Department of Law, Calcutta University, Kolkata

The Department of Law of the University of Calcutta is one of the famous law colleges of west Bengal and also has a good reputation all over the country. The University is situated at the Hazra campus. It started its journey in January 1909 as the “University College of Law”. It was renamed as Department of Law Calcutta University In February 1983. Under the aegis of the Law department of the university, five more law colleges are distributing education in its campus.

Campus:

The main campus of the university is spread over an area 2.7 acres and the Satellite Campus Area is approximately 16 acres of landscape. The Department of Law Calcutta University provides all sorts of facilities to the students in order to sharpen the professional skills of the students. The University offers excellent library facilities which contain several volumes of books.

Courses Offered:

The Universality of Calcutta provides various undergraduate, postgraduate, doctoral and post doctoral programs to the candidates in order to build their career. The various courses are:

LL.B., LL.B. (H), LL.M., Ph.D., LL.D.

Admission Procedure:

The candidates applying for the various courses under this Department of Law are examined of their eligibility on the basis of the marks obtained by the candidates in their higher secondary exams or its equivalent exams. The candidates must have obtained 40% marks in the above mentioned exams in order to fill the eligibility criteria for the undergraduate courses.

Placements:

The students are placed in various judicial firms that are regularly visiting this Department of Law Calcutta University. They also send their students in their related courts so as to provide training programs to gather all sorts of knowledge about their professionalism.

51/1, Hazra Road, Kolkata - 700 019

Phone: 033-2475 5801 / 3680/ 81/ 82

97 Responses to “Department of Law, Calcutta University, Kolkata”

1. 97
    Kshitij:

What is the syllabus for ba llb entrance exam ?

2. 96
    anirban chakrabarty:

sir,i am interested about the law entrance.but when the entrance occure?

3. 95
    Indranil Brahma:

My rank is 787…in which college my admission will be????

4. 94
    Nisha Gurung:

please tell me when will LLM admission will be started for 2012?and what was the procedure?

5. 93
    soumi mukhopadhyay:

i want to know about the 1oyears solved question paper of B.A LL.B. course entrance examination of calcutta university..please inform as soon as possible..

6. 92
    Anita dalai:

I want know 10years solved question paper of B.A L.LB for 5 year course entrance examination of culcutta university,

7. 91
    Pratyay:

Dear Sir/Mam,
    Please let me know when forms of BA LLB will be given for the year 2012

8. 90
    Reetam Roy:

please inform me about the specific syllabus for the B.A.-L.L.B.(5 years) entrance exam conducted by the ‘University of Calcutta’…………………………….

9. 89
    Partha Pratim Debroy:

I had passed B.com in 2010. now I want to appear the Entrance Exam of law. But my age is now above 22(General Candidate). Can I appear Entrance Exam or Post Graduate L.A.W?

10. 88
    Ekta Sharma:

I am a C.S. B.Com(Hons) and want to go for 3 yrs LLB course. I am currently working as a Company Secretary in a Pvt. Ltd. Co. Please advice me if there are any evening courses or distance learning offered.

Thanks Regards,
    Ekta Sharma
    ACS B.Com(Hons)
    M: 9163339404

11. 87
    Suvodeep:

I want to know the eligibility criteria ,fees and the age limit for the 3 years LLB course.

12. 86
    SWARUP RANJAN SINGHA:

I just want to get the schedule time table of B.A(general) 3rd year examination.
    Sir, Can you please lell me the schedule time?

13. 85
    sajal sengupta:

I want details of LLM (like admision time, price, duration ets.) from kolkata and Bangalore university .

14. 84
    arit manna:

plece infrom me whats tha date culcata univarsity law entrance exjam 2012?this exjam whtas tha topic of quction?pls infrom me.

15. 83
    shashi:

when ph.d. notification2012 for law faculty wil issued?
    In which month entrance test for admission to Ph.d. in law wil be conducted this year?

16. 82
    Kanvakat:

When will the result of BA LLB 3rd year 2011 be distributed?

