22nd February 2011, 11:09 AM
gurinderbir singh

Tips to choose optional subjects for IAS examination?

hello sir.i,gurinderbir singh,am doing b.tech from chandigarh engineering college,landran (mohali).my stream is INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (2nd year).i am very strongly interested in civil services,its both my hobby and passion.my academic background is good,95% in 10th (ICSE) and 82% in +2.i have good reading habits too.
my only problem is which subjects to go for?i cant go for maths or science subjects.only arts subjects like philosophy,psychology,socialogy,history,geography etc suit my interests.i also dont have much time to devote to these each day.please guide me which subjects to choose,and what are the scoring expectations in each?
how much is public administration a good choice?
and,is coaching essential for the preparation of civil services?
i shall be very thankful to you for your kind reply.
regards,
gurinderbir singh.

25th February 2011, 08:54 PM
kapila Chaudhary

Default Re: Tips to choose optional subjects for IAS examination?

• Be very particular about the subject you choose for prelims, as you will be appearing for an objective type of paper. History, maths, geography may prove to be very scoring.
  • Choose subjects which have availability of books, reading material and guidance.
  • In recent years engineering subjects like civil and electrical can be chosen, giving BEs and IITians an edge.
All the best........
16th April 2011, 02:40 PM

hello sir, i hv dn b.a 3rd.....i wanna go for IAS...bt i m little bit confused that what subject should i choose ?.........n geography ,pol science suits me ........sir plz guide me........m waiting 4 ur reply
24th April 2011, 03:13 PM

hello sir/madam! i m a science student till 12. but due to an interest in ias i wana go for arts in B.A since i heard it could be more easy from arts because i have a reading habbit. so wat subject should i choose as an honour and as additional?
26th April 2011, 09:22 PM
aditya436

Arrow Re: Tips to choose optional subjects for IAS examination?

hello sir, i hv dn b.a 3rd.....i wanna go for IAS...bt i m little bit confused that what subject should i choose ?.........n geography ,pol science suits me ........sir plz guide me........m waiting 4 ur reply
Your Interest towards Civils services is really appreciable

first know the basics of the IAS examination

IAS is an central service and also deeply regarded as d most prestigious job..

Like this service there are other 24 services for which a common entrance test is conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission)

The main basic eligibility criteria for Civils Service Examination

->Candidate must have 21 years of age

->Candidate must complete at least degree from a recognized Indian University

this is all about the basic eligibility criteria of CSE

As per your qualification if you have completed Degree then definitely you are eligible for the exam..

and coming to the examination pattern

it is the three stage examination pattern

i.e.,

STAGE 1

prelims (Now CSAT)..No optional selection is required for this stage because all the candidates will have similar syllabus

Stage 2

Mains , in this you have to select the optional subjects according to your interest

the selection of the optional subjects should be completely based upon your interest

I personally like these optionals

->Psychology

->Geography

->Economics

you may not like these because your tastes and preferences will not coincide with mine

so it will be good if you select your optionals

You can go through the examination code for Civil Service Examination in the official website of UPSC

i.e.

www.upsc.gov.in

~aditya~
1st May 2011, 05:47 PM

hello sir, I am S.Sundarrajan. Am doing B.E(Mechanical) Am I have much intrest in I.A.S. Which shall I prefer rather than Mech. Do Sociology will be easier ?
9th May 2011, 12:29 PM

Hello sir, I am Chaitanya. Am doing B.E(computer science)Final year, So please let me know which subject I shall prefer for optional.Should I prefer psychology,Geography or General studies.Please tel me which is score able and guide me in taking the subjects.I will be thankful for your reply.
with regards,
Chaitanya
11th May 2011, 10:52 AM

hello sir/madam i just finished my 10th studies I'm joining in chaitanya ias acadamy i'm confused to choose MPC/MEC.........so, can u pls sujjest me wat to take &wich would be better.THANK U
25th May 2011, 11:08 PM

Dear sir/mam,
i am in problem for choosen optional subjects for ias exam, I am bca graduate. please help for optional subjects.
19th June 2011, 11:51 AM

sir i have dn btech from civil engg,pls tell me what optional subjects i have to choose for ias
11th July 2011, 12:58 AM

hello sir,i have completed b.sc. with physics,chemistry and mathematics.now i am preparing for ias,so which subjects should i choose. And one more thing,i want to clear,if i will take mathematics and chemistry as optionals,then will these subject not be good from the view of exams?
21st July 2011, 12:22 PM

hello,sir i am mech engg student 3rd year.sir i have one month vaccation so tell me what shall i do with in this one month for preparation of ias
27th July 2011, 01:32 PM

