What to do after Civil Engineering Diploma?

Civil Engineering Diploma holders can go for various advance diploma courses in Drafting and Design, Structural Design and Surveying. Through lateral entry they can do B.E or B.Tech courses in Civil Engineering, Transportation Engineering, Agricultural and Irrigation Engineering etc. They have options to do certification courses in Building Design, Construction Management etc as well. They can work in areas like Power generation firms, Construction of tunnels, dams, bridges etc.

Courses after Civil Engineering Diploma

After successfully completing Civil Engineering Diploma one can directly pursue the following Advanced Diploma courses.

• Advance Diploma in Drafting and Design
  • Advance Diploma in Structural Design
  • Advance Diploma in Construction Management
  • Advance Diploma in Civil Engineering
  • Advance Diploma in Surveying

They can get into the following B.Tech and B.E courses via lateral entry.

• Bachelor of Engineering in Agricultural and Irrigation Engineering
  • Bachelor of Engineering in Civil Engineering
  • Bachelor of Engineering in Ceramics and Cement Technology
  • Bachelor of Engineering in Geo Informatics
  • Bachelor of Engineering in Transportation Engineering
  • Bachelor of Technology in Ceramics and Cement Technology
  • Bachelor of Technology in Civil Engineering
  • Bachelor of Technology in Civil Engineering + Master of Technology in Structural Engineering
  • Bachelor of Technology in Civil and Transportation Engineering
  • Bachelor of Technology in Civil Infrastructural Engineering
  • Bachelor of Technology + Master of Technology in Civil Engineering

To improve their career prospects one can do the following certification courses as well.

• Certificate Course in Building Design
  • Certificate Course in Construction Management

Career Avenues after Civil Engineering Diploma

Diploma holders in Civil Engineering have good career opportunities in Government sector and also in Private sector enterprises. The common areas of work for these people include:

• Rain water harvesting system
  • Estimation
  • Gas and Oil plants
  • Construction of pipelines
  • Construction of tunnels
  • Surveying
  • Water mains
  • Preparation of civil drawings
  • Power generation firms
  • Construction of buildings
  • Construction of dams
  • Construction of sewage systems
  • Construction of bridges

Top Government undertakings that recruit Civil Engineering diploma holders include:

• National Fertilizers Limited
  • Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited
  • MMTC Limited
  • Hindustan Paper Corporation Limited
  • Bharat Earth Movers Limited
  • Power Grid Corporation of India Limited
  • Bharath Electronics Limited
  • Cement Corporation of India
  • Hindustan Zinc Limited
  • National Small Industries Corporation Limited
  • National Thermal Power Corporation
  • Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited

Top firms in the Private sector that recruit Civil Engineering Diploma holders include:

• DLF
  • Frischmann Prabhu
  • Larsen & Toubro
  • Shapoorji Pallonji & Company
  • Sobha Developers Limited
  • Gammon India
  • Hindustan Construction Company
  • Nagarjuna Construction Company
  • Punj Lloyd
  • Tata Projects
  • Unitech

Diploma holders can expect remuneration of around Rs.10000/- per month for entry level openings. Other than Civil engineering jobs they can look forward to other areas of work as well. Research and teaching field are also good options for them to pursue.

12 Responses to “What to do after Civil Engineering Diploma?”

1. 12
    nasiruddin:

I will completing diploma in civil this July which the best course in IGNOU please suggest me

2. 11
    p.subhasini:

i have completed diploma in civil engineering in government institute(u.c.p.e.s)berhampur ,odisha
    i was interested in doing job futher.will i have any chance to get job(private or public) and how i can proceed futher.
    kindly please suggest me

thanks and regards
    p.subhasini

3. 10
    Dev:

after complet diplom in ct can i do b.sc in ct abroad

4. 9
    Abhishek Banerjee:

I have completed Diploma in Civil Engineering, & now I am interested in pursuing non technical courses such as PGDM PGDBM etc. So can do such courses in distance/part time?

5. 8
    sayed Rizwan Hussain:

please advise me what i do after diploma civil Engg .

my aim is to bocome a structural Designer.i am intrested in mathemetical means Designing.
    so a i am not desait.a am staying in gulbarga state karnataka india. so please give me right suggestion of right time

Thanks and Regards
    SAYED RIZWAN HUSSAIN

6. 7
    Ankush kumar:

What payment we have to tale after diploma in civil engg

7. 6
    Abhi nayak:

I m in the final sem of my civil diploma.How can i get admission in amie.I am a resident of chhatarpur (m.p)

8. 5
    vinitha kumari D:

I have finished Diploma in Civil Engg.,, 2002 , now want to continue my studies thr’ distance education , do i have any option to do , pls help out

9. 4
    anjum shahzad:

Is in india BTech degree equal to Bsc Engineering

10. 3
    anjum shahzad:

Is B Tech degree equal to Bsc Engineering in india and B Tech degree holder registard in indian engineering council

11. 2
    Rajkamal Daskhan:

what should i do after passing in civil(diploma)?Iam a running student in civil (diploma) 2nd yr.

12. 1
    neethi:

I have dont diploma in civil and working from 3+ years. Wanted to know what further courses or certification courses i can do to for better career.
    Plese guide me

regards,
    Neethi