10th August 2015, 08:59 PM
Unregistered

Am I eligible to apply for UPSC exam to become an IAS Officer being a B.Sc General student?

Hi,
I am a student of B.Sc General with Math, Physics and Chemistry. I want to appear in UPSC exam to become an IAS Officer and serve for Nation. But am I eligible for it with B.Sc General degree?

12th August 2015, 05:34 PM
harishydv
Senior Member+

Default Re: Am I eligible to apply for UPSC exam to become an IAS Officer being a B.Sc General student?

UPSC conducts the Civil services examinations for various post IAS, IPS, IRS, etc. These exams were organized by the central government body.

Eligibility to apply for the UPSC

* The candidate who wants apply for these examination must have completed his/her graduation from recognized University.

* The candidate in final year can also apply for the exam.

* The candidate must be a citizen of India.

* Age of the candidate must be between 21 to 30 years up to 31 August in the year of application.

* General candidate can apply maximum of 4 times, OBC candidates can apply 7 times, and no limit for SC/ST candidates.
12th August 2015, 05:41 PM
shrivastava_aman
Senior Member+++

Default Re: Am I eligible to apply for UPSC exam to become an IAS Officer being a B.Sc General student?

The posts of IAS are filled up through the civil services examination conducted by the UPSC.

According to the eligibility criteria released by the UPSC :

* The candidate should be a citizen of India.

* The candidate should have completed graduation through any stream under the scheme of 10+2+3 at least form a recognized university.

* The candidate should be of 21 years at least at the time of application.

* The candidate should be physically and medically fit.

So, no matter which graduation degree you pursue, you will be eligible for the CSE.
12th August 2015, 06:58 PM
palugulavenumadhav
Senior Member+++++

Yes, you are eligible to apply for UPSC exam to become an IAS officer.