Magistrate - How to become a Magistrate?

A magistrate is an officer of the Indian judiciary. They only try civil cases. In these types of cases they have partial authority in administering law enforcement. There are 4 types of magistrates in our country. They are: A Chief Judicial Magistrate, a Judicial Magistrates First Class, Judicial Magistrates Second Class and Executive Magistrates. The position of a magistrate is one of the most coveted professions in the Indian judiciary. They are eligible to work in the courts until they are 66 years old. Magistrates have a monthly remuneration of Rs 28, 800/- in addition to other amenities.

Qualifying Exam

Candidates who wish to become Magistrates must appear in the exams carried out by the Law Service Commission. They can also write the State Judicial Law Entrance Exam that is conducted by the Public Service Commission. The notifications for these exams will be available in all leading newspapers.

Who is eligible to apply?

Students who have finished their graduation in Law are eligible to become magistrates. Their age should be more than 21 and must not exceed 35 years at the time of applying. Those candidates who have finished their LLM degree are also eligible to apply. The candidates must have secured a minimum of 55% marks in their final exam.

How to prepare for exam and interview?

It is important to prepare well for the written examination. They can either study by themselves or go for coaching classes. Another good option is to write mock test papers. This can be bought from book or stationary stores. Practicing on these question papers will help them to get an idea about the exam structure and pattern. Candidates can also confer with those who have attended these tests earlier. When they appear for the interview, the candidates must be prepared to answer in a straightforward manner. It would also be good if the candidates answer unhurriedly. This will give them some time to think. Moreover, it is important that the candidates be honest while replying.

85 Responses to “Magistrate - How to become a Magistrate?”

1. 85
    sohan:

Sir, I am in govt. Service. Now I want to do LLB course. How can this possible? Will corrospondance system eligible to become a Magistrate?

2. 84
    mariyam:

i am 4th year student. ihave no idea about pscj. i m confused badly. plz send me proper sybullus of pscj and also guide me how to start preparation of pcsj.plz give me what are other option when not qualify judiciay. it is time consuming process. so agar preparation kar rahe ho to uske saath kuch kar sakte h ya nhi jaise lawyer ko join karna , is it possble?
    plz answer me… some time private also attract me. plz answer

3. 83
    Manoranjan Naik:

I’m crossed 45 year and practitioner practices in law and under judicial Court in Orissa. Intending to appearo give higher judicial service and interest in judicial service. Is my age and experience permissible for obtain the judicial post under Indian law system?

4. 82
    DHARA JOSHI:

dear sir/ madem i m study in 2nd year l.l.b. after completing l.l.b should i give the magistrat exam? but how i can give exam.

5. 81
    subalakshmi:

i am studying law… i want to know the procedures….

6. 80
    sushilkumar mishra:

i enrolled as advocate by maharastra state and become the member of accociation of bar, i want to know it my experience from which date will be count? please give answer of this

7. 79
    shilpa gopal goutam:

my name is shilpa gopal goutm i want to know if final exam not 55% complete so, i appear in maharashtra exam stay in mumbai and unother question my practice only 6 mnth final llb in 2011 bt registered in bar council 2013 than i apply i apply for metropolitein magisterate can i apply in general category

8. 78
    Deevesh Kumar:

I am a final year law student (5 yrs course) and I would be glad to be informed about the details of exams for “Chief Judicial Magistrate”( the best coaching centers in India , Maharashtra, and Madhya Pradesh ; the books i should refer to and any other information that I ought to know)
    I would like to know the same about ‘JMFC’ exams…..
    I really appreciate your website and your efforts.
    Sincerely Thanking You
    Deevesh Kumar
    BBA.LAW Final Yr(5 yrs)
    New Law College
    Bharati Vidyapeeth Deemed University
    Pune-411038

9. 77
    subir das:

i m B.sc final yr with chemistry hons .
    what to do after complete my graduation course?
    can u pls help me in that case?

10. 76
    Sai:

Sir i got 50%in llb with out fail I have passed in aug 2013 with out practice can i apply for magistrate exams

11. 75
    Vijaya:

Sir i got only 50% in llb am i eligible for magistrate exams

12. 74
    Jyotsuna:

Sir Can I appear for the Magistrate after doing distance course of LLB or Correspondence LLB?

13. 73
    amrit:

sir i hv done my btech in cse but i want to give the judicial exam.so what should i do ?

14. 72
    deepa:

I want know about judge and magistrate exam, when they will announce….??
    where should we apply for this exam?
    what percentage of mark is fixed for general category

15. 71
    jayaram:

I got only 50 percentage of marks, Am i eligible to appear for magistrate exam

16. 70
    Manjunath:

I am a LL.B. graduate and working in a University as Superintendent. Now I would like to appear for the Magistrate examination. Please provide me what are the procedure that I have to follow.

17. 69
    SARANYA:

I want know about judge and magistrate exam when they will announce can you help me because I couldn’t attend past exam

18. 68
    Teena sundarbanshi:

is any crieteria for this exam of magistret, that he must be all clear in his graduation time(no atkt)

19. 67
    akshathaappaiah:

where shuld we apply for this exam?
    where will we get mock papers?

