19th January 2012, 09:22 PM
Vthadhani9

What is the procedure to become a Bank Manager? I am preparing for CAT

i am doing bba s.y. sem 4.I am preparing for CAT. I want to become bank magaer so what is its procedure.i have give clear exam now?????

20th January 2012, 02:26 AM
Dilip Bista

Default Re: What is the procedure to become a Bank Manager? I am preparing for CAT

The Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) conducts a Common Written Examination ( CWE) for probationary officers and Management Trainees.and inducts them to service and after few years of their service they are promoted as managers. please check out for advertisment at the leading national dailies and employment news ,you can also check the details from the ibps official website www.ibps.in

20th January 2012, 07:02 AM
lvnareshsunrise

Default Re: What is the procedure to become a Bank Manager? I am preparing for CAT

Banking sector is contributing well to the economic development of the country from the past few years. It is been rapidly growing or expanding in India. In fact, this the reason for plenty of Bank jobs.

A candidate will not be directly appointed as Bank Manager soon after the completion of any course or soon after qualifying in any Entrance Exam.

Because, the manager is the one who is responsible for each and every aspect of that particular branch where the branch is located.

-He should have good command on all banking operations in that branch and in other branches which are carried out by that specific private sector or public sector bank.

-He should have shown good performance in various banking operations over a period of time to be given promotion to Bank Manager. At an average it will take 6 years for the candidate to become a Bank Manager.

-The entry level positions to various banks are Probationary Officers and Clerks. The minimum qualification that a candidate need to have to be absorbed as PO is Graduation. One will be eligible for Clerical Exams after completion of 12th class.

CAT Exam stands for Common Admission Test by cracking which you will be given admission for MBA course in various reputed B-Schools and IIMs (Indian Institute of Management).

To join as PO in a bank, you don't need any qualification like MBA degree. A graduation degree is enough to take up bank PO Exams.

So, try to prepare for Bank Exams rather than CAT Exam.

If you have profound interest to pursue MBA course, you can join the same in Correspondence or part time mode.

For updated information on various bank exams, you can visit
http://www.bankexamsindia.com/
20th January 2012, 07:30 AM
pops07

CAT is the common entrance exam for the admission in the course of MBA in IIMs and some other renowned colleges.

Whereas to become a bank manager, you just need a graduation degree from a recognized university.

For that MBA is not essential, but after getting a job in bank you can do MBA in correspondence for promotion and all.

But to become a bank manager, you need to apply for the various posts in various banks, according to their vacancies.

Then after cracking the written test (for which you need proper training and practice), you will be called for interview and you wil be selected.

So if your aim is to become a bank manager, then start preparing for bank exams for the posts like clerks, probationary officers, specialist officers etc. (because you will not get the post of bank manager directly, you will get it through promotions)
20th January 2012, 09:47 AM
Hansika Ram

Talking Re: What is the procedure to become a Bank Manager? I am preparing for CAT

Originally Posted by Vthadhani9 View Post
i am doing bba s.y. sem 4.I am preparing for CAT. I want to become bank magaer so what is its procedure.i have give clear exam now?????
Hai friend:

Bank Manager cannot be recruited directly by passing out any entrance. You should have atleast 8 years of experience in banking operation in various work areas.

Bank PO examination is conducted by many banks across India. PO needs only any graduation.

Bank clerk examination is conducted by many banks. I hope even clerk needs graduation as common educational qualification.

If u want to do MBA from any reputed Institutes you may start to prepare for CAT.

The choice is yours.

For more about Bank exams, recruitment, applications visit: http://bit.ly/zi1pDo

For more about MBA, top B schools , exams and cutoffs visit:

http://bit.ly/wY2BoP

20th January 2012, 09:48 AM
rvidyasagar

If you are interested in the job of a Bank Manager, you should aim to clear the Banks' Probationary Officer Exam. Any degree will be sufficient to sit for the examination. Lot many banks are recruiting now.

CAT is not essential for your target. However, if you possess any management degree, it will certainly be an advantage to you in your career progression.

20th January 2012, 01:28 PM
Oracle 9

EMPLOYMENT IN BANKING SECTOR

There are two sectors of banking where you can look for jobs.

1. PRIVATE & PUBLIC

2.GOVT

JOBS IN PRIVATE & PUBLIC

In privte and public sector ,banks prefer

QUALIFICATION

1. MBA/PGDBM
or

CHARTERED ACCOUNTANCY
or

MASTERS IN ECONOMICS

2.VERY GOOD COMMUNICATION SKILLS

3.PRESENTABLE PERSONALITY

4.EXPERIENCE (pefered in some cases)

(some even conduct entrance exam otherwise interview is enough)

2.Information available

DAILY NEWSPAPER LIKE

THE TIMES OF INDIA OR HINDUSTAN TIMES OR OTHER NEWSPAPERS

whereas in

GOVT SECTOR

GOVT Banks have different procedure to recruit the candidates

clearing entrance examination is must for getting govt BANK jobs.

