20th October 2012, 11:59 AM
Bondkala kd

How to become an IAS officer after passing commerce?

I'm commerce student. After my b.com. I want to become ias officer. Can i become from commerce side.. Please give me answer sir.

21st October 2012, 09:45 AM

Default Re: How to become an IAS officer after passing commerce?

Originally Posted by Bondkala kd View Post
I'm commerce student. After my b.com. I want to become ias officer. Can i become from commerce side.. Please give me answer sir.

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service . IAS exam is conducted by UPSC through Civil Service Exam .

If you have completed graduation degree from any recognized university with any discipline are eligible for IAS exam.There is not require for any kind of percentage criteria .

You have completed B.Com degree so you are applicable for IAS exam .

Age limitation for IAS Exam:-

21 to 30 years for General category candidates
21to 33 year for OBC category candidates
21 to 35 years for SC/ST category candidates

The No of attempts of IAS Exam:-

4 attempts for General category candidates.
7 attempts for Obc category candidates
14 attempts for SC/ST category candidates.

Also you must have a citizenship in India.

The IAS selection process is consist in three way

1)Preliminary exam
2)Main exam
3)Inter View.

For more information about IAS Exam , you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in

23rd October 2012, 01:05 PM
Dharm27

Thumbs up Re: How to become an IAS officer after passing commerce?

>> A candidate must have completed their graduation Degree in any Discipline with at least 55% from recognized universities.....

>> Final year students are also applicable.....

>> General category student:- 21-30 years.

>> OBC relaxation in upper age +3 years.

>> SC/ST relaxation in upper age +5 years.

Attempt Limit:

General - max. 4

OBC - max. 7.

SC/ST - No limit.

Exam Pattern:

1. Preliminary Exam.
  2. Main Exam
  3. Interview

~~~!!~~!!~~!! Books for IAS Exam !!~~!!~~!!~~~

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UPSC Portal CSAT Comprehensive Manual: IAS Preliminary Examination 2013 (Paper - 2)
(Paperback)
by
Sachchida Nand Jha

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UPSC Portal CSAT General Studies Manual: IAS Preliminary Examination 2013 (Paper - 1)
(Paperback)
by
Jha

With Regards.......
Dharm
8th November 2012, 07:21 PM
amber1995

IAS or indian administrative services,
is considered the most difficult exams in india

but if you have full determination you can easily crack it

u need to atleast reach the age of 21 for appearing in ias and should have a degree from an certified collage

and there are also commerce subjects in these exams so just improve your general knowledge and read books...
6th January 2013, 07:41 AM

i am the student of b.com(h) and i am interested in ias exam but i am confused while selecting subjects for main exam so please suggest me the subjects for main exam which is suitable and easier for commerce student.. thank you
6th January 2013, 05:56 PM
Prerna.roy1

dear aspirant,
u can be an IAS officer because of having graduation degree....
it doesn't matter that u have passed graduation in which subject.....
u need to choose 2 optional paper for mains, and for CSAT, u will be asked, GS, APT.,REASONING AND ENG........
29th August 2013, 10:02 PM

What is the syllabus for the ias if I m a commerce student?
Is any game is required or not?
Any type of external coaching?, nd procedure of admision.
Please tell me. . . . . . .
29th August 2013, 10:53 PM
umang_28

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service , which is conducted by UPSC every year

Eligibility :

* A candidate must have completed their graduation Degree in any Discipline with atlest 55% from recognise universities.

* Final year students are also applicable.

Age Limit:

* General category student:- 21 to 30 years
* OBC category student:- 21 to 33 years
* SC/ST category student:- 21 to 35 years

No. Attempt:

* Maximum 4 attemts for General

* Maximum 7 attempts for OBC

* No limit for SC/ST

Exam Pattern:

* Preliminary Exam
* Main Exam
* Interview

Subjects

* Agriculture

* Animal Husbandry and Vetinary science

* Anthropology

* Botany

* Chemistry

* Civil engineering

* Commerce and accountancy

* Economics

* Electrical engineering

* Geography

* Geology

* History

* Law

* Mathematics

* Management

* Mechanical engineering

* Medical science

* Philosophy

* Physics

* Political science

* Psychology

* Public Administration

* Sociology

* Statistics

* Zoology

all the beast

umang_28
29th August 2013, 11:50 PM
SK@S

i am the student of b.com(h) and i am interested in ias exam but i am confused while selecting subjects for main exam so please suggest me the subjects for main exam which is suitable and easier for commerce student.. thank you
To become an IAS Officer you have to appear in the UPSC Civil Services Exams

UPSC Civil Services Exams are held in three stages:
Prelims
MAINS
Interview

UPSC MAINS SCHEME OF EXAMINATION:

This Mains exam will be of 1800 Marks and will have 7 papers

Paper one: 300 Marks
Section 1 Essay
Section 2 English Comprehension and English Precis (Matriculation or Xth standard level)

Paper Two 250 Marks
General Studies–I (Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society)

Paper Three 250 Marks
General Studies –II (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations)

Paper Four 250 Marks
General Studies –III (Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management)

Paper Five 250 Marks
General Studies –IV (Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude)

Paper Six 250 marks
Optional Subject – Paper 1

Paper Seven 250 marks
Optional Subject – Paper 2

List of optional subjects for Main Examination
Agriculture
Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science
Anthropology
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce and Accountancy
Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
Geology
History
Law
Management
Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science and International

Paper 1 to 5 is common for all candidates

You have to choose one optional subject and it will have two papers
You can choose commerce and accountancy
30th August 2013, 12:19 AM
maruthidevi

[
IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service . IAS exam is conducted by UPSC through Civil Service Exam .

If you have completed graduation degree from any recognized university with any discipline are eligible for IAS exam.There is not require for any kind of percentage criteria .

1)Preliminary exam
2)Main exam
3)Inter View.
30th August 2013, 12:24 AM
PK99310

hello friend

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service

. IAS exam is conducted by UPSC through Civil Service Exam .

If you have completed graduation degree from any recognized university with any discipline

There is not require for any kind of percentage criteria .

1)Preliminary exam
2)Main exam
3)Inter View.

For more information about IAS Exam
visit on

http://www.upsc.gov.in

30th August 2013, 12:29 AM
josh98

Hi friend.........

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service.

This exam conducted by Union Public Service Commission once in a year.

Nationality:

The candidate should be origin of India.

Educational Qualification:

The candidate should pass the Bachelor degree from recognized University with any stream.

Percentage not required for this exam.

Final year pursuing candidates are eligible for this exam.

Age limit:

Your age limit should be between 21 to 30 years.

Upper age relaxation is applicable as per govt rules.

3 years relaxation for OBC

5 years relaxation for SC\ST.

10 years relaxation for PH.

No of Attempts:

4 attempts for the General category.

7 attempts for the OBC category.

No limit of attempts for the SC\ST category.

Selection Process:

Preliminary Examination

Main Examination

Interview

All the best...........
30th August 2013, 06:13 AM
lvnareshsunrise

Even though you are pursuing B.Com course, you are eligible to become IAS Officer. As you mentioned, it is possible for you to become IAS officer from your commerce side itself.

Here is the complete procedure that you have to follow for that.

First you have to complete your Graduation in B.Com successfully without any backlogs.

Every year UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) is going to conduct Civil Services Exam once in a year.

The complete selection procedure will be
CSAT Exam (Civil Services Aptitude Test)
Civil Services Main Exam
Interview

CSAT Exam is the common entrance exam for the candidates to be placed in various civil services like
Indian Administrative Service
Indian Police Service
Indian Revenue Service
Indian Foreign Service etc.

As a part of preparation towards CSAT Exam, you have to prepare for the following subjects.
General English
General Awareness
Quantitative Aptitude

But in Main Exam, you the exam will be on the optional subject that you are going to choose.

As you are from Commerce background, any of the following optional subjects would be a good choice for you.
Commerce and Accounting
Management
Economics
Law

Choose the one in which you are having good subject knowledge.

Huge competition is there for this exam. So your preparation should be extraordinary to crack this exam.

Better to join in a coaching institute and start preparation. They will give the right kind of inputs for you to crack this exam.

Wish you all the best.
30th August 2013, 08:10 AM
sherleytwain

All you need is a graduation degree. It does not matter whether its Commerce, Arts of Science degree. All will be accepted by the Union Public Service Commission for the Civil Services Examination.

The selection for Indian Administrative Service is done through the Civil Services Examination. It is conducted on the yearly basis.

Civil Services Examination is one of the most difficult entrance exams to crack. There is simply too much competition. For merely 600+ seats over 10 Lakh candidates appear every year.

It would not be possible to apply for Civil Services Examination now in 2013. But you can appear for it next year. In the meantime you should prepare for it. You should prepare for 8 to 10 years to have good chance of clearing the Civil Services Examination.

The selection procedure starts with preliminary exam in May or June. Its a qualifying exam whose score will not be added to your final tally. There are 2 written tests in preliminary exam which you should clear to appear for Main examination.

Second stage is Main exam. Here 9 written tests are conducted. For Main examination you will have to select two optional subject. Please select the subjects that are related to your course. It would help you a lot.

IAS Eligibility

1. Nationality: Only Indian nationals are allowed.

2. Education: Minimum of graduation degree.

3. Marks: There is no marks requirement.

4. Age Limit: 21 years is minimum limit while 30 is upper age limit.

5. There is 3 years relaxation for OBC.

6. Five years is given to SC/ST.

7. No physical requirements for IAS.

Selection Procedure

1. Preliminary Examination

2. Main Examination

3. Personal Interview
30th August 2013, 08:52 AM
gabbarsingh111

IAS stands for INDIAN Administrative Service.

Union Public Service Commission conducting this exam every year once only.

Graduation from a recognised university.

Final year attempting applicants also eligible.

Percentage is not important.

Candidate should be a citizen of india.

Age details:

Minimum:-) 21 years

Maximum:-) 30years.

3 years relaxation for OBC category.

5 years relaxation for sc/st category.

Selection process:

Preliminary exam,

Mains exam,

Personal interview

Best of luck.:
30th August 2013, 08:59 AM

IAS - Indian Administrative Service and to become an IAS officer, one has to apply, appear and crack Civil Service Exam, conducted by UPSC once every year after gGraduation Degree.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National having either appear for the final Graduation Degree exam or pass in any stream from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate, can apply for IAS, Civil Service Exam.

So after passing Graduation in Commerce, you can apply for IAS, Civil Service Exam either through off line mode by obtaining Application Form from General Post Offices through out the country or through on line by down loading the same from official web site of UPSC i.e.http://www.upsconline.com

The selection is through three Phases:-

-CSAT - Civil Service Aptitude Test

-Civil Service Main Exam

-Personal Interview

For more information you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in