17. 81
    SHRUTI THAKUR:

when will be the entrance exam of hazra law college in kolkata for undergraduates of 2012

18. 80
    Sonam jaiswal:

I am a student of 4th yr B.A.LL.B ,I want to know that how i can admissions in LLM.

19. 79
    Aniruddha roy chowdhury:

i am a student of class 12 of science facalty in bangladesh.how can i get admission in kolkata university in honourse course?

20. 78
    satadru Ghosh:

I am a final year student of five years B.A L.L.B(H).
    I want to get admission in LLM course in C.U.
    when the form of LLM entrance exam of university of calcutta will be published? When the exam will be held?
    From where i can get the notification of LLM entrance exam?

21. 77
    Nudrat Jabeen:

what are the subjects of LLM course and does hv any specialisation?

22. 76
    prarthana:

please let me know the date of form issue for LLM entrance test 2012?

23. 75
    priyata ghosh:

when will be the next exam of LLB and what percentage is required for graduation?

24. 74
    Sukanya Modduna:

When can i get LL.B entrance exam form? Are previous years question paper of said exm.available in market of website? and when the exm.will be held?

25. 73
    Manik Das:

I am a Bangladeshi student.I have completed my LL.B.(Hons.).How I can get admission in LL.M. in dept, of law,Kalkata University?

26. 72
    mrityunjoy saha:

when llm 2011-12 admission form published?

27. 71
    ruth:

when is the last date for submission of LLM course 2011-12 session at Kolkata university?

28. 70
    Amrita Chakraborty:

when the form of LLM entrance exam of university of calcutta will be published? When the exam will be held?

29. 69
    Somali Thapa:

please inform me about LLM entrance exam 2011?

30. 68
    sohag:

I am a Bangladeshi student,how can i get admitted in Calcutta university

31. 67
    sayani chakraborty:

Iam final year Law (honours) student of Calcutta Univercity.I admission LLM degreein calcutta univercity.witch time this seassession is open please give me the information.

32. 66
    Deepa Bhattacharya:

please inform me the procedure of appearing LL.M entrance 2011 in kolkata university

33. 65
    Mizbah:

I want know the admissinon policy of foreign(i.e-Bangladeshi) students in LL.M course.Is ther any quota system for the foreign students??

34. 64
    avinash:

when can we get the forms for llm in calcutta university?

35. 63
    Deepa Bhattacharya:

when will the advertisement of llm entrance 2011 in kolkata university publish? when the exam will happen? what is the last date of submission of application form?

36. 62
    amrita chaudhuri:

i
    want 2 know that calcutta university law entrence result 2011

37. 61
    Pallabi Dhar:

when will LL.M. admission test occured ? How many sits are reserved for others university?

38. 60
    B.Banik:

I want to know when the Law Entrance 2011 result of Calcutta University will be out .
    Best Regards
    B.Banik

39. 59
    hifjur rahman:

How can i get admission form of LLM study in C U ?

40. 58
    sreeja sen:

do your university offer 3years LLB course?

41. 57
    shyamali:

please reply about the notification of admission LL.M course.

42. 56
    purnendu:

how many sits are situated for law in c u?

43. 55
    BRATATI PATRA:

Can I have some previous year’s questoin paper or sample question papers of Calcutta university’s LLB entrance online?If yes then how?

44. 54
    subrata ganguly:

How can i get admission form of law study?

45. 53
    Md.mumtaz alam:

Sir, i want to know about LL.M. notification for admission ?

46. 52
    Gurpreet Singh:

Kindle let me know the followings:-
    1. When are forms for LLB issued for the year 2011.
    2. What is the last date for submission of the said form.
    £. What is the total procedure for taking admission in LLB course including the completion details for the said course and the date of enterance test for the same.

47. 51
    Debolina Dasgupta:

Pl. let me know the exact web address from where I can download Law entrance form of calcutta university for 2011.
    I have checked caliniv.ac.in(Law department), it is not available there.

