15th August 2010, 10:56 AM
Shashwat Vardhana

NDA Eligibility based on my eyesight, height and health

I am studying in Class X. I want to choose carrier with NDA . My height is 5feet 6 inches. and have a sound health. I have eyesight of -1.5 and -3.0 with a vision of 6/6 in both the eyes. Please advise me whether I am eligible to choose the carrier with NDA after passing my XII exam.

15th August 2010, 11:51 AM

Default Re: NDA Eligibility based on my eyesight, height and health

Everything is fine with you but the spectacles may cause problem. You should have clear vision without glasses. But this is curable. You can have a laser operation for it after you qualify the written test. The operation cost is around 50 grands but it may vary.
Kindly refer a good eye hospital. You will get complete details over there.
15th August 2010, 12:10 PM
kool

Your height & eye sight is enough for the NDA.
Your age must be between 16(1/2) to 19 years at the time of appearing in NDA exam.

for other eligibility criteria & other information regarding exmas kindly visit:
www.upsc.gov.in

15th August 2010, 12:24 PM
kool

Thumbs up Re: NDA Eligibility based on my eyesight, height and health

Your age must be between 16(1/2) to 19 years at the time of appearing in NDA exam.

for other eligibility criteria & other information regarding exmas kindly visit:
www.upsc.gov.in

15th August 2010, 01:10 PM
ravi k

dear frnd,

the minimum qualification is 12th pass with PCM.

for NDA height should be around 5 foot 8 inch.

eyeshight should be 6/6.

your health should be sound.

15th August 2010, 02:06 PM
Sushant Roy

Please check your weight from the table given below:
Height/Weight Standards for Army/Air Force
Table-I
Height in Cms. (Without shoes) Weight in Kgs.
16-17 years 17-18 years 18-19 years
152 42.5 44 45
155 43.5 45.5 47
157 45 47 48
160 46.5 48 19
162 48 50 51
165 50 52 53
167 51 53 54
170 52.5 55 56
173 54.5 57 58
175 56 59 60
178 58 61 62
180 60 63 64.5
183 62.5 65 66.5

Its ok that your eyeside is 6/6 but you try not to exceed the lens no.
15th August 2010, 02:49 PM
parhitoshika

for the preparation of nda exam a very hard labour , dedication , devotion and concenteration is required.
your bmi mass index should be normal.
eye sight should be 6/6 to 6/10
15th August 2010, 04:05 PM
love_star

Location: 128/939 Y Block, Kidwai Nagar, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh

Your eligibility is stuck on your eyes. Those numbers are your spectacles one and then 6/6 eyesight. They want it without glasses. Yet you can go for lasik laser eye treatment and you will be eligible.
15th August 2010, 06:40 PM
rimi das

I am studying in Class X. I want to choose carrier with NDA . My height is 5feet 6 inches. and have a sound health. I have eyesight of -1.5 and -3.0 with a vision of 6/6 in both the eyes. Please advise me whether I am eligible to choose the carrier with NDA after passing my XII exam.
16th August 2010, 05:09 PM
hsakapandit

Location: Vill. and Post Office Katrain, Near Shiv Temple, Distt. and Teh. Kullu (Himachal Pradesh) India

You are not sure about your physically Fitness now coz you are in 10th. After 12th you should ask this question. And Yes! You can take admission in NDA By this criteria .
8th September 2010, 09:26 AM

i have a eye problem my eye sight is -1.5 and -2 can i eligible for nda exam . what r there requirments and can u give me information of good eye hospital in India
28th September 2010, 07:42 AM

i am in class 10 . my height is around 5 10" and weight 90 kg..eyes 6/6 ....am i aligible ???
30th September 2010, 01:10 AM
NITIN2

Thumbs up Re: NDA Eligibility based on my eyesight, height and health

According to best of my knowledge you are eligible for NDA exam.You have no any physical problem as you have mentioned in your question.There are also some physical cafeteria that are as follows:

1.no knocking knee

2.no wax in ear

3. no flat foot

4. no locking tongue

if you full fill above criteria then you can choose NDA for your career .

17th October 2010, 09:14 PM

hi i am an student of 12 class i want to apply for nda but my height is 5.2 ft so plz send me some suggestion and tell me some posts in which i can apply
26th October 2010, 02:22 PM

what weight should we have to carry for entrenc?
30th October 2010, 11:19 AM

NDA Eligibility is given below

1.eyesight 6/6.

2.height minimum 162 c.m.

3.age limit 16.5-19.

all the best............
31st October 2010, 02:31 AM
bikenindia

Originally Posted by Shashwat Vardhana View Post
You ll be eligible for NDA. If you want to go for army, it is perfect.
If you want to go for Air force, then maintain your eye sight because you need to be 6/6 for both eyes for air force.

