CID Officer - How to become a CID officer?

The Criminal Investigation Department is a crime detection agency under the Government of India. It was established on the 1st of April 1906. Those officers who work in this elite agency are known as Detectives or as CID officers. The agency also has some other divisions. They are the Finger Print Bureau and the Crime Investigation Bureau in addition to the scientific section.

Qualifying exam

Candidates who wish to join the Crime Investigation Department must appear in the Indian Civil Services examination that is held by the Union Public Service Commission. The detail information regarding the exam and its syllabus will be available in all leading publications.

Who is eligible to apply?

There are many posts available for candidates in the CID. Their level of entry is determined by their qualification. The minimum qualification required for a candidate to join as a constable in the CID is a pass in class 12. If one aspires to join as a Sub Inspector, he/she should have cleared graduation. Graduation is the requirement for officer level post as well. There are many universities in India that offers courses in criminology. The basic qualification for this course is a pass in class 10+2 with a milieu in arts or science. For those candidates who have a background in law, special courses in criminology are available.

How to prepare for exam and interview?

Candidates who aspire to join the CID must have certain basic skills. An ability to analyze materials at a glance will be very helpful in the job. In addition to this, the candidates must also have excellent communication skills and a pleasing manner. They should also be attuned to the current happenings in the society. To develop these skills, aspirants can read newspapers and watch informative television programmes. Those candidates who are interested in reading can refer to crime novels or autobiographies of well known personalities. At the time of the interview, the candidates must be calm and answer to the questions with absolute certainty. They must not falter while replying.

421 Responses to “CID Officer - How to become a CID officer?”

Pages: « 3 2 [1] Show All

1. 121
    VIKHYAT MAHESHWARI:

SIR I WAN’T TO ASK THAT AT THIS TIME I M IN CLASS 9TH AND I WANT TO JOIN C.I.D. AFTER 12TH WHAT COURASE SHOULD I DO
    PLS SIR AGAR MAI C.I.D. MAI NAHI AYYA TO MAI KOI NAUKRI NAHI KARUNGA
    SIR YEH MERI ZINDAGI KA SAWAL HAI PLS REPLY ZARUR KARIAGA

2. 120
    Vineet:

my question is that how i can become an IAS or IPS officer. and which is better.

3. 119
    mohammad arif:

hello sir i m the student of bca 5th sem .i m doing bca from open university . i passed 12th science exam with pcb subjects and now i want to becom cid officer than what should i do?

4. 118
    jhuma:

hello. i want to b a CID officer. its my aim frm childhood, m crazy abt this, i want to b and i knw i will be and for that i will b needing your support. hw can i become a CID OFFICER? i knw this is crazy bt i dnt want to b a officer wich u actually see in movies n serials

5. 117
    adil wahab:

sir,i want to join cid,my qualification is bca from wbut.plz call 9231024956, if you grant my request then i shall be highily obliged.

6. 116
    khushboo shukla:

Dear sir/madam,
    I m 2nd year b.com student. Nd wanna become CID agent/officer
    I dn ve ny information.
    So plz hlp me smbuddy…
    khushboo shukla

4m Mumbai

7. 115
    sharath:

i want to be a C.I.D officer
    my Qualification is Bsc Biotechnology
    Hight 5.2″
    DOB 10-11-1989
    do you thinc i am elgible for this job? If yes please explain how can i Join C.I.D & What i Must do for that .
    Address Hno:- 3-4-345/1, New raipura, Hanamkonda, Warangal, Andhrapradesh.
    cell 9550474204

8. 114
    raghav:

i have doing B.B.A in final year student
    and sir my eye side is weak (-02.50)
    can able for this jobs plz tell me sir

9. 113
    Kirit Bhikhabhai Patel:

I have complited BBA and MBA in HRM.
    I have to clear 4 subject in MBA.
    which exam I have to passed for becoming CID officer.
    It’s date and fees for exam.

10. 112
    Ram kumar:

My name is Ram kumar i am Intersted
    in C.I.D job
    I am parsuing BCA in bihar university so pls call me 8873045696
    add-Bairiya jagdamba nager
    post-mit(muz)
    pin-842003

11. 111
    mukesh:

i m mukesh kumar i m mba in hr and also done bsc (chemistry ) how cn i join cid plz help me .

12. 110
    sana:

hello sir i m the student of bca 5th sem .i m doing bca from open university . i passed 12th science exam with pcb subjects and now i want to becom cid officer than what should i do?

13. 109
    kuldeepak mishra:

i have completed graduation[Bsc] with 46% marks. pls tell me what is illegibility criteria for CID.
    can i become cid officer through police. what is the procedure.

14. 108
    jyoti:

My name is jyoti and i am intersted in C.I.D. i am doing b.sc(hons)maths(2ndyear) from MIRANDA HOUSE. pLZ TELL ME HOW CAN I PREPARE FOR THIS POST.

15. 107
    Surya Kant Kumar:

I am surya kant kumar in ranchi. i am pass out of inter 2008.
    one subject are compartment to physics.in this time i in appering in BCA 6th SAM .i am join to CID.please help me.

16. 106
    swati tawade:

i want to join CID what can i do i completed BCS in 2010

17. 105
    biswanath samantaray:

sir i am of student of class-7. my aim is to be a cid inspector. can you give me some tips to be come a cid inspector. so,i should prepare my self for future. sir please please please send me tips on cidbiswa@gmai .com. i would be thankful to you.

18. 104
    kirtiraj:

sir,my name kirtiraj and intrested in C.I.D. I join this bt am in 1st yr in clg in mec. Engineering to sir kya me eng. Karne k bd C.I.D. K liye form bhar skta hu

19. 103
    Abhi:

I am complete my graduation bsc in microbiology.how to join in cbi or cid.

20. 102
    Gaurav Kumar Singh:

I am a B.tech Student from IT Branch & this is my last year.Sir,I am interested in the CID Officer.Sir,Can a B.tech student join this or not?
    Plz. Sir tell me about this.

21. 101
    venu:

sir. i completed my b.tech in computers science.. i want to join in cid. how can i join…

22. 100
    k.kamaltej:

sir I intrest the CID Officer. Plz sir tell me the cid informations

23. 99
    Rahul:

i am in syjc student and i want to know which exam is to be given to become an cid officer.

24. 98
    ankit goyal:

My question is ….

when time open/advertised the requirement of CID officers.?

sir when did the form of cid jobs distributed

Sir I interested for CID jobs,

Please send me any further more details about CID.

Thanking you,

Ankit kumar

25. 97
    shivam pandey:

i want to know that how to join cid

26. 96
    shivam pandey:

which training did i have to do for cid

27. 95
    Himanshu Shah:

Mujhe C.I.D. Joint Karna Hai Please Urgent Call Me On

Himanshu Shah

28. 94
    Rayyan sohail shaikh:

i want to know about how to join cid

29. 93
    harish:

Iam studying B.tech i wish to join in cid. i completed 10+2 with 80%. i wish to join as a conistable

30. 92
    Aarryann Shah:

I m 1st year b.com student. Nd wanna become CID agent/officer. I want to study of upsc’s wid my clg stdy. Coz m x stdnt. Plz tell me how can i get information about its subjects. I dn ve ny information. So plz hlp me smbuddy…
    Aarryann Shah
    8460759053/
    4m ahmedabad.

31. 91
    Vikram singh:

I have done 10+2 with P.C.B how many% to qualifying C.I.D

32. 90
    Mane Amol:

Dear sir/madam,

I want to know age limit for CID Officer / Sub Insepctor & How to Apply.

33. 89
    SAGAR BOSE:

SIR . my age is now 19yrs.after12 my age is 21. I also agreed very excitd for cid.

34. 88
    SAGAR BOSE:

Sir , may abhi class 11 me padi kar raha hu aur me arts leker padi kar raha hu.sir me 2 saal baad auga aur muje 12 me kitna % lana hai thanks sir me tv cidserial dekha hu

35. 87
    Aritra Banerjee:

i am a student of MCA..cant i apply for the post of CID officer?plz mail me back

36. 86
    Tausif khan:

sir,i am reading in 12 with p.c.m
    i want to become a cid officer
    sir please guide me

37. 85
    dipraj saha:

i am studing in b.sc 1st year.what do i have to do for become a cid ?

