Bureau of Energy Efficiency Entrance Test (BEE) 2012

An authorized Statute directly linked to the Government of India; the Energy Conservation Act implemented the Bureau of Energy Efficiency in the year 2001. The Bureau primarily focuses on bringing out those individuals perfect for energy managing and auditing with good work experiences. These individuals will be in charge of administering new energy management policies, implementation and managing the finance of the energy projects etc.

A national level certificate examination is conducted annually by the National Productivity Council for the Bureau of Energy Efficiency to select individuals apt for the posts of Energy manager and energy auditor.

Structure of BEE

The exam is of 4papers conducted in 2 days of which 2 papers will be conducted per day.

The Papers are the following:

• Paper-1 General Aspects of Energy Management & Energy Audit
  • Paper-2 Energy Efficiency in Thermal Utilities
  • Paper-3 Energy Efficiency in Electrical Utilities
  • Paper-4 Energy Performance Assessment for Equipment and Utility systems (Open Book)

Paper 1,2 and 3 will have descriptive and objective type questions to be answered in under 3 hours each and each paper carries 150 marks. Paper 4 will have numerical as well as descriptive questions, meant to be completed in 120 minutes time and can be scored a maximum of 100 marks for it.

If the candidate wishes to pursue a career as Energy Managers, he/she has to qualify for papers 1, 2 and 3 with at least 50% marks in each paper.

If they are interested in the post of Energy Auditors, they have to qualify all four papers with at least 50% marks in each paper.

Syllabus for BEE

The syllabus for the BEE is as follows:

Paper-1: General Aspects of Energy Management & Energy Audit

• Energy Scenario
  • Basics of Energy and its various forms
  • Energy Management & Audit
  • Material and Energy balance
  • Energy Action Planning
  • Financial Management
  • Project Management
  • Energy Monitoring and Targeting
  • Global environmental concerns

Paper-2: Energy Efficiency in Thermal Utilities

• Fuels and Combustion
  • Boilers
  • Steam System
  • Furnaces
  • Insulation and Refractory
  • FBC boilers
  • Cogeneration
  • Waste Heat Recovery

Paper-3: Energy Efficiency in Electrical Utilities

• Electrical system
  • Electric motors
  • Compressed Air System
  • HVAC and Refrigeration System
  • Fans and blowers
  • Pumps and Pumping System
  • Cooling Tower
  • Lighting System
  • Diesel Generating system
  • Energy Efficient Technologies in Electrical Systems

Paper-4: Energy Performance Assessment for Equipment and Utility systems (Open Book)

• Boilers, Furnaces
  • Cogeneration, Turbines
  • Heat Exchangers
  • Electric Motors, Variable Speed Drives
  • Fans and Blowers, Water Pumps, Compressors
  • HVAC system
  • Lighting Systems
  • Performing Financial Analysis
  • Applications of Non-conventional & Renewable Energy Sources (NRES)
  • Waste minimization and resource conservation

For Energy Manager Post - Candidates should satisfy any 1 of the following conditions:

• An engineering graduate with 3 year work experience
  • M.Tech/ME or equivalent degree graduates with 2 year work experience.
  • Engineering graduate with PG degree in Management and 2 year work experience
  • Diploma engineer with 6 year work experience
  • Post graduate in Science with 5 year work experience

For Energy Auditor Post –

• Engineering graduates with 3 year work experience
  • M.Tech/ME equivalent degree graduates with 2 year work experience
  • Engineering graduate with PG degree in Management and 2 year work experience

How to Apply?

Apparently, online application is the easiest option to apply for the BEE, by downloading the form along with the prospectus from www.aipnpc.org and register before the last date.

If the candidates can send a demand draft of Rs 500/- in favor of Bureau of Energy Efficiency payable at Chennai, he/she will receive the application kit including the prospectus by post. SC/ST/OBC (with annual income less than Rs 1 lac) need pay only Rs 250/-.

How to fill the Form?

An application before submission should be devoid of errors and completely filled. So candidates must confirm themselves that there are no mistakes in the form and all details are entered in the right field neatly and precisely. The contact address of the applicant should be full and complete. Paper form fill up is to be done with black gel or ball point pen. The form should reach the authorities on or before the last date itself. So post it early after completion.

