15th April 2010, 04:17 PM
S.Navaneeth

Procedure to join genetic engineering?

please help me in studying genetic engineering since i have no guide.

1. How to join in genetic engineering branch in Andhra Pradesh colleges? Procedure to join in the college?
  2. Procedure to join genetic engineering?
  3. How to join genetic engineering after completing 12th?
  4. How to become a genetic engineer? Procedure to apply in colleges to do genetic engineering
  5. Procedure and eligibility criteria for genetic engineering?
  6. Procedure for doing Genetic Engineering after 12th? Which are the colleges offering the course? Minimum qualification required and the fee structure?
  7. Can I join genetic engineering after taking BIPC in 12th?
  8. Genetic Engineering after 12th? Fee structure, scope, duration and procedure? -- [Most Discussed]
  9. How can I join Genetic engineering after HSC? -- [New]
  10. Can I join genetic engineering without B.Tech?
  11. Can I join Genetic Engineering after 12th without having Maths in 11th? Which colleges in India offer Genetic Engineering course?
  12. Percentage needed to apply for MSc Genetic Engineering? What is the procedure?
  13. Procedure to get admission for Genetic Engineering course after completion of 12th Class with 97% of marks?
  14. Is it possible to join Genetic Engineering after doing PCM subjects?
  15. Career options in Genetic Engineering? Can we get a good package in this field? Can I do it after 12th? What is the procedure for it?
  16. Procedure to get admission for Genetic Engineering after completion of B.Sc in Biotechnology?
  17. Cut off marks required to get admission on merit basis in any good Genetic Engineering college?
  18. Which are the colleges offering genetic engineering in Maharashtra? Marks required to apply for genetic engineering? Which are the other competitive exams for genetic engineering?
16th April 2010, 05:28 PM

Default Re: Procedure to join genetic engineering?

Guidance for Genetic Engineering

What is Genetic Engineering?

In short,Genetic engineering is a laboratory based technique or technology used by scientists/engineers to change the DNA of living organisms etc.

Course for Study.

B.tech (Genetic Engineering).

M.tech (Genetic Engineering).

P.hd (Genetic Engineering).

B.sc/M.sc and P.hd (Genetics).

Procedure to join the courses.

For B.tech: class 12 passed with mathematics,chemistry and biology or (PCB) with at least 55% aggregate (also depends upon institute,some demand higher).Candidates with B.sc (Biology or genetics) are also eligible for it.

For M.tech: Candidates with B.tech (Biotechnology/Genetics/Nanotechnology/Biomedical engineering) M.sc (Biology or genetics or biotechnology) are also eligible for it.

Institute Watch

IIT-M
IIT-khg
IIT-B
IIT-D
IIT-R
IISC,Banglore.
JNU.
Amity university.
ETC.

Career Scope

Career in this field is promissing one. A fresher with B.tech can get anythink between 8,000-20,000 per month.After acquiring some experiance say 5 year you can demand anything between 3-5 lacs per annum.

Best of Luck
16th April 2010, 10:02 PM

meaning of genetic engineering-

Genetic engineering is the altering of the genetic material of living cells in order to make them capable of producing new substances or performing new functions. When the genetic material within the living cells, i.e. genes are working properly, the human body can develop and function smoothly..........

eligiblity-

after passing 12th exams with biology, chemistry and mathematics, you can do
genetic engineering course. after completing this course you can get jobs in medical, pharmaceutical industries or in agricultural sector........

ok
16th April 2010, 10:38 PM

Genetic engineering, recombinant DNA technology, genetic
modification/manipulation (GM), and gene splicing are terms that apply
to the direct manipulation of an organism's genes.

The basic eligibility criteria for a graduate degree (BE / B.Tech)
is 10+2 or equivalent examination, with Biology, Chemistry and
Mathematics as well as genetics as part of the biology
OR a bachelors degree in science or molecular biology.

Most institutes do not offer courses in Genetic Engineering
as a special discipline but as a subsidiary in biotechnology,
microbiology, biochemistry streams. Undergraduate and postgraduate
courses in
Biotechnology offer specialisation in genetic engineering.

Selection to the graduate courses ( BE / B.Tech ) is based on merit
i.e the marks secured in the final exams of 10+2 and through entrance
exams. Entrance to the IIT's is through JEE (Joint Entrance Exam) and
for other institutions through their own separate entrance exams and
other state level and national level exams. Apart from the IIT's, some
other famous institutes also recognize JEE scores for selection. Selection
to the postgraduate courses ( M.Sc / M.Tech) in different universities is
through an All India Combined Entrance exam conducted by JNU, New Delhi
and to IIT's through GATE in Two year/ 4 semester M.Tech courses and
through JEE in five year integrated M.Tech
courses in Biochemical engineering and Biotechnology.

