18th September 2010, 03:58 AM
asmita13

NET eligibility for CA? Is CA considered equivalent to a masters degree?

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

I am a Chartered accountant by profession (have also doen B. Com and LLB) wanting to plunge into education sector. Wanted to know if CA is considered to be equivalent to Master's degree and if I am eligible to appear for NET.

Regards

18th September 2010, 05:49 PM
Mathur.

Default Re: NET eligibility for CA? Is CA considered equivalent to a masters degree?

CA is not considered equivalent to masters degree.

Regarding the eligibility of NET exam candidates who have even secured 54.99% marks or below in Master's Degree or equivalent Examination are not eligible for this Test.
18th September 2010, 06:37 PM
Mrs_Praveen_Gola
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: NET eligibility for CA? Is CA considered equivalent to a masters degree?

no, my dear C.A and master degree are both the two different subjects. so to appear for NET you must have a P.G degree with you.
18th September 2010, 07:43 PM
nuzhat fathima

hi,
For giving UGC NET u have to master Degree. You can choose any subject from your master degree.UGC NET consists of three papers
1) General studies (50 objective questions)
2) Your optional paper (50 objective questions)
3) Your optional paper (Subjective questions)

Second paper will check only after qualifying the first paper and third paper will checked after qualifying the second paper. so qualifying first and second paper is must

The following ruling was passed some time back giving Pakistani CA and ACMA qualifications Masters status:

"1ST MEETING OF THE EQUIVALENCE & ACCREDITATION COMMITTEE HELD ON 5TH & 18TH APRIL, 2003 AT HIGHER EDUCATION COMMISSION, ISLAMABAD

Item No. 12 Equivalence of Chartered Accountants Examination Certificate with a Master’s degree
-----------------------------------------