38. 84
    IMTIAZ SIDDIQUI:

RESPECTED SIR

I AM GRADUTE IN COMMERCE STUDYING IN SY BCOM
    WHAT IS PROCEDURE FOR JOIN IN CID WHAT RWE HAVE TO DO

39. 83
    deepak:

what is qualification of became constable in CID.any examination on plus two basic held in june 2011

40. 82
    janaralsingh:

i want to join c.i.d. so how can i fill up exam form

41. 81
    Nitesh Thapa:

what is the rapid way to gain idea to join CID.

42. 80
    Rajiv:

sir i am temporarily working as an CID agent in mirik but i dont have any experience can you please suggest how to gain idea for this work.

43. 79
    MATHEW KOSHY:

my son appearing in 12 th standered from commerse side. should he apply for cid office. please suggest.

44. 78
    Sunil Kumar:

can i join CID,My Qualification is 12 With PCM 59.2% Year 2005 in UP Bord of Allahabad ,Date of birth 08/06/1986 and Marred?

45. 77
    vikas chhapani:

How i join c i d officer..m a it student ..

46. 76
    Satish:

i am graduates student and i want to become C.I.D. officer please guide me!!!!!!!!!

47. 75
    prakash:

new recruitment news

48. 74
    DEEPAK ROHILLA:

HELLO I AM DEEPAK ROHILLA FROM ROHTAK
    MY QUALIFICATION IS THREE YEAR POLYTECHNIC DIPLOMA IN IT(INFO.TECH)
    SO TELL ME HOW I JOIN CID,CBI
    THANK YOU

49. 73
    Visheswer singh:

Sir i have diploma in air craft maintenence engineering , how i can joined cid or cbi . Please sir inform me.

50. 72
    Aditya Modi:

nice hi jobe of C.I.D. officer

51. 71
    shivam:

Sir ,I want to be a C.I.D. Officer. I have completed B.Sc. 2Years. What I do after Graduation. Kindly Tell me Please, Sir.

52. 70
    Naresh kashyap:

Naresh Kashyap
    sir,i am M.B.A (H.R) completed,i want to become a C.I.D Officer,i am preapred in exam and other full details send to my email id

53. 69
    nandhakumar:

hi my name is NANDHA KUMAR. sir i am diploma in mechanical engineering studying, after complete the course i want to became a C.I.D or C.B.I officer so how can do this plase tell me

54. 68
    thaya:

sir i am diploma in information technology completed,i want to became a cid or cbi officer how to preapred in exam and other full details send to my email id

55. 67

sir when did the form of cid jobs distributed

56. 66
    Sawan kalet:

I want to became a CID officer so how can do this plase tell me i m appairing in 12th std.

57. 65
    manish kumar jaiswal:

sir mai starting se c i c officer banana chaht hoon?plz sir mai kaise join ho sakta hoon muje bata dijiye

58. 64
    sandeep:

i am pursuing bsc(mathematics). am i elligible for cid exam

59. 63
    Manotosh Chatterjee:

I am a postgradguate in biotechnology? i want to do the work
    in your forensic lab? i know there is a course in forensic science
    .is there any possibilities to do the work in the lab for me?

60. 62
    sandeep:

sir/mdam im sandeep completed bpharmacy .
    i aspire to become cid officer so plz giv details call 9948544547

61. 61
    brij bhushan:

respected sir/madam

iam in b.tech final year studying computer science and engineering at hyderabad .. i want to become a cid officer .. sir tell the requirements …

62. 60
    sumit singh:

sir mera background commerce stream ka hai to kya mai eligible hu cbi mai enter hone k liye

63. 59
    himadri ranjandas:

i have no question

64. 58
    reddappa reddy:

i am completing my b.tech in one year.
    i am much interested in becoming an officer in investigation department so i would like to plan from now only
    so please suggest me a way to achieve my aim

hoping you will reply me

65. 57
    Shivam Singh:

Sir,I compleated B.Sc. 2Years. I want to be C.I.D. Officer. What Should I do

66. 56
    smita:

I have completed my post graduation in MBA HR, but i WANT TO BECOME A cid OFFICER.so please guide regarding Criteria, Qualification,age limit.Call me 9763226216

