20th March 2018, 10:07 AM

Can I get admission to study B.Tech(Chemical Engineering) in IIT being a Diploma student? Procedure to get admission in IIT?

I'm studying in second year in the Chemical Engineering Diploma course. Can I take admission to B.Tech in Chemical Engineering in IIT? What is the process for taking admission to IIT?

31st March 2018, 11:16 AM
queen199
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Can I get admission to study B.Tech(Chemical Engineering) in IIT being a Diploma student? Procedure to get admission in IIT?

You are eligible to appear for JEE after completion of diploma course. Diploma passed candidates are eligible to get admission in IIT after qualifying in Main and Advanced stage of JEE.

Candidates are not eligible for lateral entry. JEE is conducted by CBSE and IIT.

Diploma holders are not eligible to get admission in NITs on the basis of Main examination score.
31st March 2018, 02:08 PM
TLSAAAA
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Can I get admission to study B.Tech(Chemical Engineering) in IIT being a Diploma student? Procedure to get admission in IIT?

IIT is Indian Institute of Technology and it is the premier institute of India for technical course.

The admission in the undergraduate course ( B.Tech ) is conducted after qualifying in JEE.

It is conducted by CBSE and IIT. Candidates passed 12th in Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics or diploma passed candidates are eligible to appear for JEE.

So, once you complete your diploma you are eligible to appear for JEE but have to qualify in both stages Main and Advanced for final admission in the course.
31st March 2018, 05:45 PM
sampathkumar29
Senior Member+++++

Yes, you can get admission for B.Tech chemical engineering in IIT after completing diploma. To get admission in IIT you need to attend & qualify the JEE exam in merit. The full details about eligibility are mentioned below.

Eligibility criteria: