UPSC NDA 2012

The candidates who are interested to join National Defense Academy may apply for the entrance exam conducted by union public service commission. Academy consists of three wings of joint training: army, navy and air force. Getting into NDA is considered highly prestigious. Admissions are conducted twice a year. At first a written test will be there which will be followed by interview rounds and also group tasks and medical. At present there are about 350 vacancies and every year number of candidates applying is increasing. This makes it more difficult for the candidates to clear the exam

Structure for the NDA Examination

The exam is divided into two parts-mathematics (300 marks) and general ability (600marks) for two and a half hour. The candidates with good mathematical skill and with right confidence   can easily qualify or the test.

Paper –I (mathematics)

Paper –II (general ability)

Part ‘A’ (English) – To test candidate’s knowledge in English

Part ‘B’ (general knowledge)- It is divided  into part A- F and consist of physics, chemistry, history, general science, geography and current events.

Intelligence and Personality test

The candidate has to go through verbal as well as non-verbal intelligence tests. They have to go through other exercises like GD and other outdoor group tasks. Sometimes candidates are also instructed to prepare and deliver lectures on specific subjects.

Syllabus for NDA Examination

Mathematics

• Algebra
  • Analytical Geometry of two and three dimensions
  • Differential Calculus
  • Integral Calculus and Differential equations
  • Matrices and Determinants
  • Probability
  • Statistics and
  • Trigonometry
  • Vector

English

• Antonyms
  • Comprehension
  • Error in Sentences
  • Idioms and Phrases
  • Jumbled Words
  • Misspelled words
  • One word Substitution
  • Synonyms
  • Vocabulary Test

General Knowledge

• A broad survey of Indian History
  • Achievements of Eminent Scientists
  • Current important events
  • Elementary knowledge of Five Year Plans of India
  • Elementary study of Indian Constitution and Administration
  • Freedom Movement in India
  • Panchayati Raj, Co-operatives and Community Development
  • Prominent personalities

Chemistry

• Acids and Alkalies
  • Concepts in Chemistry
  • Organic and Inorganic Chemistry

Geography

• Ocean Currents and Tides
  • Atmosphere and its composition
  • Important Sea ports and main sea
  • Origin of Earth

Physics

• Electricity and Electronics
  • Motion & Laws
  • Optics

Biology

• Basis of Life-Cells, Protoplasm’s and Tissues
  • Difference between the living and non-living
  • Elementary knowledge of human body and its important organs
  • Food-Source of energy for man
  • Growth and Reproduction in Plants and Animals

• Candidates who have cleared 10+2 and those who are currently doing can apply
  • Those who had taken Physics & Mathematics in Class 12th can apply for navy and air force.
  • Candidates appearing for the exam must be bachelors .They must be between16 1/2 to 19 years on January 1st or July 1st of the year subsequent to the year of the exam
  • Non-permanent citizens of India are not allowed to apply
  • Nationalities of Nepal, Bhutan and Tibetan refugee can apply only if they have migrated to India with a purpose to become permanent citizens of  India prior to January 1st
  • In case candidates origin is from India but actually migrated from either neighboring countries of India or East Africa nations like Uganda and Kenya can apply provided they are planning to permanently settle in India.
  • Gorkha category of Nepal need not submit any proof

Physical standards are mentioned below

Any candidate whose height is not within157.5cms to 162.5cms cannot apply for Air Force wing. Candidates whose chest is less than 81cms cannot apply. Candidates should have proper eye-sight. They should not be overweight or under weight

How to Apply

Applications can be submitted both online and offline method.

There is a common form for all UPSC exams. In the prescribed form, a candidate has to indicate the exam he/she has applied for. Forms are available in selected post offices across the country. As soon as the application forms are received and processed, the candidates will be sent an admit card. Candidates who belong to reserved quota can post their applications along with concession proof.

Rules for Reservation

No relaxation is available to students of any category in the National Defense Academy.

How to fill the Form

On-line applications are available at http://www.upsconline.nic.in/. The Process of filling the form is given below. Candidates should follow the instructions given in the site to fill the two stages Part I and Part-II.