Important Dates (Tentative)

Dates might be changed by the authorities:

Application form will be available: On the month of February, 2012

Last for the submission of completed application forms: Last week of March, 2012

Examination Dates: Mid week of July, 2012

List of BEE centers

For written examination, the test centres are in:

• Ahmedabad
  • Banglore
  • Bhopal
  • Bhubaneswar
  • Chandigarh
  • Chennai
  • Cochin
  • Dehra dun
  • Delhi
  • Goa
  • Guwahati
  • Hyderabad
  • Jabalpur
  • Jaipur
  • Kanpur
  • Kolkata
  • Mumbai
  • Nagpur
  • Patna
  • Pune
  • Raipur
  • Trivandum
  • Vadodhara

For Viva voce, the test centers are in:

• Delhi
  • Mumbai
  • Kolkatta
  • Chennai
  • Nagpur
  • Patna
  • Pune
  • Roorkee
  • Rourkela
  • Trivandrum
  • Thirupathi
  • Trichy
  • Vishakapatinam

Contact Address for the BEE

• Bureau Of Energy Efficiency (Bee), 4th Floor, Sewa Bhawan, R.K. Puram Sector 1,New Delhi – 110 066
  • Phones: 011 – 26179699, Fax No.011-26178352/26178328
  • Web: www.bee-india.nic.in

Reference Books for BEE

• Guide Books of General Aspects of Energy Management & Energy Audit from NCE
  • Guide Books of Energy Efficiency in Thermal Utilities from NCE
  • Guide Books of Energy Efficiency in Electrical Utilities from NCE
  • Guide Books of Energy Performance Assessment for Equipment and Utility systems from NCE

Coaching Centers for BEE

• Mitra IAS
  • Paradigm IAS
  • New Delhi IAS
  • Career plus
  • Bolster Academia
  • S N Das Gupta college
  • Engineer’s Institute of India
  • Ensemble Career Solutions Pvt. Ltd.

Study Plan

Follow a study plan prepared exclusively to cover all topics at the earliest before the exam. Final revision is recommended. The performance also depends on the work experience factor to a certain extent. Relying on coaching institutes for training has its own advantages. A lot of books must be used for reference. Candidates can refer the NCE examination guide which helps the candidates to have a clear cut idea about the nature and pattern of the question paper.

How and Where To Get the Results?

Check the scores at http://www.energymanagertraining.com/new_index.php .

Score Validity

The score of the examination will valid till the published vacancies are occupied or the rank list may valid until the next examination is announced.

36 Responses to “Bureau of Energy Efficiency Entrance Test (BEE) 2012”

1. 36
    Ajith:

Where do i get study material?

2. 35
    Anup Sharma:

Dear Sir/Madam

I Anup sharma cleared the exam for Energy manager conducted by National productivity council in 11th exam in february 2011 i get the provisional certifect also but did not receive the official certificate by bureau of energy efficiency my registration no. is EA-11485 11th Exam in February.
    Kindly rply
    Anup Sharma
    EA-11485

3. 34
    Raju L Gaonkar:

I want to appear for next BEE Energy manager Examination.Please furnish me details about study matrial,guide books etc.

4. 33
    aswani kumar pancholi:

i want to appear for energy manager exams in 2013. so please tell me next date of exam & registration form filling date.

Thanks & Regds.

A.K.Pancholi

5. 32
    k.sudhakaran:

i need next BEE examination date & along with details
    by
    yours faithfully

sudhakaran.k

6. 31
    P DUBEY:

I want to appear for energy manager energy auditor exams in 2013. How and where to register, plase suggest

7. 30
    Parin:

i want to give Energy Auditor examination in current year, can i apply for the same in current year

8. 29
    Suresh Chandra Mishra:

I passed diploma in mechanical engineering in july 2000 and I have about 10 yrs of experiance. I have also passed B.Tech in mechanical from RVD University in year 2010.

Shall I apply for energy Auditors or not.