67. 55
    himanshu mishra:

respected sir/madam,
    i eagerly want to be a cid officer,so for the same i want to know the requirements and criteria.
    i have completed my 10th and 12th from cbse board scoring 73% and 64% respectively.i am doing B.Tech by mechanical eengineering.now i am going to complete my final year exam this year.my aggregate in the same is 65% till now.
    please guide me with the proper knowledge by mailing me or through sms on 08009888636

68. 54
    amit singh thakur:

i am student of criminology and forensic science.how to i am go to job of CBI,CID,CIB

69. 53
    Rama Krishna:

sir/madam,
    I want to know the full details to get into CID? like eligibility, exams, preparation syllabus, which kind of books to be prepared?

70. 52
    Sai gade:

I am studying in 12th std In art side.plz what will be do i became a cid officer.

71. 51
    santosh:

hello sir/madam i have very good interst in cid officer. iam passed in 12 th& bca 1st year.with good marks.

when time updates the cid officers vacancies so pls contact
    my profile

72. 50
    Rajeev Kushwaha:

Respected sir/madam I m Rajeev Kushwaha final year student of b.tech cse. my question is that is it necessary to have degree in in criminology to become a cid officer not constable only subinspector/inspector ?????.can i not apply with my b.tech degree pls pls pls pls pls pls pls pls……. kindly suggest me. thankingggggggggggg youuuuuuu !!!!!!!!!!!

73. 49
    Sagar sharad idaate:

Respected sir/ madam…..i am science graduate from chemistry….now i am persuing msc part 1 and i m very interested to join CID pls guide me…… Yours thankful - sagar sharad idate

74. 48
    shree:

Sir i want to be a detective or cid officer.i passed 12th. How can i get it plz inform me at [email protected]

75. 47
    rekha singh:

gud aftrnoon sir,

i am rekha,i had completed my 12th wid science stream.i would like to be a cid officer,so,please give full information about cid,and how can i apply for cid.what are the basic requirment of cid please let me no?????

76. 46
    Ankitmishra:

Physical requirment for cid

77. 45
    chetanshu vyas:

had passed the 12th standard with commerce stream
    & i would like to be a CID officer
    so, how can i apply for it.

78. 44
    PRAFULL:

I had passed the twelveth standard with science streamm with PCMB.
    & Iwould like to be a CID officer

79. 43
    AJAYKUMAR MORYA:

hello sir ,i am ajaykumar morya i interested in cid so, please give full information about cid my phone no 9920712597

80. 42
    IMTIAZ SIDDIQUI:

IMTIAZ SIDDIQUI

RESPECTED SIR
    I AM COMPELETED GRADUATION IN COMMERCE I WANT TO JOIN CID OFFICER AS SENIOR INSPECTOR HOW CAN I APPLY PLZ TELL ME WHICH IS RIGHT WAY

81. 41
    trupti Bramhawale:

hi i am trupti i complateded my graduated in B.sc.I want to become in CID officer how can apply and prepare me plz inform me which is right way

82. 40
    abhishek:

i had passed the twelveth standard with commerce streamm with maths
    & i would like to be a CID officer

83. 39
    DAVINDER SINGH:

Sir iam 12th pass arts…..my height 5ft6inch.can i join c.i.d

84. 38
    krishna bora:

Dear sir, My Name is krishna bora.I realy interestd cid .but dont now how join to tha cid brance.so kindly inforom my mobil no. M/N=9854152651 from Assam,Dist Golaghat

85. 37
    Pranav Nitsure:

Can I become a CID officer having a Commerce background?

86. 36
    Avijit Nandea:

I am avijit nanda from kharagpur in west bangal.sir I haved passed in H.S(12 class) & Vocatinal 10+2 lavel in 2010.
    now my age is 22 years.I am verry intersted to Study criminology.but i cant any collage in india,
    plz inform me

87. 35
    vineet:

koi hai ya u hi questions poochte rahe ans kaha hai plzzzzzzzzz
    anybody help me………………………………….