On-line

Applications can be done by paying Rs. 25/- (Rupees Twenty Five only) [except   SC & ST]

• By submitting in any branch of SBI by cash
  • By net banking facility of SBI
  • By Visa/Master Credit/ Debit Card

Before filling the form, candidate’s recent photograph and signature scanned in the .png format is required. The required file size is 40KB.The notification date can be filled in the second part of the form

Off-line

Candidates applying offline need to care certain things. The candidates should fill the form themselves. The forms are processed on computerized machines; candidates should handle the forms very carefully .HB pencils should be used for darkening the circles. Entry in the boxes can be made through black or blue pen. Candidates please note that both of these fields must be filled very carefully so that there is no difference between the two entries

Important Dates

[Please note that we only provide tentative dates based on previous years dates. For exact dates related information it is always best to check official websites only.]

Important Dates for NDA I Exam

• Release of Notification: October, 2011/2012
  • Last date of submission of application form: November, 2011/2012
  • Date of Examination: April, 2012/2013

Important dates for NDA II EXAM:

• Release of Notification: April,2012
  • Last date of submission of application form: May, 2012
  • Date of Examination: August, 2012

List of NDA exam centers

• Agartala
  • Ahemdabad
  • Aizwal
  • Allahabad
  • Bangalore
  • Barely
  • Bhopal
  • Chandigarh
  • Chennai
  • Cuttack
  • Dehradun
  • Delhi
  • Dharwa
  • Dispur
  • Gangtok
  • Hyderabad
  • Imphal
  • Itanagar
  • Jaipur
  • Jammu
  • Jorhat
  • Koch
  • Kohima
  • Kolkata
  • Lucknow
  • Madurai
  • Mumbai
  • Nagpur
  • Panaji (Goa)
  • Patna
  • Port Blair
  • Raipur
  • Ranchi
  • Sambalpur
  • Shillong
  • Shimla
  • Sringar
  • Thiruvananthapuram
  • Tirupati
  • Udaipur
  • Vishakhapatnam

Contact Address for NDA Examination

• Secretary, Union Public Service Commission, Dholpur House, Shahjahan Road, New Delhi-110069
  • PH: 011-23389366, 23385271

Reference Books for NDA Examination

• Some of the well known reference books available are:
  • Arihant NDA Entrance Exam Practice Sets by RPH
  • NDA Exam Guide by   Datason RP
  • NDA Examiantion Solved Papers up to date
  • NDA manual by Sahitya Bhawan Publications
  • Practice Work Book by Dr. H. P. Sharma
  • Work book NDA Examination by Dr. M. B. Lal

Coaching Centers for NDA Examination

• A.C. Vidyasagar Classes
  • Akshardham the Competitive Exams Academy
  • Baalnoi Academy
  • Bolster Academea
  • C.M.I.
  • Cavalier India
  • Cavalier pvt  Ltd.
  • Impact Coaching & Educational Services Pvt. Ltd.
  • New Careers Academy
  • O.P.Singh’s IAS Academy
  • Olive Greens
  • Tara Institute
  • Test Bag Academy
  • Disha Academy

Study Plan

Candidates should work mainly on their basics till 12th standard and for reference guides and previous years question paper will be useful. Give priority to biology, as it covers up a huge portion of the general ability test. Important topics:

In biology

• Diseases and causes
  • Animal kingdom
  • Plant anatomy and morphology.

In chemistry

• Equivalent weights
  • Chemical analysis
  • Inorganic compounds
  • Periodic tables
  • Concepts of physical chemistry
  • Equilibrium

In Physics

• Quantum mechanics
  • Mechanics
  • Thermo dynamics
  • Electromagnetism

The science questions are mostly from CBSE syllabus of class XI. Quick reference of The Competition Success will improve your general knowledge. Read magazines, newspapers and underline the difficult words and look them in the dictionary. Please prepare for test and interview by adding more and more English words to your vocabulory. Hindi can be used in the Services Selection Board. Questions are not repeated in the test.

How and Where To Get the Results

Results will be available on the official website of UPSC. So the candidates are required to visit the website in a regular basis. There are many other sites providing this information like http://www.nda.nic.in.

Expected sectional cutoffs

It is difficult to predict cut-off marks as it keep changes every year. If you score 40% in all subjects you have a good chance.