My cell no. is 9830239080.

It is urgent.

48. 50
    dipak mondal.:

what is the date to fill-up form and submit????????

49. 49
    Ritwika:

pl give me guidelines for entrance exam for ll.b

50. 48
    Priyanka sen:

1. When will we get the application form of LL.B. entrance under Calcutta University?

2. When will be the advertisement for the LL.B. entrance published?

3. I want to know the date of the entrance examination and the syllabus of the law entrance examination.

51. 47
    Bela Rahaman:

Kindly let me know the schedule of the following:
    1. Adv. for the LL.B. entrance test, 2011.
    2. Last date of submitting application form.
    3. Date of the entrance test.
    Gratefully yours,
    Bela Rahaman Khan.

52. 46
    Saheb Chowdhury:

When will publish the ll.m. notification of Calcutta University?
    what will be the procedure of admission in ll.m. ? whether it will be on merit basis or admission test?

53. 45
    Shreya:

please tell me what is the syllabus of law(pre-entrance exam)

54. 44
    amrita mondal:

when will the application forms of LLB entrance examinatoin will be given?

55. 43
    priyamvada priyadarshini:

Please tell me the procedure to get admission for five years integrated llb corses

56. 42
    bipul ray:

i want to know when will be the Calcutta University Law enterence exam happen in 2011 how to apply to it.

57. 41
    Sanhita:

When will the entrace form of BA LLB be publised?I am interested to know what are the subject?And also when will the exam take place?

58. 40
    yasha:

wen will the forms be available? wen is the entrance exam?

59. 39
    sania:

when is the application form for law entrance 2011 available under calcutta university?? what documents would be required to avail the application form..if any??

60. 38
    amit ghosh:

when the application form given for law entrance exam under cal university?

61. 37
    HIRANMOY Sur:

Do the candidate who has just appeared in Higher secondary needs to appear in joint enetrance examination? If yes when the joint entrance will commence ? When you will give adverstisement for application form ?

62. 36
    Parichita Ray:

I required information about on which date form for LL.B entriance of Calcutta University will be given.

63. 35
    Siddhartha sardar:

When the application form for llm would be issued and what is the percentage of marks needed in llb for this?

64. 34
    Tanmay Das:

kindly tell me when the form will available for LLM and when will be last that and how will i get to know about the admission form

65. 33
    siuli:

I would really appretiate if you could send me in detail the eligibility criteria , age, % of marks in ll.b, last date of filling up of form, how to avail the form, fees, subjects, and the procedure for admission including other details, if any.

Siuli Som, aspirant

66. 32
    shyamali:

kindly tell me when the form will available for LLM and when will be last that and how will i get to know about the admission form

67. 31
    arpita singh:

when will the entrance exam for llb(5 yrs.) be held?

68. 30
    Shila Chakrabortty:

What is the date of Form fill up for the UGC exam for LL.D. , 2011 ? And what is the date of the exam ?

69. 29
    Abhishek Chowdhary:

I am doing my B.A.LL.B from Calcutta University and will be appearing for my Final Year exam in the month of May,2011.
    I will be glad if you let me know what is the eligibilty criteria to take admission in LL.M and when the Application form are available to us and the last day to apply for LL.M

70. 28
    barkha jha:

when will the exam of law entrance exam will held of 2011

71. 27
    ashish:

i want to know when will be the Calcutta University Law enterence exam happen in 2011 how to apply to it.

72. 26
    NITU RAI:

I will b the glad if you provide me the full admission procedure and do i have to give any common admission test .

73. 25
    anjani:

when would i apply for taking admission in faculty of law - LLM course in university of culcutta and what is the last date of admission in LLM and how could i apply online or through post.

74. 24
    Shiv Kumar Sharma:

I want to take admission in LLM course 2011. Will you kindly keep me inform when the admission of entrance test of calcutta university,held. I did my LL.B from the calcutta University (South Calcutta Law College) in the 1998. Since then am practising in court on several matters.