88. 34
    Vineet:

Mai 12 pass hoo aur bsc first year(maths group) ka student hoo mai CID join karna chahta hoo lekin mujhe kya karna ye kuch pata nahi hai. Maine bahut baar janne ki koshish ki lekin kuch pata nahi chala mere ghar mai bhi koi aisa nahi jo mujhe guide kar sake.mai kuch dino se bahut paresan hoo,sir plz meri help kard aur mujhe isse judi har jankari mujhe de…….
    My cell no 9532484709
    sir plz meri help kariye

89. 33
    Shwethakumari:

my name is shwetha. i am persuving my B.com 2nd year.
    i am interested to become a CID officer.
    please tell me the procedure to become a CID officer

90. 32
    Dolly shukla:

RESPECTED SIR,
    my self DOLLY SHUKLA, I M study in D.C.E(DIPLOMA IN COMPUTER ENG) it’s my dream to become a C>I>D officer plz guide me to full fill my dream

91. 31
    Bimal Kumar:

my name is bimal kumar so I want to cheak my ib result.

92. 30
    narinder:

i am narinder singh.i am appearing b.a. second year and one year computer course.i want to become the cip officer.pleace say your requarment become cid officer.my cell no:-9915372657

93. 29
    Soumya biswas:

Sir,i am studing b.e computer science and engineering .. I am in 1st year and wantted to be a cid officer.. It is my dream.. Please send me the question papers of last years in my email…..

94. 28
    HEMANTA KU NAYAK:

RESPECTED SIR,
    I AM HEMANTA WANTS TO JOIN CID BECAUSE OF MY FATHER WHO HIM SELF IS A POLICE MAN .SEING MY DARING PERSONALITY HE OFFERS ME TO JOIN CID.
    I HAVE NOW STUDY IN +3(BSC -BIOTECH). IT IS AFTER COMPLETING MY +2 SCIENCE . MY PROBLEM IS THAT I AM NOT ABLE TO KNOW WHEN THE EXAMINATION FORM COMES. CAN YOU PLEASE HELP ME TO TELL WHEN FORM PUBLISHED.
    MY CELL NO IS 9853987476

95. 27
    Ramchandra Nalkale:

I m DME (Diploma in Mech. Engg.) passed candiate from latur. I want to be come a CID officer. How can apply & prepare to self. plz request you guide me which is right way.

Thanks & Regards,
    Ramchandra Nalkale

96. 26
    tinkel chauhan:

i am tinkel chauhan.i am appearing in b.c.a 3rd year.after bca iam looking forward to join cid.
    I have an extreme aspire to become an CID officer.May i know when ur recruitment process will be commenced……
    tinkel chauhan

97. 25
    Partha:

Respected sir/madam, i have just compleated graduation(B.Sc). I want to join CID. What is the procedure to join CID? Is one must be done criminology course to join CID?

98. 24
    sagar kambli:

Dear Sir/Madam
    I am an Art graduate (Bachelor of Fine Art) from Mumbai University,currently i am working as a senior art supervisor in a renowned ad agency in mumbai. I am looking forward to join CID and hence seeking guidance regarding the same. I wish to understand the procedure and the way to go about it in detail.
    Kindly revert on [email protected].
    Awaiting response.

Sagar Kambli

99. 23
    varun:

My question is ….

Thanking you,

Varun Kuamr

100. 22
    moses swaroop:

This is swaroop, i complited my 12 th this year, and i”m very intreasted in CID… form my child hood, so i want to take an exam which will help me to become an officer of CDI. plz mail me if any, Thank u sir.

101. 21
    PRETTY:

SIR MAINE 12TH PASS KI HAI K.V.S HISSAR CANTT SEIWITH 43%MARKS SE .PER MUJHE CID MAI JANA CHATA HOON. MUJHE KAYA KARNA CHAIA.MERI AGE 22YRS HAI. HIGHT-165CMS.CHEST-60CMS
    PLS SIR WHAT CAN I SAY WHAT TO DO ?

