Post Graduate Courses in Economics

Post graduation in economics will equip students with sound knowledge in economic principles and deeper insights into each of specific areas with in economics. Post graduates in economics can attain jobs as economists, financial analysts, and college lecturers. Most of the arts and commerce colleges offer post graduation in economics and usually the course is known as Master of Arts (Economics). Graduates in economics and commerce are allowed to appear for admission to post graduation in economics programs conducted by colleges. In some of the universities students from other graduation streams are also allowed to apply. Many well known colleges like Presidency College in Kolkata offer post graduation course in economics. Post graduation courses are now available in some of the most emerging areas in economics like microeconomics, agrarian economics, trade, budgeting and econometrics.

List of Post Graduation courses

• Agriculture Economics
  • Regional Economics
  • Development Economics
  • Economics of Human Resources
  • Industrial Economics
  • Micro Economics
  • Entrepreneurial Development Industrial Policy Small Scale Industries
  • Labour Economics and Development Economics
  • Econometrics
  • Mathematical Economics
  • Local Finance
  • Development Economics
  • Trade Economics
  • International Economics
  • Monopoly and Concentration in Industries
  • Small Scale Industries
  • Industrial Policy
  • Quantitative Methods
  • Agrarian Structure
  • Poverty and Employment Infrastructure
  • Money and Finance
  • Labour Economics
  • Development Economics and Public Finance

Some of the job opportunities:

Reserve Bank of India and other banks offer good jobs to the postgraduates in economics. Above all, the UPSC conducts Indian Economic Service Examination every year. It is open to graduates and post graduates in Economics in the age group of 21 years to 30 years. World Bank and International Labour Organisation are good career option available. There is need of economic analysts in visual media. Newspapers are hiring economics graduates to write articles related to economy and business, for their papers. Those interested in pursuing higher studies can go for doctorate or management course.

23 Responses to “Post Graduate Courses in Economics”

1. 23
    Aloke:

I would like to know about colleges/ university in Kolkata those who provide MA in Economics.

2. 22
    Roshni Mukherjee:

I need sample Question Papers for Entrance Exam. in Calcutta University M.A. in Economics.

3. 21
    yigyansa:

can anyone apply for a post graduation course after completing her b,tech

4. 20
    Anu Varghese:

I have done B Com. Presently I am doing MBA(Finance), which will be over by end of April 2013.
    I wish to study further - some suitable course in Economics.
    Kindly guide me as to what should I do and the best University in Northern India.\Thanks

5. 19
    Ishita Das:

I am doing b.sc.hons in eco from callcutta university and in 3rd year.what professial courses can i do for getting good job? Can i do CS course? And what are the reputed universities except CU,JU,IGIDR,JNU,DSE..ISI to do masters?

6. 18
    Kiran Kumar:

I have completed engineering degree but i am interested in studying international trading and economics. What type of course i can select? what type of course are offered in India and specially in Karnataka?

7. 17
    nidah:

i have done BA (HONS.) economics. i furthr want to continue in my above mentioned hons. subject.i want to know the different courses offered in India, othr than M.A and M.B.A. for my post graduation

8. 16
    Deepak Gupta:

i have completed my graduation with bba and i want to do IES. so if i will do my post graduate degree in economics by distant learning. so am i will be eligible to do IES???

9. 15
    Ravi rai:

i want to know the details of the various colleges which offers post graduate programme in economics. I am holding a degree Bsc(physics,chemistry, mathematics).

10. 14
    Sheetal:

I would like to know about College/University in Mumbai which is provide regular course for MA in Economics

Thanks and Regard,

Sheetal T

11. 13
    Niraj Kumar Tiwari:

Dear, I would like to know about college/university in Allahabad which provide regular cource for MA in economics

12. 12
    sarita:

which collage is bets for ecomicsx onl yin mumbai.

13. 11
    sarita:

which collage is best for economic only in mumbai

14. 10
    Dhanendra Tripathi:

i am M.A. in economics. what career are open to me.

15. 9
    amit kumar pandey:

i want know have in d.u in pg og ancient history

16. 8
    R.Srinivas:

I have completed my graduation in economics without mathematics.And now i want to pursue post graduation in economics without having mathematical economics,because i am weak in maths is it possible? if yes then in which university/college? and what are the career prospects without mathematical economics?

17. 7
    Aarti:

i Want to per-sue PG in Economatrics.

18. 6
    Ms.S G:

I want to do a post graduate degree course in Economics, specially in Banking or Internation Economics. I want to know the valued institutions who offer such courses. Also, I want to do the course part time i.e weekend or be it correspondence also, will do. Please let me know. I’m also interested to know about the entrance exams of such institutes/universities, if any. Any online abroad valued degree too???

19. 5
    Suraj Naik:

I am planning to do MSc./MA in Agricultural economics (part time or Weekend classes).
    Place: Bangalore.
    Background Qualification: BSc. in Chemistry, Botany and Biotechnology.

Please suggest me universities or colleges offering the same.

Thanks in advance,
    Suraj Naik

20. 4
    rekha:

please guide me for MA or MSc in economics in known colleges of india.i need entrance exam forms.

21. 3
    aman:

i am b.sc hons economice student . i donig last sem . what i should do after my b.sc . plz give me what course is help for me

22. 2
    Khan S:

I want to know the last date for filling admission forms for M.A. Economics from IGNOU.

23. 1
    parul ghai:

i there any entrance for m.a economics?????????if yes then when it is?????