Airport Manager - How to become an Airport Manager?

Airport manager is a reputable and gratifying career, which brightens the life of countless. The airport manager is liable to safeguard and plan the daily activities of the airport. His responsibility includes guiding his staff, and the overall management of the airport. With well planning, the airport manager can make out fruitful results. With proper education and inborn talent in the field, anyone can become an airport manager. Since thousands of people use the facilities of the airport daily, the manager’s performance will have effect on each one of them. He should be very keen in checking whether the regulations of the airport are maintained.

Qualifying Exam

The Airport authority of India conducts examinations to select candidates in different managerial positions in the airports of India. The qualification criterion for attending the examination is a graduation. The candidate should have done his bachelor’s degree in general business or business administration. In addition, for getting good opportunities in the field, he should acquire a master’s degree in engineering, business administration or aviation management. Also, it should be from a recognized University.

Who is eligible to apply?

To become an airport manager, one should have scored a sum total of 60% marks in engineering, aviation management or business administration degree. Otherwise, the aspirants should be postgraduates in Mathematics, Physics or Computer Science with 60% marks. In addition, the candidate is required to have some personal skills and traits. Social proficiency, creativity, excellent communication skills, time management and capability to cope up in case of uncertainties are some required skills. Candidates who have prior job experience of 2 years and above have special considerations.

How to prepare for exam and interview?

It will be worthwhile having experience in the managerial field, before becoming an airport manger. One can do an internship in any airport nearby. In situations where internships are not available in airports, the aspirants can opt for any internship with any large business. Work experience in business management will be an added advantage in getting job as an airport manager.

24 Responses to “Airport Manager - How to become an Airport Manager?”

1. 24
    saba khan:

My name is saba khan I want to become an airport manager after my bachelor degree in accounting and finance I have done diploma in computers . What’sthe process to be manager in airport please answer

2. 23
    sheeba.k:

how many years this course finish

3. 22
    srihariyadav:

hi sir this is srihari .. im pursuing bbm 1st year then after my course can i join mba aviation management….and after my mba aviation management course in which typie of jobs will be get sir and how much salary will get… if u dont mine please tell me sir…..in airport sector which department get high salary in my qualification ..thank q…….sir…….e.

4. 21
    vishnu das m:

sir,now i am doing BBA-AIRLINE & AIRPORT MGT.What are scop for me sir after the course.can i work in airport?
    sir my ambition is good airport manegar.what youer openian? give me more suggationes.I am student of AIROCIS COLLAGE OF MGT STEDEIS IN THALIPARAMBA,KANNUR.pls help me.(BHARATHIYA UNIVERCITY)

5. 20
    d.vinothkumar@janu:

I want know the exam dates and syllabus

6. 19
    Muhammad rafi:

Sir,now i am doing BBM, and In addition b.sc airline and tourism.What are scope for me sir after the course.can i work in airpot?

7. 18
    shyamala:

im shyamala. MBA (HR, Marketing) Fresher. am i eligible to work in airport mangement or else guide my to futher what will i do to get a job in airport management. can i do any certification course for airport management or i need to get any experience in any other field. guide me for my brightfull career.

8. 17
    Amarnath Sen:

sir i did my b.com & also doing mba from gitam university,visakhapatnam i want to become an airport manager of airport authority of india .am i eligible?

9. 16
    THULASIRAM:

TO,
    dear respected,
    i m completed my b-tech (AERONAUTICAL)
    and i have interest to do AIR PORT MANAGEMENT, so kindly please give details HOW TO JOIN , WHAT ABOUT OUR FUTURE IN THAT FIELD ?

10. 15
    anant:

Please provide me the syllabus and previous years question paper for MANAGER(INFORMATION TECH.) In aai.

11. 14
    Atusaye Mwafulirwa:

I am working as Engineering Manager with Airport Developments Limited here at Kamuzu International Airport in Malawi. I have Masters Degree in Leadership and Change Management(Leeds Met. University), BSc. Civil Engineering( Malawi Polytechnic) and International Diploma in Project Management( Cambridge University). I would like to work as Airport Manager in reputable countries one day, could you please guild me on how to go about it to get to my dream.

12. 13
    swadique mansoor:

where can i do a diploma in airline and airport?
    is there a course BBA AIRLINE AND AIRPORT MANAGEMENT?
    If there where can i have more details about it?

13. 12
    bharathi:

i finished my mca and a certification in Redhat linux. But i want to be a airport manager. Is there any possible way to get that job

14. 11
    ASHWINI KUMAR:

I AM DOING B.COM HONOURS. I WANT TO WORK AS AIRPORT MANAGER . PLEASE SUGGEST ME .

THANK YOU.

15. 10
    anup:

sir can commerce group be taken for airlinesw and airport managment course sir pls send me reply to my e mail id id is
    anupppgt&yahoo.com

16. 9
    Habeeb:

Now iam doing BBA in AIRLINE And AIRPORT MANAGEMENT under Bharathiar university. What are the scopes for me after this course?

17. 8
    Minu:

I am doing my 2nd year MBA in Airline & Airport Management at MS University,Tirunalvelli in distance education. I would like to know whether i am eligible for applying Airport Manager post.

18. 7
    abhishek:

Hello sir i am abhishek kumar i had just finished my 12th exam and i am now i am going to take addimission in b. com but i have intrested in airport management .Plz tell meif there is any option i can go for .

19. 6
    santosh raj k.c.:

Hello sir, i am santosh raj k.c. from kathmandu Nepal.i have finished my Bachlore’s digree from Tribhuvan University, in 2007.so, i want to be a Airport manager so could you please guide me how can i join this course in india and other countries.My education back ground is management so,send me the name of the instituation which has this kind of course about airport management and airlines management?

hope you understand my question,

waiting your good ans,

santosh raj
    with reagards

20. 5
    Vijay:

Hi sir i am finished 10th std and i am now joining deplomo in mechanical engeneering but i have intrest in airport jobs .pls tel me there is any jobs for me ?

21. 4
    theja:

i finished my b.com computers degree,with this base what can i do in the field airport management.what are the options i can go for.

22. 3
    mathan:

hai… i finshd my b.tech it in 2010
    im interstd in airpoort manager job
    what should i do for it ?
    give me clear details plz

23. 2
    homi farokh mistry:

want to know about Event Management.Being a Freelancer,I am interested in preparing my own event company with web site.Any feedback will be welcome.

24. 1
    SUMA:

I would like to become a model. what should I do?