Difference between Bank Probationary Officer and Bank Clerical Jobs

The banking profession is one of the most attractive careers available for graduate holders. It is the most wanted profession as it enjoys many perks and respect in the society. Previously candidates were asked to take a common entrance test carried out by the BSRB. But now a day’s individual banks conduct their own entrance test to select candidates. The notification for these exams are published in leading newspapers, employment news and other job portals along with the official websites of the banks. A qualified individual can join a bank as a clerk, grade I or grade II probationary officer or as a manager. A clerical cadre can grow professionally as senior officer in the bank. Candidates entering in a bank as a Probationary officer can develop to be General Manager or even Managing Director and Chairman of the organization. Applicants can join in RBI, SBI and its associate banks, Nationalized and Private Banks.

Probationary Officer Exam and Eligibility Criteria

The banks conduct exams to select candidates as Probationary officer. This exam is called as the Bank PO exam. As to be eligible to apply for the Bank Probationary officer a candidate must have a degree in any discipline with 60 % or above. The age limit of PO’s in most of the banks is in between 21-28 years. The Probationary officer exam consists of questions which test the Quantitative Aptitude, General English Awareness. Also the test will consist of Management Aptitude, Computer Awareness and Reasoning Ability.

Clerical Exam and Eligibility Criteria

As to be eligible to appear in a clerical examination each and every candidates must successfully pass their +2 with more than 60% of marks. The age of the candidate must be in between 18 – 26 years in most of the banks. Graduates can also apply. The bank clerical examination evaluates the candidates English Language Skills and Numerical Aptitude. The test will have questions on Clerical Aptitude and Reasoning Ability. The candidates selected in the examination is called up on for personnel interview and is selected for the job if found suitable.

Key differentiators between Bank Probationary Officer and Bank Clerical Jobs

For both Probationary Officer and Clerical post the candidates are taken in and are offered training for a fixed period of time. The main difference between the two posts is the type of work involved in each position. A person joining as a clerk will have to do most of the clerical related jobs in a bank. The Probationary Officer’s job is similar to a Manager Trainee position. For a Probationary Officer the main qualities requirement are decision-making skills, leadership qualities and intelligence to tackle different situations.

11 Responses to “Difference between Bank Probationary Officer and Bank Clerical Jobs”

1. 11
    Shankar:

How sbi recruits new employees?

2. 10
    Vipin:

I’m student of arts side give me information for bank clerical like age, qualification and what kind of job they give me

3. 9
    suresh:

i am an defency retired person what was the age for apply of sbi
    clk job.

4. 8
    Priya:

I have scored 58% in 12th and 61% in 10th so am i eligible to give clerical exams?

5. 7
    vikas:

For appearing PO exam is that mendatory to have 60% or above marks??????

6. 6
    Pavan Chakarvarthi:

i done my degree as a private student with 53.5% may i be able to take bank po and clerical exam. it is ugc recognized university mds university ajmer

7. 5
    Shruthi:

when can v expect d result which we wrote exam on 7th of august (Associate bank of SB)

8. 4
    M NAVEEN KUMAR:

BHEL ST MECHANICAL QUESTION PAPER

9. 3
    RAJESH:

MY ENGLISH IS VERY WEAK,CAN I GIVE THE EXAM FOR BANK PO IN HINDI LANGUAGE?

10. 2
    Sajal:

I want to know the next comming dates of Clerical carde Exam in any respective Banks.I complete my 12th commerce in the year 2009 from GSEB board.And also guide me that how should i prepare for the exam.which are the best book avail in the market.

11. 1
    sekhar:

i am amanagement graduate & i want to settel in banking sector. so anybody please guide me how will be the career as bank PO or clerk?