4th March 2012, 10:03 PM
Apurba Kr. Barman

What is the eligibility criteria for IPS exam? How much percentage is needed in 12th exam?

Hi...myself Apurba,
I am a class 11 student.And i want to know how can i join IPS after i pass my class 12 exams.And by what percent should i pass my 12th exams,so that i become eligible for IPS????

5th March 2012, 08:24 AM
dhirajen18
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: What is the eligibility criteria for IPS exam? How much percentage is needed in 12th exam?

IPS-INDIAN POLICE SERVICE, to become an IPS officer you have to appear and crack the Civil Service Examination conducted by UPSC every year.

There is no requirement of any percentage of mark criteria for the above exam.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National having either appear for the final Graduation Degree exam or pass in stream of education from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years of age in order to apply for Civil Service exam. There is upper age relaxation up to 5 years for Sc/ST candidate and up to 3 years for OBC candidate.

The selection is through three phases:-

CSAT-Civil Service Aptitude Test-Preliminary exam

Civil Service Main Exam

Personal Interview

There is certain prescribed physical fitness test for those applying for IPS:-

HEIGHT:-

For male(General Category)-165cm and for female-150cm
For male(SC/ST/OBC Category)-160cm and female-145cm

CHEST:-

Male-84cm and female-79cm expandable to 5cm for both the case.

If you are interested you may log on to www.upsc.gov.in for further information.
5th March 2012, 09:02 AM
sunilpati
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: What is the eligibility criteria for IPS exam? How much percentage is needed in 12th exam?

Hi dear............
The eligibility criteria for IPS exam are as follows.................

For more details visit website http://www.upsc.gov.in

Good luck.............
5th March 2012, 01:15 PM
4G Solutions
Senior Member+