Keep going and dont give up.

31st October 2010, 02:36 AM
bikenindia

i am in class 10 . my height is around 5 10" and weight 90 kg..eyes 6/6 ....am i aligible ???
Hi friend,
Yes you will be surely eligible. but i want you to work out and check your weight, i guess its overweight.
otherwise maintain your eyesight if you want to go for air force.

1st November 2010, 09:47 AM
Bebith

basic eye sight for NDa exam is 5/6 for general category and 4/6 for sc,st.......minimum preferable height is 162c.m you can better to go through the website...www.upsc.gov.in
1st November 2010, 11:24 AM
swapna.chhatria

my name is swapna
now i am 23 old year,i want to join cbi, or any defence line,lack up proper guidence i cant ,how can i join ,please tel me proper path how can i do this,as soon as posiple i will prepair,
1st November 2010, 02:17 PM

here i am providing information for NDA. please check it out.

Tentative Vacancies Per Course-
300 (Twice a year)
Army - 195
Air Force - 66
Navy - 39

Notify in Employment News and leading Daily news Paper-
Mar and Oct Notified by UPSC

Eligibility Criteria-
Age between
16 ½ to 19 yrs as of first day of the month in which course is due to commence

Qualification-
12th Class of 10+2 System of Education/Equivalent for Army and with Physics and Maths for AF/Navy

Marital Status-
Un Married

Application to be Received by-
As per UPSC notification

Likely SSB Date-
Sep to Oct and Jan to Apr

Date Commencement of Trg-
Jan and Jul

Training Academy-
NDA , Khadakwasla, Pune

Duration of Trg-
3 Yrs at NDA and 1 Yrs at IMA(For Army cadets)/
3 Yrs at NDA and 1 Yrs at Naval Academy( for Naval cadets)/
3 Yrs at NDA and 1 & 1/2 Yrs at AFA Hyderabad (For AF cadets)

also there will be some round of medical test to take you into NDA.

best wishes.
1st November 2010, 03:22 PM

hie friend,

According to my knowledge you can get through it if you could clear your eye problem.

You need not worry about it,as we`ve many new technologies to cure this.

Basic degree to get ino NDA is 2.

All the Best!!
1st November 2010, 04:22 PM
Subham Mazumdar

Every thing is right on .........But the eye sight may create problem..............In this website:- www.upsc.gov.in
You can find the all eligibility..............about everything required in...........N.D.A.

Best of Luck for your future...................
1st November 2010, 06:38 PM
nanajisachin123

Hai ............ don't worry i think u will be eligible........ just see the notification and decide ur self........National Defence Academy (NDA) Entrance Examination : Eligibility

National Defence Academy Entrance Examination

(a) Nationality :

A candidate must either be :

i) a citizen of India, or
ii) a subject of Bhutan, or
iii) a subject of Nepal, or
iv) a Tibetan refugee who came over to India with the intention of permanently settling in India, or
v) a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka and East African Countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire and Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.

Provided that a candidate belonging to categories (ii), (iii), (iv) and (v) above shall be a person in whose favour a certificate of eligibility has been issued by the Government of India.
Certificate of eligibility will not, however, be necessary in the case of candidates who are Gorkha subjects of Nepal.

(b) Age Limits, Sex and Marital Status :

A candidate must be an unmarried male and have attained the age of 16 1/2 years and must not have attained the age 19 years on the 1st January or 1st of July of the year succeeding the year of examination.
Candidates must not marry until they complete their full training. A candidate who marries subsequent to the date of his application, though successful will not be selected for training.
A candidate who marries during training shall be discharged and will be liable to refund all expenditure incurred on him by the Government.

(c) Educational Qualifications :

For Army wing of National Defence Academy :- 12th Class pass of the 10+2 pattern of School Education or equivalent examination conducted by a State Education Board or a University.
For Air Force and Naval Wings of National Defence Academy and for the 10+2 (Executive Branch) Course at the Naval Academy :- 12th Class pass of the 10+2 pattern of School Education or equilvalent with Physics and Mathematics conducted by a State Education Board or a University.

Candidates who are appearing in the 12th Class under the 10+2 pattern of School Education or equivalent examination can also apply.

