23rd July 2016, 02:45 PM
hamza Alam

Am I not eligible to become a District Magistrate being a Commerce student?

I want to become a District Magistrate. I am studying 12th with Commerce stream. And I have heard that only Science students can become a District Magistrate in future. So, I am not eligible to become a District Magistrate?

25th July 2016, 12:22 PM
ShreeRocks
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Am I not eligible to become a District Magistrate being a Commerce student?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hamza Alam View Post
I want to become a District Magistrate. I am studying 12th with Commerce stream. And I have heard that only Science students can become a District Magistrate in future. So, I am not eligible to become a District Magistrate?

The candidates who studied Law Graduation course and must have enrolled as an advocate & membership with State Bar Council are eligible for the Magistrate post. The age of the candidate should be between 21 to 35 years. The candidate must appear and qualify in the examination conducted by the Law Service Commission. So a commerce student can also complete LLB and apply for the law service commission examination. The Law graduation is important here not the commerce or science stream.
25th July 2016, 03:53 PM
jagrity7
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Am I not eligible to become a District Magistrate being a Commerce student?

You are eligible to become a District Magistrate even being a Commerce student; there is no restriction on stream selection to appear for UPSC Civil Services exam.

One needs to clear UPSC Civil Services exam for IAS to become a District Magistrate. An IAS officer after one or two promotions become DM of a district.

Eligibility criteria :-

- The candidate should have completed graduation degree in any discipline from a recognized university .

- The candidate should have citizenship of India.