102. 20
    dhirvir singh sisodiya:

I m a dhirvir singh sisodiya, i am a post graduate in feculaty of art (political sci), studing in udaipur.
    I m very interested to b a CID officer.
    My few que. is that
    1- ‘Is there a need of personality 2 b a CID officer’?
    2- I have an extreme aspire to become an CID officer.May i know when ur recruitment process will be commenced……
    3- when time open/advertised the requirement of CID officers.?
    4- is there any unversity or institute in rajasthan for
    cid tranning?
    5- HOW CAN I APPLY FOR ANY OFFICER POST IN CID?
    6- i have grudation and pursing my p.g. plz tell me about
    the procedure of CID exam & date ?
    7- The detail CID Officer exam application
    form,date,fee,age limit And much more ?
    I want some more information about CID

dhirvir singh sisodiya

103. 19
    dhirvir singh sisodiya:

I m a dhirvir singh sisodiya, i am a post graduate in feculaty of art (political sci), studing in udaipur.
    My few que. is that
    1- ‘Is there a need of personality 2 b a CID officer’?
    2- I have an extreme aspire to become an CID officer.May i know when ur recruitment process will be commenced……
    3- when time open/advertised the requirement of CID officers.?
    4- is there any unversity or institute in rajasthan for
    cid tranning?
    5- HOW CAN I APPLY FOR ANY OFFICER POST IN CID?
    6- i have grudation and pursing my p.g. plz tell me about
    the procedure of CID exam & date ?
    7- The detail CID Officer exam application
    form,date,fee,age limit And much more ?
    I want some more information about CID

dhirvir singh sisodiya
    rajasthan

104. 18
    Ameya Paralkar:

I m a student of 9th, studing in Somalwar high school.

My que. is that
    ‘Is there a need of personality 2 b a CID officer’?

I want some more information about CID.

Thanking u
    with regards
    Ameya.

105. 17
    Hari:

I have an extreme aspire to become an CID officer.May i know when ur recruitment process will be commenced……

106. 16
    Mukesh:

My question is ….

Thanking you,

Mukesh Kuamr

107. 15
    swapnil:

is there any unversity or institute in maharashtra for cid tranning?

108. 14
    prasad:

I’m student of 11th pcm and I want to know more about CID officer and requirements to become one can u please send me all information about it..??

109. 13
    Gajendra vyas:

I m Medical graduate as BHMS(homoeopathy) from DAVV indore mp.
    I want to going in crime department for challenges carrear.
    so send me full info about all exam qualifications which are help me.
    Thank’s
    Dr. Gajendra vyas
    Indore(mp)

110. 12
    MANISH:

I M APPEARING FOR 12 (PCM) THIS YEAR 2011 ,HOW CAN I APPLY FOR ANY OFFICER POST IN CID

111. 11
    Manoj:

i have completed b.pharma can i join cid .if yes than which post i will get and what wil be salary and where the office located.i am intrested in cid.
    Reply me complete detail on my email id.

112. 10
    SUKHBIR NEHRA:

hello sir/madam i have grudation plz tell me about the procedure of CID exam & date.

113. 9
    sabu:

The detail CID Officer exam application form,date,fee,age limit And much more please send my mail.

114. 8
    arun gupta:

i am doing mca, but i want become dba .Is sql is enough for that?????

115. 7
    NESHWA:

CAN
    COMMERCE STUDENT BE A CID OFFICER AND ELIGIBLITY RECURIE

116. 6
    Subho:

How possible join to the CID officer???? Please help me.

117. 5
    vijay:

how i get a form for cid officer post and which place in delhi is available or any website

118. 4
    vijay:

how i get a form for cid officer post

119. 3
    chandni MR:

i have written cds2 2010 on september 19 2010.
    i am doing last year Bsc with physics, maths, computer science.
    if i cannot submit my degree certificates on prescribed date, will my candidature be cancelled?
    waiting for an early reply for

120. 2
    gaurav:

hello my 12th class result is about 70%. Is im eligeable for CID exam?? And how we buy application form? And when was its last date?

121. 1
    HASHIM KHAN:

I AM THE STUDENT OF SCIENCE BACK GROUD AND COMPLETED MY GRADUATION IN BACHELOR OF PHARMACY AND CURRENTLY PURSUING MASTERS IN HEALTH MANGEMENT …….. SIR I WANT TO KNW THAT AM I ELIGIBLE FOR ANY OTHER HIERARCHY OTHER THAN CONSTABLE. PLEASE DO REPLY…….

Pages: « 3 2 [1] Show All