(d) Physical Standards : Candidates must be physically fit according to physical standards for admission to National Defence Academy and Naval Academy Examination as per guidelines given :

Candidates are advised to rectify minor defects/ailments in order to speed up finalisation of medical examination conducted at the Military Hospital after being recommended at the SSB. The undermentioned ailments are considered, common minor ailments :

Wax (Ears), Deviated Nasal Septum, Hydrocele/Phimosis, Overweight/Underweight, Under sized Chest, Piles, Gynaecomastia, Tonsillitis, Varicocele

A candidate recommended by the Services Selection Board will undergo a medical examination by a Board of Service Medical Officers. Only those candidates will be admitted to the academy who are declared fit by the Medical Board. The proceedings of the Medical Board are confidential and will not be divulged to anyone. However the candidates declared unfit will be intimated by the President of the Medical Board and the procedure for request for an Appeal Medical Board will also be intimated to the candidate.

Candidates declared unfit during Appeal Medical Board will be intimated about the provision of Review Medical Board.

(a) The candidate must be in good physical and mental health and free from any disease/disability which is likely in interfere with the efficient performance of military duties.

(b) There should be no evidence of weak constitution, bodily defects or under weight. The candidate should not be overweight or obese.

(c) The minimum acceptable height is 157.5 cms. (162.5 cms for Air Force) F

Height and weight standards are given below :
Height/Weight Standards for Army/Air Force
Table-I
16-17 years 17-18 years 18-19 years
152 42.5 44 45
155 43.5 45.5 47
157 45 47 48
160 46.5 48 19
162 48 50 51
165 50 52 53
167 51 53 54
170 52.5 55 56
173 54.5 57 58
175 56 59 60
178 58 61 62
180 60 63 64.5
183 62.5 65 66.5

Height/Weight Standards for Navy
Table-II
16 years 18 years 20 years
152 44 45 46
155 45 46 47
157 46 47 49
160 47 48 50
162 48 50 52
165 50 52 53
167 52 53 55
170 53 55 57
173 55 57 59
175 57 59 61
178 59 61 62
180 61 63 64
183 63 65 67

A � 10% (A � 6 Kg for Navy) departure from the average weight given in the table 1 above is to be considered within normal limit. However, in individuals with heavy bones and broad build as well as individuals with thin but otherwise healthy this may be relaxed to some extent on merit.

Note 1 : Height relaxable upto 2.5 cm (5 cm. for Navy) may be allowed where the Medical Board certifies that the candidate is likely to grow and come up to the required standard on completion of his training.

Note 2 : To meet special requirement as a pilot in the Air Force the acceptable measurements of leg length, thigh length and sitting height will be as under :–
Minimum Maximum
Leg Length 99.00cms. 120.00 cms.
Thigh Length – 64.00 cms.
Sitting Height 81.50cms. 96. 00 cms.

Related Competitive Exams
» Special Class Railway Apprentices Examination
» Section Officers/ Stenographers Departmental Competitive Examination
» Indian Forest Service Examination
More...

On account of lower age of NDA candidates, a margin of upto 5.0 cm. in height, 2.5 cm. in leg length (minimum) and 1.0 cm. sitting height (minimum) may be given provided it is certified by the Medical Board that the candidate is likely to grow and come upto the required standard on completion of his training in NDA.

Chest should be well developed. Fully expanded chest should not be less than 81 cms. The minimum range of expansion after full inspiration should be 5 cms. The measurement will be taken with a tape so adjusted that its lower edge should touch the nipple in front and the upper part of the tape should touch the lower angle of the shoulder blades behind. X-Ray of the chest is compulsory and will be taken to rule out any disease of the chest.

There should be no disease of bones and joints of the body. X-ray of spine of candidates will not be carried out as a routine except for Air Force. It will, however, be done on the advice of surgical specialist wherever clinically indicated. Minor congenital defects which are not likely to interfere in the performance of military duties may be acceptable on merit.
26th November 2010, 03:45 PM

gud mrng sir,My self govind mishra.I am able to pass in all catagory BUT my ht is 155 c.%u21B2am i eligible.
10th December 2010, 11:26 AM

I am Sankar,I have passed 12th class,I am 17 aged guy,I want start my career with NDA,my height is 5.7 inches and weight is 59 kg.my little finger is half bent because when was I play cricket ,the ball hit the little finger very strongly.so it's like that .is there any problem with this little finger?Is am I elligible to NDA ?
10th December 2010, 11:51 PM
asahu47

NDA Eligibility based on eyesight, height and health

www.upsc.gov.in

11th December 2010, 12:13 AM
kvrob139

Your little will come under physical discrepancy. So the selecting officer may make a concern out of it. So it may be a problem for you. You can but try your chance once to get it clear if you are really unfit according to their physical standards.
12th December 2010, 06:08 PM