30th August 2013, 11:18 AM
aashisranjan784

Dear Friend

As you have mentioned that you want to become an IAS officer after completing your bachelor's degree in commerce .

Its good think and taking an early initiative for the desired goal is very necessary to become successful.

How to become IAS officer after passing bachelor's degree in commerce?

In order to become an IAS that is Indian Administrative Services officer ,you will have to clear the three different stages of Civil services examination.

First one is the preliminary exam called Civil services aptitude test .Second one is the Main examination and finally after clearing these two you will have to appear for the personal interview.

Some of the requirements for the Civil services exam are as below:

>>Bachelor's degree in any stream from a recognized university .Final year graduation candidates can also apply for the exam.

>>The age limit is 21-30 years for general candidates.

>>For OBC it is 21-33 years and for sc/st it is 21-35 years.

>>You must be an Indian citizen.

After satisfying all the given requirements you can apply for the exam at www.upsconline.nic.in.

For any more details about exam please visit www.upsc.gov.in

Hope the information helps you.If you have any more query you can leave your message here .We will reply you as soon as possible.

aashisranjan784
30th August 2013, 12:08 PM
sandeepsaini.saini522

Yes you are eligible to become IAS officer.

Any stream of candidates are eligible to apply .

UPSC every year conducts Civil Services Examination .

iAS exam is also called Civil Services Examination.

Civil Services Examination are held in two steps:

Preliminary exam

Mains ( Written + Interview) exam.

Civil Services Examination Notifications were published on UPSC official website or
Employment News paper.

Educational qualification :

Graduation Degree in any stream of a recognized university.

Or Final year candidates can also apply.

Age limit : the candidates must have attained 21 years and maximum age limit is 30 years.

Age relaxation is given to reserved category candidates.'

Obc 3 years
sc/st 5 years.

Number of attempts :

general 3 times
OBC 7 times
Sc/St no limit.

Thanks......................
30th August 2013, 12:40 PM

Commerce Graduates are surely eligible to apply for IAS examination. There is clearly written in the notification by UPSC that any Graduate can apply for it. Hence don't worry and concentrate on your preparation for the examination.

Also you have to fulfill other criteria other than Graduation like age and nationality. You should be an Indian citizen then only you can apply for this exam.

Age must be between 21 to 30 years and if you are from a reserved category then you can avail age relaxation as per the government rules.

Selection Procedure:

-Preliminary Exam

-Mains Exam

-Interview

The selection is based on merit and you have to be really well prepared for the above stages. The cut off marks are usually high nowadays due to high competition and less number of seats.

So get your preparation up to the mark if you want to become an IAS officer.
30th August 2013, 04:47 PM
ankit80

Well friend ias exam is conducted every year by upsc for the recruitment in indian administrative service.as you are a commerce graduate then you can apply.
ELIGIBILITY DETAILS FOR IAS EXAM:
<>you must have a graduation degree from any recognised university.
<>age limit for the exam is 21 to 30 years.age relaxation of 3 years to obc and that of 5 years to sc/st is given.thank you
30th August 2013, 06:01 PM
eduforall

You can apply for IAS officer exam after B.Com. The subjects you choose for graduation does not matter in IAS exam. It only needs graduation. SO, you can do it from any discipline.

IAS exams are conducted by UPSC every year.

These exams are said to be the toughest to crack and need heavy preparation.

Eligibility for IAS exam ~~

You should be an Indian National.

You should hold a bachelor's degree from a recognised university.

There is no percentage criteria and no specific subject criteria.

Minimum age required is 21 years and maximum age required is 30 years.

For OBC category the upper age is 33 years and for SC/ ST category the upper age is 35 years.

Stages of exam ~~

IAS exam is conducted in three stages --

preliminary exam

Main exam

Interview

Preliminary exam is also known as CSAT. It is of qualifying nature and is objective type.

Main exam is essay type and there are nine papers of specific subjects.

Visit www.upsc.gov.in
30th August 2013, 07:39 PM
nishi513

HI FRIEND
## IAS(Indian Administrative Services) examination is conducted by UPSC to recruit the candidates
## Graduation is the minimum educational qualification required to apply for IAS examination
## Age limit to apply for IAS examination is 21-30 years and the age relaxations are
->3 years relaxation for OBC candidates
->5 years relaxation for SC/ST candidates
## The number of attempts are
~>4 for general category candidates
~>7 for OBC candidates
~>no limit for SC/ST candidates
## The selection process of IAS exam is
->written test(preliminary & mains examinations)
->personal interview
## So,you can apply for IAS examination after the completion of your B.COM degree
## For further details please visit www.upsc.gov.in

** ALL THE BEST **
30th August 2013, 08:09 PM

Hai friend