NDA 2010 Cutoff

• Geography - Minimum number of questions need to be correct for optional subject= 84-95
  • Indian History –for optional subject =95-98 questions
  • Mathematics – for optional subject=68 questions
  • Political Science – for optional subject =90+ questions
  • Public Administration– for optional subject =84-98 questions
  • Sociology - for optional subject = 94-100 questions

Score Validity

The score is valid for the present year’s admission process only. It is not valid next year.

6,628 Responses to “UPSC NDA 2012”

Pages: « 4542 41 40 39 38 [37] 36 35 34 33 321 » Show All

1. 5428
    Deepak kumar:

How many chances offered to appear at the examination.

2. 5427
    sachin:

Sir, I want to apply for NDA examination. Please tell me about the date of filling the forms. and study materials.

3. 5426
    madhav:

English,General Knowledge,Chemistry,Geography,Physics, Biology.

4. 5425
    vishal kumar:

sir, my name is vishal kumar i’m now 21yr of age should take part in exam plz tell me the detail

5. 5424
    DORIS:

I am a nigerian student, a secondary school graduate with an O-Level result, i finished my secondary school in the year 2009 and i want to be part of this test that will take place in india but i am nt financially equiped so am i opportuned to go for the test?

6. 5423
    abhay shekhar:

Sir, can i join airforce without giving nda exam
    after my 12th

7. 5422
    Gulson Nayak:

Can there should be any prophit for ex-army son to join in NDA

8. 5421
    avinash:

i want to find examination forms in hyd

9. 5420
    Krityanshu:

are exams for students from commerce stream same as for science stream ?

10. 5419
    Ganesh:

When the NDA form are available for us

11. 5418
    how to apply nda exam after 12th plz help me what i can do .:

sir, know i am studing 12th maths i am intrested nda plz give me all information about nda

12. 5417
    Ganesh:

In which session the NDA forms are available for us please give me detail for this

13. 5416
    Mohit yadav,agra:

Sir, nda k form kabal aayaige plz tell me any other information… Add-shastripuram

14. 5415
    nikhil:

I am a 18 1/2 years old,my height is 5′ 8” and I passed my 10+2. Can I fill up the NDA form.

15. 5414
    Ratnesh Rai:

Sir my date o/b is 4/10/1993,can Iapply for NDA?

16. 5413
    Naresh panchal:

kya me Abi apply kar skta hu?

17. 5412
    pankaj jangle:

my birth date is 30/6/1993. i am in final year of diploma engineering (industrial electronics). am i eligible for n.d.a exam.
    is there any alternative to join indian armed forces.

18. 5411
    Bikash Roy:

were is the form for nda 2012 for 10th passed

19. 5410
    Junaid:

Can students without mathematics apply for this exam?

20. 5409
    Kamal Paliya:

can a science (bio) student join NDA

21. 5408
    Kapil sharma:

How many marks are required to pass the examination(cut off marks)

22. 5407
    BIRENDRA SINGH:

WHEN WILL COME NDA APPLICATION FORM I AM WAITING.

23. 5406
    saurav:

where are the online forms available they are not avail at upsc please send me plz…..

24. 5405
    Hingane Vitthal Sampat:

Sir meri birth date 01/ 06/1993 hai mai 12th science pass hu kay me march 2012 ka nda ka form bhar sakta hu.

25. 5404
    rahul thakur:

my d.o.b. is 25/06/1992 and iam in 12th std and want to join army as a officer their is any possibility. please guide me

26. 5403
    satyam vatsa:

what is pass persentage

27. 5402
    raj:

wat is the age required to apply the exam

28. 5401
    amitesh mishra:

sir kya 21 agust 2011 ka result agaya hai

29. 5400
    apurva nigam:

is there any suitable field for girls in nda after 12th????…..

30. 5399
    apurva nigam:

cm girls join NDA after 12th?

31. 5398
    Rahul saini:

I want to know that after 10+2 what is the way by which i can join nda with my study of b.sc?

32. 5397
    ram singh:

my age is 15 year. I apparing 11th by science biology. Can i fill up the form of NDA(1)

33. 5396
    govind joshi:

sir, for NDA having 81cms chest but i having only 43cms chest. what do I?