Hi,i am sachin kumar . Please tell me how to prepare for ssb interview
16th December 2010, 08:48 AM

my eye sight is 0.75 wheather i am elligible to join NDA(army cadet),height-165,weight-67,chest-90
22nd December 2010, 11:57 PM

sir iam in 11 of 162 cm height and 97cm leg can i qualify
12th January 2011, 02:48 PM

I have an extreamly mild deviated nasal septum.it does not hinder my breathing .am i eligible for the indian air force flying branch via nda?
1st February 2011, 01:11 PM

hai iam kiran kumar and i was born in 17/09/1992.i can eligible for nda?
7th February 2011, 07:54 PM

is lens wearing person is eligible for an officer.
9th February 2011, 08:10 PM
Sachin Narayan

Eliigbility criteria for NDA:

1. AGE- 16 1/2 to 19 years on the 1st January or 1st of July of the year succeeding the year of examination.

2. NATIONALITY-INDIAN.

3. EDUCATIONAL QUALIFICATION- 10+2 with compulsory maths and physics.

4. PHYSICAL STANDARD-
a. The candidate must be in good physical and mental health and free from any disease/disability
b. The minimum acceptable height is 157.5 cms. (162.5 cms for Air Force) Flying branch.
c. Candidate should be able to read 6/6 in a distant vision chart with each eye without glasses.
15th February 2011, 06:29 PM

I AM READ IN CLASS 11 AND MY HEIGHT IS 150CM.CAN I JOIN NDA AFTER 12.
25th February 2011, 04:13 PM

i m in class 10th my height is 5'8 n my eye sight for left is 6/6 bt right have -0.5 can i opt for Army
24th March 2011, 02:03 PM

hello everyone, My name is Aman, I study in class 10th, my eyesight is normal and I don't have spectacles. My height is around 165-167 cms and my weight is around 75-78 kgs. am I eligible for an entrance in NDA ? If not, please tell me that what should I do to get selected.
29th March 2011, 12:36 PM

my name is girish
what the marks %age in 12th to apeare in nda exam
8th April 2011, 09:24 PM

I am study in class 11th and my height is 164cm and my weight is 55kg and my eyesight is normal can i join a merchant navy after 12th
19th April 2011, 09:37 PM

hiii i am ayush in 10th std.
is NDA available to do from hummanties or commerces id required
20th April 2011, 01:19 AM
melwynjensen

Smile Re: NDA Eligibility based on my eyesight, height and health

my name is girish
what the marks %age in 12th to apeare in nda exam
ELIGIBILITY FOR NDA EXAM

-> The candidate must have a pass grade in 12th grade... So there is no separate % marks is needed just the pass mark...

-> The certification must be from a recognized board or university...

-> The candidate must be above 16 1/2 years and below 19 years as on January 2011

-> Scholarships are also available for the candidates depending upon their need.

-> The NDA exam for 2011 is scheduled on December 30 th ( Tentative )
20th April 2011, 01:26 AM
ashok880

Eligibility for NDA exam:

Eye sight:

Eye sight should be 6/6

Height:

Minimum height required is 157cm

Weight:

Weight should be equal to height

Chest:

Expansion of chest should be 5cm
20th April 2011, 01:30 AM
ashok880

Eligibility criteria for NDA exam:

Eye sight:

Eye sight should be 6/6

Height:

Minimum height is required is 157cm

Weight:

Weight should equal to height
20th April 2011, 06:12 AM
AYUSH KUMAR YADAV

A cadidate age must be between
Eligibility Criteria-
Age between 16 ½ to 19 years.Candidate must passed 12th with maths,physics & he should be unmarried.
22nd April 2011, 10:56 PM
tallestfinder

i am in 12th class
my height is 6' 2" and weight is 75 kgs
my eyesight is -0.75 in both eyes

can i apply for NDA?
24th April 2011, 01:58 PM

sir,i have tooth decay in my two tooth.i am eligible for nda or not.
1st May 2011, 06:18 PM
Hakhun

Cool Re: NDA Eligibility based on my eyesight, height and health

Originally Posted by tallestfinder View Post
i am in 12th class
my height is 6' 2" and weight is 75 kgs
my eyesight is -0.75 in both eyes

can i apply for NDA?
To get selected in NDA your height and weight should be mathed, for eg, if your height is 162cm then your weight should be precisely 50kgs. your height and weight is good. And your eyesight is also up to the mark but don't allow your eyesight to go farther.
2nd May 2011, 12:14 AM

sir i am studying in class 12 and dream to become pilot and fly sukhoi and tejas but i have knock knees and how can i cure it? And is there restriction for having bad teeth?
25th May 2011, 05:19 PM

MY EYESIGHT IS 5.0 AM I ELIGIBLE FOR NDA OR NOT................. PLZZZZZZZ REPLY IMMEDIATELY :)