9. 28
    cheggoju srinivasulu:

I missed the ad in news papers
    iwould like to appear for energy managers exam july 2012
    kindly allow me with late fee

10. 27
    ganesh:

I am BE Mechanical Engg, I have 2.5 yr exp as on april 2012, can i appear fo bee exam.

11. 26
    D.S.Pandey:

i am diploma in electrical engg 1994 and working in textile unit since 1995 ,in between i have passed B.E from distance education cource from vinyak mission university tamilnadu in 2006.presently my exeperince is 16 year.pl confirm

1-should i apply for energy manager or apply for energy auditor.
    2-B.E. is not equvilant to energy manager

12. 25
    ashish:

I wish to appear for energy manager exam-2012,I have all the original experience certificates of previous companies in which i had served. is it necessary to submit experience certificate in specified format as it is difficult for me to again go to all the previous companies and get the experience certified in BEE format.

13. 24
    sudhakar sharma:

i wish to apply for july2012, can i apply with late fees

14. 23
    M.P Avhad:

I am B. E. Mechanical and presently working in Power section as an executive Engineer in Mahagenco. since last 23 years. I wish to appear Energy Auditor exam in this year. pl guide me

15. 22
    Abhiram sahu:

what is last date to fill exam form of ENERGY MANAGER & AUDITOR.
    Abhiram

16. 21
    Pravin:

Not yet received any information for the 2012 BEE entrance exam………can you help?

From when will the applications are available

17. 20
    P.K.Singh:

How to fill the form for Enery auditor course.

18. 19
    Subhaue Kundu:

Not yet received any information for the 2012 BEE entrance exam………can you help?

19. 18
    Rajesh:

From when will the applications are available

20. 17
    vinod gomkar:

i am working in govt sector can i earn income from energy auditing or any related to u’r course with working my current company

21. 16
    sushil:

how fill form of energy manager exam form of 2012.

22. 15
    amit trivedi:

how fill form of energy manager exam form of 2012.

23. 14
    manish:

what is last date to fill exam form of bee 2012.

24. 13
    Pran Saurabh:

I am intersted to appear in the next coming exam and sincere to to clear it can any one give me a tip/ guide to prepare for my upcoming exams.

25. 12
    ajit chauhan:

can i get bee old question paper solved / unsolved. if available than plz mail me link of mail id. if there is any coaching instute then tell about it.

26. 11
    laxmikant:

I have five year work experience.but this exper. is 2.5 year maintenance of laminate ind.1.5 year of shoes ind. exp.,1.3 year of pharmaceutical industries.Can you suggest me i m eligible for this BEE exam.

27. 10
    ch.p.k.patro:

please let me know when the 2012 energy auditor exam will held. can i download the referance books as per he new syllabus.

28. 9
    rajinder:

i am diploma in machanical engineering as regular course & BE coursepondence course in machanical,then MBA

29. 8
    Kaliprasad Das:

what is the next date for energy aditor exam in 2012?

30. 7
    samar Kanti Ghosh:

I have undergone an 4.5 yrs apprenticeship course in Mechanical Engineering at Ordnance Factory Organisation, I am an MBA, 2 years Diploma in Maintenance Management, Lead Auditor for ISO:9001, ISO: 14001, OHSAS: 18001 and ISO:22000, I have 26 experience shop floor experience in maintenance.
    My Questions are
    1. Am I eligible for the Auditor’s Course
    2. Where the form will be available,
    3. Address of Kolkata Centre
    4. Can fees be submitted by cheques.
    the course materials given in net are they adequate for exam.
    With High Regards
    S K Ghosh

31. 6
    yuvaraj:

what is the next date for energy aditor exam in 2012?

32. 5
    satish sharma:

please send me the source of book which is required for preparation of this exam.

33. 4
    anuj misra:

Could you mail me .will when Feb 2012 exam form publised
    ?
    so i can enrol myself for the feb 2012 exam.

Anuj Misra

34. 3
    bhadresh:

guidence for exam

35. 2
    Suguna:

Pl. inform me whether is it necessary to pass entrance test to get qualified for the certification course for Energy Auditor. How does this entrance test would help.

36. 1
    sanjeev mittal:

Pl send us solution of NPC book for Energy manager exem