1.Eligibility for apply in the bank

A.graduation from recognized university with atleast 50% to 60% marks.

B.age-between 21 to 28.

2.Information available

EMPLOYMENT NEWSPAPER

DAILY NEWSPAPER LIKE

THE TIMES OF INDIA OR HINDUSTAN TIMES OR OTHER NEWSPAPERS

3.ENTRANCE EXAM QUESTIONS PATTERN

Quantitative aptitude - 50 QUESTIONS
English - 50 QUESTIONS
reasoning - 50 QUESTIONS
General awareness - 50 QUESTIONS
and
computer - 50 QUESTIONS

250 QUESTIONS (AROUND) OF OBJECTIVE TYPES.

4. DURATIONS OF EXAMINATION
1.30 to 2.5 hours
It all depend on the banks

If you clear the entrance examination you wiil called for interview.

After clearing the interview successfully.

you will get the job.

CAT examination will help you a lot.
As it's pattern is also quiet similar to the pattern of BANK PO.

and

if you score well in the CAT and get into good college than also you have bright chance of getting into public or private BANKS as bank manager.
20th January 2012, 04:02 PM
Sharma sujeet

Banking sector is contributing well tothe economic development of the country from the past few years. It is been rapidly growing or expanding in India. In fact, this the reason for plenty of Bank jobs.

A candidate will not be directly appointed as Bank Manager soon after the completion of any course or soon after qualifying in any Entrance Exam.

Because, the manager is the one who is responsible for each and every aspect of that particular branch where the branch is located.

-He should have good command on all banking operations in that branch and in other branches which are carried out by that specific private sector or public sector bank.
2nd March 2012, 10:23 AM

maximum how many year can get to achieve post of bank manager after to become po of bank?
13th May 2012, 03:10 PM
a444

you need to appear for banking examinations conducted by the UPSC or any other private banks

and after cracking those examinations you will get chance of working in a bank in different posts (depends on your qualification and the post for which you applied)

based on your seniority and performance you will be promoted to the post of manager

there is also a second way ....

if you manage to do MBA (Management of Business Administration) from a reputed B.School of India or abroad, you will get job directly to the post of "JUNIOR MANGER OR JUNIOR EXECUTIVE "

based on your performance and work , you will get promotion to the post of 'MANAGER"

hence it seems to be a quite straight forward and fast process .....but it is really tough

cracking CAT , MAT ( the mba entrance examinations etc ) is really tough and so you need to prepare hard for them

you may take private coaching for it also...if you wish to
practice analytical problems
your general knowledge should be good enough
you should have a good base in English
you must solve aptitude quickly
you must learn time management for the examination

moreover a few more character tics or criteria are also essential
good communication skills
ability to take quick useful decisions
availability to work anywhere in INDIA as your employers will transfer you at their own sweet will
must be good at presentation
Proficiency in English is highly required
Basic computer knowledge
you must be punctual at your work
you must deliver your assignments and projects in time
you must have a good public relation

ALL THE BEST!!!!!!!!!
7th August 2012, 05:27 PM

wHICH ARE THE VARIOUS JOBS AVAILABLE IN COMMERCE STREAM?
7th August 2012, 10:18 PM
sunilpati

Hi dear...........
AS you are interested for Bank Po there are some eligibility criteria which are as follows......

Educational Qualification

A degree in any discipline from a recognized University or any equivalent qualification
recognized as such by the Central Government.

Age Limit

Minimum: 20 Years Maximum: 30 Years
(Age relaxation is available for reserved category in upper age limit)

Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe 5 years
Other Backward Classes (Non-Creamy Layer) 3 years
Persons With Disabilities 10 years

AS you are preparing for CAT exam , Then you should be strong in many paper.....
The Exam pattern for bank PO exam are as follows.................

For more details visit official website of respective bank website

Good luck....
23rd August 2012, 10:22 PM

I WANT TO BECOME A BANK MANAGER BUT I WILL ALSO DOING CS IS THERE IS ANY ROLE OF CS IN BANKING AREA?
12th October 2012, 09:48 PM

i'm very interested for bank jobs .i completed bsc in electronics .my age is 25.completed ug course in 2010 .i know nil about how to apply and prepare for bank exams .kindly help me sir.
30th October 2012, 08:18 PM

pls tell me what are the similarities between bank exam and CAT exam..?
i m confused in choosing between these 2..pls help
31st October 2012, 12:49 PM
sandeepsaini.saini522

AFTER POST GRADUATION SUCH AS MBA/CA,
YOU CAN BECOME BANK MANAGER.

ELIGIBILITY;-
***GRADUATION FROM A RECOGNIZED UNIVERSITY.

**AGE LIMIT IS 20-30 YEARS.

***INDIAN CITIZEN

***WELL PERSONALITY

***GOOD EXPERIENCE

GOOD LUCK.........................
31st October 2012, 02:54 PM
gamble007

Hi!!!
Sir...