34. 5395
    sarvesh singh:

my son Ashish singh roll no. 077351 has been selected in NDA2written enterance exam, which was held in aug 11 . We want to know the date of interview

35. 5394
    shah alam:

nda ka form kab ayega

36. 5393
    ratnesh:

sir wht is the date for entrance exam

37. 5392
    Ku. Shweta A. Mehar:

the last date of application form for exam yer.2011-2012

38. 5391
    nilesh kamthe:

what is the last date of fill the Application form of NDA 2012 EXAM?

39. 5390
    Sir,whats tha last date of summit dis form? Today? [email protected]:

Sir,aaj last date hai kya onli9 form bharne ki,but sir jamshedpur main to offli9 abhi tak aayi hi nahi.
    Sir plz tell me

40. 5389
    pawan:

please tell me that what is the last date of nda application form since 2011?

41. 5388
    mahender:

i’m studying Engineering 3rd year with the branch Electrical & Communications, but i’m interested about navy, can i apply to that?

42. 5387
    tushar:

when is your UPSC NDA 2012 exam ? give all information about UPSC NDA 2012 exam. give your form link. how many fees for this exam.?

43. 5386
    gaurav:

sir online karne ke bad nikali hui copy send ki jayegi or no. bank bali bat samajh mai nahi a rahi

44. 5385
    manmeet kumar:

sir, i dnt knw my nda roll no. which held on 21 agust 2011

45. 5384
    AS Sheikh:

What is the last date for offline application for NDA entrance examination

46. 5383
    sanjana:

Are girls also eligible for nda exam

47. 5382
    vamshi:

sir pls send last date and where we get nda forms website for online form we are not getting in postoffice so pls give information

48. 5381
    bhushan uagle:

in indian navy available job for 12th commerce

49. 5380
    Humayun Par:

Respected sir my birth date is 26/9/1992. Am i eligible for nda exam at august 2012

50. 5379
    Sushil negi:

Sir how many marks give up to joine NDA ?

51. 5378
    sukriti:

can a girl can join NDA??? if, yes then what is the minimum ability to get physically fit specially regarding eye sight & height. can a candidate with -2 eye defect can apply for it or not ?

52. 5377
    akash:

what is the last date to for nda aplication forms

53. 5376
    Narpat Singh Godara:

What is the last date of submission of application form for NDA.

54. 5375
    kasa jay darshan:

To the concerned officer, Iam not able to get online application form.how can i proceed to NDA examination ….and what is the meaning of NDA 1 and NDA 2…..

reply me soon..
    jay darshan

55. 5374
    kasa jay darshan:

To the concerned officer, Iam not able to get online application form.how can i proceed to NDA examination ….

56. 5373
    joginder:

please intimate the last date for submission of application NDA I & II exam

57. 5372
    Digpal Chauhan:

I have just pass 10th. Can i join NDA?

58. 5371
    kiran bhosale:

now my age is 17 so can i fill form for nda exam 2012

59. 5370
    Jagadeep:

Respected sir,,

i had eye sight little bad, can i know what is line of eligibility acc. To eyesight??

60. 5369
    dheeru:

I have spectacles, can i apply for NDA?

61. 5368
    dheeru:

i have height 5′ 6”,Can i apply for NDA?

62. 5367
    afid:

i would like to know the good affiliated colleges in India
    could u help me,

63. 5366
    Rajiv Gupta:

Respected Sir/Madam,
    I have a query. Can GIRLS join NDA & if yes, what is the Physical or Medical criteria (specially eyesight & height)???

Awaiting for your reply,

Thanks &
    Rajiv
    094665-40068

64. 5365
    neeraj ratnu:

i not got my admit card from last two times..

65. 5364
    sathish:

i want to know the last date of 2011-2012NDA APPLICATION
    FOR

66. 5363
    nitesh kasotia:

what is the age criteria

67. 5362
    paljinder:

sir i want to know about the intrview process of NDA

68. 5361
    Rohith:

Sir please say me what is the last day for applying nda application

69. 5360
    sonu maurya:

how many bank draph in applying in nda registretion form

70. 5359
    sweta:

sir i want to know last date of N.D.A. form submit

71. 5358
    Swarnim Srivastava:

Sir, please tell me when the forms of nda will arrive for april 2012-13 examination. please reply me soon.