The following is the list of some college/univ. where Genetic Engineering labs with latest infrastructure facilities are available:

1. BHU, Varanasi
2. Biochemical Engineering Research and Process Development Centre at IMTECH, Chandigarh.
3. Centre for DNA Finger Printing and Diagnostics (CDFD), Hyderabad.
4. JNU, New Delhi
5. Madurai Kamaraj University, Madurai, Tamil Nadu.
6. National Facility for Animal Cell and Tissue Culture, Pune
. 7. National Institute of Immunology (NII), New Delhi.
8. The Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Thank You.
11th May 2010, 07:10 PM

I'm in my pre-final year of bachelor studies in biomedical engineering at MIT,Manipal India..kindly give me deatiltails regarding job prospects and openings
14th May 2010, 06:54 PM
Alexia Roy

heyy uhh cnt i becum a genetic engineer without maths in isc ???? U see I took up btech instead..
20th June 2010, 01:50 PM

can i do genetic engineering after doing BSc with biotechnology
15th July 2010, 10:51 PM
sparkle

Genetic engineering has very good career aspects.

It is a study involved with animal gene structure and their functions.

You can start the career after passing 12th with physics, chemistry, biology and maths.
There are many good universities offering genetic engineering.

After completion of graduation in genetic engineering, one can go for higher studies like doing Master's degree on it or even can do research oriented works.

In India and as well as in abroad there are renowned research institutes of genetic engg.

So go for it .

All the best!
15th July 2010, 11:29 PM

hello friend

you can join in genetic engineering through AIEEE exam & IITJEE exam.if you can crack the exam then you can do engg in genetic engg.

all the best.....
2nd December 2010, 02:06 AM

I can join this course after B.Sc. chemistry?
2nd December 2010, 02:10 AM

It is part-time course available?
25th February 2011, 12:06 PM

now at present im studying bsc 1st year of group biotechnology, microbiology,chemistry . can i join in the course genetic engeneering after completion of my B.SC........And what are the oppurtunities after studying genetic engeneering.
4th April 2011, 03:57 PM

i am a student of 12th std....n i have opted for PCM....so can i proceed for genetic engineering after 12th without biology?
27th May 2011, 02:55 PM

can i go for genetic engineering without maths for 12th
18th July 2011, 09:11 PM

I m M.Sc in chemistry.can i do M.Sc. Or M.Tech in genetic engg what will be qualification 4 this.
20th July 2011, 09:06 PM

what is the entrance exam we have to appear for joining genetic engineering
10th November 2011, 01:15 AM

I m in b.sc life science can i do m.sc genetic eng. ? Please tell me the name of enterence exam for m.sc genetic eng.
2nd November 2012, 02:42 PM

how many years it would take to complete the genetic engineering and get a job?
29th June 2013, 06:59 PM

i have passed my 12th this year with 80%......with subjects phy,chem,bio.... can i become genetic engeneer?????what are the other career options??is biotechnology good one????please reply as early as possible..
30th June 2023, 11:34 PM
nikhilprecision1

To join a Genetic Engineering program, you can follow these general steps:

Complete High School: Obtain a high school diploma or its equivalent. Ensure that you have a strong foundation in science subjects, particularly Biology, Chemistry, and Physics.

Research Genetic Engineering Programs: Look for universities or colleges that offer Genetic Engineering programs. Consider factors such as accreditation, curriculum, faculty expertise, research opportunities, and facilities.

Meet the Eligibility Criteria: Review the eligibility criteria for the Genetic Engineering program you are interested in. This may include specific subject requirements, minimum academic scores, and language proficiency requirements. Make sure you meet these criteria.

Entrance Exams : Some universities or colleges may require you to take entrance exams for admission. Common entrance exams for Genetic Engineering programs include national-level exams like JEE Main, NEET, or state-level entrance exams. Prepare for the exams by studying the relevant subjects and syllabus.

Submit Applications: Fill out the application form for the Genetic Engineering program you wish to join. Provide accurate information and submit all required documents, including academic transcripts, entrance exam scores (if applicable), recommendation letters, and a statement of purpose.

Selection Process: The institution will evaluate your application, entrance exam scores (if applicable), and other criteria. Shortlisted candidates may be called for interviews, group discussions, or counseling sessions.

Final Admission: If you are selected for admission, you will receive an admission offer letter. Review the details, including the deadline to accept the offer and any required fees. Follow the instructions provided by the institution to secure your admission.

Begin the Program: Once you have accepted the admission offer, attend the orientation program and begin your Genetic Engineering studies. Follow the curriculum, engage in coursework, laboratory work, and research projects to gain knowledge and practical skills in Genetic Engineering.