Here I am providing you, the possible information about the banks posts like PO (PROBATIONARY OFFICER) .Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) conducts a Common Written Examination for probationary officers and Management Trainees.
For the post like PO , you Just have to complete your graduation in any stream but from a recognized college. After graduation, there is a exam, through which you can apply for the Probationary Officer (PO) posts of the various banks.

This examination is known as the CWE (COMMON WRITTEN EXAMINATION),which is conducted by the IBPS (INSTITUTE OF THE BANKING & PERSONNEL SELECTIONS ), through this CWE examination, one can apply for the various posts in various nationalized banks.
There are almost 19 banks are available, which recruit their respective posts through this institution (IBPS).

Name of the participating BANKS -

The educational requirements for the PO -

# You must have at least a graduation degree in any stream, but from a recognized college.

# You must have scored at least 55% in graduation.This percentage criteria will be varied from one bank to another bank.

# You must have working knowledge of computer like program MS WORD, MS EXCEL, MS OFFICE ,TALLY. etc etc.you should have to do some 3-6 months diploma in computer .

# Candidates who are pursuing final year of Graduation course are also eligible to apply for Bank PO Exams

Age limit-

21-30 years for the GENERAL candidates,Age relaxation is provide for SC/ST/OBC category as per govt rule.
i.e.
21-33 years for the OBC candidates ,
21-35 years for the SC\ST candidates.

IBPS PO EXAM PATTERN-

No. of attempts for PO exam-

4 for the GENERAL candidates,
7 for the OBC candidates,
No such restriction for the SC\ST candidates,.

Thank you!!!!!
~gamble~
25th February 2013, 06:49 PM

when bank exams are held,and to get admission in it
28th February 2013, 11:48 AM
dyco

Smile Re: What is the procedure to become a Bank Manager? I am preparing for CAT

Dear, to become a Bank Manager you need to to qualify the written examination of Probationary Exam. You can apply for Probationary Officer exams in any of the Private, Public or government banks.

-Private Banks gives the notification and there on conducting exam.
-Public sector bank's exam are conducted by IBPS- Institute Of Banking Personnel Selection.
-Government bank's- SBI- State Bank of India conduct exam for itself and its Associative Banks.

Eligibility Required to appear in PO exams-

>Must be a citizen of India

>Age for general category candidate must lie between 21-30 years. There is relaxation in upper age limit of reserved categories-
OBC-3 years
SC/ST- 5 years

>Must hold a degree in any discipline from a Recognized university or any equivalent qualification + Computer Knowledge/ Diploma.

With Regards
17th May 2013, 01:36 PM

is cat coaching is hlpful for getting bank pos ??
29th May 2013, 04:39 PM

plz tell me... is cat coaching is helpful to get the job for bank p.o..???
6th October 2013, 10:47 PM

I'm a b.tech cse final year student and I'm totaly cofuse to choose a field for my career, still my aggregate is 65 plus but i am not interested in this cse field. I want a good job in any field except this engg. Line. And i can do anything for that, so please suggest me this bank po field should better or not for me?
6th October 2013, 10:48 PM

I'm a b.tech cse final year student and I'm totaly cofuse to choose a field for my career, still my aggregate is 65 plus but i am not interested in this cse field. I want a good job in any field except this engg. Line. And i can do anything for that, so please suggest me this bank po field should better or not for me?
4th November 2013, 12:55 PM

have in Reservation pattern marks
4th December 2013, 12:30 PM

what is better in the sense of money-bank po or m.tech from iit
7th June 2014, 12:25 PM

i am working as a clerk. I want to crack cat exam.will doing mba enhance my career?
7th June 2014, 12:38 PM
shipra051

i am working in a public sector bank as a clerk.i want to prepare for cat exam.will doing mba enhance my career?
27th March 2015, 11:50 AM

I am in T Y B com but I want to do Bank Exam of officer How to start and how get or How to Done Manager study of Banking sector and which best institute to do please give proper Inf.
1st July 2015, 05:23 PM

Can a 4th year student of btech can apply for bank po exams and how can one become manager or assistant manager without working as po or clerk
26th November 2015, 11:22 PM

I'm in class 12th . I want to become a bank manager. after 12th i have decided to complete BBA and MBA then what is the procedure after MBA should i follow so that it will take least time to become a bank manager?
6th April 2016, 07:10 PM

Is sales officer post further leads to manager post in bank? And what is the time limit for it
8th July 2016, 02:25 PM

I am having 2 years experience in IT sector and also I have completed my mba in corres is I am eligible for IT officer and Manager in banking field
17th September 2016, 08:01 PM

What is a procedure to become a bank manager? Rather than preparing for a CAT.
28th September 2016, 08:02 PM

I am doing fybcom and I want to become branch manager but the subject I have chosen is e-commerce and not marketing.so is it possible to go forward with branch manager?