS exam the minimum Education qualification is Graduation degree in any stream from a recognized University.

IPS stands for Indian Police Service.

IPS exam is conducted by UPSC under Civil Services exam in every year.

Eligibility criteria:-

Candidate should be an Indian citizen.

Candidate should be completed Graduation degree in any stream from a recognized University.

Age should be between 21 years to 30 years for General category candidates.

Age relaxation for OBC category candidates 3 years

And SC/ST category candidates 5 years.

So, for sit IPS exam the minimum Education qualification is Graduation degree in any stream from a recognized University.

There is no minimum marks are required.