This s Vengatesh, I finished my B.E. in Electrical bt not an outstanding in my subjects. Shall i take public Admin and sociology as my optionals for IAS Exams?
3rd August 2011, 11:25 AM

Dear sir,i have complete my 10 2 with PCM(80%).Now i want to do B.A. what sub.should i take for the preparation of I.A.S.
12th August 2011, 10:28 AM

Sir iam continuing b.com and have completed higher secondary exam with 69%.it is my ultimate goal from my childhood to become an ias officer so please suggest me how to prepare for ias exam and also suggest about its procudure
31st August 2011, 07:07 PM
vipin bihari chaturvedi

you must a clear vision on your aim
be fully confident and precice in your descision
have a choice of subject which which u feel comfortable in

mission 1

prelims (Now CSAT)..No optional selection is required for this stage because all the candidates will have similar syllabus

mission 2

Mains , in this you have to select the optional subjects according to your interest

the selection of the optional subjects should be completely based upon your interest

->Psychology

->Geography

->Economics

you may not like these because your tastes and preferences will not coincide with mine

You can go through the examination code for Civil Service Examination in the official website of UPSC

i.e.

www.upsc.gov.in
17th October 2011, 08:57 PM

I am doing B.E. in chemical engineering. I am highly intrested in civil services exams. Iwant to know which are the optional subject. And which will be best suited for me...
22nd November 2011, 03:29 PM

hai everybody, my name is Shanthi completed MBA (HR&Marketing) having great interest in CIVIL services. please suggest the optionals for me.
16th February 2012, 05:36 PM

Hi Sir , I am in B.B.A 5th sem and i wana to go for UPSC so plz suggest me which subject i can opt. for my preparation .
With Regards .
Mohit amit ranjan
Email : [email protected]
23rd February 2012, 06:24 PM

I have done my MBA in HR specialisation . Can someone guide me in choosing optional subjects . I have chosen Pub Ad as one and other one i have confusion between Geography and Sociology.

15th March 2012, 09:51 PM
kaveribiswas

first know the basics of the IAS examination

IAS is an central service and also deeply regarded as d most prestigious job..

Like this service there are other 24 services for which a common entrance test is conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission)

The main basic eligibility criteria for Civils Service Examination

->Candidate must have 21 years of age

->Candidate must complete at least degree from a recognized Indian University

this is all about the basic eligibility criteria of CSE

As per your qualification if you have completed Degree then definitely you are eligible for the exam..

and coming to the examination pattern

it is the three stage examination pattern

i.e.,

STAGE 1

Stage 2

->Psychology

->Geography

->Economics

so it will be good if you select your option

Good luck...................
16th May 2012, 04:28 PM

sir,i am doing my b-tech 2nd year from the stream biotechnology ,can u suggest me which optional are more suitable for me????
21st May 2012, 12:42 PM

i am Nagendrababu .
That i am studying degree 2nd year BSC(MATHS) but from my school day i have intrest in social ,history ,politics and law ,can i choose these subject as optional for mains,from my first degree first year i am preparing for preliams .plz give suggetion ,how to prepare for mains
17th June 2012, 01:35 AM

i am srinivas kanna.
i am studying b.e(civil engg) i am very much interested in civil services. i have chosen one of the optional subjects i.e; public administration. please suggest me the other best optional in combination for public ad.

-srinivas kanna-
23rd September 2012, 06:26 PM

sir, iam studying 12 class.iam very much intrested in IAS.Which course i select after my plustwo.
24th September 2012, 01:14 AM
santhoshkumar1988

Hi Friend

There is no optional subject in UPSC Exams that are related to Computer Science Engineering.

But as in your branch you have studied lots of math so i recommend you to take Math as optional subject. and second optional subject you can take from Physics and Chemistry or you can choose from Indian History and Geography that are arts Subjects but these are easy to understand and easy to crack.

All the best !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3rd December 2012, 10:32 PM
irshad.a

You must a clear vision on your aim
be fully confident and precice in your descision
have a choice of subject which which u feel comfortable in

mission 1

mission 2

->Psychology

->Geography

->Economics

i.e.

www.upsc.gov.in

good luck...
24th December 2012, 06:04 PM

sir my drem is to help people and do something for the people.that's why i want to prepare fot ias.can you give me some guidlines for choosing the optionals.
i will be very thankful to you
25th June 2013, 01:35 PM

helo sir/madam i have completed my degree b.com computer from osmania university .but iam confused now in mba which field should i select and which field have market value more .please help me with gud field .iam waiting for your reply.