20. 66
    SHIPRA:

Can students of chartered accountancy and company secretary elligoble for judiicial magistrate exam without doing llb?

21. 65
    SOPHIA:

respected sir/madam
    i have completed b.a english .now i m doing bl.and also im doing m.a criminology and m.sc physchology in correspondence. i have question what type of carrier i can choose .whats the hope of this degree.can i have a better job.pls reply,

22. 64
    G.HEMALATHAA:

Respected Sir\Madam ,
    I am studied intermediate (+2) in vijayawada after that i completed B.B.A.,M.B.A., in Annamalai university by correspondence and completed B.L.,by regular college in salem then now i am doing M.L., in chennai law college regularly. I am interested to become magistrate but in my studies i am not studied any tamil language as subject. I heard state government conducting the test to pass tamil language. my question is that whether i am eligible to write written test for magistrate exam with out having the tamil certificate because i am waiting for result of tamil test. In case in between magistrate exam notification came, whether iam eligible to write the magistrate exam.
    I asked somebody they said after passing the magistrate exam and getting the post also you are able to pass tamil test with in 3years of getting the post. Is it ah sir. please reply sir

23. 63
    Sai teja:

Hai sir i have passed llb in Aug 2013 with 53% without fail.Can i appear jmfc exam?I want details about jmfc exam.

24. 62
    sajeda sheikh:

can appear jmfc exam ? if during llb academic year any one subject back but after the completiom llb exam have clear all subjects.

25. 61
    Shashank Pande:

How many percent require in LLB (3 yr D.C.) for JMFC without 3 year practice.

26. 60
    naeem:

Hi sir i have passed llb in june 2013 with 59%. I also have enrolled my
    name under bar council of maharashtra and goa. Please tell me can i appear for jmfc exam

27. 59
    diksha:

i want to became a district magistrate ,,i had completed my graduation with b.a. i m 23 years old. please tell me that how can i became dist. magistrate .. how can i do my preparation.?
    please tell me.

28. 58
    arun:

i am 38 yrs old and just finished my LLB degree, can i apply for any judicial jobs in government

entrolment year 2012

29. 57
    Awadh Bhoyar:

sir/ma’am
    i want to appear for jmfc exam, my doubt is i have cleared my AIBE this year i.e Jan 2013 and i cleared my llb exam in 2011 as per my information to appear for jmfc exam we need practice of 3 years so which exam will be consider either llb or AIBE?

how to prepare for jmfc??
    how i will give my best in this exam?

30. 56
    sm sailo:

can a ba degree holder can study megistrate

31. 55
    parul srivastava:

i m student of b.sc.(P.C.M.) 1st yr.I want to become district magistrate.please suggest me that in education what should i have to do now.
    thanks…

32. 54
    misbah Latif:

if i want to become in this field what should i have to do now. i have done M.Sc in botany and doing m.phil in same subject.

33. 53
    venilla:

if v dint got 55% in final year of llb then how many yrs of practice is required as an advocate in court for appearing in jmfc exam

34. 52
    Mahesh Kumar:

what % required in law graduation to eligible in judicial magistrate exam for SC ST candidate

35. 51
    Maha Lakshmi:

i am maha,studying 3rd year BA,BL in Dr.ambedkar govt law collage.
    even the person who finished the BA,BL also write the entrance exam ah?
    in the entrance exam how much is the pass mark?
    and i need a question paper pattern for entrance exam.

36. 50
    neha joshi:

I am 42 yrs old and just finished my LLM degree, can i apply for any judicial jobs in government

37. 49
    mrudula:

sir tell me detali eligibility for jmfc exam & where it is to be conducted

38. 48
    Ganesh:

i am 40 yrs old and just finished my LLB degree, can i apply for any judicial jobs in government

39. 47
    hansraj:

dear sir , i m only B.COM . and my age 28 year, now i m to much interested become a RJS. and my LLB will be completed in jun 2015. after it my age will be 31 year . now plz tell me after my LLB, i can become a R.J.S ?

Hansraj Dadhich

40. 46
    shaikh khalid:

i am municipal servent and doing llb second year from gujarat university how can i become a Magistrate

41. 45
    sharmili ray:

i under going of m.a.(political science).so,i sitting in magistrate exam?please reaply me.,………………………….

42. 44
    nilesh mane:

I want to know, when JMFC exam 2012 held?
    please send the informatiom about date JMFC submission form on my email account

43. 43
    Pandit Radhakrushna:

please send the informatiom about date JMFC submission form on my email account

44. 42
    Archana:

45. 41
    harsha:

how to apply for jmfc exam, i mean what is the medium?

46. 40
    roshni:

job opportunities in government sector after B.COM LLB.

47. 39
    E.Tamizharasan:

alldetails about magistrate examination for sc candidates india-tamilnadu including application ,fees,Modal question paper,date
    and all related examinatio

48. 38
    kavita gawhale:

when is the jmfc exam of 2012 ? Where can i get the form of jmfc exam and syllsbus?

49. 37
    jeya:

sc canditates gt hw much mark to appear magistrate exam

50. 36
    chandngupta:

if ant law graduation who are not secured more than 55% mains he is not is eligible to apply Magistrate Exam.