72. 5357
    vishal:

sir whn is d last date of exam can i know it plz sir

73. 5356
    sachin pratap:

My date of birth is 05051993 will i able to fiil the form of nda 1 2012

74. 5355
    NISHIKANT MAITY:

Sir, my date of birth is of 02 of sept,1992 . so I want to know weather I am eligible for the admission test for NDA 2012 . please reply soon

75. 5354
    dipak:

sir,please let me know the dates for NDA forms for 2012 whose examination will be conducted in the month of april.

76. 5353
    DHABAL:

right now i am studying in class 12 .my DOB is 27/04/1994 . how many chance are left for me to appear the NDA exam ? thanking you !
    dhabal

77. 5352
    when will nda forms can be get offline:

i want to be aofficer in indian army

78. 5351
    kiran:

what is the last date for filling or submiting the forms

79. 5350
    ajay ojha:

what is the last date of submit application form of nda 2012

80. 5349
    KAMBLE ROHIT MEGHARAJ:

WHEN OPEN THE APPLICATION FORM?

81. 5348
    umesh yanglem:

sir i loss my nda2 admit card where to i can get ir again nur my registration no is 40883048

82. 5347
    John Ronald Lobo:

i have pass out my 12 and now i want to go in NDA but i don’t know anything of NDA so plz could you help me.

83. 5346
    digambar patil:

respected sir’
    please tell me my nda entrance exam result 18 april 2010
    my form no is 36931963 please sir tell me

84. 5345
    Deepak saroha:

I will be 19 on 25 aug 2012. Am i eligible for writing any NDA exam.

85. 5344
    Amansingh:

My date of birth is 07/12/1993 . Can i fillup the form of nda2012

86. 5343
    himanshu rana:

i want to known about NDA.
    quification required?

87. 5342
    Vikram:

my date of birth is 15/7/1993 can i apply NDA

88. 5341
    Nilesh Garg:

I took admission in engineering college this year…bt i am elligible to fill the form..can i give nda exam?

89. 5340
    Vaibhav:

rispected sir my d.o.b is 09-10-1990 and i am BCA graduate can i able to the NA exam.
    plz suggest me my mobile no. is 08109912185.

90. 5339
    ankit kumar:

FORM SUBMISSION

91. 5338
    ankit kumar:

FORM

92. 5337
    Jatin:

Sir please tellme the date when i fill forms for 2012

93. 5336
    kakoli das:

what is the last date of NDA form ,and where it is available in meghalaya

94. 5335
    sagar:

Tell me about NDA online exam. date

95. 5334
    Sandeep oraon:

Where can i get offline application form for NDA?

96. 5333
    vias Gulati:

I want to appear for NDA Enterance Exam in April 2012. I want to apply on line. Please help. Regards

97. 5332
    SURAJ KUMAR:

our D.O.B.-20/01/1993.can i appear in the NDA-1.

98. 5331
    sukhdev singh:

sir,i passed twelth in 2012 you tell me sir that when i am fill the form and in which month …..pls tell me sir

99. 5330
    deepak sharma:

sir how to enter in NDA exam

100. 5329
    abhishek:

sir i want nda online app form

101. 5328
    reena:

what is the last date of nda exam to fill the application form?

102. 5327
    Mahipal singh khangarot:

Last date tn submit form

103. 5326
    sunil kurade:

What is the latest/last date of filling of NDA Exam Forms in Nov 2011

104. 5325
    Krishna Kumar:

i want to know when will come nda-2 result and also asking to you about nda-1 application form submition last date .
    Thank you !

105. 5324
    sivakalyanakumar.G:

sir Am studying BE(mechanical) 2 year how to apply nda 2

106. 5323
    Gagan B Gurung:

When will the next NDA entrance exam and what is the last date form submitting the application form.

107. 5322
    prateek:

i scored 50% in 10 and 68% in 12th am i eligible for exams

108. 5321
    Mansub khan:

respected sir my birth date is 14_4_1993. Am i eligible for NDA _1?

109. 5320
    siddhant:

when the NDA form is coming please tell me as soon as possible

110. 5319
    siddhant:

if any student has week eye sight

111. 5318
    Ankit Bhati:

date of filling the nda1 exams???? and also the last date??????