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Services.The IAS exam will be
conducted by UPSC every year through Civil Services Exam .

If you have completed graduation
degree from any recognized
university with any discipline then you are eligible to appear for the IAS exam.There is no percentage criteria required to appear for the IAS exam.

**Age limitation for IAS Exam:-
21 to 30 years for General category
candidates
21to 33 year for OBC category
candidates
21 to 35 years for SC/ST category
candidates

**No of attempts of IAS Exam:-
4 attempts for General category
candidates.
7 attempts for Obc category
candidates
14 attempts for SC/ST category
candidates.

**You must have a citizenship in
India.

The IAS selection process will he held in three levels :
1)Preliminary exam
2)Main exam
3)Inter View.

All The Best
30th August 2013, 11:19 PM
tash1907

Hi Friend...............

Yes, you are eligible for IAS with your Commerce graduation

IAS aspirants, first crack for Civil Examination which is conducted by Union Public Service commission in yearly ones...............

Civil Examination is conducted by Union Public Service Commission in yearly ones

for this Civil Examination some eligibility criteria

Eligibility Criteria for Civil Examination

Educational Qualification

>> Candidates have a bachelor of degree in any stream from any recognized university,

>> Final year students also eligible for this examination

>> There is no percentage required for this examination

Age Limit

>> Candidates age should between 21 years to 30 years for general candidates

5 years relaxation for SC/ST candidates

3 years relaxation for OBC candidates

Nationality

>> Candidates should be a citizen of India

Selection Procedure

** Preliminary Examination

** Mains Examination

** Interview Test

No.of Attempts

>> Maximum 7 attempts for general candidates

>> Maximum 4 attempts for OBC Candidates
31st August 2013, 02:24 AM
Aria40

Nice to see your interest in the civil service examination. IAS is stand for Indian Administrative Service and it come under civil services examination. The civil services examination is conducted by the UPSC in every year. If you are interested in the IAS field then to appear in the IAS examination you need the following eligibility criteria.

Eligibility Criteria for the Civil Services examination.
--> Pass graduation is any stream from a recognize University. Final year graduation candidates can also appear in the IAS examination.
--> The age must be between 21 to 30 years at the time of examination. The upper age relaxation is also applicable for the reservation category candiadtes.

These are the basic eligibility criteria for the IAS examination. If you satisfy the above eligibility criteria then you are eligible to apply for the IAS entrance examination. There are no limit percentage required in graduation. Only pass the graduation degree is enough to appear in the IAS entrance examination.

For details and complete information regarding the IAS entrance examination please visit the official website of the UPSC :~ http://www.upsc.gov.in
31st August 2013, 05:26 AM
sohangoriya

Dear friend for apply IAS exam the minimum Education qualification is Graduation degree in any stream from a recognized University.

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service.

IAS exam is conducted by UPSC under Civil Services exam in every year.

Eligibility criteria for IAS Exam:-

Candidate should be an Indian citizen.

Candidate should be completed Graduation degree in any stream from a recognized University.

Age should be between 21 years to 30 years for General category candidates.

Age relaxation for OBC category candidates 3 years

And SC/ST category candidates 5 years.

Number of Attempts:-

General category candidates - 4 time

OBC category Candidates - 7 time

SC/ST category candidates - No limit.

Selection procedure :-

- Preliminary entrance exam

- Main entrance exam

- Interview

All the best......
31st August 2013, 11:04 PM
anshu85277

IAS STANDS for Indian administrative services, its exam is conducted under civil services by upsc every year,

along with ias upsc conducts exam for:

Indian police service

Indian forest service

eligibility for ias :

must be a citizen of India

must have completed graduation from a recognized university

final year students can also apply

no marks requirement in graduation

age limit :

minimum age limit is 21 years

maximum age limit is 30 years

3 year relaxation for obc candidates

5 year relaxation for sc/st students

selection procedure :

prelims

mains

interview

as you are a graduate you are eligible for ias exam

31st August 2013, 11:12 PM
anshu85277

IAS STANDS for Indian administrative services, its exam is conducted under civil services by upsc every year,

along with ias upsc conducts exam for:

Indian police service

Indian forest service

eligibility for ias :

must be a citizen of India

must have completed graduation from a recognized university

final year students can also apply

no marks requirement in graduation

age limit :

minimum age limit is 21 years

maximum age limit is 30 years

3 year relaxation for obc candidates

5 year relaxation for sc/st students

selection procedure :

prelims

mains

interview

as you are a graduate you are eligible for ias exam

29th November 2013, 07:05 PM

Please suggest books for paper II of commerce and accountancy