75. 23
    sabyasachi:

hey ,frndz can u tell me whn da cal unv law entrance ( 5yrs) xam ll be held ????????

76. 22
    Sukanya Pal:

I am interested to know when entrance test for law couse is conducted. How I can apply for it

77. 21
    Anindita Giri:

Hello,I am a student of Anthropology Hons.I will complete my graduation in this year.I want to take admission in law course(3yrs.).Can I take admission?If I am able to take admission then please provide me some information how can I take admission in law course in calcutta university??? Can i do this after M.sc.??

78. 20
    Pallabi Dhar. LL.B. Final year from The University of Burdwan.:

When will publish the LL.M.admission form in the year 2011?And what is the criteria to get admission?

79. 19
    gargy:

Im a student of dept of law,CU. U cn gt admission by giving a law joint conducted by d university itself.u hv 2 clt d form n gv d xam.

80. 18
    Utsb Karar:

Hello, I am Student of Surendranath Law Collage at 3rd year, Last two year I can’t apper final examanation for my scrious accident. So What I do? Can I Sit this Exam…….?

81. 17
    mohit:

how to get addmission

82. 16
    rahul kumar:

i am 12th pass out and i want to take admission in faculty of law,kolkata university,how can i apply ? please guide me.

83. 15
    Manikuntala Biswas:

Hello!
    May I know When is the Law Entrance Exam is to be held for Calcutta University.Please provide me some information about LL.M entrance test?when your university will publish llm admission form2011?May I get some model or Previous questions papers fo ll.m in calcutta university?
    I will be thankful if I get all this information.
    Thankfully
    Manikuntala
    LL.b student

84. 14
    SOUGATA DAS:

ON WHAT SYLLABUS THE LAW ENTRANCE EXAM UNDER CALCUTT UNIVERSITY WIL BE BASED ON?

85. 13
    pooja shukla:

When will the llm entrance exam201 of calcutta university be heldand what are the eligibility critaria?

86. 12
    debdas mukherjee:

when the result of llm admission will be published ?

87. 11
    D L Ojha:

I did my LL.B ,in the year of 1979 .Thereafter, I joined my service and left calcutta ,I did not collect my certificat from the university ,now I am getting retire, I want my practice, out of calcutta, for getting registration, I need passing certificate from the university ,I did not have any related document, kindly advice me how ,I can proceed to come out from this problem.

88. 10
    Subho Sinha:

When is the Law Entrance Exam is to be held for Calcutta University.

89. 9
    JHUMA:

Hello! I missed the session of Ph.d course which has been going on this year. I am a foreign student. I want to admit myself in Calcutta University in Ph.D session. How could I prepare myself for the test of next session? Please inform me when and what type of admission test will be held on.

90. 8
    sk.sarfaraz:

i wanna get admission in law 3 years degree course i get 43% in cu please send me some college name where admission is going on

91. 7
    chaitali das:

i ‘m studenr of b.a.ll.b 5yr.after end my course i wanted to study ll.m from any institute.i have 40% marks only in b.a. ll.b.can i study ll.m????plzzzzz reply me.which institute can i apply????time of duration for course.every details relates my quisrion reply me…….

92. 6
    Madona Priyanka:

I am a Bangladeshi student passed HSC 2010.Our result published on 15 June 2010.So i missed the last session.Now what can i do to take admission in Calcutta University.Please inform me.

93. 5
    Somnath De:

please provide me some information about LL.M entrance test?

94. 4
    Swaralipi Debroy:

when will your university publish llm admission form,2010.

95. 3
    kaustav kiran basak:

when your university will publish llm admission form2010

96. 2
    poulomi mitra:

if i get 40% marks in my cu exam can i get direct entry for llb course

97. 1
    BINAYAK GUPTA:

I have 65.5%marks in aggregate in (10+2). I wish to enter into a law college now for 5 years law course (LLB) please give me some list of law colleges