112. 5317
    Abhishek:

Is it compulsory to pass in every subject in nda

113. 5316
    vinayak kapoor:

sir, would you plz tell about the qualifications needed for IAF…

114. 5315
    chandan:

sir,my d.o.b is 16.04.1994. How many chance i have remain to fill the form of n.d.a?

115. 5314
    Mohd Anas Siddique:

sir , i want to know that how much height is necessary for indian navy. I m in class 11th nd i m of 15 years nd my now my height in 151cm.

116. 5313
    Subham:

i have myopia but not much power only -2

and i want to give nda test when will be the form available and can i fill it??

i m in 12th standard

117. 5312
    saurabh yadav:

when will nda 2 exam results announed?

118. 5311
    MANOJ:

how to apply nda?

119. 5310
    HEMRAJ JANGID:

120. 5309
    yashpal:

repected sir,
    i am doing b.com (hons) 2nd year. i am passed 12th with commerce. may i fill this from.. please sir sugg. me.

121. 5308
    DINESH KUMAR:

Sir, i know about the full confirm of NDA . I want prepreation of NDA and want know the question of type.

122. 5307
    Bhoop Singh:

123. 5306
    deeksha tewari:

can girls appear for nda entrance exam after 10+2??

124. 5305
    vishal:

what is the last date of filling NDA forms ?
    and from where I get this form ?
    I’am 19 yrs old am i Eligible for for filling NDA forms

125. 5304
    shadab mansoori:

when out the application form

126. 5303
    Loyd:

i want to know that where i get the application form online for NAVAL ACADEMY(navy)..?

127. 5302
    harshit:

last date of sumission the nda application form and where i get form

128. 5301
    Nilesh:

i am applying the nda.what happen

129. 5300
    rishabh dwivedi:

rispected sir my d.o.b is 09-08-1995 and i am studying at class 11th can i able to the nda exam.

130. 5299
    Manish sharma:

Sir ,
    i m student of 12 class so tell me can i fill this form

131. 5298
    gurmeet singh:

Iam appearing 12th can you tell me last date of submission N.D.A application form for 2011-2012 batch and where i can get online application form for applying .

132. 5297
    abhishek kumar:

my date of birth is 8th may 1993 am i eligible to fill the form for NDA 1 2012

133. 5296
    ankush singh:

sir what is the last nda online form and how to know the result of 21 august nda exam.

134. 5295
    ayush kumar:

what is the date of nda examination in 2012?

135. 5294
    Vansh veerbhan:

When forms are available in 2011?

136. 5293
    Akash Ranjan:

Sir I have gone through the total procedure of nda and I found that the months of releasing the application forms are between november and october but yet it has not been announced. So sir I want to know that when the NDA Application form are going to be issued?
    One thing more I would like to ask that whether you are issuing the form offline or not this time?

137. 5292
    S.Jayashnkar Aradhya:

Let me know the girl cadidates are eligible for NDA Exam.

138. 5291
    hareesh:

please request in nda online application form detail’s send me my email sir tainku sr

139. 5290
    Dharmasen Singh:

What is the date of filling of NDA Exam Forms

140. 5289
    NARESH KUMAR:

how to prepra of nda ssb and when will come nda second result 2011 and when will come nda first 2012 apply form

141. 5288
    varun:

sir, iam i eligible for the nda examination 2012. my date of birth is 23.08.1993….

142. 5287
    moinuddin basha:

sir i have scored 50% in inter first year am i eligible

143. 5286
    sunny trivedi:

what is the age to qualified in nda exam

144. 5285
    kartik:

sir,pls tell me the last date to fill nda-1 exam forms and how can i get these foms offline.

145. 5284
    babasaheb:

what is date NDA exam form

146. 5283
    Kartik:

What is last date to apply for NDA 2012 exam?

147. 5282
    Abhi:

sir tell me last date of fill up the form

148. 5281
    shubham:

somebody tell last date of submisission of application form

149. 5280
    NAFEES ALAM:

what is the last day of filling up of the nda forms and are they available online???

150. 5279
    mustafa:

sir,votz..the..last..date.for..NDA1..exams?and..where..can..i..get..the.form?

Pages: « 4542 41 40 39 38 [37] 36 35 34 33 321 » Show All