51. 35
    adv sonali kulkarni:

impotent key for j.m.f.c. exam

52. 34
    saranyachandrasekar:

sir i finished my BABL can i know to become magistrate

53. 33
    t.jeyalalitha:

what percentage of mark is fixed to sc canditates to appear magistrate exam?

54. 32
    Rengaraj.R:

Sir I finished my BABL with 50.6 percentage but not yet attend bar council eligibility test whether I am eligible to attend JM exam?

55. 31
    shabnam jabin vajidai saiyed:

i want information about jmfc exm gujrat,
    i want exm papes of last five years of enters andmain exm and also study matriya.
    plese sandme kibdly sir…

56. 30
    raffik:

I have completed my LLB with 54.40% only. whether iam eligible to appear for JMFC exam ? and if yes, what is the procedure ?

57. 29
    adv. srinivas ambekar:

sir i registered my name on state bar council roll before three years but i did not register in any district bar associantion till today. but i am practicising in district court and filed many cases. can it be said that i have three years experience for the purpose of appearing jmfc exams….?

58. 28
    AMRITA:

I GOT 51% OFMARKS IN LLB ,CAN I APPLY FOR JMFC EXAMS?

59. 27
    sandhya:

i am L.L.B. holder. my subject was intellecutal property law. i want to study more myself and i have to give competative exams . what should i have to study . i am 32 years.

60. 26
    Bhushan Gangarde:

I am planning to apply for JMFC exam in Maharashtra. But I have a small fracture in my right hand. So should I get qualify in Medical test of JMFC? Or Will they disqualify me for this reason?

61. 25
    PRANALI CHAVAN:

I AM APPEAR FOR LLB LAST YEAR CAN I GIVE JMFC EXM.

62. 24
    machchhindra:

when any candidate failed in any semister in ll b exam he are elagible or not for become a magistrate?

63. 23
    isha:

i am in 12th class non-medical student and i want to go for judiciary examination. Can i be eligible even after bsc/btech. or is it necessary to do llb for this exam ?

64. 22
    Rekha k. Acharya:

Any fimale having 42 years can apply for it

65. 21
    khanche tayyaba:

how to become JMFC after compeleting LL.B with 50% in the age of 38

66. 20
    priyanka dhopra:

I am law graduate and want to be magistrate.I want to know how much marks are required for that ?

67. 19
    SAIMA PATEL:

IS THREE YRS PRACTICE IS REQUIRED FOR JMFC EXAM AFTER PASSING L.L.B

68. 18
    Hemant:

Can I please be provided with the information about what exams to appear and who conducts them, for the four kinds of magistrate as provided above.

69. 17
    manoj kumar:

hi sr how can to appear in magistrate xam i m under llb tell me sr best coching in chindighar ,delhi i intersted in magistrate how do prepare in magistrate

70. 16
    shivali:

i completed LLB with 63% in 2004 but did not practice after that (means no legal experience), i m 31 yrs old . pls do let me know whether i m eligible to give ‘magistrate’s exams’. and pls also tell me when the exams are going to be held this yr and for the next yr. thanks

71. 15
    chetan g ghorpade:

whether the convocation is necessary to attempt the jmfc examination,

72. 14
    Deepali:

i have only 50%, LLB complete 2006. can i appear for judicial magistrate examination.

73. 13
    jsu:

i have only 50% of marks in BL exams, can i appear for judicial magistrate examination

74. 12
    eshaal:

can a b.a degree holder appear in the magistrate examzZ??

75. 11
    pankaja:

can u tell me , if candidate is not complited his three years practice after qualifing LLB exam with above 55%, is he eligible for jmfc post ?

76. 10
    tp:

I am 36 yrs old and would like to get into public service. I belong to OBC community.

Can you pls list the opportunities available for me.

77. 9
    shweta gupta:

to appear for J.M.F.C. exam do i need to have cleared my LL.B. in 1 attempt?

78. 8
    Bijoy krishna saha:

If the candidate have not secured 55 parsentege in the LLB final year.Can they are apply for Magistrate Exam and LLM Exam?

79. 7
    Ragini songde:

dear all,
    can u tell me the detail procedure how to apper for JMFC2011? where i get the forms or is their any online form? an u tell me the web-site name where i get the all information?

80. 6
    yashasvi pandya:

Can you tell me what is the age limitation for magistrate course or exams after LLM.? is it last age 35 or above.?

81. 5
    simran:

how to become jmfc in maharashtra ?
    can u provide me model question papers of jmfc exams ?
    what are the eligibilities for the appearance in the exam?

82. 4
    priti:

Hello
    i have completed law can i know How to become a magistrate?”

Yours
    Priti Acharya

83. 3
    Salam Bin Sayeed:

Can you tell me what is the age limitation for magistrate course or exams after LLM.? is it last age 35 or above.?

84. 2
    Neha Garg:

Hello i have cleared my B.Com, C.S.{company secretary course by I.C.S.I. ] can i abe eligible for required qualification of a judge

85. 1
    nidhi:

which course of law is best 5 years and three year